Working in Singapore V13, COE $61,029
yhoong12
Mar 4 2013, 05:57 PM
QUOTE(codenamew @ Mar 4 2013, 05:30 PM) Dear all, For the past month I have been sending my résumé through job street.sg and till now I still have not received any calls for interview. Just wondering, based on your experience is my application been rejected? I have stated my availability date which is on 1st of June. I am currently doing mechanical engineering and will be graduating in June. Please advise. Thanks. Will be graduating in June?? now is just March. You can apply only when you are +- 1 month from the day you graduated, you apply so early, within these three months i think they can get more immediate candidate rather than hire you and wait for three months until you start work.
yhoong12
Mar 5 2013, 05:10 PM
QUOTE(leonhart88 @ Mar 5 2013, 12:53 PM) EO?
yhoong12
Mar 6 2013, 08:42 AM
QUOTE(xtylish @ Mar 6 2013, 02:54 AM) where should i do my medical report? for employment purpose?? company should tell you which to go. if your company got panel doc is even better.
yhoong12
Mar 6 2013, 10:49 AM
QUOTE(jitshiong @ Mar 6 2013, 08:50 AM) Shouldn't the company provide the medical check-up? No? For my case, there's a panel clinic. I just go to the clinic for check-up. But this is for my company. Not for MOM as MOM only require me to declare i'm healthy. No need medical report. Maybe you can check with your company? They should be able to advise you better. Yes, most company will tell you which clinic to go for med check up. when you collect pass, MOM noneed to see the report? everyone also declare healthy but med report never lies.
yhoong12
Mar 6 2013, 10:50 AM
QUOTE(ameil @ Mar 6 2013, 09:15 AM) Ello... any recommended coach from singapore to seremban? Reliable and safety coach... a bit paranoid taking bus for such distance journey... Night train with sleeping deck at woodlands? when almost reach, the train captain will wake u up politely.
yhoong12
Mar 6 2013, 12:03 PM
QUOTE(deodorant @ Mar 6 2013, 11:40 AM) MOM don't need medical check up for elite level P1 EP holders like jitshiong. Only borderline EP like the rest of us Q1 holders need to produce medical report cos anytime new regulations come in then we will get downgraded to S Pass  haha, true enough this statement. just curious anyone in this thread got downgraded from E Pass to S Pass when renew pass? what you do when this thing happen? accept the downgrade or resign?
yhoong12
Mar 6 2013, 01:55 PM
QUOTE(JohnJon82 @ Mar 6 2013, 12:09 PM) Neither. Should be banging table and ask boss for higher pay to go back to EP. Was hoping your answer is a joke as i m seriously asking for an answer.
yhoong12
Mar 6 2013, 04:10 PM
QUOTE(JohnJon82 @ Mar 6 2013, 02:17 PM) Semi serious bah. S Pass and EP is the same thing, a pass to work in SG, unless plan to hang the EP at the neck and walk around the streets and laughing at S Pass, EP and S Pass basically the same. Any other advantage for EP? Can use the fast lane at custom and bring in your family I suppose. For the serious part. Some company maxed out their S Pass quota, with the EP employee now becoming S Pass, they don't have any more quota to keep you there. Since they need someone to fill your place, either hire new EP or keep you there by upgrading your pay. Hiring a new EP is not meaningful since they have to pay the new pay also. Your value should be higher than new EP employee since you more familiar with the company operation. So if you know if this is your case, can go bang table now~ like this >  Nope, i dunno which scenario i will be in yet as my pass havent expired, my fren once told me that if they renew your pass to S Pass as you agreed, then in the future, you will hardly get E Pass. summore E Pass is more easier to obtain PR, is that true?
yhoong12
Mar 7 2013, 02:22 PM
QUOTE(pizza0502 @ Mar 7 2013, 01:57 PM) Hi, I'll get my EP soon. May I know which telco is providing data plan like Digi SmartPlan? Or is it have plan like UMobile prepaid data plan? and how much is it? Thanks. All telcos provide similiar data plan, for best coverage, i have to say singtel compare to starhub and M1, the cheapest plan would be monthly 30++ without exceed any quota given. i take some random price plans from all telcos, check it out. M1: http://www.m1shop.com.sg/Redirect?nextpage...nuItemClicked=3Starhub: http://www.starhub.com/content/mobile/ipho..._priceplan.htmlSingtel: http://info.singtel.com/personal/communica...ne5/price-plans
yhoong12
Mar 7 2013, 03:13 PM
QUOTE(pizza0502 @ Mar 7 2013, 03:03 PM) Hi thanks! Then I decide to take singtel. But I dont understand the plan. Is it iphone 5 plan? I juz need normal data plan for now. But will soon get the iphone 5 bundle plan when I've more budget few months later. I just random choose, got iphone plan and normal plan. actually is the same priceplan. name itself is different only.since you going to get iphone plan later, i suggest you use prepaid first, because once sign contract, it is for two years. quite long.
yhoong12
Mar 7 2013, 03:38 PM
QUOTE(pizza0502 @ Mar 7 2013, 03:22 PM) May I know Singtel have prepaid data plan? http://info.singtel.com/personal/phones-pl...repaid/benefitsI can't find any info about 30days prepaid data pricing in their website...HELP I forget already as someone once mention that don't know paid how much can get how many data, but i do notice that singtel datatalk22 prepaid topup do provide 250MB data.
yhoong12
Mar 8 2013, 08:48 AM
QUOTE(realventis @ Mar 8 2013, 01:22 AM) Hi all, may i know which bank in singapore can open bank account using IPA letter and passport with minimum amount (somewhere around 50sgd)? Tried already POSB Jurong East Branch but they insisted me to bring EP pass. The problem is I still haven't get my EP. POSB/DBS cannot? but when i open the account, even i bring my pass, they just check my pass and then request for my malaysia passport and IC, no minimum require initially, but you have to deposit money in after the account open to avoid charges.
yhoong12
Mar 8 2013, 05:30 PM
QUOTE(realventis @ Mar 8 2013, 04:31 PM) POSB need 5000 sgd as initial deposit whereas DBS need a IPA that issued in 1 month( more than that they need a EP). Guess that i need to wait for the EP to collect. Anyone know what is the waiting time for collection of the EP after the employer have issued the EP? To collect the EP need an appoinment with MOM rite? What I should bring when I collect the EP? No initial deposit required, just maintain the balance to avoid $2 charges. are you sure you asking for the right bank account type?the time i opened a DBS, no initial deposit needed but i got my EP already by that time. You are making a wrong assumption here. employer only help apply for EP. MOM is the one issue the EP. after successfull application by employer, they will pass you the IPA, then with you relevant documents, make appointment with MOM, submit needed document, if not mistaken, 5 working days will do.
yhoong12
Mar 11 2013, 11:24 AM
QUOTE(vinvin2z @ Mar 11 2013, 10:33 AM) Hi All, For rental itself, it is necessary that tenant need to pay for the agent fee? Even via self online search where the room itself been advertised by agent themselves? Besides convenient, whats the cons of finding a room by ownself and what precaution should i take if i do so? Online search for room is either from agent or landlord or main tenant, you need to read the info provided for that location as it would state required agent fee, normally is from agent, if not stated, mostly is landlord or main tenant. search room yourself mean is w/o agent, mostly kena scammed only because no black and white. i once found two rooms direct to main tenant. one of them is very nice but i moved out due to PR house rental issue with goverment and another is the enviroment condition very bad, only knew after moved in. both is without black and white, but luckily no scam happen on me.
yhoong12
Mar 11 2013, 11:26 AM
QUOTE(jitshiong @ Mar 11 2013, 10:51 AM) I found mine online, no agent fees required. Direct to owner. Consequences, u might be trick or scammed. I almost got scammed, so u have to be careful. how they scam you?mind share?
yhoong12
Mar 11 2013, 12:00 PM
QUOTE(deodorant @ Mar 11 2013, 11:45 AM) not too long ago government say PR cannot rent out their HDB, I guess he is referring to that. Yes you are correct about this.
yhoong12
Mar 11 2013, 12:02 PM
QUOTE(jitshiong @ Mar 11 2013, 11:56 AM) Asking for deposit upfront, painted a great picture with lawyers involved. Luckily i'm smart enough to plant some bait for mistakes. Well, best is not to pay upfront la. Then should be quite safe. Before you stay you need to pay deposit and first month rental then only they will give you key, give money and take key at the same time., is not like that ?
yhoong12
Mar 11 2013, 01:58 PM
QUOTE(lwk523 @ Mar 11 2013, 01:52 PM) Consultancy or site/ project engineer  .. Btw, I really wish that I can involve into SMRT project  (My major is civil eng.) Then you should go smrt page and find any career available there.
yhoong12
Mar 12 2013, 10:39 AM
QUOTE(Evanx2 @ Mar 12 2013, 10:30 AM) Hi Guys, I have got an interview with BDO Singapore this thursday. They mentioned to me on the phone briefly about a bond of 18 months?. Any idea what's that about? Also, what is the salary for an experienced assurance hire?. I am currently in a big4 in m'sia for 2 years 18 months bond mean you cannot resign within the 18 months, if you break the bond, there will be penalty for it.
yhoong12
Mar 13 2013, 08:51 AM
QUOTE(xtylish @ Mar 12 2013, 11:03 PM) i am so paranoid about my medical report!!!! Paranoid for? you got disease?