4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Working in Singapore V13, COE $61,029

crazy25kid
post Mar 3 2013, 05:36 PM

Jack of all trades, master of none...in short, a NUB !!
1,424 posts

QUOTE(LYR @ Mar 3 2013, 05:14 PM)
because they were jobless. that's why they become taxi driver. whenever they're jobless, they will think that foreigners grabbing their jobs.

QUOTE(newaisa @ Mar 3 2013, 05:32 PM)
My thought exactly.....
And when their bright children go overseas next time...those young generation face the same mad.gif  mad.gif  thing...
It's a vicious cycle  icon_rolleyes.gif
driving a cab is a very high paying job with flexible working hours if u put in the same amt of effort to climb the corporate ladder
some singaporeans resign from their job to be a cab driver.
less stressful.
crazy25kid
post Mar 7 2013, 03:29 PM

1,424 posts

LTVP can be applied with the help of company.
i have a colic who applied for his wife...another for her kid
crazy25kid
post Mar 11 2013, 11:18 AM

1,424 posts

wrong thread....oops

This post has been edited by crazy25kid: Mar 11 2013, 11:19 AM
crazy25kid
post Mar 11 2013, 12:07 PM

1,424 posts

QUOTE(JohnJon82 @ Mar 11 2013, 12:03 PM)
Wah, then cannot go back Malaysia eat rent shake leg already.
i think condo does not have that ruling
that ruling only applies to HDB
but if u go back m'sia...PR expire, HDB will need to be sold too if i am not mistaken.
crazy25kid
post Mar 13 2013, 10:21 AM

1,424 posts

QUOTE(JohnJon82 @ Mar 13 2013, 10:16 AM)
The flight at Senai is 9pm, so leaving on Friday evening 6pm after work, take cab better? Causeway if use bus will be jam I assume. Changi one is 5pm so I have to take half day unpaid leave, boss  mad.gif .

Flight at 9pm meaning you need to be at the airport by 8pm
You leave office at 6pm meaning you have 2 hours to get from office to airport.
Unless your office is very near the causeway, you will be going to be on a VERY tight schedule I assume...even more on a FRIDAY.

crazy25kid
post Mar 14 2013, 12:04 PM

1,424 posts

Hi, off topic a bit.
Is anyone here certified PMP?
Would like to know about the course fees and stuff.
Is this a good deal (50% off the course)
http://ict.nextu.com.sg/project-management-professional-pmp
crazy25kid
post Mar 18 2013, 11:25 AM

1,424 posts

^ you can rent a room with just passport??
i thought u need a pass
crazy25kid
post Mar 19 2013, 04:00 PM

1,424 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Mar 19 2013, 03:57 PM)
$800 a month is $26 a day, how on earth can you "fine dining" in Singapore on that budget, lol.
i dun fine dine...so i duno the "market"
so please pardon my mistake. tongue.gif tongue.gif
crazy25kid
post Mar 19 2013, 05:16 PM

1,424 posts

You all sure elaborate a lot when most of the points are already in the first post. laugh.gif laugh.gif
crazy25kid
post Mar 20 2013, 11:18 AM

1,424 posts

QUOTE(ThanatosSwiftfire @ Mar 20 2013, 10:49 AM)
Oh i wanna rant about the taxi drivers here too! They like to stop-accelerate-stop-accelerate. A few times I felt like I was gonna puke..
i feel u on this.
ALL OF THEM DRIVES LIKE THAT
i wonder is that what is taught in driving schools. sweat.gif sweat.gif
crazy25kid
post Mar 27 2013, 10:25 AM

1,424 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Mar 27 2013, 10:13 AM)
Bah, my landlord said that due to personal reasons she needs to move back into the apartment after the end of our lease in July sad.gif

Any of you have any experience engaging professional movers? Any idea of an indicative charge rate for moving an entire 3 bedroom apartment? Just exploring some options cos big items like the bed and etc can't really be moved by ourselves ... hmm.gif
depends on your location (from where to where).
but professional movers will costs around SGD400
they will move the things for u (everything, u just "babysit" them)...u can ask them to visit and give u a non-obligatory quote.
engage a few so u can compare.

This post has been edited by crazy25kid: Mar 27 2013, 10:27 AM
crazy25kid
post Apr 2 2013, 10:56 PM

1,424 posts

QUOTE(jungyu @ Apr 2 2013, 09:41 PM)
hi guys, do we really need to submit last 6 months payslip when applying PR? I just got into my new company for 3 months, confirmed and would like to try for PR but I don't have my previous job payslip. Can I just submit 3 months payslip? (I mean I can but will the application be rejected without being reviewed?)

do you have an income tax statement?
u might be able to use that.

QUOTE(newaisa @ Apr 2 2013, 09:47 PM)
People who met their minimum requirement still got rejected....

If you can't even meet the minimum requirement.....then I guess the answer is pretty clear.

So you are in ICA approving PR applications?

QUOTE(Dark NT @ Apr 2 2013, 10:09 PM)
Hi Guys, any advice or sharing on this would be appreciated.

I recently got my PR application approved, for me and my family (wife and kids). Now my mom in law (MIL) is currently staying with us in SG under a dependant pass (tied to an employement pass) helping to take care of the kids.

I called ICA today and enquired what will happen to the Dependant pass holder once I complete the PR formalities (it's actually not very clear on both ICA and MOM website).

I was told that the Dependant pass shall be cancelled through MOM (via Company of the employment pass holder, or the EP holder herself). Once the dependant pass is cancelled, a short term visit pass shall be issued for 30 days, which means the Dependant can continue to stay in SG for 30 days (just like a regular visitor).

All these makes sense... However, if my MIL leaves SG within this 30 days (say back to MY for a few days), she might not be able to come back to SG, because a Malaysia passport holder can only stay in SG for a max of 60 days (out of a 90 day period).

Unless my MIL applies for a Long term visit pass, which will take 4-6 weeks to process. I plan to apply this immediately after we get our PR IC (or even earlier if possible). But the risk remains - If within 30 days my MIL don't get her Long term visit pass approved for whatever reason, she has to leave SG, and might not be allowed to re-enter SG. And the issue is of course no one to take care of the kids.
check with ICA...the 60 days may be considering based on the time while on the visitor pass (white card) only
it may not include the time spent here while on dependant pass.
i am not sure, but it sure is worth a try
crazy25kid
post Apr 2 2013, 11:07 PM

1,424 posts

QUOTE(Dark NT @ Apr 2 2013, 10:59 PM)
Yup, I asked and its inclusive of the time spent under the DP.
Thanks for your suggestion.
then u should check with ica how to expedite the process for the new dependant pass
i am sure it is possible
or else, u might need to have weekly trips to johor to "extend" the stay in sg
wish u luck...i am sure u will need it.
crazy25kid
post Apr 3 2013, 11:44 AM

1,424 posts

so how many will be going back to vote?
parliament has been dissolved.
crazy25kid
post Apr 3 2013, 10:32 PM

1,424 posts

QUOTE(fcuk90 @ Apr 3 2013, 10:14 PM)
It is hard to get a job for a audit associate position in mid tier firm in sg ?

current cgpa around 3.4 , in my last trimester now and would like to work in sg.
sweat.gif sweat.gif so boy or girl? whistling.gif whistling.gif
crazy25kid
post Apr 6 2013, 09:54 PM

1,424 posts

QUOTE(reengurl @ Apr 6 2013, 03:07 PM)
So in conclusion, in order to start work on 15 Apr, the HR would need to provide me with my IPA letter before my arrival to Singapore? Correct? smile.gif

The reply from HR came like this :
In that case I will need to follow up to make sure I get my IPA right? The way the e-mail was replied sounds kinda  hmm.gif
do u have a job now?
one should not resign before getting approval from MOM (the IPA)
u cannot work without approval from MOM...just because u signed the offer letter will not be a reason for u to resign and plan to move over cause u still cannot work in sg
yes, one can be approved in hours...but do note, it is also likely that one can also be rejected in the same amount of time needed.
appeal will take around 3 weeks to process...and it is up to the company whether they still wish to pursue hiring u
crazy25kid
post Apr 7 2013, 10:28 PM

1,424 posts

QUOTE(xtylish @ Apr 7 2013, 09:15 PM)
their char koay teow is sweet one!!! @#$%^&*()

QUOTE(Fiona Chin @ Apr 7 2013, 09:46 PM)
First time eat really culture shock!

melaka ckt tastes like that
well, according to my frens from melaka

QUOTE(robertchoo @ Apr 7 2013, 10:00 PM)
Wait till u try their peppery bak kut teh and their hokkien mee. The hokkien mee is like mee with brown sauce.

i agree with the bkt... laugh.gif laugh.gif

QUOTE(deodorant @ Apr 7 2013, 10:03 PM)
I quite like their BKT. As long as you don't directly compare it to KL/Klang one and accept that it's a different 'style,' it's not too bad.

u are the first m'sian i know who said their bkt not bad laugh.gif laugh.gif

crazy25kid
post Apr 7 2013, 11:32 PM

1,424 posts

QUOTE(puppyee @ Apr 7 2013, 11:13 PM)
Hey guys, I've been here in sg for a week now... trying to settle my medical check up but I'm cracking my head trying to think of where and when to go since everywhere is so crowded on weekends! Does anyone knows any good place for that around depot road, red hill or tiong bahru?

I need to do X-ray as well and from the current information I've got, I need to do check up at a gp, then go x ray, then go back to gp... arrrrrrr

I can't go to private coz I can't claim medical checkup bills from company... they're too cheapo to pay me back  mad.gif
did mine at woodlands raffles medical
the cost was around 48sgd
crazy25kid
post Apr 9 2013, 09:45 AM

1,424 posts

QUOTE(puppyee @ Apr 8 2013, 09:49 PM)
I have another question though.

During my application for EP, my company used my old passport number. Before I came to SG to officially start work, I renewed my passport and naturally, my passport number has changed. The reception at the clinic I went to, expressed her concern about my different passport number and she said that the government might not approve my pass or might make things difficult for me. I don't have my old passport with me now but I do have a FIN number already. Would that be sufficient when submitting my results or picking up my pass?

I hope you guys know what I'm writing. I'm quite confused myself. lol
i have a similar kind of issue with u
however, mine was only the passport number for application is different from the 1 when i entered sg.
i was exempted from the medical so this part is different but i think it should not pose that big of an issue
however, the problem u will have is they are most likely going to need your old passport.
when u go to EPSC...bring along your old passport and the new 1 to let them know that it is still the same person.
crazy25kid
post Apr 9 2013, 05:23 PM

1,424 posts

QUOTE(conqu3ror @ Apr 9 2013, 05:10 PM)
Pros working in SG:

- save more money in RM
- more buying power in Malaysia
- better public transport system & environment
- cheaper internet & mobile phone

Cons working in SG:

- your paid will be much less then $3.4k, probably SGD$2.5-2.8k
- quite impossible to own a car in SG
- super high room rental SGD500-1000 (depends location) in Malaysia you could rent a Apartment/House
- working as foreigner in SG (SG ppl always look down on us & discriminate Malaysian)
- much competitive working environment & demanding (may work >12 hours a day, no work life balance)

regarding the statement in red
have u been looked down upon directly and how...not including forum rants and others as keyboard warriors are everywhere.
how easy do u think one can really differentiate between a m'sian and singaporean just by appearance
i have been mistaken as a singaporean for numerous times.
at my work place...i think 80-90% are not singaporeans...maybe 5% or less are born a singaporean

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0562sec    0.67    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 04:25 AM