Working in Singapore V13, COE $61,029

xenotzu
post Mar 11 2013, 03:18 PM

1,503 posts

Hi, this might be slightly off topic but I hope I can get some good advice here from fellow Malaysians in Singapore. I just received my PR status in Singapore but with a young son, I know that he will have to do his NS here unless I give up PR status before he turns 16. I was wondering if there are any Malaysians here who have done their NS service in Singapore or know of Malaysian relatives who have done their NS here, and who can advise me as to whether:

1. if Malaysians get "tekan" more than Singaporeans in the NS by the instructors, seeing that Singaporeans seem to be getting more xenophobic about PRs now;

2. if its advisable to renounce my son's PR before he's 16 in order to avoid wasting 2 years of his life in NS (some Singaporean friends have told me that if given the opportunity, they would prefer not to do their NS);

3. is there any advantage to doing his NS other than the ability to stay on to work in Singapore (we are planning to send our children overseas for studies and hopefully for them to work overseas, unfortunately, to join the growing Malaysian Brain Drain).

Thank you.
xenotzu
post Apr 29 2013, 10:06 PM

1,503 posts

I know this a bit off topic but I've been hearing strong rumours going around my Malaysian relatives and friends in Singapore that Singapore registered cars would not be allowed into Malaysia or would be stopped in Malaysia. This is to prevent Malaysians living in Singapore from going home to exercise their right to vote in Malaysia.

Does anybody know if there's any truth in this? I know that it has made some of my relatives and friends in Singapore cautious about driving back to Malaysia to vote. If its true, any suggestions on what to do to be prevented from going home to vote? I understand that most of the coach services have been fully booked by now.
xenotzu
post Apr 30 2013, 02:50 PM

1,503 posts

QUOTE(abgkik @ Apr 30 2013, 10:03 AM)
ohh.. that's Bull shit...  doh.gif
for sure coming Friday afternoon will be jammed at checkpoint..
Jam for sure. Well, I've been telling my Malaysian relatives and friends here its just bullshit but some have been living in Singapore so long, they have become as KIASU as the Singaporeans. I told my wife and sister, if necessary, I will tie them up and put them in the car to drive them back to PJ to vote wink.gif

Problem is, I don't put anything pass BN to play dirty. Last election in 2008, day after the results came in, I was with a friend in Shah Alam, who's a legal advisor for Pakatan when a call came in. He told me later that Pakatan people had been to the Selangor state building in Shah Alam (the Ship) and they saw many civil servants driving out from the building in their cars, with boxes of documents. The Pakatan people had tried to put up roadblocks to stop them and were calling him to ask about the legality of doing so.

To cut a long story short, he told them that they had no power to detain them but to take down their car registration numbers and names, and later Pakatan lodge a police report in Shah Alam. Same thing happened in Kedah too. I don't think it would suprise people to hear that the police never did anything about the reports, although it was a clear cut case of breach of official secrets act of these civil servants in removing state and federal documents from the state offices!

This post has been edited by xenotzu: Apr 30 2013, 02:51 PM

0.0157sec    0.75    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 01:23 PM