123 Pages « < 58 59 60 61 62 > » Bottom

Credit Cards OCBC Titanium MasterCard Cash-Back v3, Which merchant get 5% or 1% Cashback ??

aeiou228
post Jun 17 2013, 11:36 PM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(pinksapphire @ Jun 17 2013, 10:50 PM)
Hi, everyone.

I'm thinking of getting CC from OCBC seeing how good it seems from the reviews that I've been reading.
Three questions, hope you can enlighten me:

1) If one is a Premier customer with the bank, is it better/easier to get a CC from them? If yes, will they waive any charges/fees that normally would incur through normal application?
2) Is there any promotions that one will miss out by getting it as part of Premier customer instead of applying through normal application?
3) Anything else that I should take note of?

Thanks!
1. Easier to get but no fee waiver.
2. Nothing
3. Priority should be given to HLB WISE card which gives better cash back of 10% up to rm100 per month.
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2760395
pinksapphire
post Jun 18 2013, 12:47 AM

1,264 posts

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Jun 17 2013, 11:36 PM)
1. Easier to get but no fee waiver.
2. Nothing
3. Priority should be given to HLB WISE card which gives better cash back of 10% up to rm100 per month.
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2760395
Lol, I like how you put in the 3rd answer...thanks for that recommendation. Somehow I don't get good aura with HL, so I tend to stay away from that bank.
Appreciate your response! smile.gif
aeiou228
post Jun 18 2013, 12:57 AM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(pinksapphire @ Jun 18 2013, 12:47 AM)
Lol, I like how you put in the 3rd answer...thanks for that recommendation. Somehow I don't get good aura with HL, so I tend to stay away from that bank.
Appreciate your response! smile.gif
CC is diff from day to day banking ma. Rm1200 free money every year, can buy free iPad every year.
TSronnie
post Jun 18 2013, 07:45 AM

Not enough stars
21,311 posts

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Jun 18 2013, 12:57 AM)
CC is diff from day to day banking ma. Rm1200 free money every year, can buy free iPad every year.
Actually the RM1200 yearly is intangible.... as it's creditted automatically to offset the current statement
tbheng
post Jun 18 2013, 07:46 AM

1,188 posts

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Jun 18 2013, 12:57 AM)
QUOTE(pinksapphire @ Jun 18 2013 @  12:47 AM)

Appreciate your response!

I second that.
I used to max out my ocbc Ti RM50 CB (and Amex one too). tongue.gif
In my quest for next great CB cc, I found HL and AEON.
The HL RM100 CB has come in handy for me. thumbup.gif
Now, with 10% CB from WISE (and also 3% CB from AEON WATAMI), I have spare CB's and flexibility/choice of cards to swipe. nod.gif

This post has been edited by tbheng: Jun 18 2013, 07:48 AM
TSronnie
post Jun 18 2013, 07:48 AM

Not enough stars
21,311 posts

[quote=tbheng,Jun 18 2013, 07:46 AM]

[/quote]
I second that.
I used to max out the ocbc Ti RM50 CB (and Amex one too). tongue.gif
In my quest for next great CB cc, I found HL.
The HL RM100 CB has come in handy for me. thumbup.gif
Now, with 10% CB from WISE (and also 3% CB from AEON WATAMI), I have spare CB and flexibility/choice of cards to swipe. nod.gif

[/quote]
We have the great set of CB cards too.... flexibility can be bad sometimes (as we need to think which card to swipe)

aeiou228
post Jun 18 2013, 10:02 AM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(ronnie @ Jun 18 2013, 07:45 AM)
Actually the RM1200 yearly is intangible.... as it's creditted automatically to offset the current statement
Well, I view cash back as tangible, coz the CB credit entry is real money. rclxms.gif

QUOTE(tbheng @ Jun 18 2013, 07:46 AM)
I second that.
I used to max out my ocbc Ti RM50 CB (and Amex one too).  tongue.gif
In my quest for next great CB cc, I found HL and AEON.
The HL RM100 CB has come in handy for me.  thumbup.gif
Now, with 10% CB from WISE (and also 3% CB from AEON WATAMI), I have spare CB's and flexibility/choice of cards to swipe.  nod.gif
Wah..! You big spender!

QUOTE(ronnie @ Jun 18 2013, 07:48 AM)
We have the great set of CB cards too.... flexibility can be bad sometimes (as we need to think which card to swipe)
It happens, use wrong card for wrong merchant. Can't help it. sad.gif
gsc
post Jun 18 2013, 01:58 PM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(pinksapphire @ Jun 17 2013, 10:50 PM)
Hi, everyone.

I'm thinking of getting CC from OCBC seeing how good it seems from the reviews that I've been reading.
Three questions, hope you can enlighten me:

1) If one is a Premier customer with the bank, is it better/easier to get a CC from them? If yes, will they waive any charges/fees that normally would incur through normal application?
2) Is there any promotions that one will miss out by getting it as part of Premier customer instead of applying through normal application?
3) Anything else that I should take note of?

Thanks!
1) my personal experience is can get the Ti card easily as RM s filing up the form, submitted and approved without problem. Gave them the condition that only want the card provided fee is waived. RM helped to write in together with the application form and charges was waived...

tbheng
post Jun 18 2013, 02:43 PM

1,188 posts

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Jun 18 2013, 10:02 AM)
Well, I view cash back as tangible, coz the CB credit entry is real money.  rclxms.gif
Wah..! You big spender!
It happens, use wrong card for wrong merchant. Can't help it. sad.gif
I like CB. rclxm9.gif
No big spender la...ordinary household family expenses only... tongue.gif
Imagine, 1k each on the right categories will max out ocbc Ti and Amex.
With the addition of Wise and Watami, got breather space for CB...(for not so big spender like me) tongue.gif
TSronnie
post Jun 18 2013, 03:09 PM

Not enough stars
21,311 posts

More Cash back Credit cards was created thanks to Najib's Govt Service Tax....

To achieve maximum rebate per month per card
OCBC Titanium MasterCard : RM1000 spend
Maybankard 2 AMEX : RM1000 spend
HLB WISE Visa : RM1000 spend
AEON WATAMI Visa : RM1666.67 spend [Quarterly Rebate 3%]

Total : RM4666.67 to earn RM250 cash back per month
Average Cash-Back : 5.36%
tbheng
post Jun 18 2013, 04:50 PM

1,188 posts

QUOTE(ronnie @ Jun 18 2013, 03:09 PM)

Haha...what a good concise and clear summary...
Will get higher return % if including TP values and ocbc 20% dining CB, etc.
I have learnt a lot from all the cc sifu in LYN forum. notworthy.gif

Imagine I used to have RM50x2 cap, now have RM250 cap, it is great to have spare CB for some non-monthly or ad-hoc expenses.
E.g. School opening, CNY shopping, Year End Sales, hospital/medical bill, car service/maintenance, hotel/air-ticket for holidays, etc...
Oh boy, I have not even list the purchase of that latest smart phone, new car down payment...
We do help grow our economy, don't we? tongue.gif.

This post has been edited by tbheng: Jun 18 2013, 04:59 PM
aeiou228
post Jun 18 2013, 06:52 PM

5,867 posts

I can safely say that this is the best CASH BACK cards combination rclxms.gif

QUOTE(tbheng @ Jun 18 2013, 04:50 PM)
Haha...what a good concise and clear summary...
Will get higher return % if including TP values and ocbc 20% dining CB, etc.
I have learnt a lot from all the cc sifu in LYN forum.  notworthy.gif

Imagine I used to have RM50x2 cap, now have RM250 cap, it is great to have spare CB for some non-monthly or ad-hoc expenses.
E.g. School opening, CNY shopping, Year End Sales, hospital/medical bill,  car service/maintenance, hotel/air-ticket for holidays, etc...
Oh boy, I have not even list the purchase of that latest smart phone, new car down payment...
We do help grow our economy, don't we?  tongue.gif.
I've been reading AEON WATAMI thread since thread started but never apply one due to it's lousy support, repayment options and custcare. Missed out some some car maintenance, Hospital and gadgets expenses which were charged under OCBC Ti 1% category only. I think it's time for me to get a WATAMI.
TSronnie
post Jun 18 2013, 10:31 PM

Not enough stars
21,311 posts

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Jun 18 2013, 06:52 PM)
I can safely say that this is the best CASH BACK cards combination  rclxms.gif
I've been reading AEON WATAMI thread since thread started but never apply one due to it's lousy support, repayment options and custcare. Missed out some some car maintenance, Hospital and gadgets expenses which were charged under OCBC Ti 1% category only. I think it's time for me to get a WATAMI.
Way to go.... WATAMI is like a hidden cash-back CC gem smile.gif
-Matrix-
post Jun 18 2013, 11:25 PM

114 posts

how about citibank cashback ronnie? disqualified from your calculation? biggrin.gif
TSronnie
post Jun 18 2013, 11:29 PM

Not enough stars
21,311 posts

QUOTE(-Matrix- @ Jun 18 2013, 11:25 PM)
how about citibank cashback ronnie? disqualified from your calculation?  biggrin.gif
Never liked Citibank Cash-Back mechanism.... too low to compare with the top 4 CBCC (in my opinion)
gsc
post Jun 18 2013, 11:57 PM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(ronnie @ Jun 18 2013, 11:29 PM)
Never liked Citibank Cash-Back mechanism.... too low to compare with the top 4 CBCC (in my opinion)
Agreed. Citi cash back used to be probably number one when first launch. It becomes my spare card as I cant think of a good place to spend and get a good return..
AaIto
post Jun 19 2013, 12:39 AM

202 posts

Wah, rm250per mth. Thats rm3000 per yr..., can buy a decent ultrabook with that every yr... Ngiak3... rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
WhitE LighteR
post Jun 19 2013, 01:15 AM

WhitE LighteR Is Black~
10,340 posts

Actually it depend on your pattern of usage too.

In my case, base on my spending pattern 3 best card for me is OCBC Ti, MBB2C, and HLB MACH.

WISE and WATAMI is not good for me coz I cant fulfill their min spending per month requirement to earn the cashback.
TSronnie
post Jun 19 2013, 07:34 AM

Not enough stars
21,311 posts

QUOTE(AaIto @ Jun 19 2013, 12:39 AM)
Wah, rm250per mth. Thats rm3000 per yr..., can buy a decent ultrabook with that every yr... Ngiak3... rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif
or a brand new Macbook Air rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
nothingz
post Jun 19 2013, 11:22 AM

6 Stars General
2,757 posts

ocbc called to offer loan again from cc cl. 5.99% pa. not attractive at all

123 Pages « < 58 59 60 61 62 > » Top

0.0243sec    0.42    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 04:00 PM