Credit Cards OCBC Titanium MasterCard Cash-Back v3, Which merchant get 5% or 1% Cashback ??

tbheng
post Feb 23 2013, 11:31 AM

1,188 posts

QUOTE(ronnie @ Feb 22 2013, 11:28 PM)
CS is correct... MCC 5968 doesn't get 5% cash back as per T&C.
But somehow their back-end system allows it.... better keep quiet  icon_rolleyes.gif  thumbup.gif  wink.gif
QUOTE(NewGUY @ Feb 22 2013, 11:40 PM)
ok lucky the CS oni till 10pm din get to call thru...since know the story no need ask d haha...
Ya, keep the volume low please. wink.gif I am one of the 5968 happy camper every month! Psssst...Refer post 1. It is always rewarding to read OP.

This post has been edited by tbheng: Feb 23 2013, 11:48 AM
tbheng
post Mar 17 2013, 02:08 PM

1,188 posts

QUOTE(xbotzz @ Mar 17 2013, 12:35 PM)
i think in v1 or v2 there was some talk about this.. i just updated the thread incase ppl look up about it here.. these info very helpful when it comes to planning the usage in advance.. wink.gif
Sorry, so your OCBC Celebrity Fitness, CF - Midvalley is actually with MCC 5968 or 7997?
Post#1 has been updated as
Places we thought is 1% but received 5%
Celebrity Fitness Monthly Fees [MCC: 7997]

tbheng
post Apr 5 2013, 07:43 AM

1,188 posts

QUOTE(sailou @ Apr 3 2013, 01:58 AM)
My bad. You are absolutely correct. 10 sen from 2nd May, 2013 onwards.
A day to rejoice. I used to find time to drive to the bank to drop my cheque.

Me and my wife 2 x 2 cards Visa/Master x RM2.00 = RM8.00.

New IBG rate i only pay 40 sen!!
When taiko bank says so who dare to defy.

Taiko Bank Statement
10 sen per IBG? Wow, what a great news. rclxms.gif
Lots of saving from RM2 (non-BSA) as of now.
Thanks for the link.

I just got charged RM2 on end of last month paying ocbc statement.
The 3rd IBG from my BSA acct. I lost count. doh.gif

This post has been edited by tbheng: Apr 5 2013, 07:46 AM
tbheng
post Apr 6 2013, 01:14 PM

1,188 posts

QUOTE(ronnie @ Apr 6 2013, 11:09 AM)
For OCBC Titanium: Swipe inside the PETROL station and at PUMP will get 5% Cash-back
For UOB ONE Card : Swipe inside the PETROL station and at PUMP will get 5% Cash-back
For HLB WISE : Swipe at PUMP will get 5% Cash-back
Ooopsie...WISE gives 10% CB... tongue.gif
tbheng
post Apr 6 2013, 01:29 PM

1,188 posts

QUOTE(smsbusiness2u @ Apr 6 2013, 01:22 PM)
pls take note 10% cb on petrol tx for wise card come with minimum 10 RM50 entitled tx.
pls read t&c for detail
Yes, it is either 10% or 0% CB, TnC applied. Do check the TnC from HLB website.

This post has been edited by tbheng: Apr 6 2013, 01:36 PM
tbheng
post Apr 7 2013, 07:58 AM

1,188 posts

Swiped ocbc Ti card for dinner yesterday at the Curve.
The 20% CB sms came within the same minute as the swipe sms alert.
Great! rclxms.gif thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by tbheng: Apr 7 2013, 07:59 AM
tbheng
post May 4 2013, 09:28 AM

1,188 posts

QUOTE(GymBoi @ May 3 2013, 02:27 PM)
Hi fruitie i MIGHT have an answer for u ... i juz came back from OCBC to apply for this card hehe ... i was talking to the guy and said I need internet banking to pay my CC bills .. then he said there will be RM1 (or 2 i forgot) charges ... then I was like eh .. new ruling ma starting May all bank charge 10cent ... then he say OCBC is oversea bank (SG) so doesn't count ... e-GIRO to overseas bank still charge more .. not 10cent .. 10cent for local banks
QUOTE(fruitie @ May 3 2013, 02:29 PM)
Oh crap. laugh.gif sweat.gif
Thanks for clarifying, luckily I didn't call Maybank yet. sweat.gif
Hi fruitie,
I pay my ocbc cc on 2nd May 7:30am via maybank2u. RM0.10 was charged.

The difference is I pay from my MBB Basic Saving Account (BSA).
I was deciding to pay from m2u Saver or BSA, and decided from BSA. Kiasu... tongue.gif

Suggest you to call MBB to ask and share the outcome here. (As I wish to know this as well. tongue.gif )

tbheng
post May 16 2013, 12:44 AM

1,188 posts

QUOTE(ronnie @ May 15 2013, 11:27 AM)
I don't wait for Statement... I called up OCBC the moment the charge is posted.
QUOTE(ronnie @ May 15 2013, 12:39 PM)
It's so that I can plan my 5% usage carefully for the whole month .... especially for new merchants I've not swiped at before.
Good Tips! Recently I miss calculated and found out only at statement. Shortfall in CB that I could have utilized it if I knew it before statement date. I used other card instead. doh.gif
tbheng
post May 22 2013, 07:34 AM

1,188 posts

QUOTE(gsc @ May 22 2013, 03:05 AM)
At the end of the statement, there is an option print/save, click it, and the printable format statement appear, go to the bottom of screen, click save, you screen will ask your permission to save file
I have called CS before and ask for softcopy statement. They do agree don't have at the moment.
What I ask for is the exact same format as the paper statement, including all messages, payment method, late payment fee calculation and other fine print.
The online one is quite close to the paper statement. Just make do for own recording purposes. sweat.gif

tbheng
post Jun 8 2013, 09:39 AM

1,188 posts

QUOTE(crusher @ Jun 7 2013, 11:09 PM)
If I pay every month on time no charges will be implement?
Besides "pay on time", the other key words are "pay full statement balance".
If you pay on time but just partial statement balance or minimum amount, you'll still be charged interest.
tbheng
post Jun 16 2013, 10:34 AM

1,188 posts

QUOTE(cempedaklife @ Jun 15 2013, 11:02 AM)
QUOTE(KTCY @ Jun 15 2013 @  10:56 AM)

i thought separated out ? As supp card also have to spend certain amount to entitle for yearly rebate for RM 50 gst redemption.

ah - you're right. Just read the T&C cap at RM 50 only
i'm not too sure myself

the T&C also also abit ambiguous

http://www.ocbc.com.my/assets/pdf/Cards/Ti...%20FAQ%20TC.pdf

better wait other "senior" here to clarify.
but I would think both main and supp card share the limits...that's usually how bank works
I have supp card. Yes, combined RM50 CB.
1. Both principal + supp AF waived - if combine 12 swipes/yr.
2. Annual Usage Bonus RM50 to offset GST - if principal usage 10k/yr
3. Annual Usage Bonus RM25 to offset GST - if supp usage 5k/yr (I missed this one last year sad.gif May consider cut the supp.)
tbheng
post Jun 18 2013, 07:46 AM

1,188 posts

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Jun 18 2013, 12:57 AM)
QUOTE(pinksapphire @ Jun 18 2013 @  12:47 AM)

Lol, I like how you put in the 3rd answer...thanks for that recommendation. Somehow I don't get good aura with HL, so I tend to stay away from that bank.
Appreciate your response!

CC is diff from day to day banking ma. Rm1200 free money every year, can buy free iPad every year.
I second that.
I used to max out my ocbc Ti RM50 CB (and Amex one too). tongue.gif
In my quest for next great CB cc, I found HL and AEON.
The HL RM100 CB has come in handy for me. thumbup.gif
Now, with 10% CB from WISE (and also 3% CB from AEON WATAMI), I have spare CB's and flexibility/choice of cards to swipe. nod.gif

This post has been edited by tbheng: Jun 18 2013, 07:48 AM
tbheng
post Jun 18 2013, 02:43 PM

1,188 posts

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Jun 18 2013, 10:02 AM)
Well, I view cash back as tangible, coz the CB credit entry is real money.  rclxms.gif
Wah..! You big spender!
It happens, use wrong card for wrong merchant. Can't help it. sad.gif
I like CB. rclxm9.gif
No big spender la...ordinary household family expenses only... tongue.gif
Imagine, 1k each on the right categories will max out ocbc Ti and Amex.
With the addition of Wise and Watami, got breather space for CB...(for not so big spender like me) tongue.gif
tbheng
post Jun 18 2013, 04:50 PM

1,188 posts

QUOTE(ronnie @ Jun 18 2013, 03:09 PM)
More Cash back Credit cards was created thanks to Najib's Govt Service Tax....

To achieve maximum rebate per month per card
OCBC Titanium MasterCard : RM1000 spend
Maybankard 2 AMEX : RM1000 spend
HLB WISE Visa : RM1000 spend
AEON WATAMI Visa : RM1666.67 spend [Quarterly Rebate 3%]

Total : RM4666.67 to earn RM250 cash back per month
Average Cash-Back : 5.36%
Haha...what a good concise and clear summary...
Will get higher return % if including TP values and ocbc 20% dining CB, etc.
I have learnt a lot from all the cc sifu in LYN forum. notworthy.gif

Imagine I used to have RM50x2 cap, now have RM250 cap, it is great to have spare CB for some non-monthly or ad-hoc expenses.
E.g. School opening, CNY shopping, Year End Sales, hospital/medical bill, car service/maintenance, hotel/air-ticket for holidays, etc...
Oh boy, I have not even list the purchase of that latest smart phone, new car down payment...
We do help grow our economy, don't we? tongue.gif.

This post has been edited by tbheng: Jun 18 2013, 04:59 PM
tbheng
post Jul 3 2013, 07:31 AM

1,188 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Jun 17 2013 @ 12:42 AM)
QUOTE(kuai_chai @ Jun 17 2013 @  12:37 AM)
anyone know where can i reload touch n go with credit card? 

I reload mine at TnG Hub in KL Sentral, 1% rebate only.

Hi fruitie,
Where exactly is the TnG Hub? Is it with the LRT counter or a separate counter?
i.e. Can I top up at the counter without exit the KL Sentral station, and continue my LRT journey after top up?
tbheng
post Jul 3 2013, 01:40 PM

1,188 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Jul 3 2013, 07:46 AM)
T&G hub located at KL Sentral is a specialized store from T&G to sell T&G and also resolved technical issues.

It's located outside the PUTRA station; near to the MBB KL Sentral branch (inside) and that's mean you need to exit from the station.
QUOTE(fruitie @ Jul 3 2013, 09:26 AM)
As explained by David. Every LRT station has TnG reload counter and you can do that without exiting but it only accepts cash.
Thanks for your replies.
Yes, I know about the LRT counters, but they only accept cash.
I want to explore using either ocbc Ti cc or AEON Watami cc that give 1% or 3% CB respectively.
I have just get into a work place that take TnG as payment for food (lunch).
Including my daily LRT commute, may total up to RM400/mth or more.
tbheng
post Jul 3 2013, 01:54 PM

1,188 posts

QUOTE(shortleg88 @ Jul 3 2013, 12:15 PM)
Yes, and I actually replied few times. With the direct debit, entitled to RM2 discount, I have been getting it for nearly 1 year already.

I think should put this in front page as I actually reply this quite a lot of times.

But my advice is sign up autodebit with OCBC Titanium and pay using Amex during weekend before the bill cut off date

example:

Unifi VIP5 = RM149 per month

Autodebit = RM147 per month

Pay using Amex on weekend = RM145 (to get additional 5x point)

The rest let autodebit do it's work.
Thanks for the tips. smile.gif
A few clarifications:
1. Do you have to pay (using Amex) before the next due date or next bill generation date?
(Becaused I encounter for TNB, ocbc still auto-pay the full bill amount, 1 week after I paid using Amex. Mean ocbc will pay based on amount billed and not amount outstanding.)
2.So in your example, Bill amount = RM147, and RM2 shown in ocbc statement?
3.And I can actually fully paid using Amex (RM147), as RM2 discount is given by TM. So no charge to ocbc.
tbheng
post Jul 6 2013, 08:24 AM

1,188 posts

QUOTE(shortleg88 @ Jul 3 2013, 02:44 PM)
1. Have to pay before the bill generated or else will be double pay. From my experience with autodebit, the autodebit card will pay the bill statement amount and not the outstanding amount

2. Yes, since my bill statement will be RM2 and ocbc will pay the statement amount

3. I think so can. But i experienced once which I overpaid and there was no RM2 rebate. Hence I always pay slightly less to make sure I received the RM2 rebate.

Another note to inform. Do pay before at least 3 working days before the bill statement date. Hence I always pay the weekend (make sure more than 3 days) before my bill statement
Thanks for info sharing.
As I understood from your posts. You use the Scenario 1 as example and also experience Scenario 3b below.
I was hoping TM will do like Scenario 3a, as at times I purposely overpay to maximise cc monthly CB. I will try to see what happen. tongue.gif

QUOTE(guy3288 @ Jul 3 2013, 02:45 PM)
wah this is interesting! Before autopay due, pay part of theTM bills with MBB Amex and then leave the balance for OCBC titanium to pay on TM autopay system????

But minimum  charge must be RM20 to get rebate RM2 from TM. So if your month bill is RM147, you should pay only RM127 with MBB Amex and leave RM20 for OCBC Ti  cherge by TM autopay.

Did i get what you say correctly??
The question  is would TM or OCBC allow us to play them up like that?Any real first hand experience??

I called OCBC CS he recommended to be safe for OCBC 5% CB better dont use TM autopay!!! Use OCBC website that is what he said.

Need first hand eexperience report here.
Is this RM20 min charge in TnC? Any source?
Yes, I have tried this method (reg auto pay by ocbc cc, manual pay using Amex on weekend) for my TNB (electricity bill), I get 5% + 5xTP from Amex; and 5% from ocbc (auto pay my bill amount). thumbup.gif

tbheng
post Jul 17 2013, 07:32 AM

1,188 posts

QUOTE(cyberheross @ Jul 12 2013, 04:13 PM)
Yup, that is true.
The petrol and the bill payments with 5% rebates are my main consideration.
Somemore they give 5% rebate for ALL petrols, as long as u swipe their card.
For petrol I will already swipe more than 20 times per MONTH, so this card is consider FREE for me  rclxm9.gif  rclxms.gif
I applied at OCBC branch, the Sales Manager required me to provide my Employment Contract (coz I'm working in Singapore), 3 months payslip with bank statement to proof it, utility bill with MY NAME on it to prove that I am staying there.
So compare with mine, yours is still consider OK la.  thumbup.gif
By the way, I just received call from OCBC to confirm my application.
Now my hope to get the card by this week seems...... impossible  cry.gif  cry.gif
If you swipe for petrol > 20x/mth, you would gain more by using HL Wise cc with 10% CB. nod.gif
Check HERE to see if it fit you.
tbheng
post Jul 21 2013, 01:15 AM

1,188 posts

QUOTE(mjchua @ Jul 20 2013, 06:55 PM)
Tried to pay syabas via ocbc online, but got this.

We would like to inform you that your following bill payment has been unsuccessful:

Do I need to pay one more time or wait a few days
I encountered this a couple of times (in different months).
It went through on second payment attempt (less than a minute after the failed attempt). No double charge effects. nod.gif

0.0317sec    0.27    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 05:42 PM