Credit Cards OCBC Titanium MasterCard Cash-Back v3, Which merchant get 5% or 1% Cashback ??

aeiou228
post May 4 2013, 06:57 PM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(ronnie @ May 4 2013, 05:37 PM)
PBB likes to use this type of loop-holes.... other banks don't care the recipient bank. That's why I hate chinese bosses run banks (and I'm Chinese)
There isn't any loop-hole to use. PBB fine print stated clearly the 10sen giro fee applies to ALL BANKS in MALAYSIA only. Definitely not ""Local banks only"" as mentioned by GymBoi.
aeiou228
post Jun 17 2013, 11:36 PM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(pinksapphire @ Jun 17 2013, 10:50 PM)
Hi, everyone.

I'm thinking of getting CC from OCBC seeing how good it seems from the reviews that I've been reading.
Three questions, hope you can enlighten me:

1) If one is a Premier customer with the bank, is it better/easier to get a CC from them? If yes, will they waive any charges/fees that normally would incur through normal application?
2) Is there any promotions that one will miss out by getting it as part of Premier customer instead of applying through normal application?
3) Anything else that I should take note of?

Thanks!
1. Easier to get but no fee waiver.
2. Nothing
3. Priority should be given to HLB WISE card which gives better cash back of 10% up to rm100 per month.
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2760395
aeiou228
post Jun 18 2013, 12:57 AM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(pinksapphire @ Jun 18 2013, 12:47 AM)
Lol, I like how you put in the 3rd answer...thanks for that recommendation. Somehow I don't get good aura with HL, so I tend to stay away from that bank.
Appreciate your response! smile.gif
CC is diff from day to day banking ma. Rm1200 free money every year, can buy free iPad every year.
aeiou228
post Jun 18 2013, 10:02 AM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(ronnie @ Jun 18 2013, 07:45 AM)
Actually the RM1200 yearly is intangible.... as it's creditted automatically to offset the current statement
Well, I view cash back as tangible, coz the CB credit entry is real money. rclxms.gif

QUOTE(tbheng @ Jun 18 2013, 07:46 AM)
I second that.
I used to max out my ocbc Ti RM50 CB (and Amex one too).  tongue.gif
In my quest for next great CB cc, I found HL and AEON.
The HL RM100 CB has come in handy for me.  thumbup.gif
Now, with 10% CB from WISE (and also 3% CB from AEON WATAMI), I have spare CB's and flexibility/choice of cards to swipe.  nod.gif
Wah..! You big spender!

QUOTE(ronnie @ Jun 18 2013, 07:48 AM)
We have the great set of CB cards too.... flexibility can be bad sometimes (as we need to think which card to swipe)
It happens, use wrong card for wrong merchant. Can't help it. sad.gif
aeiou228
post Jun 18 2013, 06:52 PM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(ronnie @ Jun 18 2013, 03:09 PM)
More Cash back Credit cards was created thanks to Najib's Govt Service Tax....

To achieve maximum rebate per month per card
OCBC Titanium MasterCard : RM1000 spend
Maybankard 2 AMEX : RM1000 spend
HLB WISE Visa : RM1000 spend
AEON WATAMI Visa : RM1666.67 spend [Quarterly Rebate 3%]

Total : RM4666.67 to earn RM250 cash back per month
Average Cash-Back : 5.36%
I can safely say that this is the best CASH BACK cards combination rclxms.gif

QUOTE(tbheng @ Jun 18 2013, 04:50 PM)
Haha...what a good concise and clear summary...
Will get higher return % if including TP values and ocbc 20% dining CB, etc.
I have learnt a lot from all the cc sifu in LYN forum.  notworthy.gif

Imagine I used to have RM50x2 cap, now have RM250 cap, it is great to have spare CB for some non-monthly or ad-hoc expenses.
E.g. School opening, CNY shopping, Year End Sales, hospital/medical bill,  car service/maintenance, hotel/air-ticket for holidays, etc...
Oh boy, I have not even list the purchase of that latest smart phone, new car down payment...
We do help grow our economy, don't we?  tongue.gif.
I've been reading AEON WATAMI thread since thread started but never apply one due to it's lousy support, repayment options and custcare. Missed out some some car maintenance, Hospital and gadgets expenses which were charged under OCBC Ti 1% category only. I think it's time for me to get a WATAMI.
aeiou228
post Jun 20 2013, 07:21 PM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(pinksapphire @ Jun 20 2013, 04:23 PM)
Ah, thank you!

I was just looking at dining under 5%, there's very limited places in Penang that qualifies. Maybe they should expand it to hotel restaurants too.
I'm now starting to assess to see what I can start paying using this CC once I get it so that my RM50 cap will be fulfilled, hehe...

I think Utilities itself will take up a huge chunk, and plus petrol. Is there a max cap for what you can get under a certain category?
If none, then it's a lot easier to manage this card =)
If your TNB bill is substantial, MBB2Amex gives you better perks at 5% CB plus 5x treat points. CB cap at RM50/mth whereas TP is unlimited. Each point is worth approx 0.5 sen if converted to shopping vouchers.
aeiou228
post Aug 13 2013, 11:19 PM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(MGM @ Aug 13 2013, 05:35 PM)
Need some advice:
My OCBC titanium (latest statement date 11Aug) is up for renewal this 24Aug but my Retail spend only touch rm8300, still short of rm1700 for the 'Annual Usage Bonus' of RM50. According to the CS if I cancel the card before 24Aug(b4 GST rm50 is charged) my rebate for the month will be burned. So she suggested that I stop using the card after 24Aug(got a problem here as my Telekom autodebit is on 25Aug) and wait for the next statement on 11Sep. By then the GST will be charged and I still get the 'MONTHLY cash rebate of RM50 instead of being burned'. After I got this statement I then call the CS to request for 'Annual Usage Bonus' eventhough my Annual Retail Spend is short. I can then decide whether to keep the card or not. If I cancel the card I can also ask for the GST to be nullify.
My other problem is the Telekom autodebit. My telekom bill will be dated on 16Aug.
Can I pay the bill using OCBConline today(13/8) an estimated higher amount so that the autodebit would not be triggered on 25Aug?
How long it takes to cancel the autodebit facility?

Add:
Called Telekom at 100 and manage to cancel autodebit effectively tomorrow.
You must keep OCBC Ti for 1% CB for other transactions not accepted by Amex and not in chosen category in your WISE card.

aeiou228
post Aug 14 2013, 12:20 AM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(MGM @ Aug 13 2013, 11:40 PM)
I am now considering AEON Watami card for this category of transactions which gives 3%, eg AIA, Car Maintenance, Hospital, Popular Bookshop.
WATAMI would be a better choice. But since you have concern about 10k spending commitment in OCBC, WATAMI requires min3k per q too.
aeiou228
post Aug 20 2013, 11:21 AM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(avengers88 @ Aug 20 2013, 10:45 AM)
Guys, I used the OCBC online to pay maxis bill through credit card, they deducted already from my credit limit but my phone is still barred till today. Is there something wrong with their system?
Nothing wrong. You should have avoid paying via online as it takes time for the payment to be effected.

0.0214sec    0.27    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 12:20 AM