Oil & Gas Career, place where grease monkeys gather

LeechFever
post Nov 15 2009, 08:28 PM

DodoBird
2,841 posts

QUOTE(grunge @ Nov 15 2009, 08:07 PM)
Ya thanks for the reply. Thats what I thought. They are very strict about camera and phones. But when some dude told me that I can bring my phone on Shell rigs, i was like wtf?
u can try. If u can, do tell me the hotspot, lol. Though I think he meant for u to call taxi or someone to pick u up once u come back from offshore. Also due to salt sea breeze and potential drop of thousand ringgit iphone down into the deep blue, it would be advisable to keep it onshore or in the offshore LQ.

Camera restriction is mainly due to flashes which may cause explosion (thus flash disabled is a must) if there's gas leak. But most time it's to prevent the shutdown due to sensors. U definitely do not want to cost Shell millions just cause u wanna simply take photo for memory sake. If they catch you, they will definitely report you, and u do not want that.

This post has been edited by LeechFever: Nov 15 2009, 08:31 PM
depster666
post Nov 15 2009, 09:21 PM

452 posts

QUOTE(LeechFever @ Nov 15 2009, 08:28 PM)
u can try. If u can, do tell me the hotspot, lol. Though I think he meant for u to call taxi or someone to pick u up once u come back from offshore. Also due to salt sea breeze and potential drop of thousand ringgit iphone down into the deep blue, it would be advisable to keep it onshore or in the offshore LQ.

Camera restriction is mainly due to flashes which may cause explosion (thus flash disabled is a must) if there's gas leak. But most time it's to prevent the shutdown due to sensors. U definitely do not want to cost Shell millions just cause u wanna simply take photo for memory sake. If they catch you, they will definitely report you, and u do not want that.
Yep, those FDs are sensitive.. thats why flash is a no-no. Normally ppl bring mobiles to offshore for alarm clock, and camwhoring in the LQ. Notice why they dont bother to check for mobiles in u are going to any Shell platforms in SRWK?
LeechFever
post Nov 15 2009, 09:37 PM

DodoBird
2,841 posts

QUOTE(depster666 @ Nov 15 2009, 09:21 PM)
Yep, those FDs are sensitive.. thats why flash is a no-no. Normally ppl bring mobiles to offshore for alarm clock, and camwhoring in the LQ. Notice why they dont bother to check for mobiles in u are going to any Shell platforms in SRWK?
Actually they didn't even bother checking even laptops. Or else u be dealing with another set of headache procedures. U can bring anything as long as u adhere to their policy. Especially if u go by boat since unlike the airport custom, there seem to be no such thing though I think they should.

This post has been edited by LeechFever: Nov 15 2009, 09:37 PM
kaiserwulf
post Nov 16 2009, 07:15 AM

1,110 posts

Petronas platforms are more strict I believe. I was once at the Asian Supply Base in Labuan when I saw this scene.

One contractor guy tried to hide his HP inside his safety boots and when they check (before taking the boat to Semarang) they found it. He tried to feign ignorance but it was obvious he was trying to hide it (no sane man keeps their HP inside their boots). Be careful .... that fella was left on shore even after confiscating his HP. Boat left without him, poor man.
unitedfc9612
post Nov 16 2009, 10:21 AM

22 posts

anybody works in singapore keppel or sembcorp?

This post has been edited by unitedfc9612: Nov 16 2009, 10:21 AM
new~b0y
post Nov 17 2009, 11:18 PM

456 posts

QUOTE(kaiserwulf @ Nov 16 2009, 07:15 AM)
Petronas platforms are more strict I believe. I was once at the Asian Supply Base in Labuan when I saw this scene.

One contractor guy tried to hide his HP inside his safety boots and when they check (before taking the boat to Semarang) they found it. He tried to feign ignorance but it was obvious he was trying to hide it (no sane man keeps their HP inside their boots). Be careful .... that fella was left on shore even after confiscating his HP. Boat left without him, poor man.
Agree. Many Petronas platforms outside Miri are quite close to shore. Hence it is possible to get cellular signal out there. When there's signal, I believe a lot of people would ignore the safety regulations and still making calls or SMS in hazardous area. Not sure about Semarang Field.
Vervain
post Nov 18 2009, 01:36 AM

Scathach
5,464 posts

Hp is one thing. What about fishing.
iDk
post Nov 18 2009, 11:03 AM

♂
1,124 posts

QUOTE(LeechFever @ Nov 15 2009, 08:28 PM)

Apply for Hotwork Permit, then problem solved. For anyone who want to call from Malaysia offshore platform, just bring an i-talk card will do. Or you can use the Operator's phone (official use only) to make call.

I believe when shutdown or at new platform, no one bother that much about the phone or camera thingy down there, as long as we dont do anything stupid.
new~b0y
post Nov 18 2009, 03:01 PM

456 posts

QUOTE(Vervain @ Nov 18 2009, 01:36 AM)
Hp is one thing. What about fishing.
I don't think fishing is a big issue on the platform, unless there is diving or ROV operation near the platform.
post Nov 21 2009, 01:35 PM

93 posts

I am having an interview at Oil and Gas soon.

IT line

it's onshore

Lets just say I have around 3 years experience.

Could you please give me a rough figure I should quote, if they ask me for my expected salary?

kirisaki
post Nov 21 2009, 02:29 PM

301 posts

oil and gas need to take what course?chemical engineering?
Strawbelly
post Nov 21 2009, 09:55 PM

what course to study if i want work in oil and gas???
Jhnzr
post Nov 23 2009, 08:25 AM

52 posts

QUOTE(Strawbelly @ Nov 21 2009, 09:55 PM)
what course to study if i want work in oil and gas???
http://www.oilfieldcypher.blogspot.com/
LeechFever
post Nov 23 2009, 09:17 AM

DodoBird
2,841 posts

QUOTE(new~b0y @ Nov 18 2009, 03:01 PM)
I don't think fishing is a big issue on the platform, unless there is diving or ROV operation near the platform.
I think it's not allowed. Maybe just not fully enforced since people there tend to fish and throw the fish back. Also there's potential mercury poisoning.

This post has been edited by LeechFever: Nov 23 2009, 09:18 AM
new~b0y
post Nov 23 2009, 03:24 PM

456 posts

QUOTE(LeechFever @ Nov 23 2009, 09:17 AM)
I think it's not allowed. Maybe just not fully enforced since people there tend to fish and throw the fish back. Also there's potential mercury poisoning.
Mercury poisoning?! The fish you get in your supermarket aren't any safer. Fishes swim around, so it's hard to know where they come from. Plus, there are very strict regulations when it comes to disposing toxic materials. I don't think all waste can be thrown into the sea, again depending on which part of the world the platform is. Straits of Melaka is one of the busiest shipping region in the world, I bet more dumping is done there than South China Sea.

Anyway, I heard in some rigs, cooks actually setup fish traps with leftover food as bait to get fresh supply of fish.
LeechFever
post Nov 23 2009, 03:35 PM

DodoBird
2,841 posts

QUOTE(new~b0y @ Nov 23 2009, 03:24 PM)
Mercury poisoning?! The fish you get in your supermarket aren't any safer. Fishes swim around, so it's hard to know where they come from. Plus, there are very strict regulations when it comes to disposing toxic materials. I don't think all waste can be thrown into the sea, again depending on which part of the world the platform is. Straits of Melaka is one of the busiest shipping region in the world, I bet more dumping is done there than South China Sea.

Anyway, I heard in some rigs, cooks actually setup fish traps with leftover food as bait to get fresh supply of fish.
Dude. I'm talking about fishies near the platform lah due to pollution from the oil rig.

"Contaminated water resulting from offshore oil and gas platform drilling contains mercury and other toxic heavy metals. mercury concentrations in these retrieved waters can be as high 2,000 parts per billion, therefore they need to be treated before they can be safely discharged to the environment. "

"Anyway, I heard in some rigs, cooks actually setup fish traps with leftover food as bait to get fresh supply of fish. "

I think probably during stormy weather where food supply is hard to come by on offshore platform, lol. One time, we panic cause no supply of veges due to same situation.

This post has been edited by LeechFever: Nov 23 2009, 03:39 PM
kaiserwulf
post Nov 23 2009, 03:42 PM

1,110 posts

I dont think they throw them back in. I don't know but people have been eating really fresh fish during night shifts out here, if you get my drift. Fish that came out from the water just after excess brine has been dumped into the sea for example. Dunno if you guys have offshore exp here in Bolehland. tongue.gif
LeechFever
post Nov 23 2009, 03:59 PM

DodoBird
2,841 posts

That's what I heard from guys who actually witness this illegal fishing. They use fishing lines and tied them to their legs (or is it the railing) so that it is not visible. Once caught, they release the fish, cause no way u can get away with dead fish without people smelling something fishy.
crapp0
post Nov 23 2009, 04:18 PM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(LeechFever @ Nov 23 2009, 09:17 AM)
Do you know how much fish you need to consume to get mercury poisoning?
ps3roxor
post Nov 23 2009, 05:20 PM

181 posts

QUOTE(crapp0 @ Nov 23 2009, 04:18 PM)
Do you know how much fish you need to consume to get mercury poisoning?
The maximum pre-lethal dose is 50ppm, wanna know how much is that compared to everyday objects?

This post has been edited by ps3roxor: Nov 23 2009, 05:20 PM

214 Pages « < 164 165 166 167 168 > » Top

0.0386sec    0.71    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 12:20 PM