Oil & Gas Career, place where grease monkeys gather

LeechFever
post Nov 11 2008, 11:26 AM

DodoBird
2,841 posts

QUOTE(pandikar @ Nov 10 2008, 05:12 PM)
can a 'fresh graduate' with electrical degree join OnG comp.?

i typed 'fresh graduate' because right now working in semicon comp., non-related to OnG  biggrin.gif
Can. Cause oil platform still need electricity mah (UPS system, electrical generation, transmission and distribution, maintenance, lighting, relay protection, lightning protection, motor etc) smile.gif

This post has been edited by LeechFever: Nov 11 2008, 11:28 AM
LeechFever
post Nov 11 2008, 01:05 PM

DodoBird
2,841 posts

QUOTE(cloudstrife07 @ Nov 11 2008, 12:54 PM)
is it true that oil and gas career prefer males than females?what needs to be done and need to be improved in order for a female to succeed in O&G field?

asking on behalf of my gf. she's taking degree in chemical engineering and is nearing graduation so she starts to worry about her career.
Well think about it...male are less fussy than female (not all btw cause I know some female hardcore offshore goer but mostly). Also, let say a female were to go offshore to a platform with all males (maybe at that one time). whistling.gif

This post has been edited by LeechFever: Nov 11 2008, 01:07 PM
LeechFever
post Nov 11 2008, 01:37 PM

DodoBird
2,841 posts

QUOTE(cloudstrife07 @ Nov 11 2008, 01:11 PM)
whoa i didn't know that! this is interesting.thanks jabroni. if u don't mind, can tell what company u're in? smile.gif
eh OnG career doesnt necessarily involving offshore right? wink.gif

anymore feedbacks?
Well, unless you are an IT guy or accountant, then pretty much you NEED to go offshore sooner or later or no promotion/bonus for you. One woman in Miri Office (O&G) got transfer to KL office (not O&G related) because she failed her sea survival test. I mean how do you become an engineer not knowing what the structure you working on looks like!? Anyway ur gf no need to worry because nowadays female can go offshore no problem (if willing) and earn more than you. Just the female/male ratio may be a bit low.

This post has been edited by LeechFever: Nov 11 2008, 01:41 PM
LeechFever
post Nov 11 2008, 03:00 PM

DodoBird
2,841 posts

QUOTE(derek_gkchoong @ Nov 11 2008, 01:49 PM)
hey guys i wanna to ask, i almost graduated in Electronic Engineering (major in nanotechnology). What position can i apply for O&G company? Do offshore need a guy like me?
Intrumentation, Automation, Control system etc. or the more general stuff like supervising sand blasting activity or procurement if you are desperate.
LeechFever
post Nov 14 2008, 07:50 AM

DodoBird
2,841 posts

QUOTE(JayC75 @ Nov 13 2008, 12:13 PM)
who said lady in chemical eng. background hard to get job or not suitable for oil n gas?  Lady in chemical eng background is the best candidate to work as process engineer, and process engineer most of the time is office based.
Again how do work on something if you don't see it urself? I dont get it. U sure or not this lady don't have any health complication or is already aging?

Added on November 14, 2008, 7:52 am
QUOTE(ed haku-chan @ Nov 13 2008, 06:10 PM)
Hy guys! i can feel the floor is getting hot now!

i just want to drop a simple question here..

I just got offered from Technip as a graduate safety engineer. Does anyone knows about the job description? Do I have to go to offshore or is it only for office based?

Your info is highly appreaciated! =D
Need offshore exp at least some. Else you be a clerk or office boy.

This post has been edited by LeechFever: Nov 14 2008, 07:52 AM
LeechFever
post Jan 22 2009, 06:03 PM

DodoBird
2,841 posts

QUOTE(stupid904 @ Jan 21 2009, 06:57 PM)
So do anyone know is it important to get recognition from Board of Engineering Malaysia (BEM, Malaysia) or/and Institute of Engineering Technology (IET, UK) if wanna to work at oil & gas field?
By law u need to before starting any engineering work. But I dont really see it much applied in O&G. But its good to get one. But once u start apply u need to wait at least 6 months to get one. lol

Added on January 22, 2009, 6:07 pm
QUOTE(stupid904 @ Jan 21 2009, 06:57 PM)
So do anyone know is it important to get recognition from Board of Engineering Malaysia (BEM, Malaysia) or/and Institute of Engineering Technology (IET, UK) if wanna to work at oil & gas field?
Malaysia only recognize BEM (strangely) and probably the professional body in Australia due to mutual agreement (but recently there are some complication going on now between those two). IET is like nothing in Malaysia.

This post has been edited by LeechFever: Jan 22 2009, 06:08 PM
LeechFever
post Jan 29 2009, 11:07 AM

DodoBird
2,841 posts

QUOTE(MCDC @ Jan 29 2009, 10:59 AM)
yeah...if they ask u directly if "Money is one of the criteria u join this field"...then answer honestly. If they ask you "why u wanna join this field?", then I don't know why one must talk about the interest in money instead of the interest in the job itself...because I think u wil show to the interviewer ur less concentration to the job.

because the interviewer know y all ppl wanna join this industry..cannot tipu one la...I think not all ppl join this industry because of $$  tongue.gif  as heikal said "u shud not say like that..that insults" n this show u r wrong... tongue.gif  ...haha...but im one of the all cos i love $$ too  rclxm9.gif
Actually not that they really care, depending on what job u subscribe, cause oil and gas industries are normally understaffed due to high turnover. From the way i see it, if u are sound enough and have relatively good background, ur hired. Even if u just have bachelor in accounting, you will still get to work as engineer (well more like supervisor to manual labour) Cause not many people want to go offshore often and the pay, though looks lucrative to some, some say the work is harder & riskier than the amount of pay itself. They say money is good, but truth is unless u are the big boss yourself or higher ranker, u not gonna earn much.
LeechFever
post Sep 24 2009, 02:14 PM

DodoBird
2,841 posts

QUOTE(bomberkenny @ Sep 24 2009, 01:57 PM)
I wanted to ask if a person with degree other than geology, engineering or business can apply for a job in this industry?
Can......from cleaner/laundry boy or chef at offshore platform to helicopter pilot sending people there. U hav to be more specific a bit.
LeechFever
post Sep 25 2009, 01:26 PM

DodoBird
2,841 posts

QUOTE(Naratoyo @ Sep 25 2009, 12:47 PM)
Anyone have the experience working in O&G industry, offshore or onshore in Middle East (Dubai, Abu Dhabi, etc) or Afrika (Nigeria, etc)??
Can share the working experience there such as working condition, personal security issue, living standard, etc...Thanks. biggrin.gif
Nigeria:

Pay: Very High
Personal Security: Armored Vechicles with personal bodyguard and free bullet proof vest
living standard: 5 star hotel? Don't know.
working condition: u get to carry gun, yeah! Just as long u don't stick ur head out any vehicle windows.

What I heard anyway, don't know if it's true.
LeechFever
post Oct 5 2009, 01:27 PM

DodoBird
2,841 posts

Friday half day? No lah. Saturday and Sunday off only. The half day probably apply to muslim only. But that's in Sarawak, what I heard from a friend of mine.

Turnover rate high? I heard all O&G companies have that.

This post has been edited by LeechFever: Oct 5 2009, 01:54 PM
LeechFever
post Oct 8 2009, 03:32 PM

DodoBird
2,841 posts

QUOTE(lumia @ Oct 8 2009, 03:11 PM)
guyz....
wanna ask something.i am finance graduate student,now thinking of changing my career field...
really interested in oil n gas,but completely dun want to get involve in any of finance field...
but have no idea where to start...

any suggestions? icon_question.gif
..................what do u want exactly? Finance graduate but dont want finance.......then what? Process? Mechanical? Or offshore chef if u can cook? Any other clue or elaborate so we may give more appropriate answer?
LeechFever
post Oct 8 2009, 03:59 PM

DodoBird
2,841 posts

QUOTE(robeng @ Oct 8 2009, 03:42 PM)
any1 can explain to me what is sales engineer post in o&g co is all about.
what is d job desc?
thx in advance.
I'm guessing something along: Salesman equivalent except u must have at least some engineering knowledge to answer what client wants regarding the product being offered cause these products are simply not ordinary household items which u can just get away by saying "I'm just selling the product, u have to ask the guy who invented this" or "more info in XXX.com".

This post has been edited by LeechFever: Oct 8 2009, 04:00 PM
LeechFever
post Oct 8 2009, 07:02 PM

DodoBird
2,841 posts

QUOTE(pinkdalmation @ Oct 8 2009, 06:57 PM)
sales engineer meaning you sell technology
i suppose you have to convince the client what equipment/technology he should pay for to get a job done

my two cents smile.gif
im guessing you'll be in the office and meeting clients alot
Actually mostly the other way around. U travel to the clients office and do presentation. Or is it another title?
LeechFever
post Oct 8 2009, 07:36 PM

DodoBird
2,841 posts

QUOTE(kaiserwulf @ Oct 8 2009, 07:29 PM)
Well, if youre based in the right location (aka countries where oilfield services is expensive and numerous) you can own a nice yacht as a sales engineer. Nuff said.
That's a big 'IF"
LeechFever
post Nov 3 2009, 04:01 PM

DodoBird
2,841 posts

QUOTE(robeng @ Nov 1 2009, 04:29 PM)
Bro Jhnzr, sorry to tell u that by 2013, Malaysia will become an oil importer country..
this show that our oil is critically going empty..
we can't compare with saudi or any other oil producer..
saudi's oil reserve can last up to 40yrs..
correct me if im wrong..
tq..
Now where do u hear that from? There's still the deep sea offshore to explore. From what I heard, they are using the current existing platforms as hub for deepwater exploration. Hence, the maintenance.

Added on November 3, 2009, 4:06 pm
QUOTE(thedarknight @ Nov 2 2009, 08:59 AM)
no wonder lots of ppl are quitting their O&G job nowadays... later when the oil run dried wat to feed the families lol whistling.gif
When the oil runs dry, the whole world economy will probably collapse. No where to run dude. Have u actually seen planes running on renewable energy? Or a cargo ship at that? Or that there're trucks or vehicles travelling long distances on solar panel alone (even if there are, how many people could afford)? As of now, oil and gas still play big significant role.

This post has been edited by LeechFever: Nov 3 2009, 04:09 PM
LeechFever
post Nov 3 2009, 05:33 PM

DodoBird
2,841 posts

QUOTE(robeng @ Nov 3 2009, 05:22 PM)

This is why Toyota introduced Prius!
It still need gas to run....u know that right?

LeechFever
post Nov 3 2009, 10:42 PM

DodoBird
2,841 posts

QUOTE(robeng @ Nov 3 2009, 08:42 PM)

p/s: To LeechFever: Hybrid is just a beginning. Prius is just a very simple eg to understand. Not to mention other alt energy like biogas. They wont come up with all these things at 1st place if they have same thinking like u. HERE is very simple article bout RE.
I have seen discovery channel. I have learn what I can about renewable energy via courses, articles and documentaries. I have seen car running from hydrogen to nuclear. Even the attempt to harness solar power and transmit them wirelessly to earth from space. Frankly it is still very far in the future for a renewable energy to actually be commercially produced. Problem with renewable energy is the low amount of energy output from them. Take hydrogen car for example. Sure, there are already hydrogen pump station for it. But considering the amount of people driving it and the power it takes to separate hydrogen and oxygen via solar power......very low. Until I see a functioning consumer plane or a cargo ship that actually runs on this clean energy, I would have my doubt on its impact on economy globally.

Hybrid is actually a simple concept that has been thought out long before. Only problem is the battery design which usually like laptop battery doesnt last long, heavy and to replace em actually consume more money that saving gas in the long run. In the end it still depends on gas to run and recharge the battery. Even a fully electric car concept is pointless if the charging source came from a petroleum power plant. Have anyone thought of the toxic effect from the battery itself if it is to be thrown?

"Biogas typically refers to a gas produced by the biological breakdown of organic matter in the absence of oxygen." So where does this organic matter came from? Shits? Food wastage? How much amount of wastage do we need to obtain sufficient enough power to power the whole world? Sure biogas is cheap now, but in the future once demand soar, price increase, source drop and in the end, pretty much the same as petrol.

Geothermal, wave, wind? I think they forgot hydro. Sure it is clean, but consider the amount of deforestation, land, wild habitat destruction and money needed respective to the amount of energy produced.

But not to say it's impossible since there is already a 'sport' car fully powered by a battery, but lets face it, it would take another half a century for renewable energy to be fully technologically utilized. Until then we still need petrol.

This post has been edited by LeechFever: Nov 3 2009, 10:46 PM
LeechFever
post Nov 7 2009, 02:46 PM

DodoBird
2,841 posts

QUOTE(exp007 @ Nov 7 2009, 02:14 AM)

All the shallow stuff have already been found, and now we are moving on to deeper areas but these costs $$$, the deepwater projects over at Gulf of Mexico needs $70/barrel just to break even, so you can imagine how much investments that would need...

This is true. But here's the thing. Oil will still play a major role in producing energy. Even if the deepwater projects gonna cost a bomb, people will still demand for it regardless. It's basically an essential commodities. Heck when oil break >$100 per barrel mark, people still paying for it albeit the lower usage to save cost. As world population grows so is gas consumption, so I don't think they would worry about the profit generated if they ever need to dig into deeper water in the near future. In the end, expensive or not, surely they will be forced to explore deepwater alternative sooner or later.
LeechFever
post Nov 9 2009, 09:54 AM

DodoBird
2,841 posts

QUOTE(:+:JerRy:+: @ Nov 9 2009, 07:49 AM)
Attitude makes all difference. Everything starts from the heart.  smile.gif

Added on November 9, 2009, 8:31 amIn fact, I'm pretty terrified by the soon running out petroleum.
I'm 19, now doing Petroleum Engineering(Bachelor's Degree) in UTM, 1st year only.
I would graduate by year 2013. Petroleum would totally run out by year 2011?! =____=

Drilling engineer, reservoir engineer, production engineer, etc, I don't know which is better..

$$$$$$ is initially my greatest motivation. However, my mind changes as I grow.
I don't mind end up as a lecturer. It's kinda fun to teach. If no petro, the course will be down.
Petroleum engineering lecturer will be no longer needed. I become... jobless??? O.O!!

Well, I start losing faith... I need some hope!  blink.gif
U r thinking too much. If the petrol runs out, the whole world will be in crisis (finance, food, transport, everything), not just oil industry. And like we said, there're still the deepwater solution to explore, so there's still "hope". If there's really no more petroleum here, u can apply to go to middle east, lol.

This post has been edited by LeechFever: Nov 9 2009, 09:56 AM
LeechFever
post Nov 13 2009, 12:54 PM

DodoBird
2,841 posts

QUOTE(arriffuddin @ Nov 13 2009, 11:05 AM)
does anybody knows the allowance rate for offshore workers? hehe...jus wud like to know. i know its a bit P&C to talk abt wages n stuffs...but jus wud like to know.hehe
Depending on company and position u are working. Lowest to highest I heard is between RM50 to RM200 per day (could be higher for higher rankers)

0.0628sec    0.89    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 09:18 AM