Oil & Gas Career, place where grease monkeys gather

kaiserwulf
post Oct 21 2008, 12:59 AM

1,110 posts

Hey guys,

I got an offer from Shell after the SRD rclxms.gif for a Wellsite Operations Engineer. The numbers quoted seemed not like what the forumers here made it out to be. blink.gif Any help here?

Apparently I will be put on probation for up to 1 year before confirmation. Is there any chance of getting offshore? Plus how much are the business bonuses on an estimate?

Ps. Any solutions and advice deemed too private please PM me. Thanks
kaiserwulf
post Dec 2 2008, 09:42 PM

1,110 posts

According to the business news on Star, Msian OnG has it okay for the next 3 years due to contracts. They are pretty stable for now. Recruitment however may slow but so far I have not heard of cases just like what we hear of the semi-con industry.

People dig hard for OnG but there are other industries where your talents may be needed. If you are in need of a job, suggest looking around other places for work too.
kaiserwulf
post Dec 17 2008, 05:57 PM

1,110 posts

Heh, my secondary school english teacher was also major in geology. At that time when he told us about his course we did not know its significance. Old times smile.gif

kaiserwulf
post Dec 18 2008, 07:38 AM

1,110 posts

QUOTE(backspace66 @ Dec 18 2008, 07:35 AM)
if you search few pages back,you will see that i actually posted a job opening in CGGVeritas Malaysian office(Veritas DGC).

Veritas DGC (M) Sdn Bhd
CGGVeritas is a leading geophysical services company providing worldwide services to the oil and gas industry. As a consequence of our growth, we are seeking to develop more talents for the geophysical processing team of our operations in the Asia Pacific Region:
PROCESSING GEOPHYSICISTS
(Kuala Lumpur)

Requirements:

* Degree in Physics, Mathematics, Geophysics, Engineering, Electronics or Sciences
    * Good command of English both spoken and written
    * Malaysian citizen or PR status
    * Must have strong math and excellent problem solving skills
    * Team player with strong interpersonal communication and organizational skills

An attractive remuneration package in line with qualifications and experience will be offered to successful candidates.

All applications will be treated in strictest confidence and only resumes with transcripts will be considered.

Interested candidates, please submit your resumes and contact numbers to:

Human Resources (Recruitment)
Veritas DGC (Malaysia) Sdn. Bhd.,
Level 56, Tower 2
Petronas Twin Towers, KLCC
Kuala Lumpur
Malaysia 50088

....direct cut and paste... LOL,anyway juz apply k,apply with a transcript and don't fail the IQ test(which is easy)
Jkjkjk: If he cant find a job posting in a thread, can he find the oil in the ground? brows.gif Anyways, send your resume Mr. Geologist. Good luck!
kaiserwulf
post Dec 19 2008, 08:14 PM

1,110 posts

@Avickun: Lol. What jobs involve offshore work full time then? I mean you mentioned you are Supply Chain Exe. I heard Operations Engineer Trainee is one. What else?

This post has been edited by kaiserwulf: Dec 19 2008, 08:17 PM
kaiserwulf
post Dec 31 2008, 02:39 PM

1,110 posts

Noyze, how many years as exp to get the 800 USD rate and is it applicable in Msia or only for overseas?
kaiserwulf
post Jan 3 2009, 12:58 AM

1,110 posts

@Aurora: Rawr! My friends uncle with Pet in the ASEAN region gets RMxxx a month on average. Company man I believe.

This post has been edited by kaiserwulf: Jan 3 2009, 01:53 AM
kaiserwulf
post Jan 5 2009, 08:10 PM

1,110 posts

There are people who say the life working offshore as an engineer (white collar) is demanding and like a prison. You see the sea and more men for stretches of weeks. I was told that today. What are the motivations of those wanting for jobs like this?
kaiserwulf
post Jan 5 2009, 09:23 PM

1,110 posts

My ex also told me that noise pollution is rife at the oil rigs, told me to stay with the office instead of going offshore. She is a hearing aid sales exec now, got some clients working offshore.

How about the 12 hour work shift? Plus demanding deadlines to reach the oil? I would love to hear from the experienced hands.
kaiserwulf
post Jan 6 2009, 03:08 PM

1,110 posts

Added on January 6, 2009, 3:09 pm
QUOTE(Aurora @ Jan 6 2009, 07:26 AM)
In project, standard working 15-16 hours/day. Life is indeed very demanding and challenging. There are more one can learn when working at offshore than working in office. Everyday there are different problems and challenges, more stress and frustration.

For operation and maintenance, there are less challenges, and usually work on shift. Usually working >12hrs only when turnaround.

We use ear plug/earmuff when working in noisy environment, everyone is provided with 1 set. But some people just lazy to put on, that's how they lost their hearing.

Sunrise and sunset are good. But when weather pick up, it is also 'good'.  laugh.gif
Ic... how about well services or wellsite operations? Is that the project 16 hours daily that you speak about? I want to learn more of this lifestyle. Makes me quite interested as to why people are willing to put in 12+ hours while other industry normal office workers are already complaining when they go back home from their 9 to 5s at say 9 pm.

This post has been edited by kaiserwulf: Jan 6 2009, 10:23 PM
kaiserwulf
post Jan 9 2009, 01:28 PM

1,110 posts

QUOTE(triad @ Jan 9 2009, 12:10 PM)
pm me ur email add

currently there is a need local SAT diver,international cert not usa one.pay around 6.5k usd/hour.
6500 USD/hour? How many hours of work per month? Thanks.

kaiserwulf
post Jan 11 2009, 07:27 PM

1,110 posts

For freshies sounds better than an office job in Malaysia. What is the visa expenses you are talking about? Meaning you can plastic your way through and pocket the 3500 salary clean?
kaiserwulf
post Jan 13 2009, 11:21 AM

1,110 posts

QUOTE(@riff @ Jan 13 2009, 09:35 AM)
lulz SLB.... i received this email on 31st July last year
but not once i received a call for interview with them.... hahaha but it would be sux if they ring me when my batt is dead or im in the area with limited coverage....

btw gaise.... what are your view on MMHE contract basis employment? its a year contract.... worth it?
When did you sent your application to them via Email before you got that reply? Thanks. Was wondering if anyone at all reads the resumes sent to their website. Thanks. smile.gif
kaiserwulf
post Jan 28 2009, 11:10 AM

1,110 posts

QUOTE(GaGiGuGaGi @ Jan 28 2009, 09:39 AM)
Who don't want big $$$ leh?  tongue.gif  i think it's normal lah...haha...u must be 1 of the bloody idiot, coz u r here...  tongue.gif
Freelance sounds good huh... hmm.gif  but i not dare coz i don't want my balls too big as urs, later people say i eat too much over-night egg... sweat.gif
QUOTE(Them_Me_You @ Jan 28 2009, 10:05 AM)
hahah... I agree with u, who doesn't want to earn big money..
Then you two should be honest in your interview session when they ask ,"So why do you want to join <insert company name here>?" Tell them like you guys say here: "I want big $$$ ma, who doesn't want?"

Good luck!

I agree with Noyze in this case, if joining other ppl's company- then look yourself in the mirror first. If going out on own business/freelance, then you have the balls and deserve the money.
kaiserwulf
post Jan 28 2009, 11:14 PM

1,110 posts

I did actually mentioned that I dint complete my assignment to interviewer. Do an old post search.

So when you want to treat your idol? biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by kaiserwulf: Jan 28 2009, 11:17 PM
kaiserwulf
post Mar 14 2009, 12:44 AM

1,110 posts

Well honestly, we would be better off if the offer giver provides us with more information.

But MYR 9k = AUS 3.7k. Not too much for project engineer with some experience. This basic salary is from my own personal experience in the upstream OnG industry.
kaiserwulf
post Mar 15 2009, 02:48 AM

1,110 posts

QUOTE(iDk @ Mar 14 2009, 12:50 AM)
again, you comparing to upstream of O&G. I think you need to understand what is the project engineer's work scope. It is like comparing roustabout with tool pusher's pay, as simple as that.
Well perhaps you can share with me the scope of downstream project engineers. icon_question.gif I am too always willing to learn more about the industry. My experience with downstream is my friend's dad who is a mobil supply chain guy. blush.gif

@TS: Would be better if you could give more details of the offer.
kaiserwulf
post Mar 15 2009, 09:57 PM

1,110 posts

@IDK: I dunno what to say. You have worked for Petronas before as field engineer. I assume its on offshore rotation duty. You would know what upstream means...

Upstream: Exploration, drilling and completions, production/process (basically getting the oil out from ground to land)

Downstream: Service stations, motor oil, industry petrochem etc. (letting products reach the masses)

Project engineers are office based but do not confuse it being 'downstream'. And they can be richer than the company man in cases.

The benefits of being offshore is the hazard pay + you don't spend shit offshore. If your basic can be more than his basic + hazard, there you go (as ICDeadPeople is trying to say) office guys can earn more. As with depster666's comment on his company, office guys paycheck quite high.

My personal experience? The office guy (project engineer) my team teleconference with every morning earns more than the company man here. Yes, wonders of satellite comm.

Last I heard you left P3t already. Are you still in OnG or other industry?

This post has been edited by kaiserwulf: Mar 15 2009, 10:07 PM
kaiserwulf
post Mar 16 2009, 07:22 PM

1,110 posts

QUOTE(ICDeadPeople @ Mar 16 2009, 05:48 PM)
Jeez, enuff already. Grow up and move on....
You really showed me how narrow minded a person can be. Its pretty pointless to say anything more.
I 2nd this. Someone is keen to flash their e-peen.

Back to topic, anyone knows what offers are possible in SEA region? Upstream wise. And other than Msia ofc. smile.gif
kaiserwulf
post Apr 10 2009, 08:59 AM

1,110 posts

QUOTE(poosk @ Apr 9 2009, 07:28 PM)
helo everybody...i m new here...hope can get some advice from brother-brother n sister-sister in tis forum here.. notworthy.gif
i recently get an offer from Dialog...RM2300 onli je..Oil & Gas industry wo...so less onli? hw to live in PJ oh?  shocking.gif
my fren work for a Can manufacturing company oso get Rm2600.. Oso the Dialog's job is contract basis for 2 yrs nt permanent staff..everybody is saying nvr go for a contract job... sad.gif
i understand economy bad nw...but return not vy compensate le... wher come the ohm to work wo...
so countrymen shud i stil opt for Dialog?   hmm.gif
WTH. What makes you think OnG earns high money? Work is still work. I don't see people complaining for 2300 when at a Manufac industry or any industry for that matter.

Go for your experience dude. Then as you rise up you get increments as with any other industry. That's what you are looking for right? Though I suggest you not get sidetracked by industry name alone (I know 'ONG' means fortune in Chinese); if your Can Manufac friend gets 2600 and you prefer high pay like him, giving a try at that company is also great. Glad to help. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by kaiserwulf: Apr 10 2009, 09:02 AM

0.0263sec    0.24    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 02:44 PM