125 Pages « < 14 15 16 17 18 > » Bottom

Maxis The Official Maxis FTTH Thread | v3, Maxis Home Fibre Internet, from RM138

hamtaro98
post Aug 25 2012, 02:22 PM

139 posts

Finish installed today morning, tm and maxis guy came at 10 and finish at 1130, very fast installing without extra charges. But the modem provided by TM is Alcatel-lucent brand, not Huawei.
Finally byebye to mt 1mb streamyx~
pisanq
post Aug 25 2012, 02:29 PM

612 posts

QUOTE(clawhammer @ Aug 25 2012, 02:20 PM)
Both of you are using a download manager to do the job. The reason why you are getting "full speed" is because the download manager optimizes the download for you by using multiple connections and downloading the files in parts (please read more about segmented downloading). Segmented downloads mean you can download the same file with many streams, resulting in higher download-speed. That explains why you claim it is getting "full speed".
Your observation and experience is correct. They are claiming "full speed" downloads because they are using download managers which somewhat optimizes the connection to get that sort of speed.
I use download manager to create multiple download connection per file because my computer Operating System limit my download speed per connection. That's why I can utilize all the Maxis FTTH bandwidth after combining all of these "OS limited download speed"
clawhammer
post Aug 25 2012, 02:37 PM

///M
8,788 posts

QUOTE(pisanq @ Aug 25 2012, 02:29 PM)
I use download manager to create multiple download connection per file because my computer Operating System limit my download speed per connection. That's why I can utilize all the Maxis FTTH bandwidth after combining all of these "OS limited download speed"
That's true but you are getting full speed because you are using a download manager which is literally optimizing your network connection. Therefore it is not fair to say that under all circumstances we can get full speed downloads from Mediafire because not everyone has a download manager and would pay for it. Besides, some file sharing sites will block segmented downloading unless you are a premium user.

That is why some people get confused as to why they are getting low download speeds while others are getting "full speed" biggrin.gif They are misled by the fact that you guys are using a download manager.
bladegun
post Aug 25 2012, 04:23 PM

187 posts

My installation on 26 Sept and I already received 2 bills with different account number. Does you guys also have 2 different account numbers?

EDIT: Sorry, I have read the 1st page already. Question answered.

This post has been edited by bladegun: Aug 25 2012, 04:33 PM
wokan
post Aug 25 2012, 04:25 PM

61 posts

bro Ronnie, maybe you can post on 1st page to clarify the the speed issue

By using Download Manager utility tool you will get full speed 1.2MBps from certain sites while those not using Download Manager (from certain sites) to avoid confusion.

duckaton
post Aug 25 2012, 04:47 PM

Progress is Imminent
1,216 posts

you all are just trying to justify the slow download speed from direct download with tonnes of excuses.---derailed la

why don't just say maxis has some problems now, will be better soon.
danieltay
post Aug 25 2012, 04:53 PM

209 posts

QUOTE(clawhammer @ Aug 25 2012, 12:11 PM)
Show me you can get 1.25MB/s for this file smile.gif I can't even hit 500KB/s here

http://www.mediafire.com/download.php?i6ua00spypgepzk
i try and get about 200kbps only... maxshit!

and yes, if use download manager can get 1.2mbps

that is the reason why when maxis installer came, he will show you the full speed 1.2mbps using download manager, never dare to show you direct download

Added on August 25, 2012, 5:01 pm
QUOTE(duckaton @ Aug 25 2012, 04:47 PM)
you all are just trying to justify the slow download speed from direct download with tonnes of excuses.---derailed la

why don't just say maxis has some problems now, will be better soon.
have u got your p1 installed?

feedback pls

This post has been edited by danieltay: Aug 25 2012, 05:01 PM
duckaton
post Aug 25 2012, 05:29 PM

Progress is Imminent
1,216 posts

QUOTE(danieltay @ Aug 25 2012, 04:53 PM)
have u got your p1 installed?

feedback pls
not installed yet.

my experience so far:

1) submitted my interest on their website 11th Aug Saturday night.
agent called Monday morning to confirm my interest and emailed to me what to do to apply.

I dilly dally, scared will be same as maxis and do a lot of research, nothing found.
end up tried their staff's fiber at his home, so far okay.
no redirection or disconnection.

2) emailed everything and signed the registration form thursday 23th Aug
received sms acknowledgement the next day Friday
followed by an email with all particulars and voip tel number,
someone will call me within 3 working days to confirm appt for installation.

3) now waiting.

What I am happy with:
Good service so far.
Unlimited quota stated clearly
30 days money back
Cheap RM99 p/month for 5mb

What I am not happy with:
no iptv, but not really important to me
weird terms/condition, must make call on tel at least once a month.
default e-billing, paper bill add rm5
Voip phone is green colour, wired.

QUOTE(hamtaro98 @ Aug 25 2012, 02:22 PM)
Finish installed today morning, tm and maxis guy came at 10 and finish at 1130, very fast installing without extra charges. But the modem provided by TM is Alcatel-lucent brand, not Huawei.
Finally byebye to mt 1mb streamyx~
so they have new stock wifi router edi?
same shitty thomson or new model?
share experience pls.

goodluck, you will need it.

This post has been edited by duckaton: Aug 25 2012, 05:39 PM
TSronnie
post Aug 25 2012, 07:29 PM

Not enough stars
21,308 posts

QUOTE(wokan @ Aug 25 2012, 04:25 PM)
bro Ronnie, maybe you can post on 1st page to clarify the the speed issue

By using Download Manager utility tool you will get full speed 1.2MBps from certain sites while those not using Download Manager (from certain sites) to avoid confusion.
Why would we not use FREE Download Managers ?
Main objective of downloading : Download as fast as possible with the right tool. thumbup.gif thumbup.gif

Don't expect Schumacher to perform when driving a Myvi, compared to a Mercedes brows.gif brows.gif
ericling
post Aug 25 2012, 10:11 PM

323 posts

Stupid Maxis. Today I called them and they said they can't find any detail of my registered name. WTF.
Then called to the centre I registered at and they said they will check for me. But too bad I didn't have any prove that I registered before the RM118 deadline.
Anyone of you guys experience this? Really pissed of with this kind of service.

danieltay
post Aug 25 2012, 11:53 PM

209 posts

QUOTE(ericling @ Aug 25 2012, 10:11 PM)
Stupid Maxis. Today I called them and they said they can't find any detail of my registered name. WTF.
Then called to the centre I registered at and they said they will check for me. But too bad I didn't have any prove that I registered before the RM118 deadline.
Go for p1 fiber lah, cheap2... rm99 for 5mbps

Added on August 25, 2012, 11:56 pm
QUOTE(ronnie @ Aug 25 2012, 07:29 PM)
Why would we not use FREE Download Managers ?
Main objective of downloading : Download as fast as possible with the right tool.  thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif

Don't expect Schumacher to perform when driving a Myvi, compared to a Mercedes  brows.gif  brows.gif
Of coz will use download manager when possible... But not everything can use download manager

For example I am using my iPad to download movie from pps... The the speed is slower than streamyx 1 Mbps...wtf!

Not sure what kind of settings done in the maxis server... They definitely employed too many stupid engineers who try to be clever... Causing problems everywhere

This post has been edited by danieltay: Aug 25 2012, 11:58 PM
swimming
post Aug 26 2012, 12:16 AM

QUOTE(ericling @ Aug 25 2012, 10:11 PM)
i registered at maxis dealer end june but no news after that. i called maxis 2 weeks later, they said my registration not received, so i gave them my registration form number and which dealer i registered with for them to trace. another 2 weeks later, they called me to schedule installation on following week and promotion price stayed.
ericling
post Aug 26 2012, 12:48 AM

323 posts

QUOTE(swimming @ Aug 26 2012, 12:16 AM)
i registered at maxis dealer end june but no news after that. i called maxis 2 weeks later,  they said my registration not received, so i gave them my registration form number and which dealer i registered with for them to trace. another 2 weeks later, they called me to schedule installation on following week and promotion price stayed.
So I need to go to the dealer to get my registration form number and call Maxis?

P1 or Maxis?
swimming
post Aug 26 2012, 01:25 AM

QUOTE(ericling @ Aug 26 2012, 12:48 AM)
So I need to go to the dealer to get my registration form number and call Maxis?

P1 or Maxis?
the dealer should have given you the customer copy of the maxis registration form on the spot.
and the form should have a reference number.
TSronnie
post Aug 26 2012, 03:25 AM

Not enough stars
21,308 posts

TM Engineers = Malay majority
Maxis Engineers = Indian majority

Make your own conclusion for those who work with them (now or previously)
TSronnie
post Aug 26 2012, 03:28 AM

Not enough stars
21,308 posts

QUOTE(ericling @ Aug 26 2012, 12:48 AM)

P1 or Maxis?
Just try P1 since it's cheaper with 30-day money back.

P1 uses the 30-day Money Back very effective... my colleague fell for it during their POTONG promo.
During the the 30-day period, you get EXCELLENT speed/experience.
Then after 30-day, true color of P1 bad service will surface. BEWARE !!!
danieltay
post Aug 26 2012, 03:50 AM

209 posts

QUOTE(ronnie @ Aug 26 2012, 03:25 AM)
TM Engineers = Malay majority
Maxis Engineers = Indian majority

Make your own conclusion for those who work with them (now or previously)
nothing to do with race... it has to do with the tunjuk pandai attitude... for example, why u place a cache processing for web browsing(causing the web browsing to be slower than streamyx 512kbps)? trying to be genius or hero? that is called super stupid sohai wanting to be hero tahi kuching!

that is the source of all the problems we are facing now! some idiots engineers(whatever race u r i dun care, ang moh or olang i oso fcuk u!) trying to be clever, fcuk up!

This post has been edited by danieltay: Aug 26 2012, 03:51 AM
TSronnie
post Aug 26 2012, 09:15 AM

Not enough stars
21,308 posts

QUOTE(danieltay @ Aug 26 2012, 03:50 AM)
nothing to do with race... it has to do with the tunjuk pandai attitude... for example, why u place a cache processing for web browsing(causing the web browsing to be slower than streamyx 512kbps)? trying to be genius or hero? that is called super stupid sohai wanting to be hero tahi kuching!

that is the source of all the problems we are facing now! some idiots engineers(whatever race u r i dun care, ang moh or olang i oso fcuk u!) trying to be clever, fcuk up!
Indian like to beat-around-the-bush ... that's why our ping hops is 8-9 within Maxis.
aerobowl
post Aug 26 2012, 09:52 AM

556 posts

QUOTE(danieltay @ Aug 26 2012, 03:50 AM)

"cache processing" ? sound like spying on us
later we will receive blackmail with title "i know what you did yesterday"
hamtaro98
post Aug 26 2012, 10:20 AM

139 posts

Still the same thomson tg784n provided by maxis. Just the modem is not Huawei but Alcatel-lucent by TM. So far face no problem, currently waiting for Dr.pitchard voucher gift~

125 Pages « < 14 15 16 17 18 > » Top

0.0164sec    0.42    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 01:28 PM