Maxis The Official Maxis FTTH Thread | v3, Maxis Home Fibre Internet, from RM138

danieltay
post Aug 17 2012, 11:44 PM

209 posts

P1 is offering an alternative to maxis ftth and unfi(for those with valid business registration documents) :-
P1 Biz Fiber

5mbps for rm99 and 20mbps for rm199

i may soon switch if no improvement on this maxshit ftth(ell)

5mbps is good enough for me... asides from saving of rm19 per month, rm228 for a year and rm456 for 24 months... why not?

anyone with experience on p1 OnePlan Fiber(for consumer)?

This post has been edited by danieltay: Aug 17 2012, 11:54 PM
danieltay
post Aug 18 2012, 01:58 PM

209 posts

QUOTE(neo1point3 @ Aug 18 2012, 01:18 AM)
Update on my FTTH

Ping for online game still super high..local 300ms..overseas 400ms
Youtube smooth, HD without lag  thumbup.gif
Browsing speed consider normal
P2P and torrent full speed @ 1200kbps  biggrin.gif
you know why? bcoz currently not peak period, many balik kampung already

u need to test during peak period

anyway, be happy for a week or so b4 going back to hell

Added on August 18, 2012, 2:23 pm
QUOTE(hongchai888 @ Aug 18 2012, 09:53 AM)
Very smooth, I watch all the EPL team friendly match without lag. Already cut My Esok to save some penny.

Happy with Maxis service so far as I am not gamer
friendly ok lah, not many watching... this week maybe no problem bcoz all balik raya

starting next week u'll have to sambung balik... haha

Added on August 18, 2012, 2:31 pm
QUOTE(layzieboy @ Aug 18 2012, 12:30 PM)
is it only me or did browsing speed ( no failed loads) have improved?
dota 2 ping still high though at 280ms...
hopefully ping can be back to regular 60-90ms..
browsing speed has somehow improved... what sites you normally visit? can help u to test it out on my end

but the browsing is not as smooth though... if you go to thestar.com.my, it'll take some times to finish loading... and if you go overseas site like soccernet.com, you'll see like a slideshow, with the top images appear slowly before the content at the bottom apeear

we're talking about off period now, if peak period, sure die lah like that

honestly, i've not seen any isp as bad as maxis, dun even know how to configure their server for browsing

it's criminal to offer a 10mbps speed with browsing experience worst than 512kbps! this statement alone is enough to sentence maxis ftth guilty without verdict.

This post has been edited by danieltay: Aug 18 2012, 02:31 PM
danieltay
post Aug 18 2012, 04:41 PM

209 posts

QUOTE(duckaton @ Aug 18 2012, 03:41 PM)
I cancelled maxis before installation due 7th August.
Scared of so many maxis problems.

I jumped on the P1 bandwagon.
registered interest P1 site, agent call me one day after that.
registered via email yesterday.

I reckon NOTHING will be worse than maxis.
so u r going for which P1 plan?

pls keep us updated after ur installation on the performance... interested to switch for a peaceful life

but for ur info, if u r massive users, they may implement fup as per the faq
danieltay
post Aug 18 2012, 04:54 PM

209 posts

QUOTE(duckaton @ Aug 18 2012, 04:48 PM)
5mb FiberBiz RM99.00 promo, need business registration to apply
but agent say personal also can apply, dunno bout that.

stated clearly no quota
http://p1.com.my/forbizfiber/plans.aspx

FUP is not a concern for me.
maxis/unifi also say got FUP, streamyx say no FUP but torrent is throttled

hopefully P1 goes well,
my 1mb streamyx has been VERY STABLE for years now,
but this package is cheaper and faster

maxis set the benchmark for the worst.
nothing can be worst than them.
Excerpt from P1 FAQ
"Is there a Fair Usage Policy?
Yes. To ensure the quality of our service, all our plans are subjected to the Fair Usage Policy. P1 reserves the right to enforce the Fair Usage Policy on users who exceed their allocated monthly quota."

But not sure what is the allocated monthly quota if implemented, that could be the catch... for unifi vip5 is 60gb

This post has been edited by danieltay: Aug 18 2012, 05:01 PM
danieltay
post Aug 19 2012, 12:39 AM

209 posts

QUOTE(ericling @ Aug 18 2012, 09:58 PM)
Hey guys!Here's the streaming link:
http://atdhe.tw/watch.php?id=380534

Anyone please try it and tell me the result.
I am on 1mb streamyx and it's still going ok. Would like to see Maxis performance. thank you!
try watching newcastle vs tottenham... not smooth... get stuck every now and then... perhaps my previous streamyx 1mbps is better... hopeless lah this maxis ftth

this is not very popular, red hot game... imagine the speed when top 4 meeting, die leh!
danieltay
post Aug 19 2012, 11:02 PM

209 posts

I am using streamyx at my relative house, the browsing experience is definitely better than my maxshit ftth

What kind of ISP offering 10mbps but browsing worst than 512kbps?

Not only that, I try downloading movie from pps on my iPad, streamyx faster than maxshit ftth! Speechless...

This post has been edited by danieltay: Aug 19 2012, 11:10 PM
danieltay
post Aug 22 2012, 12:58 PM

209 posts

Anyone of you guys downloading movie on pps via ipad?

I tested on streamyx and get 100kbps easily, but on maxshit ftth, i only got about 50kbps
danieltay
post Aug 22 2012, 01:31 PM

209 posts

QUOTE(jssc @ Aug 22 2012, 01:15 PM)
I always use pps on iPhone. The speed is ok around 200 - 300 kbps with maxis ftth
good for you... but considering you can get 150kbps for streamyx 1mbps, it is not good enough honestly

anyone downloading movie using pps on pc? what is the speed?
danieltay
post Aug 24 2012, 01:14 AM

209 posts

QUOTE(lololzai @ Aug 23 2012, 10:20 PM)
Download via PPS on PC with mostly full speed and iPhone with 600~800kbps.
No iPad atm.
Yeah me too.
then most probably they placed throttle to me wrongly... i only use about 30% of the quota every month... if i found out they place the throttle wrongly, siap!
danieltay
post Aug 24 2012, 02:46 PM

209 posts

QUOTE(pisces88 @ Aug 24 2012, 11:22 AM)
hahah then unifi>maxis la  brows.gif  brows.gif

still unclear whether want to cut off my streamyx 1.0 then go for

1) unifi
2) Maxis fiber
3) streamyx 4.0 - another forumer chose this instead of unifi, speed very fast according to him  biggrin.gif
maybe u can consider p1 fiber(using unfi as backbone as well)... currently cheapest at RM99 for 5 mbps

http://www.p1.com.my/biz/
danieltay
post Aug 24 2012, 02:52 PM

209 posts

QUOTE(steventyy @ Aug 24 2012, 02:51 PM)
wow !! unlimited quota.
yup, may consider to terminate my maxshit ftth for good
danieltay
post Aug 24 2012, 02:57 PM

209 posts

QUOTE(zzzxtreme @ Aug 24 2012, 02:53 PM)
too bad danieltay is having problems sad.gif
maxshit is too inconsistent... if u notice, currently(now) the connection is starting to slow down... lag while posting in lowyat

so this cycle of shit is happening every weekend... the maxshit server is overload and unable to handle heavy traffics during peak period

so be prepared to enjoy slow speed this weekend... yet again!

anyway, on the light side, let's enjoy some funny videos on p1 :-
http://www.p1.com.my/bizvideos/

wah, this p1 got 30 day money back guaranteed some more... if maxshit offer 30 day money back guaranteed, i am sure 90% of subscribers will say bye2 and run away!

This post has been edited by danieltay: Aug 24 2012, 03:20 PM
danieltay
post Aug 25 2012, 04:53 PM

209 posts

QUOTE(clawhammer @ Aug 25 2012, 12:11 PM)
Show me you can get 1.25MB/s for this file smile.gif I can't even hit 500KB/s here

http://www.mediafire.com/download.php?i6ua00spypgepzk
i try and get about 200kbps only... maxshit!

and yes, if use download manager can get 1.2mbps

that is the reason why when maxis installer came, he will show you the full speed 1.2mbps using download manager, never dare to show you direct download

Added on August 25, 2012, 5:01 pm
QUOTE(duckaton @ Aug 25 2012, 04:47 PM)
you all are just trying to justify the slow download speed from direct download with tonnes of excuses.---derailed la

why don't just say maxis has some problems now, will be better soon.
have u got your p1 installed?

feedback pls

This post has been edited by danieltay: Aug 25 2012, 05:01 PM
danieltay
post Aug 25 2012, 11:53 PM

209 posts

QUOTE(ericling @ Aug 25 2012, 10:11 PM)
Stupid Maxis. Today I called them and they said they can't find any detail of my registered name. WTF.
Then called to the centre I registered at and they said they will check for me. But too bad I didn't have any prove that I registered before the RM118 deadline.
Anyone of you guys experience this? Really pissed of with this kind of service.
Go for p1 fiber lah, cheap2... rm99 for 5mbps

Added on August 25, 2012, 11:56 pm
QUOTE(ronnie @ Aug 25 2012, 07:29 PM)
Why would we not use FREE Download Managers ?
Main objective of downloading : Download as fast as possible with the right tool.  thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif

Don't expect Schumacher to perform when driving a Myvi, compared to a Mercedes  brows.gif  brows.gif
Of coz will use download manager when possible... But not everything can use download manager

For example I am using my iPad to download movie from pps... The the speed is slower than streamyx 1 Mbps...wtf!

Not sure what kind of settings done in the maxis server... They definitely employed too many stupid engineers who try to be clever... Causing problems everywhere

This post has been edited by danieltay: Aug 25 2012, 11:58 PM
danieltay
post Aug 26 2012, 03:50 AM

209 posts

QUOTE(ronnie @ Aug 26 2012, 03:25 AM)
TM Engineers = Malay majority
Maxis Engineers = Indian majority

Make your own conclusion for those who work with them (now or previously)
nothing to do with race... it has to do with the tunjuk pandai attitude... for example, why u place a cache processing for web browsing(causing the web browsing to be slower than streamyx 512kbps)? trying to be genius or hero? that is called super stupid sohai wanting to be hero tahi kuching!

that is the source of all the problems we are facing now! some idiots engineers(whatever race u r i dun care, ang moh or olang i oso fcuk u!) trying to be clever, fcuk up!

This post has been edited by danieltay: Aug 26 2012, 03:51 AM
danieltay
post Aug 26 2012, 03:08 PM

209 posts

QUOTE(ronnie @ Aug 26 2012, 09:15 AM)
Indian like to beat-around-the-bush ... that's why our ping hops is 8-9 within Maxis.
anyway, did you visited maxis server centre? why u know majority is indian?

i got a call from one of the engineer, he is a malay

This post has been edited by danieltay: Aug 26 2012, 03:10 PM
danieltay
post Aug 27 2012, 02:20 PM

209 posts

QUOTE(skylinelover @ Aug 26 2012, 07:30 PM)
i thought this offer is not 4 residential houses hmm.gif  hmm.gif
any place also can, but u must register using business entity
danieltay
post Aug 28 2012, 02:38 PM

209 posts

QUOTE(jeremy05 @ Aug 28 2012, 01:43 PM)
if possible, keep it on 24/7, because i always on it when go to work, but can't connect after home. need to call maxis reset it, the maxis guy ask me got turn off the router or not, i said 'yes'. he reply me, turn off quite long hours, will face this kind of this problems...but he didn't explain what's going on.

if you afraid the router will burned or hanged, you can buy a cheap laptop coolor, put under the router and modem, my 1 after put, modem and router didn't feel burn and hot, just a bit warm only...
the maxis cs guy bullshit lah, i turn off everyday... turn off more than 48 hours once, oso no such issue

even the thomson engineer visiting my house said nothing wrong to turn it off everyday when i asked him

This post has been edited by danieltay: Aug 28 2012, 02:52 PM
danieltay
post Aug 28 2012, 07:26 PM

209 posts

QUOTE(jeremy05 @ Aug 28 2012, 04:06 PM)
maybe the maxis guy bullshit me, but this is really happen to me. if i didn't turn off the router, it will never disconnect. since i turn it off, overnight. i can't connect anymore, need to call maxis support.

so far i already open more than 3 days, no disconnect...
maybe something wrong with your thomson router
danieltay
post Aug 29 2012, 07:00 AM

209 posts

QUOTE(angelic-x @ Aug 29 2012, 01:44 AM)
Gaming on FTTH still is like sh*t. why they take so damn bloody long to fix it?
their engineers are super-stupid... honestly, i do not think they are able to fix it

0.2552sec    0.31    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 11:47 AM