130 Pages « < 97 98 99 100 101 > » Bottom

Proton PrevĂ© V12, Turbocharged car; Supercharged thread!

izputra
post Jul 10 2012, 11:04 AM

146 posts

QUOTE(K2002 @ Jul 10 2012, 02:08 AM)
actually push start button itself for this car already need additional step...

usually key fob in the pocket...when get in car just press start button.. (2 steps) correct me if i am wrong for forte cars or any other push start button like ford and toyota prius c/prius

for us..we need to insert key fob....then press brake pedal... then only press push start. our case( 3 steps)

my old manual car daihatsu charade just need to insert key and then twist to crank engine...so no need to get inside car and press brake...
(2 steps)
Yupp..u are right..just 2 steps for Forte. Just make sure that the key fob is in the car (whether in your pocket or bag or whether at the front seat or at the back seat..just dont put the key fob in the bonnet..lol). Then press the brake pedal & push the start button wink.gif
Gigabit
post Jul 10 2012, 11:28 AM

273 posts

QUOTE(multiplexer @ Jul 10 2012, 10:52 AM)
guys, on the One Way Valve issue, after change it to a new one, is there any possibilities of the problem re-occur? as from my readings, the OWV is because of the oil not sticking enough on the valve after being left unstarted or cold... seems like re-occuring issue for me.. or i got the readings wrongly?!?!
I think bro mat79 did share before that we can use engine oil with higher viscosity ie. SAE 10w instead of 5w. OWV occurs because the oil will be drained after 24 hours of non activity. That is why there is sound when starting the engine because there is no lubricant in the engine. Read from the forum here that even after fixing the OWV problem, cranking still occurs...correct me if i am wrong.

If OWV is due to engine oil, easy just change engine oil for next round of service...save the trouble of having to send the car for 3D2N stay in COSE.

For C Pillar wind noise, planning to use play doh to cover the gaps in the rubber seal while waiting to sent to SC for the 1000km service.

Cannot afford to take leave to send car to service for issue, dept short of staff..huhu
izputra
post Jul 10 2012, 11:28 AM

146 posts

QUOTE(DryCell @ Jul 10 2012, 09:58 AM)
Its time for you to fix the reverse cam bro haha
Will install the reverse cam immediately if Proton offers such accessory..but none as of now.

Is it possible to install somewhere else (third party installer)?
chickyyuan
post Jul 10 2012, 11:40 AM

80 posts

QUOTE(Gigabit @ Jul 10 2012, 12:28 PM)
I think bro mat79 did share before that we can use engine oil with higher viscosity ie. SAE 10w instead of 5w. OWV occurs because the oil will be drained after 24 hours of non activity. That is why there is sound when starting the engine because there is no lubricant in the engine. Read from the forum here that even after fixing the OWV problem, cranking still occurs...correct me if i am wrong.

If OWV is due to engine oil, easy just change engine oil for next round of service...save the trouble of having to send the car for 3D2N stay in COSE.

For C Pillar wind noise, planning to use play doh to cover the gaps in the rubber seal while waiting to sent to SC for the 1000km service.

Cannot afford to take leave to send car to service for issue, dept short of staff..huhu
Hi bro gigabit, somehow my preve does not have OWV problem despite i only use the car on weekends only (take LRT to work...) (means 120 hours of inactivity...lol) whenever i start my car on weekends - it sounds normal to me...no overcranking sound.... strange.... rclxub.gif
Cavino
post Jul 10 2012, 11:50 AM

842 posts

QUOTE(Gigabit @ Jul 10 2012, 11:28 AM)
I think bro mat79 did share before that we can use engine oil with higher viscosity ie. SAE 10w instead of 5w.
Actually there is no difference with 10W and 5W for our weather. THAT is WINTER weather rating. Its the number behind the W that matters, ie 5W30, 10W30, 5W40, etc. Essentially both 5W30 and 10W30 performed the same in our weather, both 10 and 5 are sub-zero temperature, so unless Malaysia start snowing, don't be bother with it.

30 and 40 perform differently with 40 being thicker and more suitable if you constantly speed on highway. 30 being lighter suffice for daily drive and it's actually much more economical in FC than 40 besides giving better torque. However speeding means heat in engine and if you constantly runs for long on highway at high speed, 40 will be more suitable albeit with sacrifice of FC and a bit of low end pickup.

Once engine got older and bore gap becomes larger (ie 100-200K mileage), your initially thickness might not suffice. One of the reason the older engine using 40 or 50 weighted lube.

Persona recommended lube is 40, probably becoz of its hot engine. The better cooling system of CPS probably allow Proton to suggest 30, FC saving and balance ride. FS do makes a slight difference as it can take absorb more heat before breaking up but frankly, unless we're racing constantly , the higher heat rating of FS makes no diffence for daily drivers.
farghmee
post Jul 10 2012, 11:50 AM

91 posts

ok guys,
may i know, is this overcranking occurs if we fast fast turn on the engine?

may be there is proper way to turn on the engine?

normally
on carburator (kancil), i turn on the engine fast fast.
on injection (gen2), after all engine check lamp/ABS/airbag go off, then baru i turn on the engine.

Area51SE
post Jul 10 2012, 11:55 AM

1,001 posts

QUOTE(deity01 @ Jul 10 2012, 08:53 AM)
i found that the reverse sensor is quite slow to gv me signal when i am reversing...
Yes Agree, that day I was reversing, It was like the sensor act damm slow. When I got down the car only notice how close I was from hitting the wall LOL
Cavino
post Jul 10 2012, 11:55 AM

842 posts

QUOTE(Area51SE @ Jul 10 2012, 11:55 AM)
Yes Agree, that day I was reversing, It was like the sensor act damm slow. When I got down the car only notice how close I was from hitting the wall LOL
Cost cutting? Subpar sensor?
maverickng
post Jul 10 2012, 12:07 PM

62 posts

QUOTE(Area51SE @ Jul 10 2012, 11:55 AM)
even my 14 year old iswara reverse sensor more sensitive that preve 1 cool2.gif
Gigabit
post Jul 10 2012, 12:09 PM

273 posts

QUOTE(Cavino @ Jul 10 2012, 11:50 AM)
Actually there is no difference with 10W and 5W for our weather. THAT is  WINTER weather rating. Its the number behind the W that matters, ie 5W30, 10W30, 5W40, etc. Essentially both 5W30 and 10W30 performed the same in our weather, both 10 and 5 are sub-zero temperature, so unless Malaysia start snowing, don't be bother with it.

30 and 40 perform differently with 40 being thicker and more suitable if you constantly speed on highway. 30 being lighter suffice for daily drive and it's actually much more economical in FC than 40 besides giving better torque. However speeding means heat in engine and if you constantly runs for long on highway at high speed, 40 will be more suitable albeit with sacrifice of FC and a bit of low end pickup.

Once engine got older and bore gap becomes larger (ie 100-200K mileage), your initially thickness might not suffice. One of the reason the older engine using 40 or 50 weighted lube.

Persona recommended lube is 40, probably becoz of its hot engine. The better cooling system of CPS probably allow Proton to suggest 30, FC saving and balance ride. FS do makes a slight difference as it can take absorb more heat before breaking up but frankly, unless we're racing constantly , the higher heat rating of FS makes no diffence for daily drivers.
Good info...thanks for the clarification...layman understanding about engine oil...haih....

What would be the cause of overcranking?

Added on July 10, 2012, 12:10 pm
QUOTE(chickyyuan @ Jul 10 2012, 11:40 AM)
Hi bro gigabit, somehow my preve does not have OWV problem despite i only use the car on weekends only (take LRT to work...) (means 120 hours of inactivity...lol) whenever i start my car on weekends - it sounds normal to me...no overcranking sound.... strange.... rclxub.gif
How do you start your car? Insert key fob, press start button, press brake, press start again?

This post has been edited by Gigabit: Jul 10 2012, 12:10 PM
chickyyuan
post Jul 10 2012, 12:17 PM

80 posts

I start the car by slotting in the key fob -> press brake -> start button to start the engine...

so far nothing happens...
Gigabit
post Jul 10 2012, 12:26 PM

273 posts

QUOTE(chickyyuan @ Jul 10 2012, 12:17 PM)

I start the car by slotting in the key fob -> press brake -> start button to start the engine...

so far nothing happens...
Will try this way instead...previously i was doing slot key fob, press start button and wait until amber light comes up, press start button again for green button to come up, then press brake and start the engine. Very long process.
Pokeman
post Jul 10 2012, 12:27 PM

Proton should make a competition... the 1st person who can identify how to solved OWV problem can get Preve for free... brows.gif

nicgoh
post Jul 10 2012, 12:27 PM

QUOTE(Pokeman @ Jul 10 2012, 12:27 PM)
Proton should make a competition... the 1st person who can identify how to solved OWV problem can get Preve for free...  brows.gif
free preve drool.gif drool.gif drool.gif drool.gif
Gigabit
post Jul 10 2012, 12:28 PM

273 posts

Proton should make a competition... the 1st person who can identify how to solved OWV problem can get Preve for free...  brows.gif
brows.gif brows.gif brows.gif brows.gif
multiplexer
post Jul 10 2012, 12:41 PM

393 posts

if like this, proton's engineer could not cari makan anymore.. all problem solve by layman like us.. no need to pay for the high income engineer anymore.. hahahaha

if like that rite, why not we just start a project, like a linux project...

we develop a peoples car, everyone of us contribute to the development... when the design, engine, accessoried finalized, then oni pay for the production.. woott woot.. drool.gif
maverickng
post Jul 10 2012, 01:12 PM

62 posts

use mitsu engine...abandon CFE,becos CFE engine manufacturing defect OWV biggrin.gif
Dark Adam
post Jul 10 2012, 01:13 PM

93 posts

send my car to change part today
-ocv
-absorber
-wind noise issue

hopefully it will be solved..

dares
post Jul 10 2012, 01:14 PM

834 posts

QUOTE(maverickng @ Jul 10 2012, 01:12 PM)
use mitsu engine...abandon CFE,becos CFE engine manufacturing defect OWV biggrin.gif
OWV came with VVT head. Keep CFE, kasi buang VVT head, masuk CPS head brows.gif brows.gif
WhitE LighteR
post Jul 10 2012, 01:25 PM

WhitE LighteR Is Black~
10,340 posts

QUOTE(Saya_Dhuang @ Jul 10 2012, 10:03 AM)
Saw WhiTe LiGHTeR already put one in his car isn't it?
tongue.gif As posted in fb

130 Pages « < 97 98 99 100 101 > » Top

0.0218sec    0.67    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 07:12 PM