Peugeot 408......, Launching Soon ? Now with pics... :D

kcng
post Jan 1 2013, 12:23 PM

~ Or@ng Giler ~
17,566 posts

QUOTE(SKYjack @ Jan 1 2013, 09:53 AM)
That's what I was led to believe it will be higher power. However read a recent review that  HP is reduced to achieve 3%  FC improvement. KIA has been very concerned about poor FC. Are the NU engined K5 already in Malaysia?

Added on January 1, 2013, 9:58 am
This is very true,I don't think I can go back to the NA again! No offense to my NA bros,it's like taking a bite of a forbidden fruit.......hehehe!
NU engine is already in malaysia....

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Jan 1 2013, 10:01 AM)
I can only imagine how foolish u feel right now after writing all that and then being told that KCNG isnt an owner. Thats why i always say please do research before posting. It can be embarassing u know. So now that he isnt an owner, ru gonna still take his word for it or will your storyline change now? Still gonna salute him for his unbiased feedback? I really couldnt stop laughing.  rclxm9.gif

And another thing, the Nu engine has got 7Hp and 3Nm more than the previous engine. But i dont expect it to make a huge difference. The K5 is still an underpowered car for its body weight. And yes the Nu engine K5 arrived in Malaysia since Nov 2012.

So much for your sources of information eh? U really make me laugh just like another guy on the Camry thread who has limited knowledge about cars.

Btw, when i talk about any car (including the K5), i highlight both the positives and the negatives cuz no car is perfect and each will have its weaknesses. The K5 is no exception. Check back on my posts in this thread and tell me if ive said anything untrue about the 408. Point it out if you may. Lets see whos right. And ure most welcome to visit the K5 thread and post negative comments. Just ensure that your comments are valid and true. Ull find that the owners there will be saying the same negative things about the K5. No worries at all.

Added on January 1, 2013, 10:16 am

But its funny that u find bones to pick about tiny things like button feel while completely ignoring the more prominent issues at hand. Funny how i dont see you ever mentioning that the K5 obtained a higher safety rating than even the mighty BMW 5 Series by the NHTSA? Also funny how i dont see you mentioning that the K5 was rated among the top 13 models for the recent overlap safety test while the mighty Camry & Lexus failed miserably? I guess safety isnt important at all compared to button feel eh? I could go on and on.  biggrin.gif

But the other funny thing is that if anybody had cared to check my earlier posts (you included), they would have seen that i was among the first to note that the K5 is indeed underpowered. I believe i said this way back in March 2012. Yet till Dec 2012, you still repeat that same stuff as if you made a recent discovery and another fool here jumps on the bandwagon.  biggrin.gif

I knew exactly what i was getting into when i got the K5. My 9 test drives told me whatever i needed to know and after 8 months of ownership, nothing has surprised me. My main focus was safety due to my amount of monthly travel and due to this I needed a car with unlimited mileage warranty as well. I wasnt too worried about long term durablity and quality as the 5 year warranty would cover any defects and so far im really impressed with how Naza handles warranty claims. I was completely aware of the difference in after sales standards between Toyota and Kia cuz i already had both makes in my home for more than 7 years. Hence i was prepared for the drop in standards. Again nothing surprising. I also knew that the K5 was underpowered and i couldnt expect the fuel economy i enjoyed with my previous Vios. But again not a matter of concern for me since ive never paid for my own fuel since 2005. But although its in city FC isnt good, i am impressed with its highway FC. Getting more than a 1000km mileage on a full tank is certainly credible. I wanted a decent highway cruiser and the K5 doesnt disappoint. Its mid range acceleration is quite good albeit with the louder engine as you have rightly pointed out. But the 2.0 MPI K5 engine wasnt meant for performance (Kia has the 2.0 Turbo for that). But the heavy body and 18inch tyres give it sufficient road holding and makes taking corners at high speed a breeze although im not happy with the steering feedback. And yes as ive said many times before, i wasnt prepared to blow up more than 150k on a more expensive car although i did give it serious thought. Taking into account the 38K i got for my Vios, i only spent about 103K for the K5. So for what im getting, this price seems very reasonable to me. I guess my priorities are different from most. Again a check on my historical postings will tell you (or anybody else) for that matter what ive been focusing on the past year. And the other consideration i had was, im not intending to keep the K5 beyond a few years. Its more of an interim car for me. It will be passed down to my wife sometime end next year or in 2014. But there are certain 'targets' i need to hit before this happens.

Yes and you can continue commenting as you see fit and i will continue to agree or disagree as i see fit. Our 'partnership' started a while back and it will continue for a long while. Im in for the long haul. No worries there. Sadly your negative feedback isnt causing any losses for Naza Kia in terms of sales but my positive comments while highlighting its limitations, are getting sales for Naza albeit in very small numbers. You would be surprised if u only knew.

Anyway, all the best of the New Year to you. May you continue to make 'new' discoveries about the K5.
doh.gif doh.gif
i guess u have a long way to go in terms of in-depth knowledge on how the background of the automotive market...
haha...
then u will know why i did not mention on your vs the mighty BMW 5-series comparison...
let me give u a hint, it will just pour cold water over this...

i will be glad to school u with my limited knowledge on the working of it if u want...

u can go on giving "excuses" on why u ended up in a sorry excuse of a D-segment...
like priorities la etc... its ok... i understand...
human nature, always comfort themselves....

i dont even care about the sales figure man... K5 can sell 10k car a year, 1 car a year... not my problem...
since u can shine the spot light on other makes, why cant other people shine the spot light to the K5?

heck i even recommend alot of people to buy the forte over city or vios and they did put their money down on forte (even when they have the korean brand phobia)... haha..
oops, guess i should not have right?
aiyak...

aisey... dont la move the goal post as you see fit...

P/S - bro, btw refinement is not the same as underpowered... apa daaaa...

This post has been edited by kcng: Jan 1 2013, 12:27 PM
EnergyAnalyst
post Jan 1 2013, 12:25 PM

4,139 posts

QUOTE(lowpro @ Dec 31 2012, 01:28 PM)
wow, interesting articles. thanks for sharing. just fyi, my friend just shared with me that he had his dsg equipped fiesta change its gearbox under warranty and the bill came up to something like rm15k. lucky it was under warranty. the thing is, with any euro car that is not premium in nature, there will be a few instances here and there that cause worry. the good thing about oriental makes is that while they are slower to intro new tech, they always ensure that there is no issue at all when it is introduced. this is my personal observation only. imho, the europeans rush to intro new tech (since they are known to put on market new tech first) and sometimes, there are still hiccups which will only be cleared in subsequent evolutions of the tech. hope the m series engine is truly sorted out.
The turbo engines of any make is facing the same challenges despite the tech is not new.
Below are links for Ford's Ecoboost. Problem still persist
http://www.examiner.com/article/ford-1-6l-...pands-to-europe
http://m.usatoday.com/article/news/1743203

But do that stop anything . NO as it is pretty standard to offer turbo engines nowadays. Why?

The world needs greener and fuel efficient/ saving engine yet none want to loose the vroom vroom power . Turbo technology hence get revisited and re-R&D-ed. Some of the early populariser of Turbo happens to be Japanese like Toyota, Honda, Mazda and Suzuki. Think Motor sports.

http://www.autoguide.com/auto-news/2012/06...d-problems.html

Korean Hyundai Kia is already jumping to the turbo engine bandwagon as seen above and below
http://paultan.org/2012/10/30/hyundai-anno...-and-1-2-turbo-

So car makers only created what the world demands and hence if we chose turbo, we will need to live with it. For me, I scale down my need for fuel efficiency. I therefore chosen NA and live with scaled own vroom power and higher road tax but definitely none of turbo engine potential issue.

This post has been edited by EnergyAnalyst: Jan 1 2013, 12:40 PM
jessyeo
post Jan 1 2013, 01:05 PM

According to Peugeot FB, euro kit for 408 are available. Anyone kind enough to ask how much needed to top up?
SKYjack
post Jan 1 2013, 01:46 PM

367 posts

Here's some facts about the K5s NU engine for some ignorant who continues to spew nonsense. These are established facts,not my personal view. Not only ignorant,too lazy to check facts.

"The new 2.0L engine, with the code name G4NA, is made by Hyundai Wia Automotive Engine (Shandong) Co., Ltd., in Rizhao, Shandong. It develops up to 162Ps (119) at 65000rpm and 194Nm at 4800rpm. Compared with the G4KD 2.0-litter from 2011 (rated 165Ps/6200rpm and 198Nm/4200rpm), it is slightly less powerful. Thanks to a 9% or 117.4kg reduction in weight, the Nu engine helps to improve the K5′s fuel economy by 3%"
zenix
post Jan 1 2013, 03:53 PM

Pirate Captain
6,249 posts

anyone sent their 408 to dktuning yet?
kwchan_7
post Jan 1 2013, 05:27 PM

Hi Guys...Just got my blue 408T (wifey car actually)on last day of 2012 yesterday and joining in the lion tent!! I'm driving 1.6MD Elantra and the 408T handling is totally different from Elantra, while driving on rough pavement road or those yellow zebra line, i can feel the steering juddering or rather I say.. I can feel the roughness on the road where as my Elantra.. I'm totally numb on the steering.. Is this normal?

Secondly there is a faint juddering whenever I step on the brakes.. I still need to drive around more to confirm this.. but it is this normal?

My steering wheel is slightly on the left and it's not straight align when I'm driving straight road.Last time I'm following on 308 forum @ autoworld and this seems to be a common issue and unresolvable right?

Lastly... Iphone 4S seems not able to connect to the car bluetooth, the moment it get connected, then it will drop off and reconnect again and again~~ Anyone facing this issue with their Iphone

Overall.. I love this car!!! rclxm9.gif
Kanasai79
post Jan 1 2013, 10:43 PM

28 posts

QUOTE(SKYjack @ Jan 1 2013, 09:58 AM)
This is very true,I don't think I can go back to the NA again! No offense to my NA bros,it's like taking a bite of a forbidden fruit.......hehehe!
Understand how addictive the turbo can be blush.gif

Actually the differences are the acceleration and comfort level on both cars (and some say safety features). 408T has the "kick" while 408 NA cruise comfortably. Overall both cars can reach 180km/hr effortlessly and both are very stable cars indeed thumbup.gif thumbup.gif

Side track a bit, I believe there's nothing much to fuss about the NA since the price tag is really strategically position cheaper then the Japs with 5 year unlimited mileage icon_rolleyes.gif

Added on January 1, 2013, 10:47 pm
QUOTE(jessyeo @ Jan 1 2013, 01:05 PM)
According to Peugeot FB, euro kit for 408 are available. Anyone kind enough to ask how much needed to top up?
New 408T comes with the Euro kit, will check it with my SA tomorrow and post here if I have any info

This post has been edited by Kanasai79: Jan 1 2013, 10:47 PM
cybermaster98
post Jan 1 2013, 11:22 PM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(SKYjack @ Jan 1 2013, 01:46 PM)
Here's some facts about the K5s NU engine for some ignorant who continues to spew nonsense. These are established facts,not my personal view. Not only ignorant,too lazy to check facts.

"The new 2.0L engine, with the code name G4NA, is made by Hyundai Wia Automotive Engine (Shandong) Co., Ltd., in Rizhao, Shandong. It develops up to 162Ps (119) at 65000rpm and 194Nm at 4800rpm. Compared with the G4KD 2.0-litter from 2011 (rated 165Ps/6200rpm and 198Nm/4200rpm), it is slightly less powerful. Thanks to a 9% or 117.4kg reduction in weight, the Nu engine helps to improve the K5′s fuel economy by 3%"
Try Googling CVVL and then answer your own post. Ive given you the info but if u insist that ure right, then ure right. U can go on assuming the Nu engine comes with 3Hp less. No problem. Happy researching. biggrin.gif

Added on January 1, 2013, 11:26 pm
QUOTE(kcng @ Jan 1 2013, 12:23 PM)
NU engine is already in malaysia....
doh.gif doh.gif
i guess u have a long way to go in terms of in-depth knowledge on how the background of the automotive market...
haha...
then u will know why i did not mention on your vs the mighty BMW 5-series comparison...
let me give u a hint, it will just pour cold water over this...

i will be glad to school u with my limited knowledge on the working of it if u want...

u can go on giving "excuses" on why u ended up in a sorry excuse of a D-segment...
like priorities la etc... its ok... i understand...
human nature, always comfort themselves....

i dont even care about the sales figure man... K5 can sell 10k car a year, 1 car a year... not my problem...
since u can shine the spot light on other makes, why cant other people shine the spot light to the K5?

heck i even recommend alot of people to buy the forte over city or vios and they did put their money down on forte (even when they have the korean brand phobia)... haha..
oops, guess i should not have right?
aiyak...

aisey... dont la move the goal post as you see fit...

P/S - bro, btw refinement is not the same as underpowered... apa daaaa...
Yes another funny thing is when u run out of things to say, u claim i shift goalposts. And when the facts actually make sense, u claim im comforting myself. doh.gif

Like i said earlier, continue making 'new' discoveries bout the K5. And yes u can continue following me on threads trying to pour cold water on the K5. I'll deal with it. No issues at all. A Jap supporter will always feel threatened by the rise of the other makes no matter how much u try and lie about encouraging ppl to buy the Forte. Facts will always remain facts. If its bad then its bad. If its good then your opinion wont matter. Im in for the long haul. See you on many more threads ya. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by cybermaster98: Jan 1 2013, 11:34 PM
zenix
post Jan 2 2013, 01:39 AM

Pirate Captain
6,249 posts

isn't this a 408 thread?
kcng
post Jan 2 2013, 08:45 AM

~ Or@ng Giler ~
17,566 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Jan 1 2013, 11:22 PM)
Try Googling CVVL and then answer your own post. Ive given you the info but if u insist that ure right, then ure right. U can go on assuming the Nu engine comes with 3Hp less. No problem. Happy researching.  biggrin.gif

Added on January 1, 2013, 11:26 pm

Yes another funny thing is when u run out of things to say, u claim i shift goalposts. And when the facts actually make sense, u claim im comforting myself.  doh.gif

Like i said earlier, continue making 'new' discoveries bout the K5. And yes u can continue following me on threads trying to pour cold water on the K5. I'll deal with it. No issues at all. A Jap supporter will always feel threatened by the rise of the other makes no matter how much u try and lie about encouraging ppl to buy the Forte. Facts will always remain facts. If its bad then its bad. If its good then your opinion wont matter. Im in for the long haul. See you on many more threads ya.  biggrin.gif
aiya... no rebuting on my points but nit-picking on me cuz i tell u not to tell the world your history?
aisey...

now u are saying i am threaten by the rise of the korean?
i am a jap supporter?
haha... haha.. haha.. haha..
omg, you are cute to the point of being funny lah...

yup fact is a fact, a D-segment is so "refined" which is almost laughable because the C-segment Forte felt much better...
aiyak... how come ah? <-- i just dont get it... the forte is good, why ain't the optima better considering its a D-segment?
doh.gif

i do not have the K5 anymore so there is no more i discovery i can do with it... but my experience with it will stick.. and quoting someone, i will comment as i see fit...
x800
post Jan 2 2013, 09:50 AM

Stalking LYN since 2002
442 posts

QUOTE(kwchan_7 @ Jan 1 2013, 05:27 PM)
Hi Guys...Just got my blue 408T (wifey car actually)on last day of 2012 yesterday and joining in the lion tent!! I'm driving 1.6MD Elantra and the 408T handling is totally different from Elantra, while driving on rough pavement road or those yellow zebra line, i can feel the steering juddering or rather I say.. I can feel the roughness on the road where as my Elantra.. I'm totally numb on the steering.. Is this normal?

Secondly there is a faint juddering whenever I step on the brakes.. I still need to drive around more to confirm this.. but it is this normal?

My steering wheel is slightly on the left and it's not straight align when I'm driving straight road.Last time I'm following on 308 forum @ autoworld and this seems to be a common issue and unresolvable right?

Lastly... Iphone 4S seems not able to connect to the car bluetooth, the moment it get connected, then it will drop off and reconnect again and again~~ Anyone facing this issue with their Iphone

Overall.. I love this car!!! rclxm9.gif
Yes the 408T steering gives more feedback, but somewhat too much. I still prefer this compared to the numbness of the Elantra tho.

I didnt face the brake problem so I cant comment here.

Also faced the steering pull to the left issue and from what i read this is due to the car being originally designed as LHD.

Iphone bluetooth problem, already posted earlier somewhere in this thread before it became a "my car is better than yours" thread.

This post has been edited by x800: Jan 2 2013, 09:51 AM
Kanasai79
post Jan 2 2013, 10:14 AM

28 posts

408T with Euro Kit OTR - RM 128, 888.00
No price list for those that want to fix for existing car yet.
SKYjack
post Jan 2 2013, 10:29 AM

367 posts

QUOTE(zenix @ Jan 2 2013, 01:39 AM)
isn't this a 408 thread?
You hit the nail right on the head,bro!
Kanasai79
post Jan 2 2013, 10:52 AM

28 posts

Have you seen this?

http://paultan.org/2012/12/31/the-paultan-...most-this-year/

Seems like Peugeot is also in the list whistling.gif whistling.gif whistling.gif

zenix
post Jan 2 2013, 10:57 AM

Pirate Captain
6,249 posts

QUOTE(Kanasai79 @ Jan 2 2013, 10:52 AM)
Have you seen this?

http://paultan.org/2012/12/31/the-paultan-...most-this-year/

Seems like Peugeot is also in the list  whistling.gif  whistling.gif  whistling.gif
508 and 208 nod.gif
zweimmk
post Jan 2 2013, 11:29 AM

512 posts

408 thread or not, I'm surprised that people are still worried about turbo engine reliability. They've been in mainstream use and on sale since 2005? 2006? Perhaps even earlier?

It's not like these engines have been in production only for the past year or from the early 80s/90s... and modern engines have been designed and manufactured to account for the greater operating stresses when used in conjunction with a turbocharger and sometimes with a supercharger. Also when it comes to fuel efficiency, smaller turbocharged engines haven been proven to be just as fuel efficient if not already better than their NA counterparts. sweat.gif

The more problematic areas seem to be with the clutches rather than with the engine itself and doesn't matter if it's automatic or dual clutch, they seem to have their own sets of issues as well.

Those old perception of turbocharged engines still need more time to change rolleyes.gif

zenix
post Jan 2 2013, 11:35 AM

Pirate Captain
6,249 posts

saab cars were all turbo's.....this kinda mentality sunk them into doom!

sanadi
post Jan 2 2013, 11:40 AM

QUOTE(zenix @ Jan 2 2013, 11:35 AM)
SAAB were expensive, not because of the turbo, but because of the chassis. It is said that carmakers wonder why SAAB is so expensive, until they crash test them. SAAB have very strong chassis.

Anyway, turbodiesels have been around for years. Not much problem there. The problem with turbo is if you use RM30, 20W50 API SG not well known brand for your oil.
Kanasai79
post Jan 2 2013, 12:12 PM

28 posts

QUOTE(sanadi @ Jan 2 2013, 11:40 AM)
SAAB were expensive, not because of the turbo, but because of the chassis. It is said that carmakers wonder why SAAB is so expensive, until they crash test them. SAAB have very strong chassis.

Anyway, turbodiesels have been around for years. Not much problem there. The problem with turbo is if you use RM30, 20W50 API SG not well known brand for your oil.
Take a look at Top Gear Series 18 Episode 5 - "A tribute to SAAB"
lowpro
post Jan 2 2013, 12:14 PM

180 posts

QUOTE(zenix @ Jan 2 2013, 11:35 AM)
actually, saab cars had very little problems. most of their issues were minor and a common one was the fuel pump going bust prematurely. as for the turbo... so far i haven't heard any major horror stories. they were the pioneers in putting turbos in their everyday cars (bmw actually did it earlier but in their performance models) and are pretty good at tuning their cars with both lpt and hpt. the turbo they use are the garret for lpt and mitsubishi in their hpt models.

another reason why they were expensive were because they just couldn't get the volumes to lower production/part cost. why they couldn't get the volume was perhaps their insistence on the 'scandinavian' way of doing things. subtle, not loud. unfortunately, the consumer today prefers to be bombarded by loud messages to be convinced. there were lots of matters that caused them to sink but that should be in another thread i feel.

sorry for the digress though.

130 Pages « < 108 109 110 111 112 > » Top

0.2663sec    1.21    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 09:22 AM