2012 Hyundai Elantra, Hello Impossible!

turbocharged
post Jan 18 2012, 04:58 PM

250 posts

QUOTE(JoLee @ Jan 18 2012, 04:54 PM)
I understand your frustration and that is why we don't blame you. We all very well knows who is calling the shots here.

Just out of curiousity, are you saying that the cost of the car at our malaysian ringgit cannot cover the cost as this is a suprise to me.
in layman's term , its

take it or leave it.

yes, if you're not asking for phone number for booking, you're trolling, simple as that.

If you ask question that i cannot answer, you're trolling

if you ask question not in my favor, you're trolling

proper discussion is to sing praise, praise the North America car of the year

i'm trolling here.

ignore me, because i just bought a car, and wont buy any in the near future, i'm a troll.

TSFluidicSculpture
post Jan 18 2012, 05:04 PM

QUOTE(JoLee @ Jan 18 2012, 04:54 PM)
Just out of curiousity, are you saying that the cost of the car at our malaysian ringgit cannot cover the cost as this is a suprise to me.
The car itself(Elantra) is not a cheap car. Many compare Forte price and Elantra's price oversea and find them very close but this raise another unknown variable in the equation, is the profit margin for Forte and Elantra the same? At oversea, price is a less sensitive issue so Forte may be a car selling with a higher profit margin, they can decently spec a car and yet still have room to mark up the prices.

Just because KIA and Hyundai are sister companies, doesn't mean the cost of similar platform cars are the same or close, build quality is definitely different, despite sharing majority of components. I am not saying here KIA is a bad car, but Hyundai does it better, this is a fact that many would not believe in and all these things has a cost to them.

This can be an explanation on why Elantra can't be priced as low as the Forte in Malaysia. NAZA may have a different business strategy with the Forte by pricing it low with a narrower profit margin. As I was saying before, I do have inside information on profit margin of Hyundai cars as well as other marques. I cannot reveal the figures, but Hyundai's profit margin is so much thinner than many other car brand out there. Point of proof, have you seen five figure over-trade for the Sonata/Tucson? I know certain Japanese make has such a high over-trade margin but the highest I've seen on Hyundai cars is RM3,000.

Another example would be the i30, many loved it, but it came as a shock that it's priced as such. So few years has passed, people started asking why not just slash the price? The simple answer is that the profit margin for the car is paper thin already there is just simply no more room to trim prices off the car.

This post has been edited by FluidicSculpture: Jan 18 2012, 06:30 PM
turbocharged
post Jan 18 2012, 05:09 PM

250 posts

guys, to be fair, its not fair to compare the price of naza forte.

naza forte the price is very close to p1/p2. stripe off (6 airbags) all the accessories forte 2.0 will be cheaper than proton inspira 2.0.

this is unfair pricing, of cos we wont complain to gomen, but we cannot use this as a yardstick for all korean cars.

but we dont see the similar pricing on kia optima(maybe not CKD, thats why)
caddilac
post Jan 18 2012, 05:11 PM

QUOTE(BuFung @ Jan 18 2012, 12:29 AM)
We all willing to listen what is the reasons why in other country the forte price is similar to Elantra or at least not far from each other and why here can't.... 

And Look at those comments I think most of us can even accept 5-10% more than the forte...
In fact around the globe Kia are generally cheaper than Hyundai and better equipped. When they come to Malaysia the pricing difference is being magnified by our tax rate as well as some "magical stuff" happening in Naza.
SantaFe is already a very good indication about the Inokom badge. SD will never be able to price as competitive as Naza due to some insider reason. 160k can get you a fully loaded Sorento while the SantaFe is not as loaded even though it is using a Inokom badge. Even the normal Hyundai vs Kia such as Tucson and Sonata versus Sportage and Optima are the same.
JoLee
post Jan 18 2012, 05:15 PM

99 posts

QUOTE(FluidicSculpture @ Jan 18 2012, 05:04 PM)
The car itself(Elantra) is not a cheap car. Many compare Forte price and Elantra's price oversea and find them very close but this raise another unknown variable in the equation, is the profit margin for Forte and Elantra the same? At oversea, price is a less sensitive issue so Forte may be a car selling with a higher profit margin, they can decently spec a car and yet still have room to mark up the prices.

Just because KIA and Hyundai are sister companies, doesn't mean the cost of similar platform cars are the same or close.

This can be an explanation on why Elantra can't be priced as low as the Forte in Malaysia. NAZA may have a different business strategy with the Forte by pricing it low with a narrower profit margin. As I was saying before, I do have inside information on profit margin of Hyundai cars as well as other marques. I cannot reveal the figures, but Hyundai's profit margin is so much thinner than many other car brand out there. Point of proof, have you seen five figure over-trade for the Sonata/Tucson? I know certain Japanese make has such a high over-trade margin but the highest I've seen on Hyundai cars is RM3,000.

Another example would be the i30, many loved it, but it came as a shock that it's priced as such. So few years has passed, people started asking why not just slash the price? The simple answer is that the profit margin for the car is paper thin already there is just simply no more room to trim prices off the car.
I appreciate your explanation, at least now I see where you are coming from. I agree the overtrade is high for Hyundai but why can't they reduce the price straight instead of giving overtrade? I love the I30 as well. I nearly bought that car but at the end went for Kia because of the pricing. I am just afraid that if pricing is not correct, we would have ruined a very good car in this market. The I30 really felt very continental and reassuring. Again it is bad business to overpriced the car and then trying to get rid of the stock later on by giving discounts.

Again many of us support Hyundai and Kia because we believe that the car is a very good alternative to the Japanese cars.

This post has been edited by JoLee: Jan 18 2012, 05:16 PM
gregy
post Jan 18 2012, 05:19 PM

411 posts

QUOTE(WheelieWonka @ Jan 18 2012, 04:20 PM)
100% agree. I believe almost everyone in this thread are potential customers who are interested in buying the Elantra, otherwise why we waste our time in this tered mah...

Bro Fluidic no need to be defensive in your points. At the end of the day, it was SD that announced "C-segment car at C segment price"... so we are askign what is the justification for this, when its locally assemble with penis Inokom logo somemore (dun angry)

Naza can sell 2.0 Forte at 97k, why can't SD?

Btw, you can check the price of 2006 Sonata - dropped by almost RM100K from ori selling price. (in less than 6 years!)http://www.mudah.my/Hyundai+Sonata+2+0+auto+06+07-13347653.htm 

You need (or your mgmt) need to address questions like this from potential customers, if not tak dak sales, ta dak commission pun.
Bro, mana ada nearly RM100k drop eh? Brand new around RM120k oni leh... http://www.kahbintang.com/Vehicles/Sonata%20NF/index.html

It is roughly RM64k plus minus, so roughly RM10,667 per annum flatline depreciation. That one is D segment, price drop is always higher than C or B segment.

WheelieWonka
post Jan 18 2012, 05:33 PM

QUOTE(gregy @ Jan 18 2012, 05:19 PM)
Bro, mana ada nearly RM100k drop eh? Brand new around RM120k oni leh... http://www.kahbintang.com/Vehicles/Sonata%20NF/index.html

It is roughly RM64k plus minus, so roughly RM10,667 per annum flatline depreciation. That one is D segment, price drop is always higher than C or B segment.
When I was in BSC in 2006, Hyundai had a booth there, I remember seeing the CBU price of 2.4L Sonata for 155k... I think since then it drop a lot.
Anyways, why is Sonata EF still mentioned here? http://www.kahbintang.com/Vehicles/Sonata%20EF/index.html
TSFluidicSculpture
post Jan 18 2012, 05:40 PM

QUOTE(WheelieWonka @ Jan 18 2012, 05:33 PM)
When I was in BSC in 2006, Hyundai had a booth there, I remember seeing the CBU price of 2.4L Sonata for 155k... I think since then it drop a lot.
Anyways, why is Sonata EF still mentioned here? http://www.kahbintang.com/Vehicles/Sonata%20EF/index.html
The one in Mudah link you shared is 2.0

QUOTE(JoLee @ Jan 18 2012, 05:15 PM)
I appreciate your explanation, at least now I see where you are coming from. I agree the overtrade is high for Hyundai but why can't they reduce the price straight instead of giving overtrade? I love the I30 as well. I nearly bought that car but at the end went for Kia because of the pricing. I am just afraid that if pricing is not correct, we would have ruined a very good car in this market. The I30 really felt very continental and reassuring. Again it is bad business to overpriced the car and then trying to get rid of the stock later on by giving discounts.

Again many of us support Hyundai and Kia because we believe that the car is a very good alternative to the Japanese cars.
Overtrade for Hyundai were never high, RM3,000 is small compared to five figure some cars are giving out.

By the book, over-trade is a cash incentive given only when the customer do a trade in to change a Hyundai.

Over-trade has several advantage over a straightforward OTR price slash, other than it's main purpose, it can also doubles as a buffer to price changes, better to adjust over-trade figure than to revise pricing all the time.

This post has been edited by FluidicSculpture: Jan 18 2012, 05:57 PM
BuFung
post Jan 18 2012, 05:49 PM

8,407 posts

QUOTE(caddilac @ Jan 18 2012, 05:11 PM)
In fact around the globe Kia are generally cheaper than Hyundai and better equipped. When they come to Malaysia the pricing difference is being magnified by our tax rate as well as some "magical stuff" happening in Naza.
SantaFe is already a very good indication about the Inokom badge. SD will never be able to price as competitive as Naza due to some insider reason. 160k can get you a fully loaded Sorento while the SantaFe is not as loaded even though it is using a Inokom badge. Even the normal Hyundai vs Kia such as Tucson and Sonata versus Sportage and Optima are the same.
As a customer point of view, we don't actually fucuking care how strong the cable of Naza or SD.... As long as can bring us something worth better the $, we are happier... As simple as that....

If Naza can make it cheaper, we consumer will be even happier if they can bring in this Elantra... Isn't it?

QUOTE(JoLee @ Jan 18 2012, 05:15 PM)

Agreed... Soon, it gonna ruined this car if the pricing info is correct.... Which a lot of us already consider this is a very interesting car...

caddilac
post Jan 18 2012, 07:18 PM

QUOTE(BuFung @ Jan 18 2012, 05:49 PM)
As a customer point of view, we don't actually fucuking care how strong the cable of Naza or SD....  As long as can bring us something worth better the $, we are happier...  As simple as that....

If Naza can make it cheaper, we consumer will be even happier if they can bring in this Elantra...  Isn't it?
Agreed...  Soon, it gonna ruined this car if the pricing info is correct....  Which a lot of us already consider this is a very interesting car...
But the fact is Naza can never bring an Elantra because it is not a Kia. If you can't accept the pricing then you should just go for Forte or other car. No use hoping for Naza Elantra right? The fact is Naza has strong cable and you can never change the fact. rclxms.gif
I understand that many people love Elantra very much but there are some facts that we must understand before arguing. And the thing is the final price is not even out yet. So 2 more weeks:hmm:
Chongkor
post Jan 18 2012, 07:56 PM

20 posts

What is the official launching date huh? Some said 9th Feb or 21th Feb, but just call Hyundai call center and the SA said end of Feb.
epo
post Jan 18 2012, 08:45 PM

892 posts

QUOTE(khusyairi @ Jan 18 2012, 04:07 PM)
I think there are no problems to anybody who want to chance car every 2-3 years or buy cheaper car instead affordable car.
It's their money.
yesss... and hope they're not "biar papa asal bergaya type"...
but chintmy, may i know what car u change every 2-3 years... if from camry to accord then teana then round2 that 140-150k range, it's like dun have any 'wow' factor... should be from 140k to 160k to 180k to 200k... then baru ada 'wow' factor...
sean8509
post Jan 18 2012, 10:58 PM

50 posts

QUOTE(Hannibal @ Jan 17 2012, 04:43 PM)
Latest price indication I got from SD staff was the range would be between 90k-110k. That means the standard auto would be more a less close to 100k.

I'm deciding whether to keep waiting or proceed with Kia Forte, which is decent enuf for me, any idea? Pls help.
been driving Hyundai Avante in korea and kia forte local, for feel almost same kia forte suspension feel softer and engine more loud as i experience, so far elantra give me feel sportier then kia
but still don't know inokom how worse to make it shitty....asking more then 100k for inokom made no chance doh.gif
squall_kay
post Jan 18 2012, 11:17 PM

5,726 posts

QUOTE(sean8509 @ Jan 18 2012, 10:58 PM)
....asking more then 100k for inokom made no chance doh.gif
because it is a premium korean's car. hyundai always premium and more expensive to built than KIA. tongue.gif

but i wonder, in Korea where i believe those cars are directly sell by these companies (in malaysia, Naza and Inokom are only assembler/distributor), were priced similar....thus that means, in their homeland, Hyundai is selling at less profit than KIA (base on cheaper to built KIA's excuse by Hyundai's salesman) ? Or is it the "premium" things only applicable outside of Korea?

if elantra and forte can be priced similar in Korea, and other country, why not in Malaysia...

maybe because Malaysia is only a small market, thus Hyundai not really car about market penetration thus price it much higher...
tunasandwich
post Jan 19 2012, 12:24 AM

974 posts

QUOTE(squall_kay @ Jan 18 2012, 11:17 PM)
because it is a premium korean's car. hyundai always premium and more expensive to built than KIA.  tongue.gif
but i wonder, in Korea where i believe those cars are directly sell by these companies (in malaysia, Naza and Inokom are only assembler/distributor), were priced similar....thus that means, in their homeland, Hyundai is selling at less profit than KIA (base on cheaper to built KIA's excuse by Hyundai's salesman) ? Or is it the "premium" things only applicable outside of Korea?

if elantra and forte can be priced similar in Korea, and other country, why not in Malaysia...

maybe because Malaysia is only a small market, thus Hyundai not really car about market penetration thus price it much higher...
elantra's suppose to be car for the mass.... if premium shud be like Genesis or K7 and above ba....
squall_kay
post Jan 19 2012, 01:10 AM

5,726 posts

QUOTE(tunasandwich @ Jan 19 2012, 12:24 AM)
elantra's suppose to be car for the mass.... if premium shud be like Genesis or K7 and above ba....
yerp. i knew.

im just throw back the question to the salesman that keep saying Hyundai overall is more premium than KIA
BuFung
post Jan 19 2012, 07:35 AM

8,407 posts

too bad I dont see any catagory diff btwn k5 n sonata, sportage n tucson....

back to the topic, donno the leg room of this car how... understand the head room are not that good behind..... looking for better space coz already have b segment car...
cybermaster98
post Jan 19 2012, 08:29 AM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(FluidicSculpture @ Jan 18 2012, 04:35 PM)
What kind of justification you are looking for?

Salesman talk, I think I have to repeat myself my main purpose is not to cari makan here but rather to share information, I repeated this a dozen times already, so I hope you remember this point after this. I am earning only RM200 from all the pre-launch booking from LYN, that's my arrangement with my manager in order to give out that special package. Assuming I can earn RM1,000 for each Elantra I sell outside of LYN, why I even bother advertising here and sharing information here if my sole purpose is to cari makan?

As I said before, when you compare cars, strip both car bare of accessories and compare them both. When you compare both car in bare form there is minimal effect of profit from accessories, that's where the price difference translate to what's put into the important part of the car, the engine, gearbox and other essential that allow the car roll.

You will then say T and H despite the ancient technology, is a perfected technology, that's why they are charging more for them. I am going to say the price is worth every cent you pay for it, but you are just going to say T and H same pricing blablabla, without realizing those car are overpriced and underspec'ed.

Now for the final sticking point where many people keep asking why Forte can be priced that way. Frankly speaking, I am going to just stick to my said point as above. KIA makes good cars, but Hyundai makes better cars. Before anyone start saying components between KIA and Hyundai are shared, take one example and ask yourself, why Forte suffer from brake pedal sensor(where it allow you to use the push start button ignition), while there is only one such case for my showroom ever since the Tucson/Sonata launched? The case I knew of wasn't even on the Sonata/Tucson but the Santa Fe.
Let me answer you professionally:

1) No salesman comes on Lowyat with no intent to cari makan. If that wasnt your original purpose then u shouldnt have accepted bookings from members rite? You used reverse phychology which u knew would work. Ppl will be more inclined to place bookings with familiar salesmen. In this case, u were a familiar figure although many havent met you yet. So indirectly, through you efforts on lyn, you got bookings. No point denying it. There is no wrong is doing so but to go around proclaiming that you didnt have any intent to cari makan is wrong and inethical.

2) How many salesmen actually get paid for pre-launch bookings? I know of certain car makes that only pay commissions for confirmed sales. So u getting 200 is a big issue and you know darn well that the chances of securing a confirmed sale from a pre-launch booking is far higher than a random walk in customer. So dont make it look like ure doing charity here.

3) You say you went back and forth to SD to try and voice our greviences and you claimed it to be some form of favor u were doing us. But the main reason u did that was to get information yourself because this could be the same questions ull get asked during the launch and after that and u want to be in a position to answer them. It would also be in your best interests to have the car priced lower and competitively as it would boost your chances of securing sales. Again, nothing wrong in that but going around trying to make it look like u were doing us a favor isnt right either.

3) Fine u say Hyundai makes better cars compared to Kia if u take away all the gadgets. Does it also make better cars compared to Toyota & Honda? You say T&H are charging extra for an ancient but perfected technology. So what gave Hyundai the right to price their cars in the same bracket? Do they have some proven tech which has kept users happy for the past 30 years as T&H have? Btw, you gauging the better build of Hyundai cars based on a brake peddle sensor? I thought u were comparing the quality of stripped down versions of both cars minus the gadgets? So how is Hyundai better than Kia without all the gadgets?

4) In 1 post you mentioned Hyundai can't price cars lower cuz of their profit margins rite? But i ask you this question: Who sets profit margins and how are they calculated? The main driving factor behind profit margins are operational costs. So are you telling me the operational costs of developing Hyundai cars is more than 15% of Kia? Since both are sister companies and share the similar tech in some areas, how then can their profit margins differ by that much? Hyundai is considered a 'premium' brand compared to Kia rite? If so why is the Elantra priced similar to Forte in other countries? U mean to say in Malaysia, the profit margins are changed? Operational costs different? If your reasons are because of some insider happenings in Naza then stick to that reason alone. Pointless trying to justify this using the 'premium brand' tagline.

Finally, nobody was bashing you here. If ure in the sales line you would have to accept that u will get supporters and those doubters. If u arent prepared to deal with each one of them professionally, then ure obviously in the wrong line of work. The fact that u keep whining about those who dont follow your line of thought speaks volumes about your profesional approach towards handling customers. Im sure Hyundai being a so called 'premium brand' would give its sales ppl sufficient training on this right?

Anyway, all in all i think ure a decent guy. But u need to keep you emotions in check and not allow a barrage of comments to rattle you. Bear in mind, that none of us would waste our time contributing to this thread if we werent seriously interested in the Elantra. Many of us here agree that the Koreans deserve a chance to prove themselves against the mighty Japanese. We wouldnt bother to comment on something we dont care about would we? Most of us here are professionals and as intellectual ppl we will question and critisize what deserves doubt or critisism. Convincing an existing Korean supporter is only a fraction compared to convincing a Jap supporter (like me) and many of us actually used to like the Japs. Your task (if you choose to accept it) would be to answer us professionally. If you cant, then you might need to reconsider your involvement in this thread. But dont slam the very people who are actually supporters of the Korean revolution.

Cheers!

This post has been edited by cybermaster98: Jan 19 2012, 08:31 AM
khusyairi
post Jan 19 2012, 08:40 AM

147 posts

"Hyundai overall is more premium than KIA".

It is true a fact but not entirely true.
It just from perspective of global consumer including in south korea from the beginning of korean car industry.

Hyundai and Kia are technically separate companies, with Hyundai owning less than 50% of its junior partner. But as the two major divisions of the Hyundai-Kia Motor Group, the two firms share resources and align their strategies through carefully-maintained relationships in the classic Korean chaebol (conglomerate) fashion.

Hyundai and Kia enjoy a dominant position in Korea, earning 45.2% and 33.2% of the overall Korean market in 2010 (including commercial vehicles).

Technically, it just like Proton and Perodua in Malaysia. Proton initially said to be premium than Perodua. However, time to time Perodua catch up wt Proton in term of pricing & quality. Lastly there almost no different between their car (pricing & quality).

The past few years, it was said that Hyundai built better car as they own better technology, factory and staff.
However, the gap is closer and closer as they share all their resource.
As the result, current car pricing and quality is same.

watonk
post Jan 19 2012, 09:20 AM

Put aside all the fuss, what is the actual price of the car?

127 Pages « < 30 31 32 33 34 > » Top

0.0317sec    0.38    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 04:23 AM