2012 Hyundai Elantra, Hello Impossible!

turbocharged
post Jan 3 2012, 05:48 PM

250 posts

QUOTE(Chongkor @ Jan 3 2012, 05:41 PM)
Dont opp for 1.6, it's a bit underpower, 2.0 used the engine same as Inspira and Lancer.
ei, for the record, different engine la.
turbocharged
post Jan 4 2012, 05:41 PM

250 posts

notworthy.gif
turbocharged
post Jan 4 2012, 06:12 PM

250 posts

QUOTE(sochaiapk @ Jan 4 2012, 06:12 PM)
131k is OTR price. If minus insurance, 3.5k, the depreciation for 2 years is only 12.5k.
Those who willing to pay 115k + insurance + transfer fee for a 2 years car I must really respect them. rclxms.gif
second hand car interest is higher too.

end up more expensive than new car.
turbocharged
post Jan 4 2012, 07:59 PM

250 posts

QUOTE(MeToo @ Jan 4 2012, 06:59 PM)
Suree Elantra migth be an awesome car... infact I'm very impressed with Hyuundai quality so far after clocking over 150,000km on mine.

However... a Toyota that cost about 15k more then my hyundai when i bougth it new... now... 2nd hand value is worth 30k more then my car. So I lost quite abit...

I dont forsee this changing since Malaysian mindset is still T&H = Godly

This is REALLY making reconsider getting another Hyundai cause I'm not goign to hug and drive that car for 20 years... and I dont like losing 15~20k when I wanna trade in my car in the next 4~5 years..
er...hyundai coupe ar?
turbocharged
post Jan 5 2012, 10:03 AM

250 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Jan 5 2012, 09:21 AM)
good one.

actually if we really wanna see the design difference between korean and japs, you can try to sit in kia forte, and then you can try maybe civic or city.

Immediately you can notice, korean is trying too hard. the interior is too busy. like clothes, you cant have too many colours on you in one time. THis is the styling difference, they saw too many nice stuff, so they wanna cramp it all in one car.

As oppose to local design, they saw all the crappy stuff, so they can only give you crappy interior. THe jap has their direction in the interior, for civic, its futuristic, so you see minimalist and futuristic design. CIty, the car is entry level, so, keep it simple and functional.

Even BMW, they want you to concentrate driving, so the interior is very bland and nothing to show off. While kia, is trying very hard to get the WOW factor from you. But no worries, its not a bad thing, they will only get better and better.

Once again, japanese is all about reliability. no one bothers to challenge them on this. And resale value is all about reliability. Who is going to buy your second hand car? rich ppl or not so rich ppl? Those not so rich ppl, what do they think about? They wanna save more money, so they are willing to pay more for cars that are reliable(that they think is reliable).

To them, even local car is reliable, simple because its everywhere, spare parts, service center, acc shop. THey feel safe by buying a car thats available everywhere. Unless you have 3 cars in your garage, otherwise, one will even worry what will happen when their ferrari fails.

And the reputation of reliable is not built over night. Korean car's 10 years warranty in US is not transferable, but its a start, to let ppl notice them. We consumer will definitely benefit from this korean vs jap car war. So now Kia is giving 5 years unlimited warranty, and VW too, to give owner a peace of mind. While jap car, no one ever question why they only give 3 years/100k. Simple, they are proven(at least public mindset is) .

turbocharged
post Jan 5 2012, 11:57 AM

250 posts

QUOTE(WheelieWonka @ Jan 5 2012, 11:44 AM)

RM110k for 1.8 Elantra is like commiting harakiri!!

Hopefully its only speculation
see, even you(who has both civic and forte) cannot accept 110k for 1.8 elantra.

but how come many ppl can accept 120k for 1.8 civic?(yours should be 115k when you bought)

can you share why do you think elantra cannot be 10k cheaper? must be much much more cheaper?

can you give a review on the handling of both civic and fote?

This post has been edited by turbocharged: Jan 5 2012, 11:57 AM
turbocharged
post Jan 5 2012, 01:34 PM

250 posts

QUOTE(jai2005 @ Jan 5 2012, 12:16 PM)
totally agreed with ur bro, or else get Forte.
I also think same thing during place the elantra's booking. dont want to show a demand. But at the end book jugak lah rclxms.gif
Lets make simple calculation
US40k = 120k
after 5 years you lost 120k. Not including expensive insurance.
malaysia you bought it let say 280k
after 5 years you can sell it at least 140k
you lost 140k  hmm.gif
you mean in US, after 5 years, the BMW will explode and leave you dust only?

what makes you think the BMW in US cannot be sold after 5 years?

you can easily sell it for 10k USD.

remember, 40k USD = their ONE year annual salary(fresh grad or 1-2 years working).

how many here making RM120k a year?

its nothing to debate actually on the car policy, biggrin.gif

terima sahaja la.

Added on January 5, 2012, 1:36 pm
QUOTE(BuFung @ Jan 5 2012, 12:32 PM)
this 1 gonna be very hard to customize/change after market HU....

so, now we know their design philosophy din think so much about after market eh?

so, 5 years later the HU spoilt....then.....( minus resale value!!! )

This post has been edited by turbocharged: Jan 5 2012, 01:36 PM
turbocharged
post Jan 5 2012, 01:59 PM

250 posts

QUOTE(WheelieWonka @ Jan 5 2012, 01:57 PM)
Actually bro, I bought the Civic thru Malaysia My 2nd Home program (my grandma is foreign national). Guess how much the Civic 1.8 is WITHOUT taxes??
RM73k ONLY (paid cash)

Elantra cannot be 10k cheaper b/c no matter how good Korean cars are, the depreciation is much lower b/c of 2nd car market's perception. So to make up for lost depreciation value, sale price must be lower also.
Hyundai's goal is to sell cars and to steal market share from Civic/ Altis, so they need to spec the model well and give lower price to lure Civic/ Altis buyers... that's the logic.

Btw, Forte's handling is much better than Civic, the suspension a bit more keras also...but very comfortable and stable for highway driving laugh.gif
oh, if you post this statement in forte thread, forte owner will be rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif

biggrin.gif and civic owner gonna be vmad.gif mad.gif
turbocharged
post Jan 5 2012, 02:01 PM

250 posts

QUOTE(gregy @ Jan 5 2012, 02:00 PM)
You can easily get an aftermarket HU and bracket. Almost all modern cars are made this way, not only Hyundai. As long as you drive a popular model, chances are high that somebody will bring in the bracket and customised HU for your model. Relax smile.gif
hhmmm.....some business opportunity already biggrin.gif
turbocharged
post Jan 5 2012, 02:05 PM

250 posts

QUOTE(WheelieWonka @ Jan 5 2012, 02:02 PM)
Just to add salt to injury, my friend in Australia just bought a Lancer last week.
AUD24k ONLEH
4.5 year loan he only pays AUD400 per month!

So angry when I think about car prices in meresia sad.gif
er, so you go buy inspira la, almost same price

AFTER conversion biggrin.gif

turbocharged
post Jan 5 2012, 02:13 PM

250 posts

QUOTE(gregy @ Jan 5 2012, 02:10 PM)
Well, look on the bright side. At least you don't have to pay SGD105k to drive an Elantra in SG smile.gif

The average Joe Singapore earns around 2-4k per month, just like your average Joe Malaysia.
er.....their house interest rate 1%

tongue.gif

Added on January 5, 2012, 2:13 pm
QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Jan 5 2012, 02:13 PM)
Again the same crap conversion talk....are u a tourist buying a car there to bring back to Malaysia to talk about conversion?
trying to make him feel better biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by turbocharged: Jan 5 2012, 02:13 PM
turbocharged
post Jan 5 2012, 02:34 PM

250 posts

OOT, lets talk about this car, instead of country automotive policy

===========================

yea, hidden cost. a lot.

my previous factory operator, soldering, SPM, rm1200, rm1500 including OT. of cos la, driving modenas motobike.

the country part in USA, vietnamese aunty also doing soldering, driving honda accord 3.5( brand new, thank you )

hidden cost my arse. you gotta go there and take a look.

yea, maybe resale value is lower. who wanna die in an expensive kancil or a low resale value bmw 328i ? your call.

btw, one can hardly die in a bmw 328 anyway. you see autobahn accident fatality rate.

This post has been edited by turbocharged: Jan 5 2012, 02:37 PM
turbocharged
post Jan 5 2012, 03:12 PM

250 posts

QUOTE(MeToo @ Jan 5 2012, 03:10 PM)
What? Same price meh... no 7% discoutn to special category? Like that I dun wan buy le!
test drive show room car want a? biggrin.gif
turbocharged
post Jan 5 2012, 03:50 PM

250 posts

buy prius C la, might be below 100k
turbocharged
post Jan 5 2012, 03:51 PM

250 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Jan 5 2012, 03:51 PM)
If u booked the Fiesta sedan then i would say thats not a smart move. Its darn ugly and its poor sales are a reflection of it.
pppsss, 7 airbags biggrin.gif
turbocharged
post Jan 5 2012, 06:30 PM

250 posts

QUOTE(FluidicSculpture @ Jan 5 2012, 06:09 PM)
I feel rather sorry, you seem to be really confused around here, so let me tell you a story.

The GPS HU you see in the picture was actually swapped out with the original radio/CD HU. It will also be the same radio/CD HU on the Elantra 1.6? There were 3 different test unit that day, 1 fitted into the car, 2 in the trunk.

Now I don't know about what's in your mind but I did mention that my friend is in the process of bringing in aftermarket HU for the Elantra. So i don't really know where you get the idea that Elantra is not aftermarket friendly, considering a lot of cars these days uses integrated design for the center fascia, hiding the DIN slots behind.

Google is your friend, just google for sonata or tucson gps and you'll find yourself spoilt with choices.

Oh btw, what happened to your' last post, no more'?smile.gif

Elantra discuss.., or correction, discussion not related to Elantra, is getting boring. they are like broken recorder playing itself over and over again yawn.gif
this is new thread biggrin.gif

ok la, i better dont kacau your sales thread here.

This post has been edited by turbocharged: Jan 5 2012, 06:33 PM
turbocharged
post Jan 6 2012, 10:27 AM

250 posts

QUOTE(squareballs @ Jan 6 2012, 10:21 AM)
Rear headroom of elantra not that good..
tested at sg pinang durin nov .. left hand drive unit..

So.. forte 2.0, inspira 2.0, elantra 1.8.. how how
down to "dollar and sense"? biggrin.gif
turbocharged
post Jan 6 2012, 10:31 AM

250 posts

QUOTE(dvinez @ Jan 6 2012, 10:30 AM)
if dollar and sense, for me i will say it is inspira.
er.... how about driver's pleasure?
turbocharged
post Jan 6 2012, 10:52 AM

250 posts

QUOTE(dvinez @ Jan 6 2012, 10:50 AM)
to be honest i think proton handling is good. it could be godlike with a mitsubishi inside.
after i changed car, only thing i missed is proton handling.  thumbup.gif
biggrin.gif too bad its a P badge.
turbocharged
post Jan 6 2012, 11:37 AM

250 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Jan 6 2012, 11:30 AM)
Did you know that in the 2011 JD Power Vehicle Dependability Survey, Kia was ranked as ‘average’ (3 Stars) in overall dependability in the same category as BMW, Audi, Volvo, Honda and Subaru?

Hyundai recorded the biggest improvement to be ranked above these cars and was given a 4 Star rating the same as Toyota and Porsche. Mazda was among the worst with only 2 stars in the same category with Mitsubishi and Nissan.

For reference, Toyota was ranked 5th and Hyundai was ranked 10th in the overall survey.
which country?

11 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0512sec    0.64    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 01:18 AM