5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

2012 Hyundai Elantra, Hello Impossible!

Chongkor
post Jan 2 2012, 11:39 PM

20 posts

QUOTE(Madgeiser @ Jan 2 2012, 11:28 PM)
I am having a real bad feeling that the 1.8 premium spec is gonna be around RM130k. The 1.6 Hi-spec is probably more inline to RM110k....

Hopefully i am wrong.
Impossible la bro, how can the price so close to Sonata, anyway C segment car price for H & T is RM110+ k, however Kia Forte 2.0 also in same segment but price is RM 98k, so which standard to follow? I guess lower than both J car and higher than Kia
Chongkor
post Jan 3 2012, 10:44 AM

20 posts

QUOTE(gregy @ Jan 3 2012, 09:38 AM)
Civic 1.8 high spec is 120k bro.
Why they not came with 1.8 basic and high spec / premium. So we got more choice, and i don't think everyone need the sunroof.
Chongkor
post Jan 3 2012, 05:41 PM

20 posts

QUOTE(LLH @ Jan 3 2012, 05:16 PM)
Or 2.0 Forte? jal2005 are you having problems with yr forte? It´s a 1.6 or 2.0?
Dont opp for 1.6, it's a bit underpower, 2.0 used the engine same as Inspira and Lancer.
Chongkor
post Jan 4 2012, 11:25 AM

20 posts

QUOTE(speedguy10 @ Jan 4 2012, 10:39 AM)
Do you guys think the price for high spec 1.6 will be similar with Forte 1.6sx?
Should be higher gua.
Chongkor
post Jan 4 2012, 10:08 PM

20 posts

QUOTE(326_3919 @ Jan 4 2012, 10:04 PM)
then 1.6 sure near around 100k.......
Wont la, the spec for 1.6 and 1.8 so much different. It must not more than 95k for high spec,
Chongkor
post Jan 7 2012, 02:26 PM

20 posts

QUOTE(turbocharged @ Jan 7 2012, 10:36 AM)
bro,stop complaining at ppl rice bowl biggrin.gif gotta understand where it comes from biggrin.gif

i must say its not easy to fight with the reputation and the fame civic and corolla (altis/camry) is enjoying, they are at 8th generation already. japs car might be cheap, but japs arent stupid. there are stuff that can be copied, and there are stuff that cant be copied smile.gif

but we as consumer has everything to benefit from, so i welcome their challenges to the jap's throne biggrin.gif

and lately, even local car makers are buckling up smile.gif
Camry in Malaysia is unbeatable, but Altis is different, so Elantra will can win over the sales.

Chongkor
post Jan 7 2012, 03:19 PM

20 posts

QUOTE(0300078 @ Jan 7 2012, 03:14 PM)
The previous altis didn't make it into the top 10 foreign car sold in Malaysia but the recent one is back in the chart with monthly sales of 500+ ... It is not a easy match also for the Koreans.
Bcoz many uncle aunty bought that, who got more money power (normally they are high income) than those younger.
Chongkor
post Jan 8 2012, 12:15 PM

20 posts

[quote=FluidicSculpture,Jan 8 2012, 11:56 AM]
Who knows? smile.gif But I can tell you I don't know laugh.gif

Veloster don't know when launching yet. Elantra might have delayed some of SD's plan in 2012.

What?? Delay again?

Chongkor
post Jan 8 2012, 01:07 PM

20 posts

QUOTE(devinz @ Jan 8 2012, 01:04 PM)
I hope it is not another delay.
Else Sime Darby will really messed with its credibility...
Yeah, promise liao Feb then Feb, dont simply give promise pls, btw i think they shouldnt made any delay due to Volestor, since this is not a hot model also.
Chongkor
post Jan 8 2012, 01:45 PM

20 posts

QUOTE(FluidicSculpture @ Jan 8 2012, 01:35 PM)
Whether they're going to launch the Accent first or Veloster this year first is another question. Accent is a b-segment car, while Veloster caters for the few enthusiast.

Nobody expects nor wanted the delay on the Elantra.
Veloster was never promised to be launching in Feb, but I am not expecting it to launch in Q1(Projected) or Q2 of 2012 either. Expected launching date is not promised launching date, don't get overly excited and mis-interpret their words smile.gif

Veloster may be hot in other market, but once it come into Malaysia it's a whole different ball game, a very good example would be the i30.
What i mean is Elantra, and we as customer won't care what is happened in SD internal for the delay but we treat the announcement as the official info.
Else it will give a very negative impression especially for those who pay for booking.
Chongkor
post Jan 8 2012, 01:56 PM

20 posts

QUOTE(FluidicSculpture @ Jan 8 2012, 01:53 PM)
Not sure if it's appropriate for someone not directly working under HSDM to say this, but to Elantra lover that are frustrated by the delay, I am sorry smile.gif

If that isn't enough, you'll just have to call Hyundai Malaysia's customer care and give them a piece of your mind. biggrin.gif
Is ok, hopefully it won't delay. biggrin.gif
Chongkor
post Jan 14 2012, 09:17 AM

20 posts

The car will be fully CKD but price still expensive, so what is the difference between CKD compare to CBU?
Chongkor
post Jan 15 2012, 09:42 AM

20 posts

In Malaysia, many people will look for 1) Low FC 2) High 2nd hand value

But as for now we still can't see this from Hyundai, so what is the reason to mark up the price to T & H level?
Chongkor
post Jan 15 2012, 03:00 PM

20 posts

QUOTE(squareballs @ Jan 15 2012, 01:30 PM)

Here u go..
It's advertising the logo or the car? can't see the whole car also
Chongkor
post Jan 16 2012, 03:07 PM

20 posts

QUOTE(gavinfernando @ Jan 16 2012, 02:24 PM)
I just asked the HQ and they say the price is RM90k-120K.

1.6 Standard might be RM89,XXX - 91,XXX
The 1.8 Premium might be RM118,XXX

Still waiting for finalization. They will announce the launching date end of this month/ early week of next month..

Cheers
Is 1.6 Standard here refer to Manual or Auto? How about the 1.6 High Spec?
Definitely price for 1.8 is out of expectation.
Chongkor
post Jan 16 2012, 03:54 PM

20 posts

QUOTE(turbocharged @ Jan 16 2012, 03:19 PM)
for manual 1.6, at that price range,

they have to fight with,

vios 1.5 auto-          G spec (85k+)
inspira 1.8 manual-    way more powerful (rm79k+)
fiesta 1.6 auto -        full spec at lesser price (Rm82k)
honda city 1.5 auto - basic spec. (RM85k+)
Forte 1.6 fullspec    -  RM 85888
Who willing to buy Manual for Basic spec with that price? Kidding meh? Just because the external looks nice compare the all cars above?

Chongkor
post Jan 16 2012, 04:52 PM

20 posts

QUOTE(squareballs @ Jan 16 2012, 04:33 PM)
"Elantra win award in us.. so must price it higher.. " says sd
Then they should import the car from US so the price worth it.
Chongkor
post Jan 16 2012, 06:33 PM

20 posts

QUOTE(etseleste @ Jan 16 2012, 06:19 PM)
1.8 Nu Engine for 118k..... Might as well get a CKD Mazda 3 2.0 $119k..... at least it is mazda logo rather than inokom. if it comes with skyactiv even better but i don't think it will be on our shore for at least another year. hopefully i'm wrong. bye bye elantra. i can afford u but i wun buy u at 115k-118k.
Logo u can request to change anyway, but whether is FOC or not is another story.
Chongkor
post Jan 17 2012, 01:09 PM

20 posts

QUOTE(khusyairi @ Jan 17 2012, 12:53 PM)
Honda Civic get official launching yesterday in Singapore.
Most probably Msian Honda Civic will hav same look. See link:

http://www.sgcarmart.com/news/events_features.php?AID=2514

If Elantra price too high, better get civic rite.
The Front is ok, but rear seems too ah Beh.

Added on January 17, 2012, 1:12 pm
QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Jan 17 2012, 01:03 PM)
The drop in resale value will be worse if the entry price is in that range. Initial public perception that the car is overpriced will usually mean a hefty drop in resale value over 5-7 yrs. Im just waiting for SD to screw up the Elantra with its pricing. At that range, the Elantra will do worse than the Sonata for sure.

Added on January 17, 2012, 1:06 pm

This is really an ugly car. No wonder it got voted the worst car in America or something like that. Just look at that ugly dashboard la. Honda should sack the whole design team for this crap. Even Honda's President admits that it was crap.

Dont bother buying. Honda are already preparing a facelift due to be released end of this year.

http://www.dispatch.com/content/stories/bu...nned-civic.html
From preparing the new facelift until the time launhed in Malaysia take too long time, for those can wait de then wait at least 2-3 years la

This post has been edited by Chongkor: Jan 17 2012, 01:12 PM
Chongkor
post Jan 18 2012, 03:55 PM

20 posts

QUOTE(chintmy @ Jan 18 2012, 02:50 PM)
As a potential buyer, I am also looking at the price.  The car outlook and features are the main one driving me to get the car as it is slightly above the rest in the same segment.

As I keep changing car often, resale price is also important for me.  So far having Japanese car and also perodua, the resale had been good.  That is one of the reasons why I am able to change car every 2-3 years.

As for Korean make, the resale had not been there.  Look at the previous model of Sonata and Elantra.  They are so bad in resale after 3 years.  If I am in that situation, I will not ever get a Korean car again as feels cheated.

This is my first time looking at Korean car even though I can effort a CAMRY.  If the price is too close to the H&T, then bye bye to Elantra.  I could not take the risk after 3 years the car resale value had dropped so much as compare to T&H.  It is a fact which we cannot ignore even though the korean had caught up but then not in Malaysia market.

Really hope SD will place the price right as I wish to try out Korean car and then recommend it.  I think Forte had done it right.  You can see the new K5.  The thread had been dead.  I hope this thread will not end up like K5.  If not it will be a sad news as the car should be a good car.
This is not the thread for boosting, if you can afford CAMRY then you might go into wrong thread already, you should go to K5 thread.

5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0454sec    0.28    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 05:15 PM