Astro B.yond Episode IV (Version 9.0), The New World of Entertainment

chuppachop
post May 15 2012, 01:18 PM

957 posts

f.y.i.

ESPN STAR Sports provides Olympics coverage on Astro

Kuala Lumpur – ESPN STAR Sports, the official broadcaster of the London 2012 Olympic Games, recently announced its broadcast coverage on Astro that will provide the most extensive coverage of the sporting meet in Malaysia across 15 channels.

ESPN STAR Sports will deliver more than 3,800 hours of round-the-clock coverage of the London 2012 Games from 27 July to 12 August.

Coverage can be seen on ESPN (Astro Ch 812), STAR Sports (Astro Ch 813), ESPN HD (Astro Ch 832) and ESPNEWS (Astro Ch 818). Also for the first time ever, ten dedicated HD ESPN STAR Sports channels will cover the Games with LIVE and first-run coverage, in addition to key events being showcased in 3D for on ESPN STAR Sports’ 3D channel.

ESPN STAR Sports will feature news update programmes hosted by its studio presentation team in Singapore, such as the morning show SportsCenter Espresso and Update at 8 in the evenings, to bring the best highlights from the London 2012 Games. The sports content provider will also have a team of reporters on-ground in London to deliver in-depth interviews and stories.

Qash-M
post May 15 2012, 01:38 PM

#FreePalestine
6,103 posts

QUOTE(chuppachop @ May 15 2012, 01:18 PM)
f.y.i.

ESPN STAR Sports provides Olympics coverage on Astro

Kuala Lumpur – ESPN STAR Sports, the official broadcaster of the London 2012 Olympic Games, recently announced its broadcast coverage on Astro that will provide the most extensive coverage of the sporting meet in Malaysia across 15 channels.

ESPN STAR Sports will deliver more than 3,800 hours of round-the-clock coverage of the London 2012 Games from 27 July to 12 August.

Coverage can be seen on ESPN (Astro Ch 812), STAR Sports (Astro Ch 813), ESPN HD (Astro Ch 832) and ESPNEWS (Astro Ch 818). Also for the first time ever, ten dedicated HD ESPN STAR Sports channels will cover the Games with LIVE and first-run coverage, in addition to key events being showcased in 3D for on ESPN STAR Sports’ 3D channel.

ESPN STAR Sports will feature news update programmes hosted by its studio presentation team in Singapore, such as the morning show SportsCenter Espresso and Update at 8 in the evenings, to bring the best highlights from the London 2012 Games. The sports content provider will also have a team of reporters on-ground in London to deliver in-depth interviews and stories.
I smell...over compression... sweat.gif hmm.gif
smileguy
post May 15 2012, 02:12 PM

3,147 posts

QUOTE(krel89 @ May 15 2012, 01:15 PM)
today my frenz got a call said he/she from astro, they said if change byond to PVR npw, its free??? is it true??? then astro must be really scarred to lost their customer already~

can someone confirm these is true or not???
The reason is they want to trap you with a contract,free or not is not the issue,decide wisely. tongue.gif

Added on May 15, 2012, 2:15 pm
QUOTE(Qash-M @ May 15 2012, 01:38 PM)
I smell...over compression... sweat.gif  hmm.gif
True pal.its gonna stink!!!I thought they were suppose to use Thaicom cos they hv no more space and I wonder what happened. hmm.gif

This post has been edited by smileguy: May 15 2012, 02:15 PM
RAMChYLD
post May 15 2012, 02:15 PM

1,715 posts

Maybe that's where their satellite rental (I remember they announced deal to rent bandwidth from Thaicom? Correct me if I'm wrong) will come into play- use rented satellite to transmit Olympic, then once done, terminate contract.

QUOTE(smileguy @ May 15 2012, 02:12 PM)
The reason is they want to trap you with a contract,free or not is not the issue,decide wisely. tongue.gif
It still comes down to this. Why they want to trap existing customers with extended contract? Of course laa scard of them leaving left and right! People already wised up to Assteruk's tricks and despite their attempt to cover up, it's already well known that a lot of people terminated. Quoting the old song from The Who: Won't get fooled again. So they use tricks like NoJOI and free PVR upgrade to make what's left extend their contracts with them.

QUOTE(smileguy @ May 15 2012, 02:12 PM)
True pal.its gonna stink!!!I thought they were suppose to use Thaicom cos they hv no more space  and I wonder what happened. hmm.gif
Exactly my thoughts too!

This post has been edited by RAMChYLD: May 15 2012, 02:23 PM
chuppachop
post May 15 2012, 02:18 PM

957 posts

same number of channels offered in Singapore.....but believe most will be part-time/ad-hoc channels. Anyways, they are all FOC, so can't complain. 8-)

"Back at home, all mio TV subscribers will enjoy free access to exciting round-the-clock coverage of the London 2012 Games across 13 channels (10 of which are in HD). This includes over 680 hours of build-up programming and original programming featuring highlights from the Games. mio TV will aim to broadcast every single ‘live’ event that Team Singapore athletes are involved in. The platform’s technical capabilities enables viewers to use a robust search function to look for the events that they wish to watch without having to surf through all 13 channels."
krel89
post May 15 2012, 03:41 PM

409 posts

just now got some info that others service provider for fiber is lunching their own iptv next month.. so there are 2 service lunch next month.. abnxces and the other ISP..
smileguy
post May 15 2012, 04:21 PM

3,147 posts

QUOTE(krel89 @ May 15 2012, 03:41 PM)
just now got some info that others service provider for fiber is lunching their own iptv next month.. so there are 2 service lunch next month.. abnxces and the other ISP..
Is that maxis bro? hmm.gif
krel89
post May 15 2012, 04:28 PM

409 posts

yeah.. hahahaha... cant wait laaa~
kaspersky-fan
post May 15 2012, 05:14 PM

1,602 posts

Double compression =p, part 1 from sg, part 2 from assteruk, so even if assteruk provided a tad bit higher bitrate than part1 source, quality might still stink lol
smileguy
post May 15 2012, 05:45 PM

3,147 posts

QUOTE(krel89 @ May 15 2012, 04:28 PM)
yeah.. hahahaha... cant wait laaa~
Coverage is limited but not too limited like Un@@@!Most towns are linked to at least 5km radius,I heard. hmm.gif
krel89
post May 15 2012, 05:48 PM

409 posts

is it??

PhakFuhZai
post May 15 2012, 09:21 PM

harimau putih
1,587 posts

QUOTE(RAMChYLD @ May 15 2012, 10:09 AM)
bae yong = roughly Hokkien for "Cannot use" or "useless" tongue.gif

I coined the term because I feel that Assteruk is useless for me- their HD contents doesn't please me, I'm one of the minorities interested in neither bola sepak nor chinese drama, and I've been disappointed by their channel choices.
well, can treat it as the method to get clearer reception of media prima and rtm channels laugh.gif

getting fedup with the FTA analog broadcasts doh.gif
RAMChYLD
post May 16 2012, 05:23 AM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(PhakFuhZai @ May 15 2012, 09:21 PM)
well, can treat it as the method to get clearer reception of media prima and rtm channels laugh.gif
Well, I don't need it tongue.gif Klang town is very strategic in that all the UHF transmitters (KL Tower and Genting Highlands) are in line of sight and one well positioned UHF antenna is enough to pick up from both where Analog and Digital is concerned. Just need a second VHF antenna pointed towards Sungai Besi for RTM1 and 2 and that covers all analog channels.

Also...

QUOTE(PhakFuhZai @ May 15 2012, 09:21 PM)
getting fedup with the FTA analog broadcasts doh.gif
Yeah. Very fed up with FTA channels. They dropped too many shows mid-season and never bring in new seasons of shows I like that I'm very PO'ed by them already. Plus, very pissed off when I tuned into Lilo and Stitch the Series on TV2 one morning and found that they've translated it to Malay. I dun understand the practicality of that action doh.gif

This post has been edited by RAMChYLD: May 16 2012, 05:30 AM
chikana
post May 16 2012, 07:14 AM

213 posts

QUOTE(RAMChYLD @ May 16 2012, 05:23 AM)
Well, I don't need it tongue.gif  Klang town is very strategic in that all the UHF transmitters (KL Tower and Genting Highlands) are in line of sight and one well positioned UHF antenna is enough to pick up from both where Analog and Digital is concerned. Just need a second VHF antenna pointed towards Sungai Besi for RTM1 and 2 and that covers all analog channels.

Also...
Yeah. Very fed up with FTA channels. They dropped too many shows mid-season and never bring in new seasons of shows I like that I'm very PO'ed by them already. Plus, very pissed off when I tuned into Lilo and Stitch the Series on TV2 one morning and found that they've translated it to Malay. I dun understand the practicality of that action  doh.gif
Bro, you live in Msia, not Spore. You have to accept this.
ZHashim38
post May 16 2012, 10:33 AM

Hi there,
I am thinking of buying Blackmagic intensity to capture some some of my favorite HD program from Astro Byond to keep as my personal copy. Do you think Astro will block the HDMI signal input to Blackmagic to prevent copying of these byond channels

smileguy
post May 16 2012, 10:56 AM

3,147 posts

QUOTE(ZHashim38 @ May 16 2012, 10:33 AM)
Hi there,
I am thinking of buying Blackmagic intensity to capture some some of my favorite HD program from Astro Byond to keep as my personal copy. Do you think Astro will block the HDMI signal input to Blackmagic to prevent copying of these byond channels

I doubt it, hmm.gif
chikana
post May 16 2012, 01:17 PM

213 posts

Hi there,

I think yes. Because they turn on the HDCP on the HDMI output. Analog RCA maybe can....
RAMChYLD
post May 16 2012, 03:27 PM

1,715 posts

Hi there,

I can confirm it's not going to work, at least not without a HDCP remover in the middle (*cough*HDFury2*cough*). Blackmagic Intensity does not support HDCP encryption. Take it from someone who attempted to experiment on this when baeyong first came out.

There's another card out that supports HDCP- AVerMedia HD-DVR iirc. Not sure if it's available in Malaysia tho- I hear people say it's available, but I can't find one personally. However, from what I read it's HDCP support isn't much of an improvement- it allows Assteruk to display on the computer (compare to black screen with message "Copy Protection Failed" on a Blackmagic Intensity) but attempting to record will result in the "Copy Protection Failed" error.

Like Chikana said you can still record from analog with HD signal downsampled to SD tho, which is a somewhat acceptable compromise for me. Which is still somewhat better than TM's IPTV (even analog SD is Macrovision protected doh.gif )

This post has been edited by RAMChYLD: May 16 2012, 03:33 PM
ewanisma
post May 16 2012, 10:09 PM

I am PVR USER.. Sometimes i will record my channel thru iphone apps (remote).. But suddenly, i try to record movies from HBO HD, but there is no record button.. Actually, before this, it's fine.. Is there any limitation?
Qash-M
post May 16 2012, 10:10 PM

#FreePalestine
6,103 posts

Apparently, there 2 promos of the PVR, but i've take the rm150 one. laugh.gif

This post has been edited by Qash-M: May 17 2012, 12:21 AM

125 Pages « < 79 80 81 82 83 > » Top

0.0226sec    0.38    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 02:17 PM