125 Pages « < 78 79 80 81 82 > » Bottom

Astro B.yond Episode IV (Version 9.0), The New World of Entertainment

Qash-M
post May 13 2012, 12:19 PM

#FreePalestine
6,103 posts

QUOTE(PhakFuhZai @ May 11 2012, 09:47 PM)
can Astro Byond signal be delivered using conventional antenna coaxial cable ah?
let's say, replacing the TV antenna with Astro dish, using the existing cable from the TV antenna to connect to the astro dish, can run or not

btw the antenna cable is concealed within the wall, that's why dun wanna drill holes lay additional cable coz it looks ugly
I don't think it'll work that way... laugh.gif
RAMChYLD
post May 13 2012, 01:28 PM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(Qash-M @ May 13 2012, 12:19 PM)
I don't think it'll work that way... laugh.gif
I actually once connected an assteruk decoder to a coil of unshielded cable (you know, cable meant to carry electricity) with a MegaTV pigtail antenna on the other end and it's signal bar started fluctuating laugh.gif so maybe it's a YMMV case.

Actually tho, it's quite possible to do that, but expect the signal bar to be not very high and intermittent signal lost problem with HD signal. Problem is antenna grade cable is slightly thinner than satellite grade cable, and thus prone to signal loss. Also, antenna grade cable is unshielded compared to satellite grade cable, means it's prone to picking up interference.

This post has been edited by RAMChYLD: May 13 2012, 01:51 PM
Qash-M
post May 13 2012, 10:56 PM

#FreePalestine
6,103 posts

QUOTE(RAMChYLD @ May 13 2012, 01:28 PM)
I actually once connected an assteruk decoder to a coil of unshielded cable (you know, cable meant to carry electricity) with a MegaTV pigtail antenna on the other end and it's signal bar started fluctuating  laugh.gif so maybe it's a YMMV case.

Actually tho, it's quite possible to do that, but expect the signal bar to be not very high and intermittent signal lost problem with HD signal. Problem is antenna grade cable is slightly thinner than satellite grade cable, and thus prone to signal loss. Also, antenna grade cable is unshielded compared to satellite grade cable, means it's prone to picking up interference.
Lol that actually works... laugh.gif
minimize
post May 14 2012, 10:37 AM

1,543 posts

I hear Astro got a promo 50% off for second decoder. Is it for IPTV only or for normal decoder with dish?
Qash-M
post May 14 2012, 11:14 AM

#FreePalestine
6,103 posts

QUOTE(minimize @ May 14 2012, 10:37 AM)
I hear Astro got a promo 50% off for second decoder. Is it for IPTV only or for normal decoder with dish?
Normal decoder with dish one.
avantasia
post May 14 2012, 11:55 AM

a while in dreamland!!!
2,827 posts

Can anyone enlightened me how to transfer recorded program on PVR to personal hard disk?

Many thanx
PhakFuhZai
post May 14 2012, 12:11 PM

harimau putih
1,587 posts

QUOTE(RAMChYLD @ May 13 2012, 01:28 PM)
I actually once connected an assteruk decoder to a coil of unshielded cable (you know, cable meant to carry electricity) with a MegaTV pigtail antenna on the other end and it's signal bar started fluctuating   laugh.gif so maybe it's a YMMV case.

I dunno the cable hidden in the wall is satellite grade or antenna grade though

nowadays many newer homes have to resort to the built-in wall socket for the TV socket, or else the cable have to go through the window of the living hall doh.gif

anyone here successfully running Astro dish using the concealed wall cable? unsure.gif

but anyway, isn't the standard antenna cable also unshielded one? they are still the coaxial cable anyway

This post has been edited by PhakFuhZai: May 14 2012, 12:13 PM
avantasia
post May 14 2012, 12:14 PM

a while in dreamland!!!
2,827 posts

QUOTE(PhakFuhZai @ May 14 2012, 12:11 PM)
I dunno the cable hidden in the wall is satellite  grade or antenna grade though

nowadays many newer homes have to resort to the built-in wall socket for the TV socket, or else the cable have to go through the window of the living hall doh.gif

anyone here successfully running Astro dish using the concealed wall cable? unsure.gif
SO far so good i did my PVR (2 cable) with concealed wall cable and don't have any problem! thumbup.gif
PhakFuhZai
post May 14 2012, 12:19 PM

harimau putih
1,587 posts

QUOTE(avantasia @ May 14 2012, 12:14 PM)
SO far so good i did my PVR (2 cable) with concealed wall cable and don't have any problem!  thumbup.gif
erm u split one socket to 2 cables?
avantasia
post May 14 2012, 12:21 PM

a while in dreamland!!!
2,827 posts

QUOTE(PhakFuhZai @ May 14 2012, 12:19 PM)
erm u split one socket to 2 cables?
Which socket?
PhakFuhZai
post May 14 2012, 12:23 PM

harimau putih
1,587 posts

QUOTE(avantasia @ May 14 2012, 12:21 PM)
Which socket?
the antenna wall socket?

since you said the cable is concealed in wall, so u use signal splitter? unsure.gif
avantasia
post May 14 2012, 12:28 PM

a while in dreamland!!!
2,827 posts

QUOTE(PhakFuhZai @ May 14 2012, 12:23 PM)
the antenna wall socket?

since you said the cable is concealed in wall, so u use signal splitter? unsure.gif
My installer told me that he use splitter!
chikana
post May 14 2012, 01:25 PM

213 posts

QUOTE(avantasia @ May 14 2012, 12:28 PM)
splitter or stacker destacker hmm.gif
ngaisteve1
post May 14 2012, 01:27 PM

Software Engineer
6,779 posts

Deleted

This post has been edited by ngaisteve1: May 14 2012, 01:28 PM
RAMChYLD
post May 14 2012, 03:04 PM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(PhakFuhZai @ May 14 2012, 12:11 PM)
but anyway, isn't the standard antenna cable also unshielded one? they are still the coaxial cable anyway
Correct. Standard antenna cable is unshielded. The differences between satellite cable and standard antenna cable is that satellite signal cable core (the single-strand part in the center of the cable) is not slightly thicker, there's also a layer of aluminum shield between the core and ground. Standard antenna cable don't have that aluminum shield and thus pick up interference as well as suffer signal degradation.

QUOTE(avantasia @ May 14 2012, 12:28 PM)
As I said before, it is plausible, but you will maybe suffer signal degradation.

Still worth trying tho. On normal (non-baeyong) decoder the degradation is not too bad in my experience. Before I install baeyong iirc my cabling is half satellite cable, half antenna cable because difficult to get the needed satellite cable and I wanted to extend the cable from the hall into my room.

This post has been edited by RAMChYLD: May 14 2012, 03:07 PM
PhakFuhZai
post May 14 2012, 11:01 PM

harimau putih
1,587 posts

hmm nowadays they only give out baeyong dish and decoder regardless you want baeyong service or not
ronnie
post May 15 2012, 12:30 AM

Not enough stars
21,308 posts

[quote=PhakFuhZai,May 14 2012, 11:01 PM]
hmm nowadays they only give out baeyong dish and decoder regardless you want baeyong service or not

OMG B.yond = baeyong ... rclxub.gif rclxub.gif shocking.gif I thot a new type of Korean dish doh.gif
avantasia
post May 15 2012, 01:01 AM

a while in dreamland!!!
2,827 posts

[quote=ronnie,May 15 2012, 12:30 AM]
[quote=PhakFuhZai,May 14 2012, 11:01 PM]

OMG B.yond = baeyong ... rclxub.gif rclxub.gif shocking.gif I thot a new type of Korean dish doh.gif

[/quote]

Come out from new service provider hopefully....
RAMChYLD
post May 15 2012, 10:09 AM

1,715 posts

bae yong = roughly Hokkien for "Cannot use" or "useless" tongue.gif

I coined the term because I feel that Assteruk is useless for me- their HD contents doesn't please me, I'm one of the minorities interested in neither bola sepak nor chinese drama, and I've been disappointed by their channel choices.

This post has been edited by RAMChYLD: May 15 2012, 10:11 AM
krel89
post May 15 2012, 01:15 PM

409 posts

today my frenz got a call said he/she from astro, they said if change byond to PVR npw, its free??? is it true??? then astro must be really scarred to lost their customer already~

can someone confirm these is true or not???

125 Pages « < 78 79 80 81 82 > » Top

0.0320sec    0.43    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 06:44 AM