Astro B.yond Episode IV (Version 9.0), The New World of Entertainment

kaspersky-fan
post Jan 27 2012, 12:33 PM

1,602 posts

QUOTE(smileguy @ Jan 27 2012, 06:08 AM)
Astro's SD is F..... up and its HD is not perfect either! In my 15 years with astro I dont think thats possible,if they attend to you in 48 hours well good for u,but I wonder what they can do to make SD better ..... hmm.gif keep us  updated. If u cannot get SD channels then  its  the dish alignment which took 2 weeks for astro  to send a installer/technician to my cousin's place.
they should be waiting for all consumers change to the byond box. Once done, they would be able to use H264 and phase out mpeg-2 for good. thats only mho.
kaspersky-fan
post Jan 27 2012, 12:52 PM

1,602 posts

QUOTE(Qash-M @ Jan 27 2012, 12:38 PM)
if only Astro would done it sooner, for SD channel.... sweat.gif
i think they did the calculations on the decoder box by pace?a bit too costly? maybe they have some other upcoming cheaper boxes with h264 support that im not aware of, nevertheless, its good for them to change to h264... look at unifi... its really stable and good (that is also because they maintained with 2Mbps).
kaspersky-fan
post Jan 27 2012, 01:06 PM

1,602 posts

QUOTE(Qash-M @ Jan 27 2012, 12:56 PM)
Not to mention if the channel offered in Njoi are all in MPEG4?
well looking at those channels, most of them are pre-existing, perhaps those had exist will still be on mpeg-2. i dont see a reason for astro to waste extra bandwidth to specially cater mpeg4 channels when mpeg-2's exist.
kaspersky-fan
post Jan 28 2012, 12:54 AM

1,602 posts

QUOTE(Qash-M @ Jan 27 2012, 08:59 PM)
As expected from Starhub.  brows.gif Asstro should learn from them. sweat.gif
Sigh... I want back my [v] international =/.... now they even have [v]HD =/
kaspersky-fan
post Jan 28 2012, 09:06 PM

1,602 posts

QUOTE(chuppachop @ Jan 27 2012, 08:42 PM)
Update: starhub adds 2 Hindi chs fr next tues,

Ch 132: [V] India
Ch 142: EROS Bollywood On Demand

Cheers.
you can watch free here: http://www.channelv.in/livetv

officially and legally free tongue.gif
kaspersky-fan
post Jan 28 2012, 09:42 PM

1,602 posts

QUOTE(chuppachop @ Jan 28 2012, 09:23 PM)
Oic....seems like only the new players can give astro a hard knock ......or whack on their heads! Fingers crossed. wink.gif

Added on January 28, 2012, 9:27 pm

Hmmm....didn't know that. tongue.gif

Actually was hoping for [V]HD to come, MTV Live HD caters for european viewers where all the premiere programs airs at late late night....dun really watch the channel. wink.gif
Yea, I want [v]HD too, but MTV Live HD is quite neat too, can watch back few days old schedule on demand, and just skip to music videos

As for [v]HD, only can lurk at the youtube page for the moment: http://www.youtube.com/user/channelVHD?blend=2&ob=0 lol
kaspersky-fan
post Jan 29 2012, 02:47 PM

1,602 posts

QUOTE(Qash-M @ Jan 29 2012, 01:31 PM)
Why so double compression, lah? sweat.gif  doh.gif
832 from Sg ? Then once gotten from SG, recompress again? lol
kaspersky-fan
post Feb 1 2012, 03:13 AM

1,602 posts

QUOTE(ronnie @ Jan 31 2012, 11:42 PM)
The RM150 PVR offer has ended.... started when Astro introduced the SuperPacks.
Now is RM300 which includes
1. 2 x 20m RG-6 cable
2. Dual Output LNB (for the dish)
3. B.yond PVR decoder (lifetime warranty)
QUOTE(dxjb @ Feb 1 2012, 01:42 AM)
n currently out of stock due to floods in Thailand..honestly!
Wow.. thats sad...

But lets say if I changed to PVR decoder, can I still add on the HDD to add additional recording hours ?
kaspersky-fan
post Feb 4 2012, 04:17 AM

1,602 posts

QUOTE(neb @ Feb 4 2012, 01:03 AM)
one of the USA sat TV operator is using Ka band, benefit is wider bandwidth, smaller dish size
[attachmentid=2667430]
Was googling about Ka band and I came across this:

http://www.gilatnetworks.com/data/uploads/.../gilat-vsat.pdf

"Ka frequencies (~30GHz uplink & ~20GHz downlink) are almost
twice the frequency used by Ku (~14GHz uplink and ~12GHz
downlink). When high frequencies are transmitted and received in a
heavy rain fall area, a noticeable signal degradation occurs and is
proportional to the amount of rain fall (commonly known as known
as “rain fade”). The higher frequency the more a signal is susceptible
to rain fade. A typical Ku-band rain fade rate is ~1dB/sec while the
fade rate in Ka-band is significantly higher at around 3-5dB/sec.

Most new Ka-band satellites implement spot-beam technology
to reuse the frequency band across the desired coverage area. As
opposed to wide beams that cover large territories (e.g. all of Europe),
spot beams cover much smaller territories (1/50 – 1/100 of the large territory)."

With the description above, would this new generation of Ka band improve or at least maintain at the current Ku band performance involving rain fade giving that this new Ka band is using higher frequencies, but using spot-beam technology instead?
kaspersky-fan
post Feb 4 2012, 04:17 PM

1,602 posts

QUOTE(lpsoldier007 @ Feb 4 2012, 03:40 PM)
heard some rumours from other forum that Astro maybe will use 100cm dish (current dish is 65cm for byond, 60cm for silver dish).
QUOTE(smileguy @ Feb 4 2012, 04:05 PM)
Maybe !!  the battle for survival has begun I suppose,time to get to work.fight rain fade to remain in the game!
Actually.. I've seen some house nearby my neighbourhood having an obvious larger dish. Its an astro phillips dish... that dish doesn't look 60cm at all! Wish to change one to that size too, of course being legal to use it.
kaspersky-fan
post Feb 4 2012, 10:41 PM

1,602 posts

QUOTE(Qash-M @ Feb 4 2012, 04:31 PM)
Wah, 'ur neighbor must be VVIP lah? laugh.gif
No idea, but very nice to see tongue.gif
kaspersky-fan
post Feb 11 2012, 11:09 AM

1,602 posts

QUOTE(smileguy @ Feb 11 2012, 06:31 AM)
They are capable of giving so many HD channels for their own use and to make money but they are not at all interested in giving more channels  and  choices to customers. doh.gif
I can assure you the existing channels will be more compressed.

But they are considered ok la, now start to offer such one off euro pack service... i guess they know competition is getting stiffer lol

Added on February 11, 2012, 11:10 am
QUOTE(Qash-M @ Feb 11 2012, 06:17 AM)
like your news quotes, always broadcast related =D

This post has been edited by kaspersky-fan: Feb 11 2012, 11:10 AM
kaspersky-fan
post Feb 11 2012, 11:29 AM

1,602 posts

QUOTE(Qash-M @ Feb 11 2012, 11:14 AM)
Ahahaha biggrin.gif  Btw, tonights match between M.U vs. Liverpool is available in 3D too. biggrin.gif
no 3D tv lol... but i wasnt really impressed with it, considering my eyes go bonkers even after 15 minutes using those annoying glasses...
kaspersky-fan
post Feb 11 2012, 12:18 PM

1,602 posts

QUOTE(Gaia34 @ Feb 11 2012, 11:38 AM)
agree, even though i have 3d tv, i don't even plan to watch the match in 3d... sweat.gif
you might as well buy a non 3D telly and use the remaining to get a better sound system =p
kaspersky-fan
post Feb 11 2012, 12:28 PM

1,602 posts

QUOTE(Gaia34 @ Feb 11 2012, 12:20 PM)
already buy....kinda regret now... sweat.gif
what made you buy the tv?

but even for now astro's 3d is 960x540 effective resolution, not that detailed =/

kaspersky-fan
post Feb 14 2012, 11:05 PM

1,602 posts

QUOTE(Qash-M @ Feb 13 2012, 01:57 PM)

Looks like CNN HD is available. On NSS 6, that is.
=D lyngsat stalker!, we are gonna get along very well ahahaha

I wonder how much bandwidth they gonna allocate for news channel in HD if they ever bring in. I've seen some samples at 3-4Mbps, 1080i... they still look very good =p
kaspersky-fan
post Feb 14 2012, 11:20 PM

1,602 posts

QUOTE(Qash-M @ Feb 14 2012, 11:17 PM)
Assthrow HD current bitrate? laugh.gif  sweat.gif
Actually for HD's they are not bad. (I mean they have to maintain quality since it is the selling point for HD).

Zhi Zhun HD's when showing tvb drama does look very detailed

Hrm.. that CNN channel.. can't find it =/

But I did see channel v international free to air in NSS-6 shocking.gif
kaspersky-fan
post Feb 17 2012, 01:49 AM

1,602 posts

QUOTE(Qash-M @ Feb 16 2012, 11:17 PM)
No Media Prima channel for free in Njoi, eh? (Though that it's FTA on Analogue tv) sweat.gif  laugh.gif
Licensing issue perhaps? Even astro byond iptv don't have media prima channels...
kaspersky-fan
post Feb 18 2012, 12:21 PM

1,602 posts

QUOTE(zeone @ Feb 18 2012, 09:36 AM)
True...true...true... thumbup.gif

However, Msians are STILL waiting 4a worthwhile competitor against Astro...one that wld NOT FADE OUT....like so many others so far!!! sad.gif
But to be honest, no matter what competitor is out, their coverage could never be as wide as astro's. You gotta face it that satellite coverage is a very excellent way to reach out to Malaysians in remote areas. Rain fade might be an issue, but once the government allows larger ku band dishes, it should able to solve that issue.

Though, another possible competitor would be perhaps DVB-T2 provider.
kaspersky-fan
post Feb 20 2012, 10:34 PM

1,602 posts

QUOTE(Qash-M @ Feb 20 2012, 10:36 AM)
On the other note, even some Indonesian are complaining the over compressed of ESPN HD. Looks like some of us are right about this... smile.gif
http://themalaysianreserve.com/main/index....ysia&Itemid=120

SlowPoke... sweat.gif
Yup, its like some blurry cast on the video feed. When they handle ESPN HD in house, it was very sharp and clear... I honestly dont know what is Singapore doing to the feed now =/

Added on February 20, 2012, 10:45 pm
QUOTE(smileguy @ Feb 20 2012, 11:15 AM)
Compression not only  espn, but even some ASSP HD matches does not seem HD at all,HBO too some movies do not seem HD!
to me something is not right hmm.gif
I guess from what you have described there, it really depends on the program and source. I particularly don't really fancy History HD as it doesn't seem so real.. at some programmings. So far, FPM HD is not bad (also depends on some movies).

HBO HD used to be worst, with SD being stretched. Now, those older movies, they had actually remastered in HD again. You should send direct email to HBO etc channels to complain =p

Have you seen Singapore's HD5 feed? Most were upscaled SD =/

Added on February 20, 2012, 10:54 pmAlso.. check this out, the video bitrate is insane =D

This post has been edited by kaspersky-fan: Feb 20 2012, 10:54 PM

5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0798sec    0.83    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 06:19 PM