127 Pages « < 120 121 122 123 124 > » Bottom

Working in Singapore v9, How to save 100k in 3 years to buy HDB?

seantang
post Feb 1 2012, 10:54 PM

With Adult Supervision Only
6,624 posts

QUOTE(kockroach @ Feb 1 2012, 10:38 PM)
If your runner get it free then ok, I've read somewhere that they told the JPJ officer that they need the extract to show to employer to work as company driver, instead of telling the JPJ officer that they are converting to Singapore driving license.

Another way my friend did is get the extract from JPJ, Malaysia license blacklisted, convert to Singapore license, then get the equivalent extract from TP, show JPJ and they will cut the Singapore license and issue Malaysia license, then go back Singapore, request for new license with SGD50 fee to TP.
Let me ask my runner. Like grandfather say "有钱能使鬼推磨". Got money can even make demons work.
metalslug
post Feb 1 2012, 10:58 PM

410 posts

QUOTE(kockroach @ Feb 1 2012, 10:52 PM)
To check if your Malaysia Licence is blacklisted or not, please click JPJ. Mine was blacklisted, and I think with MyEG we can renew our driving licence, but the licence we get is still under blacklist.

Added on February 1, 2012, 10:52 pm
Exposure.
Mine blacklisted liao... So are you holding SG license? Have you try to drive MY car?
SUSkockroach
post Feb 1 2012, 11:05 PM

Certified Noob
3,256 posts

QUOTE(metalslug @ Feb 1 2012, 09:58 PM)
Mine blacklisted liao... So are you holding SG license? Have you try to drive MY car?
When I get the extract from JPJ Johor, the lady officer told me that Singapore license holder can drive Malaysia car. Besides that, I always drive my family owned Malaysia car after I sold my Singapore registered car. The only downside for me not to hold the Malaysia license is the moment those blood sucker saw my Singapore license, they will demand higher kopi duit.
metalslug
post Feb 1 2012, 11:07 PM

410 posts

QUOTE(kockroach @ Feb 1 2012, 11:05 PM)
When I get the extract from JPJ Johor, the lady officer told me that Singapore license holder can drive Malaysia car. Besides that, I always drive my family owned Malaysia car after I sold my Singapore registered car. The only downside for me not to hold the Malaysia license is the moment those blood sucker saw my Singapore license, they will demand higher kopi duit.
is it you break the rules or because you do not holding MY license when they ask kopi?
SUSkockroach
post Feb 1 2012, 11:16 PM

Certified Noob
3,256 posts

QUOTE(metalslug @ Feb 1 2012, 10:07 PM)
is it you break the rules or because you do not holding MY license when they ask kopi?
I haven't experience that yet, but I am worry if one day I break the rule I need to pay more kopi duit because of SG license (working in Singapore, better pay) , not because I don't have MY license.

Crapp0, can give opinion? Will getting a CWI certificate add value to my resume, because I'm not in QA/Inspection line, but more to project management.

This post has been edited by kockroach: Feb 1 2012, 11:19 PM
ch_teo
post Feb 1 2012, 11:29 PM

809 posts

if one does not have experience in welding, the cert is just "paper".
better go for API 510/570 which again require welding experience.
why don't go to PMP?
PMP

This post has been edited by ch_teo: Feb 1 2012, 11:30 PM
SUSkockroach
post Feb 1 2012, 11:49 PM

Certified Noob
3,256 posts

QUOTE(ch_teo @ Feb 1 2012, 10:29 PM)
if one does not have experience in welding, the cert is just "paper".
better go for API 510/570 which again require welding experience.
why don't go to PMP?
PMP
Now that I'm not in Oil&Gas, I figure out CWI is more versatile compared to API, also CWI has got subsidize for PR.

I always have the perception that PMP is more for IT industry? no?
r1v3r
post Feb 2 2012, 12:05 AM

1,305 posts

I have both driving license since a few years ago. I just renew MY license at JPJ counter last Aug, did not change photo so max can renew 3 years. Not black listed at all.

70k COE? Pass, I rather buy a used car that come with much lower Coe. Why should I pay 70k tax when there are people only pay 4k or less for the same thing.

crazy25kid
post Feb 2 2012, 12:48 AM

Jack of all trades, master of none...in short, a NUB !!
1,424 posts

QUOTE(kockroach @ Feb 1 2012, 10:52 PM)
To check if your Malaysia Licence is blacklisted or not, please click JPJ. Mine was blacklisted, and I think with MyEG we can renew our driving licence, but the licence we get is still under blacklist.

Thanks for the link...very useful
Mine is not blacklisted.... icon_rolleyes.gif icon_rolleyes.gif
Jurlique
post Feb 2 2012, 08:03 AM

The Hajok
1,695 posts

Wat is the benefit of holding both SG and MY driving license at the same time. It is not a requirement anyway and u need to pay both sides money.
opifan
post Feb 2 2012, 08:37 AM

22 posts

QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ Feb 1 2012, 10:01 PM)
i thought it is 18 yo?

hayar.. just burn the passport and forget bout it ler.. simple  whistling.gif
lol... I'm quite sure it's 21 or maybe by 18 they can decide but 21 is the deadline already. She needs some docs from M'sia showing she renounced then she can take on SG citizenship...

Tigerr
post Feb 2 2012, 08:48 AM

3,033 posts

QUOTE(r1v3r @ Feb 2 2012, 12:05 AM)
I have both driving license since a few years ago. I just renew MY license at JPJ counter last Aug, did not change photo so max can renew 3 years. Not black listed at all.

70k COE? Pass, I rather buy a used car that come with much lower Coe. Why should I pay 70k tax when there are people only pay 4k or less for the same thing.
70k Coe is not for you lar. You are not in that class yet. Wait until your salary become 30k per month....then, that time, you will say differently. Driving a 2nd hand car is like an insult to you... tongue.gif

Long time before, i had said that in the forum that our Malaysia license will not be blacklisted when we do our conversion to Singapore license or during the time when we get the JPJ extract, but there are some who insist that our Malaysia driving license will have to be cut into half and etc.....
yhoong12
post Feb 2 2012, 08:57 AM

Balls Addicted~~
846 posts

QUOTE(icycokes @ Feb 1 2012, 06:41 PM)
Just to share my experience with Malaysia High Commision at Jervois Road.

I renewed my Malaysian passport 2 weeks ago and it was a breeze! I must say they are quite efficient, comparing to their counterparts back in Malaysia.

I arrived at 1120AM and collected my passport within the same day at 2PM. When I collect my passport, I found out that there are approximately 70 people in front of me in the queue line. But the queue moves very fast and I got my passport within 10 mins. So I would guess they need to process like 100 passports everyday? And they did it in 2 hours time!  rclxms.gif

Renewal fee is SGD 124. You can take ID photo there as well for SGD 6. ID photo taken in SG (Usually in white background) is not acceptable.

Make sure you arrive before their lunch break (12PM) to submit your application form or else your passport will be ready only on the next day.

Let me know if you need more details!
that mean SGD124 for 5 years? seem cheaper than renew fee for five years in MY... Correct me if i m wrong
Ruey
post Feb 2 2012, 09:06 AM

17 posts

QUOTE(crazy25kid @ Feb 2 2012, 12:48 AM)
Thanks for the link...very useful
Mine is not blacklisted....  icon_rolleyes.gif  icon_rolleyes.gif
yea~ i was able to renewmy license last year.
Checked the list; not blacklisted too~ icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by Ruey: Feb 2 2012, 09:06 AM
tailtwist
post Feb 2 2012, 09:07 AM

1,564 posts

QUOTE(yhoong12 @ Feb 2 2012, 08:57 AM)
that mean SGD124 for 5 years? seem cheaper than renew fee for five years in MY... Correct me if i m wrong
Its almost the same at the rate of 2.4 its RM297...renew fee in MY immigration offices its RM300
r1v3r
post Feb 2 2012, 09:18 AM

1,305 posts

QUOTE(Tigerr @ Feb 2 2012, 08:48 AM)
70k Coe is not for you lar. You are not in that class yet. Wait until your salary become 30k per month....then, that time, you will say differently. Driving a 2nd hand car is like an insult to you... tongue.gif

Long time before, i had said that in the forum that our Malaysia license will not be blacklisted when we do our conversion to Singapore license or during the time when we get the JPJ extract, but there are some who insist that our Malaysia driving license will have to be cut into half and etc.....
same lah... rich or poor most if not all of us want to pay less tax. Many high earner can use luxury company car leh, dont need to pay COE.
Tigerr
post Feb 2 2012, 09:24 AM

3,033 posts

QUOTE(r1v3r @ Feb 2 2012, 09:18 AM)
same lah... rich or poor most if not all of us  want to pay less tax. Many high earner can use luxury company car leh, dont need to pay COE.
The company can "sapu" all the COE and the price of COE is hard to come down....
Jet23sky
post Feb 2 2012, 09:37 AM

Love is Peace~~~~~
1,339 posts

I wanna ask.... Whether is it possible for recruitment agency to directly face to face interview with me when I personally go to their agency office? I'm planning to go for a trip to Singapore one day to search all recruitment agency personally and look for job/interview
Tigerr
post Feb 2 2012, 09:46 AM

3,033 posts

QUOTE(Jet23sky @ Feb 2 2012, 09:37 AM)
I wanna ask.... Whether is it possible for recruitment agency to directly face to face interview with me when I personally go to their agency office? I'm planning to go for a trip to Singapore one day to search all recruitment agency personally and look for job/interview
I think you can go there and try and see....but what is the point of facing the recruiting agency face to face as they are not the eventual hirer. You only can know more information from them about job openings, chances and etc etc.....but i guess you still have to go to face interview with the eventual hiring companies.

But if got leng lui to see in the recruitment agency, i dont mind going there to keypoh keypoh.... tongue.gif
Jet23sky
post Feb 2 2012, 09:48 AM

Love is Peace~~~~~
1,339 posts

QUOTE(Tigerr @ Feb 2 2012, 09:46 AM)
I think you can go there and try and see....but what is the point of facing the recruiting agency face to face as they are not the eventual hirer. You only can know more information from them about job openings, chances and etc etc.....but i guess you still have to go to face interview with the eventual hiring companies.

But if got leng lui to see in the recruitment agency, i dont mind going there to keypoh keypoh.... tongue.gif
Well I understand they are not hirer.. But by personally going to their agency company may let them know that ... I'm really interested in this job area, and hope they can help me on this. Even more they will understand my personal education and working background even better. I just worry whether they are okie to "entertain" people like me if I actually go there next Monday.

127 Pages « < 120 121 122 123 124 > » Top

0.0268sec    0.61    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 02:58 AM