330 Pages « < 315 316 317 318 319 > » Bottom

Private Retirement Fund, What the hell is that??

Ramjade
post May 24 2024, 11:50 AM

24,385 posts

QUOTE(virgoguy @ May 24 2024, 09:46 AM)
you switched out from Principal PRS Plus Asia Pacific Ex Japan Equity - Class C?  any switching fee? How long does it take to switch?
Zero fees. Even though you switch to different provider it's free. Not sure got limit to the number of switches until they start charging you. I use FSM.

Few days.
danshi
post Jun 24 2024, 08:46 AM

190 posts

There seems to be many providers offering PRS funds. Which PRS providers is recommended?
MUM
post Jun 24 2024, 08:59 AM

14,931 posts

QUOTE(danshi @ Jun 24 2024, 08:46 AM)
There seems to be many providers offering PRS funds. Which PRS providers is recommended?
Depends on the funds that one wanted to hv, at the returns one accepted and the sales charges one are willing to pay.

Not all providers has funds that funds that I wanted to hv
Not all providers has funds that has the performance that I wanted to hv
Not all providers charges 0% sales charges

This post has been edited by MUM: Jun 24 2024, 09:04 AM
Ramjade
post Jun 24 2024, 10:35 AM

24,385 posts

QUOTE(danshi @ Jun 24 2024, 08:46 AM)
That question you have to ask yourself. What do youw want with PRA? If you just want income tax relief only, buy any prs will do.

But if you want best performance than you need to search. Cause high performance may be volatile.

For me, I go with principal retire easy 50. Buy it via Fsm for zero service charge. Reason I choose principal retire easy 50 is because
1. Higher returns than EPF
2. The only 2 fund on FSM with international exposure other than AIA.The more international exposure I have, the lesser it's expose to Malaysian currency.

Keep in mind what I have may not be suitable for you as my risk tolerance is very high.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Jun 24 2024, 10:37 AM
ky33li
post Jun 24 2024, 12:20 PM

313 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jun 24 2024, 10:35 AM)
That question you have to ask yourself. What do youw want with PRA? If you just want income tax relief only, buy any prs will do.

But if you want best performance than you need to search. Cause high performance may be volatile.

For me, I go with principal retire easy 50. Buy it via Fsm for zero service charge. Reason I choose principal retire easy 50 is because
2. The only 2 fund on FSM with international exposure other than AIA.The more international exposure I have, the lesser it's expose to Malaysian currency.

Keep in mind what I have may not be suitable for you as my risk tolerance is very high.
Hi ramjade, what is your view on the principal islamic retire easy 50? Isnt that fund having international exposure as well?
Ramjade
post Jun 24 2024, 12:35 PM

24,385 posts

QUOTE(ky33li @ Jun 24 2024, 12:20 PM)
Hi ramjade, what is your view on the principal islamic retire easy 50? Isnt that fund having international exposure as well?
Go to fsm chart centre and compare yourself
https://www.fsmone.com.my/funds/tools/chart-centre

For 6 months and 1 year, the non islamic version is doing better. There is no data yet for 3 years as both series are still new.

Both should be ok.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Jun 24 2024, 12:36 PM
thecurious
post Jun 24 2024, 06:01 PM

1,617 posts

Why did you go with Easy 50 instead of Easy 60?
Easy 50 will sell off at least 10 years earlier than Easy 60 if understood correctly.
SUSfuzzy
post Jun 24 2024, 09:18 PM

*pew pew pew*
7,106 posts

Dang, I somehow missed 50 and 60, so I was on 40. Need to switch.
Ramjade
post Jun 24 2024, 09:44 PM

24,385 posts

QUOTE(thecurious @ Jun 24 2024, 06:01 PM)
Why did you go with Easy 50 instead of Easy 60?
Easy 50 will sell off at least 10 years earlier than Easy 60 if understood correctly.
Why? Very simple.
Look at the returns. Easy 50 give better returns Vs Easy 60. Also Easy 50 have I think more overseas exposure.

I don't care about selling goff early. By 2059, likely got better fund.

QUOTE(fuzzy @ Jun 24 2024, 09:18 PM)
Dang, I somehow missed 50 and 60, so I was on 40. Need to switch.
Pick whichever you like. I like 50 over 40 or 60.
guy3288
post Jul 9 2024, 08:45 PM

5,894 posts

Checking my PRS
all 3 also doing good
memang worth it
RM3000 for tax per year

mynewuser
post Jul 11 2024, 11:28 AM

2,549 posts

QUOTE(guy3288 @ Jul 9 2024, 08:45 PM)
Checking my PRS
all 3 also doing good
memang worth it
RM3000 for tax per year
You buy so many PRS? Understand you only can withdraw after age 55 this fund.
ronnie
post Jul 11 2024, 05:04 PM

Not enough stars
21,314 posts

QUOTE(mynewuser @ Jul 11 2024, 11:28 AM)
Most if not all buy for the Tax Relief only...
onthefly
post Jul 12 2024, 02:26 AM

1,315 posts

QUOTE(guy3288 @ Jul 9 2024, 08:45 PM)
Checking my PRS
all 3 also doing good
memang worth it
RM3000 for tax per year
I guess you been buying PRS for the last 10+ years?

Ramjade
post Jul 12 2024, 12:08 PM

24,385 posts

QUOTE(ronnie @ Jul 11 2024, 05:04 PM)
Most if not all buy for the Tax Relief only...
Depends on what you want. I don't just buy for tax relief. I buy to get returns that can exceed EPF. Have my cake and eat it at the same time.

QUOTE(onthefly @ Jul 12 2024, 02:26 AM)
I have been buying PRS since it was launched. Never turn away tax savings. Income tax paid = money not yours. PRS = money still yours.
poooky
post Jul 12 2024, 01:39 PM

844 posts

Anyone know of any low risk fixed income MMF like PRS? Something like KDI Save for PRS?

Ramjade
post Jul 12 2024, 02:30 PM

24,385 posts

QUOTE(poooky @ Jul 12 2024, 01:39 PM)
Anyone know of any low risk fixed income MMF like PRS? Something like KDI Save for PRS?
I won't bother even if got mmf type of funds. Why? You cannot use the money or withdraw it unless you want to incur 8% penalty. Better to let it grow and withdraw a meaningful amount at 55 years old.

But that's just me and my thinking.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Jul 12 2024, 02:43 PM
poooky
post Jul 12 2024, 04:13 PM

844 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jul 12 2024, 02:30 PM)
I won't bother even if got mmf type of funds. Why? You cannot use the money or withdraw it unless you want to incur 8% penalty. Better to let it grow and withdraw a meaningful amount at 55 years old.

But that's just me and my thinking.
Yes, maybe you're right. I'm just a little hesitant with how quickly the market has gone up since COVID. I feel that a major correct is coming. But since can't with until 55 I guess doesn't matter. Might as well just lump sump 3k into Easy50.
guy3288
post Jul 12 2024, 05:33 PM

5,894 posts

QUOTE(mynewuser @ Jul 11 2024, 11:28 AM)
i bought 1 at a time, first is Hwang PRS Growth

last i bought Nov 2023 - Retire Easy50

QUOTE(onthefly @ Jul 12 2024, 02:26 AM)
yes, since November 2013

i checked my PRS records found
first purchase no fee
every subsequent buy fee RM8.00

Affin Hwang PRS Growth
23.11.23 First buy RM3k @ RM0.5311 =5648.66 units correct

14.10.24 repeat buy RM6000 @ 0.5276 FSM gave me 11357.09 units,
short 15units RM8.00 as fee

but this Principal retire Easy 50 1st purchase kena fee also.

Cubalagi
post Jul 12 2024, 06:11 PM

4,497 posts

QUOTE(poooky @ Jul 12 2024, 04:13 PM)
Yes, maybe you're right. I'm just a little hesitant with how quickly the market has gone up since COVID. I feel that a major correct is coming. But since can't with until 55 I guess doesn't matter. Might as well just lump sump 3k into Easy50.
You can look at those Conservative PRS funds.

But long term, not a good idea as performance just FD like.

Ramjade
post Jul 12 2024, 06:11 PM

24,385 posts

QUOTE(poooky @ Jul 12 2024, 04:13 PM)
Market down is good time to buy. All my wealth to this date is because of buying when it is red.

330 Pages « < 315 316 317 318 319 > » Top

0.0203sec    0.56    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 08:21 AM