330 Pages « < 313 314 315 316 317 > » Bottom

Private Retirement Fund, What the hell is that??

!@#$%^
post Mar 22 2024, 10:34 AM

Safe Trader
17,515 posts

QUOTE(Cubalagi @ Mar 22 2024, 09:53 AM)
And I saw there was withdrawal. From Account 2? Buy high sell low case?
And kena pay tax 8% or not?
during covid time can withdraw account b without penalty via email. i cleared all my account b during that time.
mynewuser
post Mar 22 2024, 02:37 PM

2,549 posts

I already pay 10 year PRS. After confirm, basically I no need to pay any more.

Any idea can I still enjoy tax relief if I purchase another PRS?

SUSfuzzy
post Mar 22 2024, 02:40 PM

*pew pew pew*
7,106 posts

QUOTE(mynewuser @ Mar 22 2024, 02:37 PM)
I already pay 10 year PRS. After confirm, basically I no need to pay any more.

Any idea can I still enjoy tax relief if I purchase another PRS?
Huh what do you mean? PRS tax relief is based on fresh fund contribution. It's based on assessment year, as long as you contribute during the assessment year, you can enjoy the relief if until they stop it.

If you put in 3k in 2022 but none in 2023, you cannot claim tax relief in 2023.
mynewuser
post Mar 22 2024, 02:48 PM

2,549 posts

But look like it only extend till 2025?

https://www.ppa.my/prs-tax-relief/

Can recommend resh PRS that only pay 1-2 year for tax relief purpose.
ronnie
post Mar 22 2024, 02:58 PM

Not enough stars
21,315 posts

QUOTE(mynewuser @ Mar 22 2024, 02:48 PM)

which one did you previously buy ?
i believe what you bought was deferred annuity plan by Insurance providers
aurora97
post Mar 22 2024, 03:19 PM

八方來財
3,790 posts

QUOTE(!@#$%^ @ Mar 22 2024, 10:34 AM)
during covid time can withdraw account b without penalty via email. i cleared all my account b during that time.
Yes, i think this also coincided with the EPF withdrawal scheme.

Just to add. Aside from death, retirement or leaving the country, you can also withdraw without penalty for housing (building, reduce loan etc...) or health reasons. ( https://www.ppa.my/prs-and-you/prs-faq/ )
mynewuser
post Mar 22 2024, 03:46 PM

2,549 posts

QUOTE(ronnie @ Mar 22 2024, 02:58 PM)
which one did you previously buy ?
i believe what you bought was deferred annuity plan by Insurance providers
Yes. Maybank etiqa.
MUM
post Mar 22 2024, 07:40 PM

14,943 posts

PRS funds has no committed to buy duration unlike deferred annuity plan that you had with Maybank Etiqa.
PRS funds can be bought and stopped to buy any time you like unlike deferred annuity plan that you had with Maybank Etiqa.
If you feel like stopping you can stop without any "penalty" (like deduction of premiums for insurance coverage provided and etc etc) unlike deferred annuity plan that you had with Maybank Etiqa

For your "what to buy recommendation, for just 1 or 2 years," ....if you liked to place bets on best performance and returns in the next 1 or 2 yrs....try the link in post 6277 to see and judge for yourself

This post has been edited by MUM: Mar 23 2024, 07:02 AM
ky33li
post Mar 23 2024, 01:15 PM

313 posts

QUOTE(guy3288 @ Mar 21 2024, 10:11 PM)
i dont know you pretend stupid or
you really are like that..

u failed to follow the points in contention!

if you follow
you could just admit it, and said NO, you did not buy it 8 years ago
You bought it only recently at high price eg...RM1.20  in 2021
case close

that chart there is past 10yrs TRACK RECORD ,
NOT returns projected by fund house
you dont trust it? takpa .

i have that PRS, i keep record

Dec 2016 RM0.80  i bought
2017 RM0.98 i bought
2018 RM0.95 i bought
2019 RM1.05 i skip
2020  RM1.15 i bought again
30.9.2021 RM1.26
2022 RM0.95 - RM1.00
2023 RM0.99  -RM1.04
2024  RM1.14 now

you still think that is window dressing chart?
a fake chart by fund house to cheat you?

i give up.

is like a guy who overestimated his own muscle power
entered  a Gym to tell others dont waste your time guys
i have broken my back working out here

add: If Gym is so good then why gomen must gip you RM2500 tax relief? ha ha .
Congratulations to you then. Please remember to invest more during the downturn. If you invested more than RM3k a year then i applaud you more that you have selected the right funds and have confidence investing more than the tax deduction limits.
cempedaklife
post Mar 23 2024, 02:21 PM

Master Decoy
4,357 posts

my PRS all is green. how much return per year i don't know. what's important is the current percentage is quite high. even if it perform like fd its good enough for me.

the profit is not including tax deduction. with my prs + sspn deduction every year. basically the deduction covers my yearly prs.

so its good enough for me. if i have to think further, i rather spend that effort on my other investments.

this is part of diversification too.

This post has been edited by cempedaklife: Mar 23 2024, 02:22 PM
guy3288
post Mar 23 2024, 02:29 PM

5,903 posts

QUOTE(ky33li @ Mar 23 2024, 01:15 PM)
Congratulations to you then. Please remember to invest more during the downturn. If you invested more than RM3k a year then i applaud you more that you have selected the right funds and have confidence investing more than the tax deduction limits.
for me PRS is just PRS,
for my tax

RM3000 a year tak cukup?
you want to earn more, can
no need PRS lah

go for properties .
nett rental returns 7% - 17%
capital appreciation 200-300%

tak cukup risky?
go for bonds
17.37% pa return
i bought also.

Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image
putraheight
post Apr 4 2024, 06:30 PM

Sorry if these questions are silly, a noob here.

1) The purpose of putting prs is to deduct rm3k from his income right? for example:

annual income: rm50k - rm3k = rm47000

so the chargable income drop from rm50k to rm47000, so the tax percentage he need to pay drops too, correct?

2) i heard that most unit trust are losing money, is it worth it to put the money in prs beside tax reduction?

Thanks everyone notworthy.gif
SUSfuzzy
post Apr 4 2024, 06:46 PM

*pew pew pew*
7,106 posts

QUOTE(putraheight @ Apr 4 2024, 06:30 PM)

1) The purpose of putting prs is to deduct rm3k from his income right? for example:

so the chargable income drop from rm50k to rm47000, so the tax percentage he need to pay drops too, correct?
2) i heard that most unit trust are losing money, is it worth it to put the money in prs beside tax reduction?

Thanks everyone  notworthy.gif
1) Yes, not deduct 3k from income, but personal tax relief for an individual, how much the relief is depending on his taxable income. At 50k, its around RM200 or so.

2) There are conservative and there are risky funds, just do your due diligent. For example, my RoR was around 30% or so YoY but the last 2 years was pretty shitty so that took me down a few notch due to China. Switched to new fund, now its tracking around to 10% .

DYDD.

Ramjade
post Apr 4 2024, 07:46 PM

24,392 posts

QUOTE(putraheight @ Apr 4 2024, 06:30 PM)

Thanks everyone  notworthy.gif
1. Yes. It's not exactly deduct income but in a way it is deduct income. It's to bring down your tax bracket if possible and/or bring down taxable income.

2. Yes that's right. Depends on what you want. If you want can match Epf return, majority sucks (fail to match EPF returns). If you want best return but you don't mind if fund sells down can only recommend you 3 funds. Choose one.

Principal retire easy 2050 conventional or islamic version
AIA PAM growth.
Davidtcf
post Apr 8 2024, 05:37 PM

To the moon!!
3,520 posts

I don't think will end at 2025. They want to encourage Malaysians to save.. so likely will extend.

This PRS is more useful to those that dont want to learn investing themselves.. they will likely end up putting more money into it.
Ramjade
post Apr 8 2024, 08:06 PM

24,392 posts

QUOTE(Davidtcf @ Apr 8 2024, 05:37 PM)
I don't think will end at 2025. They want to encourage Malaysians to save.. so likely will extend.

This PRS is more useful to those that dont want to learn investing themselves.. they will likely end up putting more money into it.
If until 2025, then I will just buy prs for the last time in 2025 and leave it there.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Apr 8 2024, 08:13 PM
Cubalagi
post Apr 9 2024, 03:27 PM

4,499 posts

QUOTE(Davidtcf @ Apr 8 2024, 05:37 PM)

I add more than the min 3k as I also use prs as a "strategy diversifier" for my retirement savings.

First, I have my own DIY portfolio which Im the portfolio manager. Second, I also have EPF where the manager is the government appointed one. And finally, PRS which is a private sector one.

Of course, using my DIY portfolio, I try to beat the other two. However, Im open to the possibility that Im not as smart as I think I am and there could be times where these others beat me.

Ramjade
post Apr 9 2024, 03:33 PM

24,392 posts

QUOTE(Cubalagi @ Apr 9 2024, 03:27 PM)
I add more than the min 3k as I also use prs as a "strategy diversifier" for my retirement savings.

First, I have my own DIY portfolio which Im the portfolio manager. Second, I also have EPF where the manager is the government appointed one. And finally, PRS which is a private sector one.

Of course, using my DIY portfolio, I try to beat the other two. However, Im open to the possibility that Im not as smart as I think I am and there could be times where these others beat me.
No need put extra. Put excess to sp500 or QQQ. Both outperform EPF and PRS by miles.
Ultra+
post May 8 2024, 03:26 PM

83 posts

https://theedgemalaysia.com/node/710756

Full tax exemption being mulled for emergency private retirement scheme withdrawals, says SC

KUALA LUMPUR (May 8): Malaysia is considering full tax exemptions on withdrawals from private retirement scheme (PRS) funds for emergency purposes, said Securities Commission Malaysia (SC) chairman Datuk Seri Awang Adek Hussin.
!@#$%^
post May 8 2024, 04:38 PM

Safe Trader
17,515 posts

QUOTE(Ultra+ @ May 8 2024, 03:26 PM)
https://theedgemalaysia.com/node/710756

Full tax exemption being mulled for emergency private retirement scheme withdrawals, says SC

KUALA LUMPUR (May 8): Malaysia is considering full tax exemptions on withdrawals from private retirement scheme (PRS) funds for emergency purposes, said Securities Commission Malaysia (SC) chairman Datuk Seri Awang Adek Hussin.
it's about time. doesn't make sense if u can withdraw without penalty for epf but not prs.

330 Pages « < 313 314 315 316 317 > » Top

0.0244sec    0.74    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 06:14 AM