Public Mutual v3, Public/PB series funds

cheahcw2003
post Sep 28 2011, 10:44 PM

5,379 posts

QUOTE(Kaka23 @ Sep 28 2011, 07:23 PM)
Wat percentage of bond portfolio is recommended at this volatile times?
i keep 90% in bond, 10% in equity. Waiting for the right timing.
Bonescythe
post Sep 28 2011, 11:05 PM

One Quarter In...
28,187 posts

QUOTE(cheahcw2003 @ Sep 28 2011, 10:44 PM)
Good choice smile.gif
Beautiful !
kparam77
post Sep 28 2011, 11:11 PM

952 posts

QUOTE(pergilahsayang @ Sep 28 2011, 09:14 PM)
Seems like the price nowadays is getting cheaper. I have extra cash to top up my pittikal but its still close. My other option is to go for other fund since i don't want to miss this opportunity. My agent recommend PISSF. What u guys think eh? what about PIEF?
u can include PIDF, PISEF too.
cheahcw2003
post Sep 28 2011, 11:20 PM

5,379 posts

QUOTE(Bonescythe @ Sep 28 2011, 11:05 PM)
Good choice smile.gif
Beautiful !
i have been keeping 90% in bond since 1 year ago, i also missed a lot of profit opportunity when index peak at almost 1500point....
wongmunkeong
post Sep 29 2011, 08:15 AM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(cheahcw2003 @ Sep 28 2011, 11:20 PM)
i have been keeping 90% in bond since 1 year ago, i also missed a lot of profit opportunity when index peak at almost 1500point....
Heheh - bro, i got a buddy believe "sky falling" since 2007 and until now "sky still falling" for him. Perma-bear fellow - sure to get it right 50% of the time but he missed out big on the 1st Qtr 2009 to 1st Qtr 2011 run. Of course, he also "missed out big" on the 2008 fall too laugh.gif

BTW, i read in some books, if one were to "miss" the big falls AND the big jumps in equal numbers of time, one would actually be better off leh. So much for "always staying invested" theory. Anyone simulated this with KLCI historical index before?

This post has been edited by wongmunkeong: Sep 29 2011, 08:18 AM
prophetjul
post Sep 29 2011, 08:20 AM

12,279 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Sep 29 2011, 08:15 AM)
Heheh - bro, i got a buddy believe "sky falling" since 2007 and until now "sky still falling" for him. Perma-bear fellow - sure to get it right 50% of the time but he missed out big on the 1st Qtr 2009 to 1st Qtr 2011 run. Of course, he also "missed out big" on the 2008 fall too laugh.gif

BTW, i read in some books, if one were to "miss" the big falls AND the big jumps in equal numbers of time, one would actually be better off leh. So much for "always staying invested" theory. Anyone simulated this with KLCI historical index before?
So how do you address your cash position?

Bearish- how much cash?
Bullish - how much cash?
Neutral- how much cash? biggrin.gif
wongmunkeong
post Sep 29 2011, 08:35 AM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Sep 29 2011, 08:20 AM)
So how do you address your cash position?

Bearish- how much cash?
Bullish - how much cash?
Neutral- how much cash?     biggrin.gif
Er.. distribution/bearish, or me, some cash move from stocks to shorts for KLCI index futures but equity funds move only to bond funds coz I don't want to pay the service charges for equity funds again when getting into equity again.
Vice-versa during recovery & accumulation trend.

This post has been edited by wongmunkeong: Sep 29 2011, 08:37 AM
kparam77
post Sep 29 2011, 08:36 AM

952 posts

KLCI may down again today. http://www.theedgemalaysia.com/business/19...nomic-fear.html
prophetjul
post Sep 29 2011, 08:40 AM

12,279 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Sep 29 2011, 08:35 AM)
Er.. distribution/bearish, or me, some cash move from stocks to shorts for KLCI index futures but equity funds move only to bond funds coz I don't want to pay the service charges for equity funds again when getting into equity again.
Vice-versa during recovery & accumulation trend.
How do ya short the KLCI?
mois
post Sep 29 2011, 08:48 AM

Enemy Territory
3,626 posts

QUOTE(cheahcw2003 @ Sep 28 2011, 10:44 PM)
What is your entry point? How many stages? I plan to buy in 4-5 stages eh.

1200 points
1100 points
1000 points
900 points
800 points.
wongmunkeong
post Sep 29 2011, 09:07 AM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Sep 29 2011, 08:40 AM)
How do ya short the KLCI?
1st off - sorry yar mod - serong topic a bit notworthy.gif

Bursa's KLCI Futures Contract: http://www.klse.com.my/website/bm/derivati...ives/fkli2.html
Some better/clearer idea: http://www.apexequity.com.my/cms/main.php?...&op=page&id=337
Note: not for the faint of heart and those without risk management or sizing management skills. Can lose or make $ per half-point of index $25

I'm doing it with Hong Leong eFutures since i'm on Hong Leong's eBroking for stocks - can transfer $ around easily + brokerage $18 one-way.
and i'm doing it coz nothing to do with cash in my stock account hehe. Expecting 3 to 5 months of nothing to do with it mar.

This post has been edited by wongmunkeong: Sep 29 2011, 09:10 AM
cheahcw2003
post Sep 29 2011, 09:38 AM

5,379 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Sep 29 2011, 08:15 AM)
Heheh - bro, i got a buddy believe "sky falling" since 2007 and until now "sky still falling" for him. Perma-bear fellow - sure to get it right 50% of the time but he missed out big on the 1st Qtr 2009 to 1st Qtr 2011 run. Of course, he also "missed out big" on the 2008 fall too :
one correction: one year ago the allocation was 80% bond and 20% equity,I hv done nothing on the allocation since oct 2010, but due to the recent correction in equity, it has become 90:10. Not sure it is good or bad? At least I preserve my capital.

as at End of year 2009 my portfolio allocation was 50;50, I kept switching to bond like every quarter to lock in the profit till it reaches 80:20 last year. Conservative move but at least didn't loose big time. IMO, Rule #1 on how to make profit is to know how not to loose....hehe.

wongmunkeong
post Sep 29 2011, 09:51 AM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(cheahcw2003 @ Sep 29 2011, 09:38 AM)
one correction: one year ago the allocation was 80% bond and 20% equity,I hv done nothing on the allocation since oct 2010, but due to the recent correction in equity, it has become 90:10. Not sure it is good or bad? At least I preserve my capital.

as at End of year 2009 my portfolio allocation was 50;50, I kept switching to bond like every quarter to lock in the profit till it reaches 80:20 last year. Conservative move but at least didn't loose big time. IMO, Rule #1 on how to make profit is to know how not to loose....hehe.
thumbup.gif sama sama idea bro - take some $ off the table when markets are exuberant.
Heck, i dont think we want to argue with a high and happy market willing to pay us more than normal for our holdings yar? tongue.gif
and vice-versa - when market is so suicidal & depressed, throwing away good stuff and lelong prices laugh.gif

This post has been edited by wongmunkeong: Sep 29 2011, 09:58 AM
koinibler
post Sep 29 2011, 06:46 PM

2,050 posts

QUOTE(kparam77 @ Sep 29 2011, 08:36 AM)
contrary, we still on green today!
but really hopeful that will happen tomorrow as I didn't put anything when klci at 1311 doh.gif

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Sep 29 2011, 09:07 AM)
1st off - sorry yar mod - serong topic a bit  notworthy.gif

Bursa's KLCI Futures Contract: http://www.klse.com.my/website/bm/derivati...ives/fkli2.html
Some better/clearer idea: http://www.apexequity.com.my/cms/main.php?...&op=page&id=337
Note: not for the faint of heart and those without risk management or sizing management skills. Can lose or make $ per half-point of index $25

I'm doing it with Hong Leong eFutures since i'm on Hong Leong's eBroking for stocks - can transfer $ around easily + brokerage $18 one-way.
and i'm doing it coz nothing to do with cash in my stock account hehe. Expecting 3 to 5 months of nothing to do with it mar.
shocking.gif from unit trust straight to future!
Isn't more riskier than playing stock?
wongmunkeong
post Sep 29 2011, 06:56 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(koinibler @ Sep 29 2011, 06:46 PM)
contrary, we still on green today!
but really hopeful that will happen tomorrow as I didn't put anything when klci at 1311 doh.gif
shocking.gif  from unit trust straight to future!
Isn't more riskier than playing stock?
Heheh - bro, i was from Mutual Funds --> Stocks --> Gold --> Futures, not straight into futures lar
Basics first and i'm putting in some skin to learn properly - with real stress of greed/fear to fend off VS staying the course (of entry/exit methodologies) tongue.gif
koinibler
post Sep 29 2011, 08:39 PM

2,050 posts

Yes, yes...
I do expect that mr wong also playing stock and derivatives,
if not where got all the complex method of investment tongue.gif

Still need a lot to learn from you and others here! rclxms.gif
holybo
post Sep 29 2011, 09:43 PM

1,449 posts

buying signal? Good sentiment these few days
kparam77
post Sep 29 2011, 10:09 PM

952 posts

QUOTE(holybo @ Sep 29 2011, 09:43 PM)
buying signal? Good sentiment these few days
2morow shud be profit taking.
thinking to submit my client EPF application.
debbieyss
post Sep 29 2011, 10:19 PM

Look at all my stars! I want to be a SUPERSTAR!
4,458 posts

QUOTE(kparam77 @ Sep 29 2011, 10:09 PM)
2morow shud be profit taking.
thinking to submit my client EPF application.
Tomorrow profit taking? DJ is flying high now...
mois
post Sep 29 2011, 11:51 PM

Enemy Territory
3,626 posts

QUOTE(debbieyss @ Sep 29 2011, 10:19 PM)
Tomorrow profit taking? DJ is flying high now...
Few days ago everyone talk about doom. Now suddenly flying. So which one you side? Uptrend or downtrend?

127 Pages « < 31 32 33 34 35 > » Top

0.0632sec    0.94    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 09:50 PM