Public Mutual v3, Public/PB series funds

wongmunkeong
post Aug 23 2011, 07:57 AM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(monsta2011 @ Aug 22 2011, 11:02 PM)
How long does it take to have a license granted after sitting the CUTA exam?
From memory - within a month.
wongmunkeong
post Aug 23 2011, 11:49 AM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(Ryan Soo @ Aug 23 2011, 11:04 AM)
Is it a good time to invest in Unit Trust now?
Stock market tumbling downwards in last 2 weeks and read some news in The Star business that it will continue falling...wonder did you all still see opportunity in Unit Trust?
IMHO:
i wouldnt start any Equity Fund investment right now if i dont have any Equity Funds investment program started yet.
Reason: By my own tracking, KLCI's mid-long term trend (Current KLCI vs 50DMA vs 200DMA) has been in Distribution since early Aug 2011. Best not to fight the mid-long term trend.
The last time this occurred was in March 2008 and it continued on to bottom at end 2008 / 1st qtr 2009

As i've already have 3 equity fund investment programs running using "TwinVest" (a DCA & VCA approach) + 2 using DCA , i'll just continue along with these without starting any new ones.
Reason: My risk exposure is lowered if i continue because TwinVest & DCA gets more "oomph" (or value lar) when buying into a down market, rather than SWITCHING off now which will be "Sell low but Bought low-high"

Just my 2cents

This post has been edited by wongmunkeong: Aug 23 2011, 01:23 PM
wongmunkeong
post Aug 23 2011, 11:59 AM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(monsta2011 @ Aug 23 2011, 11:52 AM)
Thanks smile.gif
Can one be an agent of PM and other fund houses after getting the license?
Nope - U can only be a rep of one fund house UNLESS U sit for gawd knows what exam and register with SC or something, then U can represent a few. I think there are less than50 or so people that has the license to do so.

Sifus - please correct & add details yar. My memory's getting foggy - read and met up with a few of these fellows 2 to 3 years ago tongue.gif
wongmunkeong
post Aug 23 2011, 12:25 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(Bonescythe @ Aug 23 2011, 12:22 PM)
Cheh.. BAFIA only mah.. Who does not BAFIA here?
Sure boh BAFIA? Not bank leh tongue.gif

More like some people with license to open a CUTA (Corporate Unit Trust Adviser) or IUTA (Institutional Unit Trust Adviser).

This post has been edited by wongmunkeong: Aug 23 2011, 12:25 PM
wongmunkeong
post Aug 24 2011, 08:07 AM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(kparam77 @ Aug 23 2011, 11:45 PM)
u got it....dividedn fund with capital grow such as PIDF and PSDF or otehr fund with distribution policy annual income. but dont go for Bond-lah...not much grow-lah... only steady income.
I think we shouldnt discount Bond Funds since bro kobe8byrant stated he wants steady income first tongue.gif

In addition, is he a working stiff like me (employee lar) OR a biz person with no EPF?
If no EPF, bond funds i should think is a MUST as part of an anchor to Asset Allocation across asset classes.

Bond funds are one of the ways to truly be Asset Class diversified, instead of just diversifying within Equities which is dangerous by itself - point of fact, see end2008 subprime crisis + 1997-1998 asian currency crisis + maybe even 2001 dot com burst, what happened to Equities VS what happened to Bonds brows.gif

This post has been edited by wongmunkeong: Aug 24 2011, 08:19 AM
wongmunkeong
post Aug 24 2011, 08:18 AM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(koinibler @ Aug 23 2011, 09:10 PM)
david explain me the other way around of calculating SC.
SC is not from value invest in RM but the value of NAV.
I do get the correct amount using david formula.

Unless, you had something to explain differently!
Bro - attached is a ZIP Excel sheet. U can see the logic & workings there easily and mess around with the YELLOW cells for other funds with front load charges.

Attached File  Service_Charge.zip ( 3.87k ) Number of downloads: 126

Added on August 24, 2011, 9:32 amNote for those that are interested in being their own agent:
PM just sent out a memo for renewal of UTC agent fees and stuff. One of their requirements is $30K of personal sales by Nov 2011.

Just thought U may be interested to know the "minimum sales"

This post has been edited by wongmunkeong: Aug 24 2011, 09:33 AM
wongmunkeong
post Aug 24 2011, 01:13 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(monsta2011 @ Aug 24 2011, 01:01 PM)
Hah? Got sales target one ah. 30k seems a bit hard to achieve if i just want to invest thru myself sweat.gif
Aiya - they put there only mar BUT enforcement may be another thing tongue.gif

Anyways, phew - luckily my family & personal investments can hit this minimum. Phew dodged THAT bullet sweat.gif

This post has been edited by wongmunkeong: Aug 24 2011, 01:22 PM
wongmunkeong
post Aug 25 2011, 06:48 AM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(koinibler @ Aug 24 2011, 09:19 PM)
Thanks Wong for the service charge spreadsheet, I'm downloader no. 11.

I know for sometime already the requirement for 30K,
seem a bit high for me and family  doh.gif
and lazy to convince friend and people around me  laugh.gif
not agent material lor....
Then your other option is to get chummy with an agent and negotiate tongue.gif - like offer to DIY most of the stuff, and have some er.. cheaper charges personally from your agent lor

It's a biz to the agent - in biz, anythings negotiable as long as there's win-win situation, right or right? brows.gif

BTW, U'd be surprise that U may not need to convince anyone.
As U do it and see results and share your methodologies as U care & want your close friends/relatives to prosper as well, U will somehow get "offers". I'm a typical nerd / IT guy lar - not marketing/sales fler. Just do it right and share not for $ but as an option to enable your close friends/relatives to build something for their/their loved ones' future.

The ONLY hiccup is that some may not be able to "handle" the losses when a downturn happens (not IF but WHEN it happens). Thus, education & expectations management required by drawing out agreed investment programs/approaches and followed.

This post has been edited by wongmunkeong: Aug 25 2011, 06:56 AM
wongmunkeong
post Aug 25 2011, 06:24 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(koinibler @ Aug 25 2011, 04:36 PM)
It seem to me that the answer for this question is contradict (or my understanding just wrong)

From my experience top up a bit the couple of weeks, I need to agree with lytros answer.
Heheh - bro Lytros is spot on: "If you buy today, the price is today's price. (which is announced on the next working day)"
It's always based on the EOD (End Of Day) price of the transaction date, as long as one transacts BEFORE or BY 4pm (specific time - anyone?)
EOD price is shown the next day (for local focused funds) or next 2 to 3 days (for foreign focused funds).

Bro BoneScythe - still smoking Aji ar tongue.gif
wongmunkeong
post Aug 26 2011, 08:09 AM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(cheahcw2003 @ Aug 26 2011, 02:09 AM)
If the fund is closed, means you cannot buy anymore, unless u sign the direct debit b4 the fund closed.
ASW/AS1M is different, they are fully subsribed not closed, fully subsribed means when someone sell, and have available unit then u can buy
Hehheh - just to share a fluke finding:
i stupidly kept buying PSMALLCAP via PBank's ONLINE Investment menu AFTER it closed last year.
Managed to get several months' transactions done
THEN suddenly bounce (ie. PBank online went through but several days later got reversal)
then and only then i found out PSMALLCAP was "closed" since a few months ago

Bottomline - until PB & PM online transaction systems' validations are tightened-up, U may try your luck tongue.gif
wongmunkeong
post Aug 26 2011, 09:04 AM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(kabal82 @ Aug 26 2011, 08:36 AM)
But i thought if using DDI, can kept buying the fund eventhought it's closed already? Or my PM consultant lie to me?

Btw, can all the PM funds be bought using DDI? Coz i saw some fund like PISEF don't allowed for regular investment... Regular investment = DDI, rite?

Which aggresive PM fund is recommended beside P SMALLCAP for long term capital growth?
I'm NOT doing DDI lar bro.
DDI amount CAN go through even though "closed"

wongmunkeong
post Aug 27 2011, 04:40 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(JinXXX @ Aug 27 2011, 04:38 PM)
anybody using publicmutualonline ?

can you topup your investment from pubmutoniine , website ?

like paying bills using credit card or direct transfer from mb2u account

or have to have a public bank saving account with online facilities to transfer/top up ?
Yes, U can "top up" via pubmut's online system

and yes, U can also DIY on PBBank's online system

This post has been edited by wongmunkeong: Aug 27 2011, 04:41 PM
wongmunkeong
post Aug 30 2011, 02:01 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Aug 30 2011, 01:52 PM)
Rm120,000 will be taxed...
Rubbing it in huh? tongue.gif

BTW, bro - technically it's taxed twice right?(on whatever taxable) right?
ie.
1st time: Companies payout dividends to stock holders ---> PubMut: 25%
2nd time: PubMu --> SmallCap investor: 25%
wongmunkeong
post Aug 30 2011, 03:28 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Aug 30 2011, 03:01 PM)
No, it is not taxed twice.
It is imputation.
Whew... heheh, i just had to be sure (semi-sure's sure shaky tongue.gif).
Gracias Monsta2011 & Cherroy notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by wongmunkeong: Aug 30 2011, 03:41 PM
wongmunkeong
post Sep 2 2011, 10:17 AM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(holybo @ Sep 1 2011, 11:59 PM)
thats mean we should keep our money in MM or bond first to wait for solid good news?
Take a look at the 10yrs, 5yrs, 3yrs and 1yr performances, ending at 29th Aug 2011, of PB's & PM's funds - U may want to take a peek before planning and executing.Or U can refer to them charts as well tongue.gif

FYI - these data are direct from PM's FP Advisor system, i've just formatted it for ease of reading.

PS: Oops - my bad, forgot to mention it's in XLS / Excel format once U unzip it. Thus, those without MSOffice, OpenOffice, etc. - sorry yar

This post has been edited by wongmunkeong: Sep 2 2011, 10:45 AM

Attached File(s)
Attached File  10__5__3___1_yr_performance_data_ending_20110829.zip ( 19.75k ) Number of downloads: 55
wongmunkeong
post Sep 2 2011, 01:08 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(Bonescythe @ Sep 2 2011, 12:53 PM)
Don't go for 1 lump sum lo smile.gif
hehe - and now to confuse him more,
"Unless the market has crashed, stabilized and you've conviction that it cant get much worse + U want to win-big" lor
Poker's "show hand" methodology (ignoring risk of ruin and stuff like that) tongue.gif

Hheheh - in seriousness though, times like post crashes and when the fall is "straight-lined" (like dead market), that's when risk is low & probability of making $ is high IF U have the guts to fight fear off and buy/hold for 2 years+. Think 1998, 2001, 2008 post crash - go with eyes open though as a 1997-1998 double dip may occur brows.gif

Then again, this is only if one has lump sum to invest lar. Those like me, every month/quarter lor cry.gif
wongmunkeong
post Sep 2 2011, 02:00 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(Bonescythe @ Sep 2 2011, 01:18 PM)
Yea. Depends what kind of strategy you want to use. One lump sum at the bottom surely will do better than each month, or each quarter.
Since market is confirm volatile now, why not wait a while? Investment, no need to rush. Timing is important only. Rushing now - Which is a volatile timing = bad timing.

But rushing when market crashed like dead dog, then that is good rush. smile.gif

Rushing when market bull, also good. Make sure you know how to switch out when bull start to slow.

Rushing when bear coming out to play = damn bad strategy.. haha.

Since you are starting to invest in a new fund, initial minimum is 1k, or subject to different individual. Probably, just wait a while only see. Waiting 2-3 mths does not hurt much in my opinion.

Let the market show a strong signal of bear or bull.

How to know.. Keep update, see whether there is a QE3 from US, and how the public take on the QE3 (At least QE3 is something that will definitely affect the market)
laugh.gif Rushing in when bear market coming out to play = Suicide bombers of yesteryear (kamikaze).
"The spirit may be strong, but the flesh is weak"
wongmunkeong
post Sep 2 2011, 05:37 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(Bonescythe @ Sep 2 2011, 05:01 PM)
When market really crash, bond also will get affected, just not so badly affected only.
Depends what kind of bond also.. If government bond, then ok.. If blue chip bond, still ok (But, please don't think blue chip won't get busted in KLSE, because blue chips can be blue cheats anytime, no joke)

Bond get defaulted, then bond holder can start to suck fingers and toes already.

Bond price fluctuation is lesser compared to equities. So is more to a steady linear growth.
Bro Boney, Gov can also default yar tongue.gif
Doesnt happen often but happens

rclxms.gif blue cheats stocks & suck fingers & toes - i like those images.

Methinks, if one can visualize the flow of $ into Equities when equities are depressed thus returns (either DY% or capital) is higher & money flowing out of fixed income due to low % returns AND vice-versa, + Asset Allocation idea, these would already be enough as a good basic foundation,
RATHER than
going crazy into severe details of types of equities (smallcap, largecap, midcap, foreign, domestic, sectors, etc.), bonds (short term, long term, gov, municipal, corp AAA, AA, etc.) and properties / REITS (residential, commercial, industrial, plantation, healthcare, edu, location, etc.)
OR
worrying about mutual funds distributing dividends or not (saving some %).

then again, what do i, a worker ant / lemming, know especially one that looks at seminars / workshops which cost more than $2K to $3K with a weary eye tongue.gif

This post has been edited by wongmunkeong: Sep 2 2011, 08:24 PM
wongmunkeong
post Sep 2 2011, 10:16 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(Bonescythe @ Sep 2 2011, 10:12 PM)
Government of course have the rights to default the bond. Who say cannot? Haha. All things are possible. Government also can go busted.. Ngek ngek ngek. But so far, I don't think Malaysia is heading for that yet, at least for the time being.

Yea, blue cheats stock having you sucking fingers and toes, are no joke.
Transmile.. Remember? haha.. Where is it now? Delisted? hmm.gif hmm...

So for investor, invest properly. Don't invest without knowing what you are investing. And don't always listen to agent talks only. Don own analysis, and research. Make sure you know where is your money parking, and know a little about the market.

Sorry ya agent out there.. Haha, but I myself also an agent. Some agent only know how to ask u do invest and invest and invest. Ask him what is DJIA doing, he got no idea what is DJIA. Sigh.. Ask him how is the market doing, he only tell u that DCA good good good, invest invest and invest more. If you want to ask people invest, at least give some comment before asking people to invest la.

Sorry, if I am customer, I will give him some fingers to look at.

And what is worst, one of the example is the person who recruited me in.. Damn!!
Bwhhahaa laugh.gif that says a lot for yr upline's salesmanship or bullshitology
Can even talk U into it rclxms.gif
wongmunkeong
post Sep 3 2011, 10:54 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(guanteik @ Sep 3 2011, 10:21 PM)
I supposed you are an agent.

I have been attending sales talks or fund launching by some of my agents, who NEVER miss letting us know EACH fund Public Mutual launched is good. Public Mutual has a series of funds, which of them, particularly equities are doing good? Those who have bought the funds in 2008 during the market bad times and have been keeping these funds (as claimed by agents that these are for retirements) until now would have nearly seen a bracket on their investment profiles.

UNLESS you are investment horizon is more than 10 years, I would recommend other instrumental. You can consider a BOND fund series rather than an equity. Or if you are a supporter, try investing with your EPF (as you would have > 10 years horizon then)
Bro, most "flower sellers" wont tell U there are flowers that "smell bad" one tongue.gif

In all seriousness, maybe the best way for us to test for investment agent VS sales agent are inter-linked questions like:
1. If i buy and it goes down how?
The answer is usually buy more as it goes down, signing up for monthly standing instructions, thus doing DCA.

2. Then if it continues going down leh and stays down for 5 years or more leh, like 1997/1998 till 2006 on hit back 1400-ish how?
This Q usually separates the lousy sales vs super sales agents brows.gif

3. If i keep buying and buying using DCA ar, then when can take profit ar?
I think most of the sales agents would have painted themselves into a corner by now whereas proper investment agents would have talked about entry & exit plans by question 2 liao

just my 2cents idea - your mileage may vary laugh.gif

This post has been edited by wongmunkeong: Sep 3 2011, 11:30 PM

14 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.2277sec    0.62    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 03:50 PM