It seem that the topic become hot when the market down
Public Mutual v3, Public/PB series funds
Aug 22 2011, 08:56 PM
2,050 posts Joined: Dec 2009 From: DC |
Congrat on V3,
It seem that the topic become hot when the market down |
Aug 23 2011, 09:10 PM
QUOTE(kparam77 @ Aug 23 2011, 11:03 AM) from koinibler: david explain me the other way around of calculating SC.Anyone can clarify that even though the sales charge mention is 5.5%, but in reality its always deduct only RM 5.21 from RM 100, mean the sales charge only 5.21% Is my calculation are wrong? --------------------------------------------- how many uunits u got for RM100? waht is the unit price? SC is not from value invest in RM but the value of NAV. I do get the correct amount using david formula. Unless, you had something to explain differently! QUOTE(David83 @ Aug 21 2011, 08:38 AM) Usually I'll calculate the other way round. Amount invested: I NAV: Buying price: NAV +5.5% = P Unit bought: I/P |
Aug 23 2011, 09:21 PM
QUOTE(lytros @ Aug 23 2011, 11:54 AM) That is because the service charge is a percentage of the NAV per unit and not from the amount paid. To make things simpler, I use the following formula to determine total service charge. (I forgot how i came up with this 2 years ago!) Total charge = (Amount paid / (100 + SC)) x SC. For example, assuming RM 100 paid and SC of 5.5%: (RM 100 / (100 + 5.5)) x 5.5 = 100 / 105.5 x 5.5 = 5.21 If you replace the SC with 5.5%, then the end result is equivalent to 5.21% of amount paid. But you can use this formula for any other SC rates as well. If anyone else got an easier formula do share! although my brain can't comprehend why that, why this, but its good to know a working/simpler formula that I can rely on next time. Thanks... now, need to google BAFIA |
Aug 24 2011, 09:19 PM
QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Aug 24 2011, 01:13 PM) Aiya - they put there only mar BUT enforcement may be another thing Thanks Wong for the service charge spreadsheet, I'm downloader no. 11.Anyways, phew - luckily my family & personal investments can hit this minimum. Phew dodged THAT bullet I know for sometime already the requirement for 30K, seem a bit high for me and family and lazy to convince friend and people around me not agent material lor.... |
Aug 25 2011, 04:36 PM
QUOTE(holybo @ Aug 24 2011, 10:29 PM) Just want to ask a question, the fund price we always look at the internet is yesterday price, if we buy today, which price do we buy, today (which havent announce) or yesterday? QUOTE(lytros @ Aug 25 2011, 12:14 AM) QUOTE(Bonescythe @ Aug 25 2011, 12:18 AM) You buy today, means buying yesterday closing price. It seem to me that the answer for this question is contradict (or my understanding just wrong)You buy tomorrow, means buying today closing price From my experience top up a bit the couple of weeks, I need to agree with lytros answer. |
Aug 25 2011, 06:14 PM
QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Aug 25 2011, 06:48 AM) Then your other option is to get chummy with an agent and negotiate It's a biz to the agent - in biz, anythings negotiable as long as there's win-win situation, right or right? BTW, U'd be surprise that U may not need to convince anyone. As U do it and see results and share your methodologies as U care & want your close friends/relatives to prosper as well, U will somehow get "offers". I'm a typical nerd / IT guy lar - not marketing/sales fler. Just do it right and share not for $ but as an option to enable your close friends/relatives to build something for their/their loved ones' future. The ONLY hiccup is that some may not be able to "handle" the losses when a downturn happens (not IF but WHEN it happens). Thus, education & expectations management required by drawing out agreed investment programs/approaches and followed. Kinda should try first, could have a good result. Strong encouragement there... Thanks |
Aug 26 2011, 09:30 PM
QUOTE(kabal82 @ Aug 26 2011, 08:36 AM) Btw, can all the PM funds be bought using DDI? Coz i saw some fund like PISEF don't allowed for regular investment... Regular investment = DDI, rite? I don't think RI is same with SI (DDI) Standing Instruction.I know the meaning of II and AI, but I still don't know how one investment been callled Regular Investment (RI) |
Aug 28 2011, 09:41 AM
QUOTE(kparam77 @ Aug 27 2011, 09:29 AM) If you top up anytime, it will be call AI; Additional Investment, not RI.Added on August 28, 2011, 9:44 am QUOTE(JinXXX @ Aug 27 2011, 04:43 PM) what method are available for "payment" for the topup from publicmutual online ? Other than public bank, other option of payment for those bank that offer FPX payment. I dont think you can pay by credit cardi dont have PBbank account thats why i want to know what method of payment they accept for topup and open new account(other funds) cause if its like paying bill can transfer from credit card or other bank account like direct debit(like how u pay airasia tix using mb2u) then i want to consider applying for it.. else no point.. can help me on this ? This post has been edited by koinibler: Aug 28 2011, 09:44 AM |
Sep 13 2011, 09:54 PM
great info there lowyatt2011,
never know that EPF charge 0.25% before. |
Sep 14 2011, 07:57 PM
QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Sep 14 2011, 11:27 AM) Personally: I think I know already what is bearish trend (now!).Keep on executing and tracking as per planned 1. 50% of $ for equity funds on DCA + VCA no fear / no greed programmatic investments 2. 50% of $ for equity funds awaiting current bearish Trend to get into accumulation trend What about U? Share share lar - dont just be angry Just, I wonder how you determine that the bearish "get into accumulation trend" ? |
Sep 14 2011, 10:36 PM
QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Sep 14 2011, 09:19 PM) » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « So, the best time get into equity market is during 'recovery' or 'bearish' period A good half hour just to understand 1 post Added on September 14, 2011, 10:38 pmCan we get the data for moving average (MA) anywhere or Mr. Wong, you do it with your spreadsheet? This post has been edited by koinibler: Sep 14 2011, 10:38 PM |
Sep 14 2011, 10:42 PM
QUOTE(aerobowl @ Sep 14 2011, 10:05 PM) totally newbie here From QFR, most (NOT ALL) PM equity fund has around 12% annualized return for 10 years.skim thru some pages and see few posts mentioned to use EPF to buy funds just curious let say EPF annual interest 5% is it meant that these funds very ez to outperform EPF? So, the PROBABILITY is there. Hopefully, 10 years is a short time for you. |
Sep 19 2011, 08:48 AM
QUOTE(David83 @ Sep 18 2011, 09:27 PM) DDI is from your saving account to your unit trust either to be equity/bond/money market fund. I do believe that all DDI or any AI will incurred the same SC 5.5% for equity / 0.25% for bond.No service charge for DDI. QUOTE(bhwx @ Sep 18 2011, 09:31 PM) When enter bond fund, you will be charged 0.25% SC, then if you do monthly transfer from bond to equity, there will be another SC of 5.5%. Make sure you do this by filling up a form of transferring monthly from bond fund to equity fund to avoid switching fees. This post has been edited by koinibler: Sep 19 2011, 08:49 AM |
Sep 19 2011, 01:57 PM
QUOTE(David83 @ Sep 19 2011, 08:51 AM) The service charge I meant is referring to Public Bank imposes on the DDI; not referring to the 5.5%/0.25% for buying the unit trust. Sorry for the misunderstanding on the Public Bank imposes DDI.Your second statement is little confusing. If you're switching low-loaded units, you'll be charged for service charge. Otherwise, only RM 25 switching fee is imposed. Switching in and out is not advisable since you'll be charged RM 25 per switching and needs to meet min amount. For the second statement, what I meant is when somebody do lump sump into bond and from bond monthly/quarterly transferred into equity. I've seen this kind of form before, I've could be mistaken though. When we do something like this, we only be charge for SC not another RM25 for switching. For normal switching from bond to equity for the first time will impose 5.5%+RM25. This post has been edited by koinibler: Sep 19 2011, 01:59 PM |
Sep 20 2011, 07:19 AM
QUOTE(Bonescythe @ Sep 19 2011, 11:38 PM) Yes, good during bears, but not a fresh bear play.. I think I'm already become bear's dinner Go on fresh bear = bear's dinner Go on full and saturated bear = bear's killer moment... |
Sep 20 2011, 07:11 PM
There's so much to interpret on Mr Wong slay a bear analogy
QUOTE(Bonescythe @ Sep 20 2011, 11:53 AM) If you do not want to think so much, you can split it to 33% in 3 stages, or 4 stages at 25% each. by "triangle shape" you mean this?;But if you are a person who anticipate more fall to come, but at the mean time, you do not want to miss out any chances from the rebound (Just in case), then you might want to allocate your strategy in pumping into the market in a triangle shape. 1st initial pump, 20%. If goes lower to a certain point, 30%. Continue to go lower, 50%. In this manner, you will not miss out if there is a rebound after your 20% cash in.. But at the mean time, you are prepared for it to go lower for more capital flowing in.. > 1st initial pump, 20%. > If goes lower to a certain point, 30%. > Continue to go lower, 50%. How you determine a gap between point? 1400 1200 1000 ? Good? This post has been edited by koinibler: Sep 20 2011, 07:11 PM |
Sep 21 2011, 02:01 PM
Sep 21 2011, 02:03 PM
Sep 21 2011, 08:33 PM
Sep 21 2011, 09:12 PM
sort only post by wongmunkeong and Bonescythe is a good start
| Change to: | 0.0202sec
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 02:57 PM |