125 Pages « < 108 109 110 111 112 > » Bottom

Working in Singapore v8, Tan vs Tan vs Tan vs Tan

crapp0
post Nov 3 2011, 11:39 AM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(benedictee1981 @ Nov 3 2011, 11:16 AM)
Consider high. i been working for SBM FPSO Kikeh project and Nobile Drilling in IT field for the past 3 years. salary so so. maybe crappo can clarify?
It depends on alot of factors, which company your working for, position, experience etc.

If your supporting their IT infrastructure for these companies, your most likely in an IT service company which support clients such as SBM and Noble corporation right?

You cant really compare salary range between yourself and those who work on the field on the rigs as technical managers, inspection engineers etc.

Some contractors are paid very high or your on long term contract, either per hour or a days work which is within a 8 hour time frame, whichever is lower.

I know some contractors who are paid 300 USD an hour for the 8 hour duration and a special OT rate above the 8 hours. With their allowances and hazard pay, they make upto 4000USD a day.

But im just grateful i dont really need to worry about not having enough cash to pay my bills and that i have food on the table and a roof over my head. And a healthcare plan.

This post has been edited by crapp0: Nov 3 2011, 11:50 AM
precursor80
post Nov 3 2011, 11:53 AM

260 posts

QUOTE(Mackiddo @ Nov 3 2011, 04:04 AM)
that's not all. they are so full of them self that they refused to listen when you point them to the correct direction. I couldn't be bother with these kind of ppl anymore. Is it really that hard for ppl to understand that traffic police and LTA governs different things?

Added on November 3, 2011, 4:08 am
i'm cool with clueless ppl but not those who give wrong info to ppl.
Fine. Call me out but at least back up your statements with rules published by SPF and LTA.
Saying you point me to the correct direction means nothing when you didn't even back it up with the rules. What you used is FUD.

Yes, I do not condone giving wrong information to people and this is exactly the reason why I am going to continue.
I am fine with me giving wrong information and accepting that but only if you managed to show me the rules stating that.
I will trust what is published on SPF and LTA instead of what some random forummer on lowyat says.
Random forummers includes me, which is why I conveniently links to the rules and regulations published for folks to read.

Unless I have comprehension issues or missed out some rules (which is a possibility I am willing to entertain), what's in the rules contradicts your statements.
LTA decides which cars gets to goes into Singapore. SPF enforces rules on driving licenses.
It's stated by SPF that they allow 12 month grace for work passes holders to convert their foreign license to a Singapore license. There is no mention of whether it matters if they are Singapore residents.
If it matters, the LTA rules states that only non Singapore residents can drive a foreign registered car legally so you seem to be harping on the non resident rule.
Going by the logic that these two are separate, driving license have no correlation to cars and SPF will act on driving license rules regardless of what car you are driving.
This means you need a Singapore license to drive a car in Singapore after 12 months on work pass regardless of the registration of the car you are driving.
Am I missing anything here?

I will willing accept that I am wrong in passing wrong information if you can show me the proof.
Until then, what you post smells a lot like what goes out from the behind of what used to be a Mac (not apple's mac).
Of course, it could be my post that smells like bull shit but I have not seen the rules that suggest that yet.

EDIT:
My intention is for people not to get into trouble with the law.
Unless it's stated in black and white, I won't recommend anyone to potentially be in trouble.
Remember, you only have yourself to depend on. No forummer is going to be able to help you if you fall on the bad side of the law.

This post has been edited by precursor80: Nov 3 2011, 12:36 PM
benedictee1981
post Nov 3 2011, 12:32 PM

21 posts

QUOTE(crapp0 @ Nov 3 2011, 11:39 AM)
It depends on alot of factors, which company your working for, position, experience etc.

If your supporting their IT infrastructure for these companies, your most likely in an IT service company which support clients such as SBM and Noble corporation right?

You cant really compare salary range between yourself and those who work on the field on the rigs as technical managers, inspection engineers etc.

Some contractors are paid very high or your on long term contract, either per hour or a days work which is within a 8 hour time frame, whichever is lower.

I know some contractors who are paid 300 USD an hour for the 8 hour duration and a special OT rate above the 8 hours. With their allowances and hazard pay, they make upto 4000USD a day.

But im just grateful i dont really need to worry about not having enough cash to pay my bills and that i have food on the table and a roof over my head. And a healthcare plan.
biggrin.gif sorry, im not comparing my pay with other. As IT support, i do need to work on rig,onshore and offshore especially during the sea-trial.At the end of the day, it will be same working environment as others.is just diffrent on job sope and responsibility. Anyhow is a good exposure to working in oil and gas field.
deodorant
post Nov 3 2011, 12:38 PM

Surfing LYN instead of Working.
5,691 posts

QUOTE(yinyum @ Nov 3 2011, 10:31 AM)
Huh?! what holiday is thay???  blink.gif

QUOTE(kinwing @ Nov 3 2011, 10:36 AM)
Haji Raya. Not sure if it is holiday in Singapore or not, but Monday is holiday in Malaysia rclxms.gif

First time i've ever heard it being called "Hajj Raya." Always heard it as "Hari Raya Haji" haha. Singapore also same style mah, public holiday on sunday = following monday is replacement holiday.
ch_teo
post Nov 3 2011, 12:46 PM

809 posts

QUOTE(crapp0 @ Nov 3 2011, 11:39 AM)

well said.

job scopes & during negotiation, how urgent the company requires the posting to be filled up, the forecast profit margin & capex of the e&p project, etc. also, an individual spending styles & family commitment, etc.
Dpends on oneself to define high or low.

Added on November 3, 2011, 12:48 pm
QUOTE(deodorant @ Nov 3 2011, 12:38 PM)
First time i've ever heard it being called "Hajj Raya." Always heard it as "Hari Raya Haji" haha. Singapore also same style mah, public holiday on sunday = following monday is replacement holiday.
2011 Public Holidays from MOM

This post has been edited by ch_teo: Nov 3 2011, 12:51 PM
Mackiddo
post Nov 3 2011, 02:09 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(calvint78 @ Nov 3 2011, 11:11 AM)
conform is holiday this monday, for those going back via woodlands, prepare to face ppl mountain ppl sea at singapore custom. try take time off to knock off early to void this.
expected to be massive jam. I'm leaving in the afternoon anyway smile.gif
Lester1987
post Nov 3 2011, 02:21 PM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(precursor80 @ Nov 3 2011, 11:53 AM)
Fine. Call me out but at least back up your statements with rules published by SPF and LTA.
Saying you point me to the correct direction means nothing when you didn't even back it up with the rules. What you used is FUD.

Yes, I do not condone giving wrong information to people and this is exactly the reason why I am going to continue.
I am fine with me giving wrong information and accepting that but only if you managed to show me the rules stating that.
I will trust what is published on SPF and LTA instead of what some random forummer on lowyat says.
Random forummers includes me, which is why I conveniently links to the rules and regulations published for folks to read.

Unless I have comprehension issues or missed out some rules (which is a possibility I am willing to entertain), what's in the rules contradicts your statements.
LTA decides which cars gets to goes into Singapore. SPF enforces rules on driving licenses.
It's stated by SPF that they allow 12 month grace for work passes holders to convert their foreign license to a Singapore license. There is no mention of whether it matters if they are Singapore residents.
If it matters, the LTA rules states that only non Singapore residents can drive a foreign registered car legally so you seem to be harping on the non resident rule.
Going by the logic that these two are separate, driving license have no correlation to cars and SPF will act on driving license rules regardless of what car you are driving.
This means you need a Singapore license to drive a car in Singapore after 12 months on work pass regardless of the registration of the car you are driving.
Am I missing anything here?

I will willing accept that I am wrong in passing wrong information if you can show me the proof.
Until then, what you post smells a lot like what goes out from the behind of what used to be a Mac (not apple's mac).
Of course, it could be my post that smells like bull shit but I have not seen the rules that suggest that yet.

EDIT:
My intention is for people not to get into trouble with the law.
Unless it's stated in black and white, I won't recommend anyone to potentially be in trouble.
Remember, you only have yourself to depend on. No forummer is going to be able to help you if you fall on the bad side of the law.
ok.. u are right about the law. but in Singapore. there is always allowance given to foreigner... i just got caught yesterday for bringing in 2 pack cigarettes into the country.
kastam officer stopped me, fine me for 1 pack but the other open pack, they say its an allowance given (aka unwritten rule). they say according to the law, not even a single stick should be bring in. but the order from their higher management is there is an allowance given to foreigner. 1 open packet, less than 20 stick.

same goes for cars. TP rules says that u cannot drive with ur foreign license after 1 year. but their allowance is, as long as u don't touch any Singapore registered car/bike, its ok.

This post has been edited by Lester1987: Nov 3 2011, 02:28 PM
Mackiddo
post Nov 3 2011, 02:40 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(Lester1987 @ Nov 3 2011, 02:21 PM)
ok.. u are right about the law. but in Singapore. there is always allowance given to foreigner... i just got caught yesterday for bringing in 2 pack cigarettes into the country.
kastam officer stopped me, fine me for 1 pack but the other open pack, they say its an allowance given (aka unwritten rule). they say according to the law, not even a single stick should be bring in. but the order from their higher management is there is an allowance given to foreigner. 1 open packet, less than 20 stick.

same goes for cars. TP rules says that u cannot drive with ur foreign license after 1 year. but their allowance is, as long as u don't touch any Singapore registered car/bike, its ok.
No he's not.

Singapore Traffic Police is governing the driving license. Why would it mention about foreign car when we are in Singapore ?

Foreign vehicles will fall into LTA, because LTA specifically mentioning the rules about foreign vehicles. LTA guideline still the same, to operate a foreign vehicles, you have to follow the guidelines set them, etc... not Singaporean/SPR, no residential address in Sg, car must insured under driver's name, bla bla bla

There's is no such things as 'allowance' under Sg rules.

Think i'll just stop explaining and let you guys interpret is as the way you like thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by Mackiddo: Nov 3 2011, 02:45 PM
mercury8400
post Nov 3 2011, 02:56 PM

2,703 posts

QUOTE(BRC @ Nov 3 2011, 11:07 AM)
Is 14K SGD pay high for a person below 30?
Permanent Staff but on EP...

Industry: O&G services
Irrespective of higher or lower than the average, S$14k a month is more than enough to sustain a very good lifestyle if you're still single with no kids or wife. Even better if you're a bachelors. Can live like one of the playboys i keep seeing in Raffles Place (IBankers maybe?) rolling in with their Maserattti wearing an Armani suit with a super smoking hot chick by his side drool.gif .....haih...somehow these things never seem to happen to me......but i guess i'm just cheap labour...... cry.gif
precursor80
post Nov 3 2011, 03:13 PM

260 posts

QUOTE(Mackiddo @ Nov 3 2011, 02:40 PM)
No he's not.

Singapore Traffic Police is governing the driving license. Why would it mention about foreign car when we are in Singapore ?
Foreign vehicles will fall into LTA, because LTA specifically mentioning the rules about foreign vehicles. LTA guideline still the same, to operate a foreign vehicles, you have to follow the guidelines set them, etc... not Singaporean/SPR, no residential address in Sg, car must insured under driver's name, bla bla bla

There's is no such things as 'allowance' under Sg rules.

Think i'll just stop explaining and let you guys interpret is as the way you like  thumbup.gif
I am only interested in what's wrong or what's right. I don't care who's wrong or who's right.
If I happens to be in the wrong and you want a personal apology, I am all too willing to give it to you.
We don't want any fellow forummers to get into trouble for listening to our advice right?

It's not interpretation problem. It's what's the correct interpretation of the law. The law is clear in this front.
SPF rules regulates how you drive (traffic rules) and whether you can drive (valid driving license) in the country.
LTA rules regulates what you can drive in and out of the country.
They complements each other and are not mutually exclusive which is what you are claiming for the whether you can drive part.

So, are you saying SPF has no jurisdiction on people who have the privilege of driving a foreign car?
That's nice if true but that is also so wrong. SPF are in charge of traffic and they enforces the laws for driving in Singapore.
Notice also how LTA guidelines never mention about how you should behave when your driving in Singapore or whether you need to have a valid driving license.
That's because that's under SPF jurisdiction. LTA only controls what gets to go in and out.

Going by your logic, I can drive without a driving license and apply the traffic rules of my country since LTA trumps SPF.
When SPF stops me I can ask them to screw themselves since I am under LTA jurisdiction.
Does that make any sense? I can imagine how SPF will like that. I will probably be thrown into jail overnight for being intoxicated.
Laws either complement or supercede each other when there's overlap or conflicts. They never ignores each other.
Since I don't see any overlap or conflicts yet, both LTA and SPF rules apply.

It's problem when issues happen. Come on lah, this is kiasi-land, we need to protect ourselves.
Why would anyone from this forum purposely wants to be on the wrong side of the law?
Well, at least the major ones with serious implications like jail or death penalty.
I am sure everyone breaks the small laws like jay walking once in a while.

"allowances" only works with "under the table" dealings.
What happens when you knocked down an old Singapore man and makes it to headline news?
You sure you can get out of it with a Malaysian license if it's against the law?
Granted, knocking down someone to make it to headline news gives you a totally different set of problems but one less problem is one less problem.

This post has been edited by precursor80: Nov 3 2011, 03:54 PM
heavenhell
post Nov 3 2011, 03:16 PM

649 posts

Hi , anyone working in Newcruz ? how is it ?
Got an interview for management trainee position.
crazy25kid
post Nov 3 2011, 03:40 PM

Jack of all trades, master of none...in short, a NUB !!
1,424 posts

QUOTE(precursor80 @ Nov 3 2011, 03:13 PM)
So, are you saying SPF has no jurisdiction on people who have the privilege of driving a foreign car?
That's nice if true but that is also so wrong. SPF are in charge of traffic and they dictates what are the requirements for driving in Singapore.
Notice also how LTA guidelines never mention about how you should behave when your in Singapore or whether you need to have a valid driving license.
That's because that's under SPF jurisdiction. LTA only controls what gets to go in and out.
I agree with this point.
It should be the same as in Malaysia.
JPJ (LTA in SG) defines the requirement of car driven, traffic police (SPF in SG) defines the requirement of driver.
toughnut
post Nov 3 2011, 06:43 PM

3,239 posts

Anyone have salary guide for pharmacist working for one of the singapore hospital? Position is junior pharmacist doing pre-reg. Thanks.
keelim
post Nov 3 2011, 07:39 PM

941 posts

Hi deodorant,

As the currency for south Africa is not available conveniently for exchange here in Singapore, did you change to usd first? Or you withdraw from ATM in south Africa?
deodorant
post Nov 3 2011, 07:47 PM

Surfing LYN instead of Working.
5,691 posts

QUOTE(keelim @ Nov 3 2011, 07:39 PM)
Hi deodorant,

As the currency for south Africa is not available conveniently for exchange here in Singapore, did you change to usd first? Or you withdraw from ATM in south Africa?

Got leh, I exchanged SGD to ZAR in Bedok Moneychanger. Rate wasn't too bad either. If you can't get enough ZAR for your entire stay just withdraw from ATM in SA. The moneychangers there got some crazy spreads (it can be something ridiculous like buy SGD 5.5 sell SGD 6.5), makes it much cheaper to just withdraw and eat the $8 cirrus or whatever cirrus charge.
keelim
post Nov 3 2011, 08:19 PM

941 posts

Oh. I am not going to SA but further. Just want to ask if you had similar experience with currency. Thanks for sharing.

Did it cost like sgd5 per withdrawal?
totti 10
post Nov 3 2011, 10:33 PM

339 posts

okay i kinda want to test water a bit.
anybodt here working in OnG that can help be my referral
/pass resume etc?

*p/s imma chemical eng, currently is a project eng in an environmental co.

Cheers

This post has been edited by totti 10: Nov 3 2011, 10:45 PM
fbjkl
post Nov 3 2011, 10:43 PM

215 posts

QUOTE(kinwing @ Nov 3 2011, 10:36 AM)
Haji Raya. Not sure if it is holiday in Singapore or not, but Monday is holiday in Malaysia rclxms.gif .
it is a holiday in singapore, kinwing... i have already saved 2012 public holidays page from MOM website. biggrin.gif

Added on November 3, 2011, 10:55 pm
QUOTE(BRC @ Nov 3 2011, 11:07 AM)
Is 14K SGD pay high for a person below 30?
Permanent Staff but on EP...

Industry: O&G services
rclxms.gif highly-paid leh...

doh.gif i studied the wrong field...sigh...

Added on November 3, 2011, 10:57 pm
QUOTE(calvint78 @ Nov 3 2011, 11:11 AM)
conform is holiday this monday, for those going back via woodlands, prepare to face ppl mountain ppl sea at singapore custom. try take time off to knock off early to void this.
hehe...ya, it's imperative for long weekend...but to see the smiles on family members' faces = worth it...

Added on November 3, 2011, 10:58 pm
QUOTE(seantang @ Nov 3 2011, 11:26 AM)
If he's office based, yes. Goes out onsite, no. Goes offshore, definitely not.

But whichever it is, 14K at 30... that would put him at top 5% of tax paying salary earners in Singapore.
haih, i have even low self-esteem after seeing this. biggrin.gif

Added on November 3, 2011, 11:02 pm
QUOTE(ch_teo @ Nov 3 2011, 12:46 PM)
well said.

job scopes & during negotiation, how urgent the company requires the posting to be filled up, the forecast profit margin & capex of the e&p project, etc. also, an individual spending styles & family commitment, etc.
Dpends on oneself to define high or low.

Added on November 3, 2011, 12:48 pm

2011 Public Holidays from MOM
haha, ch_teo...have u bought ur CNY bus/flight tix already?

Added on November 3, 2011, 11:05 pm
QUOTE(mercury8400 @ Nov 3 2011, 02:56 PM)
but i guess i'm just cheap labour...... cry.gif
cry.gif mercury8400, apparently u r pulling my legs...im cheap and hard labour...

This post has been edited by fbjkl: Nov 3 2011, 11:05 PM
Mackiddo
post Nov 4 2011, 12:40 AM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

so many ppl get excited to have 3 days off. smile.gif Looks like everyone is going somewhere.

Added on November 4, 2011, 12:43 am
QUOTE(crazy25kid @ Nov 2 2011, 04:48 PM)
Hi...I have a question.
Can we withdraw from our EPF account 2 for purchase of HDB? laugh.gif laugh.gif
Housing price is continuing to increase and I do not want to pay for other ppl's installment forever.  rolleyes.gif  rolleyes.gif
I don't think so. why would epf allow you to draw out to buy properties overseas?

This post has been edited by Mackiddo: Nov 4 2011, 12:43 AM
ch_teo
post Nov 4 2011, 07:56 AM

809 posts

QUOTE(fbjkl @ Nov 3 2011, 10:43 PM)
haha, ch_teo...have u bought ur CNY bus/flight tix already?

Added on November 3, 2011, 11:05 pm
drive. have stopped taking bus after graduated from uni many many years ago... biggrin.gif
wait until nearer then only apply leaves, should be no problem 1.5 weeks cny leaves if still remain in same company same boss. tongue.gif
a foreigner is still a foreigner in a foreign country.

125 Pages « < 108 109 110 111 112 > » Top

0.0343sec    0.39    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 07:27 PM