V2
V3
V3a
V5
V6
V7

FAQs

Employments:
Job opportunities are still good. Those with higher education level/experience stand a better chance and command a higher starting pay. Good command of English in resume writing or interview is a huge benefit. The following are the list of available online job sites:
1. Jobstreet
2. Contact Singapore
3. Jobs Central
4. JobsDB

The most effective but expensive method is to do it the old fashion way. Come over to Singapore, and then extend your visa to long term. During your stay in SG, flip through the recruitment newspaper and apply for your job through the company itself. This way, you're almost guaranteed to be in front of the queue from those who applied through Jobstreet. You can also attend their interviews without any delays while you're here in SG.

Various employment passes are available to enable you to work in Singapore depending on your skills and pay. Employers will help you in the application of passes. Your job is however pending on the approval of the pass. Information of types of passes are available through MOM's website. Do not worry of what passes you get. Eventually all will allow you to work in SG. Some do fuss about it due to "status" and extra benefits (i.e: credit card and contract phone applications). Just be hardworking and move up the passes or apply directly for PR few years down the road.

All you need to know about PR application and requirements are available here: http://www.ica.gov.sg/page.aspx?pageid=151&secid=150

Please take note that ex Singaporean PRs who renounced their status without serving the National Service will have their job and employment pass applications greatly degraded.

<Need more information on salary bracket and range in different industries to expand. Contributions greatly appreciated>

CPF and Taxes:
Malaysians working under employment/work passes are exempted from paying CPF. Singapore PRs have to contribute to CPF according to the rates found here: http://mycpf.cpf.gov.sg/Members/Gen-Info/C...es/ContriRa.htm

As for the complicated tax returns, i'll just provide the website so everyone can search under their own categories. http://www.iras.gov.sg/irasHome/page01.aspx?id=88

Accomodations:
HDBs everywhere! Prime and new areas should cost around SGD450-600 per room (with or without utilities). You can still find sub SGD400 per room in remote or rundown areas. If you can afford the luxury, apartments and condos are the way to go. SGD800-1200 per room is the current market price. Normally comes with swimming pool and gym facilities.

Below are some useful sites:
http://www.flatsdb.com/
http://www.hdbflat.blogspot.com/
http://singapore.roomsdb.net/
http://easyroommate.com.sg/ (looks more like a dating site )
http://www.sg-house.com/

Transportation:
No need to describe any further. Been compared and discussed too many times between SG and MY. In SG, you can be anywhere in the island just by using public transport. The all too convenient EZ link card can be used in both MRT and bus (even McD yeah!). For places out of reach, taxi is the answer. Don't worry, you won't get touted with expensive fares. They are a bunch of professionals with accurate meters. First entry onto cab is SGD2.80 or SGD3.00. The rest runs on meter plus any surcharges from tolls, airport surcharge or stopping period. If you are travelling in group of 4, taxi is the cheaper option on certain routes compared to others.

Coach: http://www.journeymalaysia.com/ptasingapore.htm

SBS bus maps: http://www.sbstransit.com.sg/iris3/nextbus.aspx
MRT maps: http://www.smrt.com.sg/trains/images/tn_networkmap_big.jpg

Malaysians can drive in cars/bikes to work in SG. For SG PRs, you have to drive singapore registered vehicles. More info here: http://www.lta.gov.sg/motoring_matters/ind...oring_guide.htm

Expenses:
This is very subjective depending on the spending power of different individuals. But here are the basic breakdowns on rough estimates:
1. Accoms SGD600 (varies)
2. Food SGD500 (varies)
3. Transport SGD60
4. Entertainment SGD300 (strip it off if wanna save)
5. Shopping $$$

TO CHECK FOR YOUR PR APPLICATION STATUS, KINDLY VISIT THIS LINK
https://ienquiry.ica.gov.sg/index.do

Forummers in SG:

TSdarkages
post Aug 18 2011, 11:15 PM

Jam Bumi
4,206 posts

This is not a chat thread.

DO NOT POST IF YOU DO NOT HAVE ANY CONSTRUCTIVE COMMENTS

maggi
post Aug 18 2011, 11:20 PM

1,653 posts

is it easier for Malaysian to applied job in sg co but origin from Malaysia ?
Shinichi
post Aug 18 2011, 11:26 PM

◆【 真一 】◆
4,051 posts

Thanks for all replies. Another reason to get PR is easier to get job is SG?
If I plan to work here around 5 years, then its not recommended to apply PR?

Aloong:
Other getting than getting ur money stuck in the CPF basically no benefits at all.
bros, since he/she is unsure whether to get pr or not, why waste the quota.

mea05key:
Companies contributes that extra percentage to your CPF fund. Unless you can invest your money and make more money using the money you take home, its better to dump the money into CPF. It helps you save and avoid spending unnecesarily also.

Mackiddo:
cpf is extremely useful if you plan to purchase a HDB apartment.

wlcling:
PR more for those who intend to stay for quite a while... but other than the usual stuff like cpf, medisave, etc... u also get lower tax rates..
http://www.iras.gov.sg/irasHome/page04.aspx?id=1190
seantang
post Aug 18 2011, 11:36 PM

With Adult Supervision Only
6,624 posts

Don't become a PR if the company pays you in cash whatever CPF they would have paid if you were a PR.

Become a PR if the company doesn't contribute CPF unless you're PR.

Extra money is extra money even if you can't touch it until you're 55. Actually getting it in cash doesn't mean that you will (best case) invest it at a better return than CPF can, and (worst case) you could simply blow the money on something useless.
tayhaithian
post Aug 19 2011, 12:26 AM

460 posts

Guys, where's the gathering URL again. I gotta count on google map/gothere/streetdirectory lols.....
SUSalaskanbunny
post Aug 19 2011, 01:10 AM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(maggi @ Aug 18 2011, 11:20 PM)
is it easier for Malaysian to applied job in sg co but origin from Malaysia ?
i are the join companies factories in the malaysia but hq are the in sg

my companies are the 85% malaysians, hahaha, sg citizenians are the only 5%

i think chances are the better cause once on the time got the transfer from msia forward sg
QUOTE(seantang @ Aug 18 2011, 11:36 PM)
Don't become a PR if the company pays you in cash whatever CPF they would have paid if you were a PR.

Become a PR if the company doesn't contribute CPF unless you're PR.

Extra money is extra money even if you can't touch it until you're 55. Actually getting it in cash doesn't mean that you will (best case) invest it at a better return than CPF can, and (worst case) you could simply blow the money on something useless.
but the pr give good security feeling.. no?

jump are the workjobs are easier, not need the new ep pass i think

cpf are added no tax give the gov, but not in cpf give allowance in cash will get the tax income i think

55 are blink the eyes past, very faster and also cpf are the can use buy hdb, insurance, aberdeen... no needing the 55... no?

also gooding the SRS to no pay the tax... this 1 the friends teaches me if pr... also other the cheats to no or less taxing income

http://www.asiaone.com/Business/My%2BMoney...125-182255.html
seantang
post Aug 19 2011, 08:31 AM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ Aug 19 2011, 01:10 AM)
i are the join companies factories in the malaysia but hq are the in sg

my companies are the 85% malaysians, hahaha, sg citizenians are the only 5%

i think chances are the better cause once on the time got the transfer from msia forward sg

but the pr give good security feeling..  no?

jump are the workjobs are easier, not need the new ep pass i think

cpf are added no tax give the gov, but not in cpf give allowance in cash will get the tax income i think

55 are blink the eyes past, very faster and also cpf are the can use buy hdb, insurance, aberdeen... no needing the 55... no?

also gooding the SRS to no pay the tax... this 1 the friends teaches me if pr... also other the cheats to no or less taxing income
Why are you dyslexic when it comes to English all of a sudden?

It was entertaining the first time or two. Now, it's just irritating.

L7Awesome
post Aug 19 2011, 09:10 AM

418 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Aug 19 2011, 08:31 AM)

I think he was detached from the internet for too long... few weeks without Internet. tongue.gif
nicvoo
post Aug 19 2011, 09:13 AM

N|_|_|B
4,707 posts

had to read twice to get what he's trying to say doh.gif
r1v3r
post Aug 19 2011, 09:33 AM

1,305 posts

Thanks for the link bunny, now I know rental unit can get tax rebate. Did any one put money in SRS? I get insurance tax rebate even without using the SRS, so how can I benefit from it?

ivanswk
post Aug 19 2011, 09:35 AM

+J
2,110 posts

QUOTE(Shinichi @ Aug 18 2011, 11:26 PM)
Thanks for all replies. Another reason to get PR is easier to get job is SG?
If I plan to work here around 5 years, then its not recommended to apply PR?

Mackiddo:
cpf is extremely useful if you plan to purchase a HDB apartment.

http://www.iras.gov.sg/irasHome/page04.aspx?id=1190
ah.. sux me still not millionaire yet doh.gif
i agree on mackiddo in this, can ask what industry u in ?

previously when i was on workpass, my co have a voluntary CPF contribution, mean if i decided to contribute my portion the employer match their share, after a 1 year, i decided to stop as i need the money to roll for my studies.
nowadays they return their portion back to u, ...mean if u have a better use of the money else where then nogo

with the tightenin of the work pass every year, PR offer comfort thou, if u P1 level then different story
but if u bordeline in WP/EP and in attractive industries, SG gov might oust u out and give the job to the local or PRC local hehe sweat.gif

deodorant
post Aug 19 2011, 10:43 AM

Surfing LYN instead of Working.
5,691 posts

maybe he's been spending too much time in /k/. I notice that tendency too, after lurking and trolling in /k/ for a while, your brain suffers a temporary drop in IQ, and you tend to carry over the /k/ posting style to other parts of the forum too biggrin.gif

Anyway ... wah the SRS scheme actually pretty cool. Seems like a pretty attractive alternative to CPF for those of us who don't plan on taking PR. Some more only need to spend 10years here then can withdraw liao. Hmmmmmmmm.

http://app.mof.gov.sg/data/cmsresource/srs...-%2018Feb11.pdf

Did some quick calculations, overall over 10-11 years you can save around the region of 10-20% of your taxes to the government, but only if you ensure your withdrawals fit the 50% tax rebate conditions. Otherwise you end up paying a lot more tax.
L7Awesome
post Aug 19 2011, 11:06 AM

418 posts

QUOTE(ivanswk @ Aug 19 2011, 09:35 AM)
ah.. sux me still not millionaire yet  doh.gif
i agree on mackiddo in this, can ask what industry u in ?

previously when i was on workpass, my co have a voluntary CPF contribution, mean if i decided to contribute my portion the employer match their share, after a 1 year, i decided to stop as i need the money to roll for my studies.
nowadays they return their portion back to u, ...mean if u have a better use of the money else where then nogo 

with the tightenin of the work pass every year, PR offer comfort thou, if u P1 level then different story
but if u bordeline in WP/EP and in attractive industries, SG gov might oust u out and give the job to the local or PRC local hehe sweat.gif
Any idea what consist of 'attractive industries'? IT, Engineering? Just curious...
ivanswk
post Aug 19 2011, 11:15 AM

+J
2,110 posts

QUOTE(L7Awesome @ Aug 19 2011, 11:06 AM)
Any idea what consist of 'attractive industries'? IT, Engineering?  Just curious...
solely my opinion, yup those 2 u mention rolleyes.gif
r1v3r
post Aug 19 2011, 11:31 AM

1,305 posts

CPF account get min 2.5% interest, protected from creditors and you can use it to for investement too ( with investment charges).

SRS account not protected by gov and creditor plus 5% penalty if you withdraw (contribution + profit) before 10 years (non SG, PR) or before "retirement age"(now 62, which gov can change anytime) for SG, PR. Then SRS charge admin fee on top of other investment charges. So this is better for those high earning EP holder who has long term and plan to hold EP for >10 years.

mercury8400
post Aug 19 2011, 01:34 PM

2,703 posts

QUOTE(r1v3r @ Aug 19 2011, 11:31 AM)
CPF account get min 2.5% interest, protected from creditors and you can use it to for investement too ( with investment charges).

2.5% is peanuts, wei....... i think SG inflation is almost double that.....our M'sian EPF giving 5% also people complain liao....howcome SG gov so kiamsiap? CPF loss money in investments?
seantang
post Aug 19 2011, 01:41 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(mercury8400 @ Aug 19 2011, 01:34 PM)
2.5% is peanuts, wei....... i think SG inflation is almost double that.....our M'sian EPF giving 5% also people complain liao....howcome SG gov so kiamsiap? CPF loss money in investments?
You need to factor in the relative risk, local inflation & interest rate and also the relative long term exchange rate differentials (vs each other and vs a benchmark currency that represents like the USD).

kinwing
post Aug 19 2011, 02:28 PM

559 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Aug 19 2011, 01:41 PM)
You need to factor in the relative risk, local inflation & interest rate and also the relative long term exchange rate differentials (vs each other and vs a benchmark currency that represents like the USD).
How much is SG's inflation now hmm.gif ? 2.5% looks low sweat.gif .
Aloong
post Aug 19 2011, 02:54 PM

484 posts

QUOTE(kinwing @ Aug 19 2011, 02:28 PM)
How much is SG's inflation now hmm.gif ? 2.5% looks low sweat.gif .
If u noticed, dividend rates and interest rates in SG is lower than in Msia. I'm talking both borrowing and lending rate.
Further, from macro point of view Msia has higher risk (lower rating) than SG, so the fixed (or somewhat fixed) return rate in Msia should be higher than SG.
If CPF rate matches EPF rate, that would not make sense.
So (assuming ceteris paribus, which is a BIG assumption), it's better to put in EPF/FD in Msia than in SG.

Anyway, that being said, if i remembered correctly ur CPF for the first SGD60K is paid at 2.5% + 2% = 4.5% (I think i saw that on some fund manager advertisement inside the MRT train, i think its aberden asset mgmt)

125 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0293sec    0.48    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 03:38 AM