QUOTE(rcv86 @ Aug 24 2011, 10:23 PM)
You have 2 weeks (starting from after the 4 days you made your appointment which is the first day you can collect your card).Working in Singapore v8, Tan vs Tan vs Tan vs Tan
Working in Singapore v8, Tan vs Tan vs Tan vs Tan
Aug 24 2011, 11:05 PM
1,424 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Aug 25 2011, 10:47 AM
QUOTE(kinwing @ Aug 25 2011, 10:28 AM) Me now work in an investment bank. Yah, agree that Malaysian will face a lot of competition with Chinese and Indian migrants in Sg for jobs. Have been trying to apply jobs in the first few months after received the EPEC, but I got a job offer from the bank in KL and later start to be very busy in work so I put aside my job search in Sg. You can't with the EPEC alone.Then I received the reminding email from the MOM and sparked my interest to search job in Sg again, maybe this time I should have come and stay in Sg directly since I am permitted (with EPEC) to stay in Sg for 12 months. You need to apply for a long term visa which you need to pay. Even the visa has single or multiple entries. |
Aug 25 2011, 11:47 AM
Aug 25 2011, 12:51 PM
QUOTE(kinwing @ Aug 25 2011, 11:53 AM) Mind to explain more on single or multiple entries? From my understanding, single entry means I can only enter Sg 1 time with the visa, and next time the visa can no longer being used even it is not expired, whereby multiple entries mean I could enter Sg as many times as I could within the permitted period. Eh...my mistake.Refer to rexona's reply. Confused already. QUOTE(deodorant @ Aug 25 2011, 12:36 PM) Malaysians no need Visa. No. Once you have the IPA that means is approved liao. You just go and do fingerprinting and collect card. QUOTE(deodorant @ Aug 25 2011, 12:36 PM) Hmmmmmm. Over at the travel&living section there are people saying they could enter with < 6 months as visitor but with some additional steps - apparently a senior immigration officer had to come over and approve his entry. But that is visitor lah ... for WP holders ... dunno whether it applies. My passport validity period is like 8 months now, guess I gotta plan a trip to KL or JB to renew. Well, my housemate tried that after hearing some of his colics doing it with 2 months validity left on the passport. Still, it is a risk which you will decide whether it is worth or not. Btw, has anyone been going through the m'sian immigration via causeway? That day I went through without having to scan my thumb...meaning anyone with my passport can actually enter m'sia. Then when I came back sg, there was something wrong with the system on m'sian side (i think), and the officers just let EVERYONE walk pass at the autogate side You can even walk pass actually if you are a foreigner since they did not bother to check the passport. So technically, according to m'sian system, I might still be in m'sia. This post has been edited by crazy25kid: Aug 25 2011, 12:56 PM |
Aug 25 2011, 01:55 PM
Eh..nvr mind...understood d.
This post has been edited by crazy25kid: Aug 25 2011, 02:12 PM |
Aug 25 2011, 03:22 PM
Guys, anyone tried taking the train from Sg back to your hometown before?
I just checked the price, the number is the same...just the currency is different. This post has been edited by crazy25kid: Aug 25 2011, 03:59 PM |
Aug 25 2011, 03:25 PM
QUOTE(Aloong @ Aug 25 2011, 03:22 PM) Thanks for the long explanation. Well, as said, no guarantee, but since getting an EPEC is free, no harm getting it. Looks like in current environment it may be advantage to get an EPEC, due to a lot of incidents (as posted in this thread) where companies/applicant have issues getting their EP. So getting an EPEC would give such comfort, though not guarantee. I dun think the visit would be much of an advantage, cos most ppl will not incur huge expenses to stay here, while waiting for job replies. But I know of someone who failed with EP even with EPEC. |
Aug 25 2011, 11:45 PM
QUOTE(r1v3r @ Aug 25 2011, 09:49 PM) Many years ago when I was single. I bought SGD2 ticket from tanjong pagar to JB then go to counter to buy tic to KL using ringgit then hop on to the same train. Thanks.Then they started online purchase, so you can buy tic from JB to your home town in RM. Just pay for woodland to JB in SGD. Check if the e ticket still functioning, this is Malaysia. I love the train when I have to travel to KL at night. I can have a long sleep in the train before reaching KL at 7am. Back then too many bus accident at night, train was safer bet. But too bad the train does not have a night schedule for me (Penang)...in fact, only 1 timing. Did read it on a website for the SG to JB part. The e-ticketing seems to be working but requires a login which I am too lazy to create now. |
Aug 26 2011, 12:34 PM
QUOTE(seantang @ Aug 26 2011, 12:14 PM) I don't know about that. My company's a stickler for degrees... in that if you don't have a degree, you're a tech/admin no matter what your experience is. That means lower payscale, fewer benefits and absolutely no chance of becoming a manager (pay scale wise), although we have lots of tech/admin people leaders. In fact these guys lead the biggest teams ie. production workers, secretarial pool, CSRs, help desks etc. I kinda agree with sean here.Sg focus a lot of the papers before experience. |
Aug 31 2011, 02:28 PM
QUOTE(Lester1987 @ Aug 31 2011, 02:20 PM) have u pass ur BTT? bare in mind if they really cancel ur license and u haven pass ur BTT, u can't drive coz u don't hold any license at that time. Good luck !!!I will be taking my BTT on the 15th Sept. hopefully can pass, then can proceed with the conversion d. Did you get the book to study? I am just about to register for my BTT. |
Aug 31 2011, 05:35 PM
Aug 31 2011, 06:01 PM
QUOTE(Lester1987 @ Aug 31 2011, 05:42 PM) its not good or bad. its actually a win - win situation for both.... Well, it leads to a seasonal event and sometimes blatant framing just for the "coffee". u get less hassle to pay it in the police station, preserve a good driving record. at the same time, help out our poor policemen a little because they are seriously underpaid. Underpaid, yes...I do agree if you compare them with those in Sg. However, they are not giving the impression of them deserving a higher pay too. Look at the size of most of them and you will doubt they can even give chase after a suspect. |
Sep 5 2011, 09:52 AM
QUOTE(Dark NT @ Sep 5 2011, 09:40 AM) I got an offer to work in Singapore. Currently the employer is preparing the offer letter. Are you insisting on "premium bus services" only?The location is at Changi business park (CBP). Anyone working there? After some googling I found that the nearest HDB township is Simei. If my estimation is correct, its about 30 mins walking distance to CBP, which is not very near.. There are 'premium bus services' that goes to CBP from Yishun/Sembawang/AMK/Punggol/SengKang. Gives me more options. After checking the rental rates, apart from Yishun, the rest of the areas are S$2000 and above. Any idea why Yishun rental is slightly cheaper? coz its a little further from the city? There is MRT which passes by CBP (Expo - Green Line). I believe there should be normal buses too. Yishun and sembawang is FAR from CBP. 2k...you are looking for the whole unit? This post has been edited by crazy25kid: Sep 5 2011, 09:53 AM |
Sep 5 2011, 10:06 AM
Sep 5 2011, 10:22 AM
Sep 5 2011, 10:31 AM
QUOTE(Tigerr @ Sep 5 2011, 10:27 AM) My friend staying at Jurong, travelling to CBD area taking taxi to and fro almost everyday. He still say it is cheap comparing to driving a car. He sold his car and happily taking taxi everyday, like having a driver fetching him here and there everyday. Hard truth is having a car cost much more than taking taxi. Bus is cheaper but longer travelling time. Jurong to CBD. |
Sep 8 2011, 10:21 AM
QUOTE(ivanswk @ Sep 8 2011, 09:30 AM) PRC woman forces marriage on Sec 3 boy Easy what...report as statutory rape kao tim. A Chinese national woman had reportedly forced her boyfriend, a local secondary three boy to marry her. The woman is 26, holds a student pass and is in Singapore to study, while the sec three boy comes from a comfortable background and is an introvert. The two were introduced to each other at a friend's birthday party and had exchanged phone numbers. Because she sported youthful looks and a babyface, the boy did not suspect that she was in fact 11 years older than him. Soon after their first meeting, the woman courted the boy aggressively with messages and online chats. The two soon progressed to become a couple. Three to four months later, the woman initiated sex with the boy. After the two became intimate, she began to pressure him to marry her. The boy did not know what to do and in the end asked his parents for help. This case was cited by a counsellor as an example of another tactic used by Chinese national women to snag Singaporean husbands. Besides matchmaking and introductions through friends and relatives, some Chinese national women use student passes to look for husbands in Singapore. These women, sometimes girls as young as 17, may get pregnant with a Singaporean boyfriend and insist on marriage. According to the counsellor, some of these women marry to acquire Singaporean citizenship, then use it as a stepping board to go to US or Australia. - Lianhe Wanbao, 5 September 2011. . |
Sep 10 2011, 03:16 PM
There is "budget" calls back to M'sia
Singtel - 019 Starhub - 018 Pay extra $5++/month to allow conversion of the minutes you have to include the "budget" calls. Need more minutes? Just sign the one with the most minutes, if I remember correctly, it is less than $100 still. |
Sep 27 2011, 09:07 AM
QUOTE(ben3003 @ Sep 27 2011, 08:54 AM) I wanna ask, is it an advantage to have a singapore phone line when u applying for jobs? I mean while you are in Malaysia. Also, does most of the companies accept over the phone interview? Because i am heading back to my hometown at Sarawak, so it would be hard for me to go for their interview, but i think i gonna head over to Sg by november to try my luck looking for job there. My personal opinion...yes, it does help.I did not receive any calls at all before my resume had a singapore number and address. They usually accept phone interview first. Just remember to request them to call your m'sian number for the phone interview, else it will be very expensive. |
Sep 27 2011, 10:25 AM
QUOTE(Aloong @ Sep 27 2011, 10:06 AM) Out of curiosity, while you're in malaysia, and you have 2 lines, (Msia line and SG line). Do you carry 2 phones around, knowing that the SG phone will only ring probably once a week at most? Yes...was carrying 2 phones around.Say after they call you, after you put your phone and address in SIngapore, then they realised that you're not working in SG. Would that reduce your chances, for giving the false impression you're currently located in SG? The sg phone actually rang quite a lot once the ball starts rolling (even managed to squeeze 3 interviews in 2 days... Not sure is it just me or job offers tend to come together at once. I wrote both M'sian and Sg address and phone numbers. That address would be where I was originally going to stay as my wife was staying at that address since she came over first. Usually, the first question after the confirmed they were speaking to me was where I am and if I can attend interview in Sg if required. Well, I just had the funniest phone call a while ago. My agency called me and was trying to recruit me when I am already an employee. |
| Change to: | 0.0481sec
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 02:58 AM |