Working in Singapore v8, Tan vs Tan vs Tan vs Tan

keelim
post Aug 31 2011, 04:18 PM

941 posts

QUOTE(Lester1987 @ Aug 31 2011, 04:11 PM)
few factors.
1. with MY license, its easier for you to buy a Malaysia car.
2. when stopped by police, show them ur MY license, kopi money price will drop.
3. SG license have this stupid rules that when you reach a certain age (55 or 65 not very sure). u need to do eye test. if u fail, they revoke ur license.
Point No.2 made my day. Good chuckle for a busy day at work.

This post has been edited by keelim: Aug 31 2011, 04:18 PM
keelim
post Sep 1 2011, 11:52 AM

941 posts

QUOTE(tailtwist @ Sep 1 2011, 11:32 AM)
how come no overseas voting?like the very recent GE/PE elections where Singaporeans residing overseas goes to the Hi-Com to cast their votes!!
I think they do. But only for civil servants (i.e. ambassadors) and of course soldiers.

This post has been edited by keelim: Sep 1 2011, 11:52 AM
keelim
post Sep 4 2011, 07:12 PM

941 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Sep 4 2011, 06:46 PM)
Just dropped by the Kuriya Fish Market, nex outlet. Was a bit disappointed with the variety, there is really just salmon, tuna (non-fatty version) and unagi, nothing different that you can't get elsewhere (like ... cold storage for example).

btw you guys ever go to those game arcade here? got those table fish shooting games that seems like always got TONS of uncles/aunties playing. what so nice/special about that game? hmm.gif
Yes. It's addictive and contagious. It has spread to iPhone and iPad. I see people playing on the bus and MRT. Curious, I downloaded the app to seek enlightenment. Thought it could replace starcraft2. It aint happening.

This post has been edited by keelim: Sep 4 2011, 07:13 PM
keelim
post Sep 5 2011, 02:30 PM

941 posts

For you guys that travel to JB frequently, another alternative fyi.

http://www.changiairport.com/getting-aroun...-bahru-malaysia

This post has been edited by keelim: Sep 5 2011, 02:31 PM
keelim
post Sep 15 2011, 08:42 AM

941 posts

QUOTE(wickedghost @ Sep 15 2011, 07:21 AM)
Ya....if the tax is 5% - 30%...I wont wanna accept the job...unless the company absorb my income tax or my income is not subject to tax than I will accept the job
I suspect the Co. is trying to avoid giving out a hefty relocation package for existing staff to move to Indonesia. Employing new ones and relocating them will be a more cost-effective way. The seniors will probably be a ‘helicopter’ team that travel back & fro before the new staff can fully take over the operation independently. That’s just my take.
keelim
post Sep 15 2011, 08:56 AM

941 posts

QUOTE(wickedghost @ Sep 15 2011, 08:47 AM)
Ya...Exactly I did not expect them to totally shift the operation to Bintan...so I wont be working at sg...oh well...Now I am rather worry on the income tax...hefty 5%-30% tax by the Indonesian Government on expat...I wonder those expat working at Bintan how do they survive there...5ksgd easily 30%!
They may be employed in Singapore, with an Indonesia business visa. Therefore, they pay tax to Singapore Government.
keelim
post Sep 15 2011, 06:50 PM

941 posts

This ubs event is going to trigger further scrutiny and risk mgmt reform in ib.
keelim
post Sep 21 2011, 02:54 PM

941 posts

QUOTE(yinyum @ Sep 21 2011, 02:46 PM)
Hmmm, anyone here know the working life in Bloomberg SG?
Open concept. Information driven. Fast-paced. Global support and the best pantry selections I have seen so far.
keelim
post Sep 22 2011, 06:30 PM

941 posts

Looks like Sgd is under 'attack.'

This post has been edited by keelim: Sep 22 2011, 06:30 PM
keelim
post Sep 23 2011, 09:00 AM

941 posts

A more comprehensive report is available in the news today. Apparently, the women is suffering from marital problems.

The adults always fail to see that children is the innocent subject in marital woes. It is very unfortunate that the mother irresponsibly decided to drag his son along.

This post has been edited by keelim: Sep 23 2011, 09:01 AM
keelim
post Sep 23 2011, 05:24 PM

941 posts

It's weekend!! F1 for life =)
keelim
post Sep 24 2011, 12:16 PM

941 posts

QUOTE(yinyum @ Sep 24 2011, 12:07 PM)
Errr.... The term STAY FOOLISH simply means do not always think that you've learnt all and there's nothing more for you to learn. So by staying foolish, you're always willing to learn more and keep learning new things.
When you're no longer a fresh grad, learning becomes a redundancy. You're expected to know it all or avert any awkward questions from clients like you know it all. I can't imagine saying "I dont know the answer to that." in front of clients. My boss will definitely be raging.
keelim
post Sep 24 2011, 01:20 PM

941 posts

He mentioned he's drunk.
keelim
post Sep 24 2011, 11:59 PM

941 posts

On the way back from f1. Disappointed with the programme schedule. They changed shakira with shaggy without our or at least my knowledge. Didn't manage to dance with shakira. Felt cheated.

Crap.
keelim
post Sep 25 2011, 01:22 AM

941 posts

QUOTE(washabushi @ Sep 25 2011, 12:21 AM)
They do give out pamphlet regarding the change...
I receive it 5 times while queueing to go in...
Not sure y u didn't receive it...
Swear to god that my programme highlights stated shakira to perform at 1115pm. Didn't know theynmoved it to 810pm.
keelim
post Sep 25 2011, 10:49 AM

941 posts

Yup. I saw that noticed at the stairs leading to bayfront stand. It was 845Pm. Almost impossible to walk to Padang and back to watch the fireworks.

Actually linkin park suppose to perform on Saturday night. But there were too many changes on the programs that I lost track. No luck.
keelim
post Oct 1 2011, 10:36 AM

941 posts

Any delicious crab serving in gelang patah? Plan to drive down for a sumptuous dinner. If yes, Is it air-conditioned?
keelim
post Oct 1 2011, 12:55 PM

941 posts

QUOTE(Lester1987 @ Oct 1 2011, 12:48 PM)
you can go to 1 restaurant call "Tian Lai". they got a air-cond section and non air-cond section if not mistaken. but i always sit outside (coz i smoke)
make sure its "Tian Lai" because there is another restaurant by the name of "Tian Tian Lai" next to it and my friend told me it sux.
Thanks. Will take note of it. Do they allow customers to bring their own liquor? Any surcharges on consuming at their premises
keelim
post Oct 1 2011, 11:29 PM

941 posts

QUOTE(Lester1987 @ Oct 1 2011, 01:06 PM)
not sure on those. i only smoke. dun drink that often...
The place was crowded. Rm65 per kilo of Sri lankan crab. No surcharges on external liquor. Quite far from jb town approx 30km and road was dimly lit. The restaurant beside is Ming Tien Lai.

Overall, food was delicious. Ordered 2 Sri lankan crab prepared in kam heong style, cereal prawn, sweet n sour pork, and Kailan. 3 rice and a few soft can drinks. Total rm165.
keelim
post Oct 4 2011, 08:45 AM

941 posts

QUOTE(Jurlique @ Oct 4 2011, 01:03 AM)
Looking at the MRT master plan....

Sometimes I think, if SG size is doubled, from 700km2 to 1,400km2, SG will be a 2nd Switzerland, or surpass Switzerland and perhaps GDP may worth more than Switzerland.

Unfortunately, SG has not enough land to develop, no land for exploitation, somehow or rather, SG will eventually lose its competitiveness.

No matter how SG utilise its space to transform wonders or even build the world largest underground office/theme-park/research centre/casino/MRT underground over another MRT underground/ u named it... all its developments will still be limited to its 700km2. Kesian...

I really hope Indonesia can sell a few inhabited islands to the SG government so that SG can reclaim more land for development to stay competitiveness.... but too bad, this not gonna happen I think...

HK at least still got dozens of mountains that can be used to reclaim land in the future without even depend on China to sell land to them, compare to SG which is a flat-flat island, a single Bukit Timah cant help much tho....

SG is like foreveralone country being sandwiched/squeezed between 2 Muslim countries and I wonder why so many Malaysian Chinese out there still like to bash SG especially in /K/ despite they themselves living in a Muslim country got bullied/sidelined by our current gomen.
SG has always been inspired by the Swiss. Their products are of high quality with inspiring artwork and detailed precision design. If only I have the luxury of time, I would buy book on how the Swiss transform its economy and stay relevant on the world map.

The geographical disadvantage (is just land bank) is not going away for countries like SG. Land reclamation is going to get expensive and especially so under the watchful eyes of the international watchdog. They may not have bountiful resources or big-bang products but they capture a sizeable market of economic refugees to keep it glowing…..at least for our lifetime.

0.0247sec    0.16    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 04:02 AM