Working in Singapore v8, Tan vs Tan vs Tan vs Tan

Shinichi
post Oct 23 2011, 03:04 PM

◆【 真一 】◆
4,051 posts

QUOTE(Yangz88 @ Oct 23 2011, 11:27 AM)
May I know which bank do you all use here? The account that expat can apply needs to have a minimum 5k in it, else it will deduct $ every month..
I'm using StanChart Super Salary, no minimum deposit for account opening, no fall below fee, only catch is every month your salary much credit at least 1.5k to the account, its debit card give 1% rebate for all Mastercard spending... its the one and only bank account I have in SG.
rickysim84
post Oct 23 2011, 03:14 PM

1,106 posts

QUOTE(Shinichi @ Oct 23 2011, 03:04 PM)
I'm using StanChart Super Salary, no minimum deposit for account opening, no fall below fee, only catch is every month your salary much credit at least 1.5k to the account, its debit card give 1% rebate for all Mastercard spending... its the one and only bank account I have in SG.
same here..
SUSMaterazzi
post Oct 23 2011, 03:27 PM

1,569 posts

QUOTE(Shinichi @ Oct 23 2011, 03:04 PM)
stanchart ATM is very few right? for 1% rebate for all mastercard spending, can it be used for paying my CIMA study?
rickysim84
post Oct 23 2011, 03:33 PM

1,106 posts

QUOTE(Materazzi @ Oct 23 2011, 03:27 PM)
stanchart ATM is very few right? for 1% rebate for all mastercard spending, can it be used for paying my CIMA study?
from wat the people in stanchart told me, as long as u swipe ur card, u will have 1% rebate no matter what u spend.
SUSMaterazzi
post Oct 23 2011, 06:16 PM

1,569 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Oct 23 2011, 10:52 AM)
Like I said before, what's the preoccupation with landed property? With a million bucks, you can buy a few hectares of land in Perak or Pahang.

Compare the std abode. This means 4 room HDB in Singapore and a landed (semi D?) in Australia.

Public education for PRs is quite cheap in Singapore as well.

Yes, I did. And do you see a lack of cars in Singapore? Obviously lots of people can afford cars, even at the inflated prices. And like I said... Australia is very expensive to maintain a car. Just one accident, tow, repair and reinsurance... you've eaten quite a bit of the COE difference already. Trust me, I know. I rearended someone with my aunt's old Corolla a long, long time ago in Melbourne, and I used one whole semester of my school fees to pay for the repairs and the difference in her subsequent insurance costs. I had to change my course and register for the work experience program and work full time for a year to save money to pay for my final year. Just one accident, and I graduated one year later.

Are you talking about CPF? Why is it tax? You'll get it back when you give up your PR (55y.o. for Malaysians). Plus you have the option to monetise it in property.

QUOTE(Materazzi)
Australia interest rate is quite good at 6-8%/yr compared with SG.
Forever? You want to base your long term immigration decision on current FD rates?
Btw, in Australia jov vacancy the FM usually noted 90-110k+super.
If you leave your money in CPF then it will deteriorate with infaltion to suck up the value of your money.
See this:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_count...velopment_Index
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Global_Peace_Index

Even Australia is safer than Singapore lol...I respect your comment, I will make note about it about having car in OZ is expensive, the maintenance one is. Will you consider to open saloon/garage in OZ?

Added on October 23, 2011, 6:26 pmOr beter you work in Brunei since it doesn't have income tax.

http://www.byebyeblighty.com/tax-havens/li...-in-brunei.html

This post has been edited by Materazzi: Oct 23 2011, 06:26 PM
seantang
post Oct 23 2011, 06:29 PM

With Adult Supervision Only
6,624 posts

QUOTE(Materazzi @ Oct 23 2011, 06:16 PM)
In Singapore, the employer portion of CPF is not included in the job advert also lah.

You're overestimating how many people earn 90-110K in Australia. Actually, it's quite rare. Lots of people earn 60, 70K. Even those who do manual labour. Although I have no statistics, I dare say someone earning 100K and above in Singapore is much higher per capita vs Australia.

QUOTE(Materazzi)
If you leave your money in CPF then it will deteriorate with infaltion to suck up the value of your money.
Does Australia pay a high return on super? That's why most Singaporeans pull out their CPF to buy property.

QUOTE(Materazzi)
Will you consider to open saloon/garage in OZ?
Nope. By using your hands, your earning power is limited by your energy, health and number of hours in a day. That's why the Australian average wage is higher than Singapore. Manual workers earn quite a lot, COMPARATIVELY. But there's a very real and low ceiling to their earnings.

This post has been edited by seantang: Oct 23 2011, 06:30 PM
SUSMaterazzi
post Oct 23 2011, 06:50 PM

1,569 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Oct 23 2011, 06:29 PM)
In Singapore, the employer portion of CPF is not included in the job advert also lah.

You're overestimating how many people earn 90-110K in Australia. Actually, it's quite rare. Lots of people earn 60, 70K. Even those who do manual labour. Although I have no statistics, I dare say someone earning 100K and above in Singapore is much higher per capita vs Australia.

QUOTE(Materazzi)
Does Australia pay a high return on super? That's why most Singaporeans pull out their CPF to buy property.

QUOTE(Materazzi)
Will you consider to open saloon/garage in OZ?
Nope. By using your hands, your earning power is limited by your energy, health and number of hours in a day. That's why the Australian average wage is higher than Singapore. Manual workers earn quite a lot, COMPARATIVELY. But there's a very real and low ceiling to their earnings.
Are you sure foreigners now can achieve more than 100k in SG? I heard many foreigners offered 1.8k/month for starters in SG compared in OZ where the starting salary is AUD 3k/month.
I also think to get 65k in OZ is faster and easier than in SG where people are too kiasu and SG is over crowded.
I believe OZ will have further growth in the future since they haven't maximised the PPE

In OZ at least you will see no far gap between rich and the poor. Hence, it will be good for the residents.
Of course per capita will be higher since SG has less residents liao

This post has been edited by Materazzi: Oct 23 2011, 06:57 PM
ben3003
post Oct 23 2011, 06:53 PM

10,859 posts

Easy to get OZ job as engineer? Normally can apply at where?
mercury8400
post Oct 23 2011, 06:55 PM

2,703 posts

[quote=Materazzi,Oct 23 2011, 06:16 PM]
Forever? You want to base your long term immigration decision on current FD rates?

[/quote]

See this:

Even Australia is safer than Singapore lol...I respect your comment, I will make note about it about having car in OZ is expensive, the maintenance one is. Will you consider to open saloon/garage in OZ?

Added on October 23, 2011, 6:26 pmOr beter you work in Brunei since it doesn't have income tax.

[/quote]

I suspect you are just trying (hard) to find reasons to justify why you should migrate to SG instead of Aus despite the obvious "benefits" most people (including me) have pointed out to you. If you feel so strongly that Aus is better than just go lar.
SUSMaterazzi
post Oct 23 2011, 06:58 PM

1,569 posts

[quote=ben3003,Oct 23 2011, 06:53 PM]Easy to get OZ job as engineer? Normally can apply at where?

[/quote]

you can stay in OZ up to 2 yrs if you have graduated from OZ university

Added on October 23, 2011, 7:04 pm[quote=mercury8400,Oct 23 2011, 06:55 PM]
See this:

[/quote]

I suspect you are just trying (hard) to find reasons to justify why you should migrate to SG instead of Aus despite the obvious "benefits" most people (including me) have pointed out to you. If you feel so strongly that Aus is better than just go lar.

[/quote]

you are right that I find the reasons for best one.
however, each country has its pros and cons.
But I welcome you and seantang to give positive comments about SG.
I just see SG has lower currency power and lower salary for accounting.
How come starting salary is only 1.8k-2.2k only. My pay here is better although I have just worked for 1 yr..
I will take note about it. Thanks..

This post has been edited by Materazzi: Oct 23 2011, 07:04 PM
seantang
post Oct 23 2011, 07:32 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(Materazzi @ Oct 23 2011, 06:50 PM)
Are you sure foreigners now can achieve more than 100k in SG?
Yes. My company has about 70 finance staff in SG and about 50% are foreigners. Not counting the senior managers and directors, the pay of the execs to junior managers range from 4K to 12K. Out of the 10 senior managers/directors, 3 are from SG, 1 Malaysia, 2 HK, 1 India, 2 Australia, 1 South American.

QUOTE(Materazzi)
I heard many foreigners offered 1.8k/month for starters in SG compared in OZ where the starting salary is AUD 3k/month.
My company's starting pay for fresh grads is above 3K, regardless of nationality. All the MNCs I know are likewise.

QUOTE(Materazzi)
I also think to get 65k in OZ is faster and easier than in SG where people are too kiasu and SG is over crowded.
I don't know. I've been here 6 years and promoted 3 times. a major factor is the high concentration of foreigners in management. In Australia, the overwhelming majority of managers will be locals and look upon you as an intruder.

QUOTE(Materazzi)
I believe OZ will have further growth in the future since they haven't maximised the PPE
That's your belief. In Australia, I see a country that's complacent and overdependent on selling natural resources. Singapore's selling services and technology. More importantly, everybody's hungry.

QUOTE(Materazzi)
In OZ at least you will see no far gap between rich and the poor. Hence, it will be good for the residents.
Not my problem. I intend to be part of the rich.

Anyway, this is getting nowhere. You've got your view. If you find Australia better, go for it.

This post has been edited by seantang: Oct 23 2011, 07:47 PM
hokin
post Oct 23 2011, 08:13 PM

245 posts

QUOTE(Lester1987 @ Oct 14 2011, 09:01 AM)
I live in Sembawang previously. If you want to travel to KL, if u are looking for cheap method, then take MRT to kranji, then take bus to JB and travel from there.
If u want good and reputable bus company, then go for First Coach, they have a station in Novena Square.

Regarding the Fast pass thing, if you are an EP holder, just use the automated gate for Singaporean and PR. It will work on ur passport.
Malaysia side of course they have a dedicated lane for Malaysian.

Added on October 14, 2011, 9:03 am
QUOTE(Gaultier @ Oct 14 2011, 08:28 PM)

Added on October 14, 2011, 8:44 pm
a) aeroline = SGD 50 per way / starmart= SGD 35-00 per way
b) no sure.. i heard access pass no longer issued
Thanks guys for your replies.

I see a lot of express buses that ply Sin-KL-Sin leave from Golden Mile Complex. From the map the nearest MRT is Lavender. Can anyone advise the best way to get from the MRT station to Golden Mile Complex? If by bus, can you advise the bus number and if by taxi, what will be the fare like?

I am intending to take the around midnight time express bus from KL and reach Sin first thing on Monday morning and go straight to work. How long does it take for midnight express bus to reach Sin?

Thanks ahead for your valuable advice.

seantang
post Oct 23 2011, 08:16 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(hokin @ Oct 23 2011, 08:13 PM)
gothere.sg.

It's a very useful site.

LYR
post Oct 23 2011, 08:20 PM

No one is indispensable
1,866 posts

QUOTE(hokin @ Oct 23 2011, 08:13 PM)
Thanks guys for your replies.

I see a lot of express buses that ply Sin-KL-Sin leave from Golden Mile Complex. From the map the nearest MRT is Lavender. Can anyone advise the best way to get from the MRT station to Golden Mile Complex? If by bus, can you advise the bus number and if by taxi, what will be the fare like?

I am intending to take the around midnight time express bus from KL and reach Sin first thing on Monday morning and go straight to work. How long does it take for midnight express bus to reach Sin?

Nicoll Highway MRT station is nearer. Lavander is within walking distance too. around 10 minutes. 12am transnational bus from Tasik selatan will reach Singapore at around 6am costing RM46.
rickysim84
post Oct 23 2011, 08:22 PM

1,106 posts

hmm.. i am kind of wanting to go australia to work, mainly perth or melbourne as i got many friends there. The reason i choose to go there is because of the quality of life that i can get rather than i keep working in SG from day to night like a lifeless zombie.
SUSalaskanbunny
post Oct 23 2011, 09:28 PM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(rickysim84 @ Oct 23 2011, 08:22 PM)
hmm.. i am kind of wanting to go australia to work, mainly perth or melbourne as i got many friends there. The reason i choose to go there is because of the quality of life that i can get rather than i keep working in SG from day to night like a lifeless zombie.
then go there.. ? you have a choice... and if you're able to, why not? why dont go there on a temp stay program for few months and check out the place first..
SUSMaterazzi
post Oct 23 2011, 09:33 PM

1,569 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Oct 23 2011, 07:32 PM)
Yes. My company has about 70 finance staff in SG and about 50% are foreigners. Not counting the senior managers and directors, the pay of the execs to junior managers range from 4K to 12K. Out of the 10 senior managers/directors, 3 are from SG, 1 Malaysia, 2 HK, 1 India, 2 Australia, 1 South American.

I don't know. I've been here 6 years and promoted 3 times. a major factor is the high concentration of foreigners in management. In Australia, the overwhelming majority of managers will be locals and look upon you as an intruder.

Not my problem. I intend to be part of the rich.

Anyway, this is getting nowhere. You've got your view. If you find Australia better, go for it.
wow, your company has lots of finance staffs. In my company, 1 Finance manager, 4 controllers, 5 accounting staffs, 2 tax officers, 3 export-import officers and 7 purchasing officers. I am as fresh grad joined as controller, where can I be promoted to? All other controllers people are older than me by 6-10 yrs. The FM is already >50 yrs old.
although we have a few finance people, but our turnover has already been about US$100 million and it expects to double in 2012. In total we have about 1k employees.

Will singaporean look at you as intruders too? You see them nagging at EDMW about FT snatching their jobs.

Btw, your company is 500 Fortune and this is why they pay better.
What is the good about service and technology? service is too overrated and do you think finance people are not cost center? what do they do about service and technology? My company paid US$1million for SAP, that's expensive and need to pay monthly maintenance

Added on October 23, 2011, 9:38 pm
QUOTE(rickysim84 @ Oct 23 2011, 08:22 PM)
working holiday visa bro.

This post has been edited by Materazzi: Oct 23 2011, 09:40 PM
yeahs4.1
post Oct 23 2011, 09:51 PM

Audio Freako
2,491 posts

QUOTE(Materazzi @ Oct 23 2011, 09:33 PM)
Will singaporean look at you as intruders too? You see them nagging at EDMW about FT snatching their jobs.
The way I see it, we are definitely not snatching their jobs or whatever. This is an open market, employers are free to hire anyone that are capable of doing the job and delivering desired results. Anyway it doesn't matter on what they look/think at us, as if it will change anything.

It's only *probably* true, if foreign workers are willing to do 500% workload with 20% salary of a normal employee.

What is the good about service and technology? service is too overrated and do you think finance people are not cost center? what do they do about service and technology? My company paid US$1million for SAP, that's expensive and need to pay monthly maintenance
It doesn't require natural resource, and it generates a lot of money.
hokin
post Oct 23 2011, 10:08 PM

245 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Oct 23 2011, 08:16 PM)
gothere.sg.

It's a very useful site.
QUOTE(LYR @ Oct 23 2011, 08:20 PM)
Nicoll Highway MRT station is nearer. Lavander is within walking distance too. around 10 minutes. 12am transnational bus from Tasik selatan will reach Singapore at around 6am costing RM46.
Thanks for your replies.

Oh yes...Nicoll Hgwy MRT is definitely nearer. Thanks for the tip....overlooked this MRT Station.

What time does it reach the Malaysian immigration in Gelang Patah(?) for the midnight express bus?

Another Q, as I would want to sleep on the bus, which express would you recommend for comfort? Luxury is not a main criteria but comfort is upmost. Since I will be sleeping....no food required too! Lets not put cost into consideration for this, i.e., can be a higher price ticket.

Thanks again.

seantang
post Oct 23 2011, 10:12 PM

6,624 posts

Nagging is one thing. The White Australia policy, One Nation Party and racial bashings are a totally different matter.

QUOTE(Materazzi)
That's the beauty of Singapore. All the big boys are here onshore. The RHQs are all here. Some companies even have the global HQ for parts of their businesses here. That's why there are lots of big jobs paying good money.

QUOTE(Materazzi)
So... all of a sudden, finance people print money in Australia, vs being a cost center in Singapore?

Anyway... I think you've got your mind made up. Good luck in Australia.

125 Pages « < 99 100 101 102 103 > » Top

0.0163sec    0.60    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 04:30 PM