whoever the presidents, they are just a symbol or puppets, the PM lee who have the decision
Working in Singapore v8, Tan vs Tan vs Tan vs Tan
Aug 20 2011, 06:00 PM
1,569 posts Joined: Feb 2009 |
whoever the presidents, they are just a symbol or puppets, the PM lee who have the decision
Aug 22 2011, 09:13 AM
QUOTE(Mackiddo @ Aug 21 2011, 11:13 PM) I thought HDB parking pretty standard ? mine is $90 for multi-storey car park. Luckily I got free sheltered parking at work. My insurance now is around $1k down from $2.5 when my ncb is totally zero. Road tax is around $600+ per year. I pump the fuel that I play a part to make, so I'm confident that I'm using the best fuel, got 18% discount as well. Malaysian can buy car in sg, sg ppl cannot. Btw, car in sg can use only 5 yrs?Added on August 22, 2011, 9:15 am QUOTE(seantang @ Aug 22 2011, 09:09 AM) The upcoming Suzuki Swift Sport would be nice. I also quite like the Kia Coupe within that price range. Add another 20-30K, I'd go for any model with the VW 1.4 twincharger and DSG gearbox. Vw golf cheap only 50k and safety is best, many abs thereThis post has been edited by Materazzi: Aug 22 2011, 09:15 AM |
Aug 27 2011, 10:55 AM
QUOTE(r1v3r @ Aug 22 2011, 10:00 AM) New car COE is 10 years, as the car aged the frequency for car inspection before road tax renewer increse too. At most once a year which cost ~S$100. better buy before you hit the 10 years mark, you can chose to renew your COE for 10 years or 5 years by paying 100% or 50% of the prevailing COE(average of past 3 month COE). If you renew, then your car is one of those "COE car" else your car will be deregistered and they will ask you to send your car to scrap yard. bro, the 50k is only for the VW Golf without COE right? check this New VW Golf almost RM300k for the cheapest model, like driving a double storey house on the road, one bang on the rear there goes the kitchen ![]() Nissan GTR, very powerful and look stylish, girls willing to piak-piak with u for free |
Aug 27 2011, 01:20 PM
better work in australia for currency la.
Aug 27 2011, 02:54 PM
QUOTE(animorphs @ Aug 26 2011, 03:06 PM) Hi all, daily???I've common room air condition available for rent/ transient at Yishun from 1st September onwards. Walking distance < 10 minutes to/ from Yishun/ Khatib MRT, Yishun Bus Interchange, eating house, food court, supermarket, Northpoint Shopping Centre, and Golden Village Cinema. SMS/ Call me 9088 3577 to enquire. Viewing available. Thanks. |
Aug 28 2011, 02:02 PM
Sep 4 2011, 05:58 PM
for fibre internet, M1,starhub, or singtel?
which one most consistent without lagging one? Want to subscribe the 50 Mbps one, watch at mysoju without waiting? |
Sep 4 2011, 06:07 PM
last time nihonmura, i ate like die la, buffett, cheapo only $20..
Sep 5 2011, 09:59 PM
QUOTE(Dark NT @ Sep 5 2011, 09:59 AM) Yeah, I am considering Tanah Merah, Bedok and tampines as well. why don't you just leave your family in MY and go MY every weekend, 2k is way too expensive.. at least 3.5k living cost per monthThere are shuttle buses from Expo to CBP, have to pay a small fee coz the company that offers me do not provide free shuttle. Added on September 5, 2011, 10:00 am I am trying to find SGD2K for whole unit, but might have to fork out up to SGD2500. Added on September 5, 2011, 10:20 pm QUOTE(tailtwist @ Sep 5 2011, 11:01 AM) You still have MRT......which is by far THE fastest mode of transport especially during peak hours...road can be congested...so buses n taxis will be stucked as well but sometimes bus cheaper than MRT, i hate MRT cannot sitAdded on September 5, 2011, 10:20 pm QUOTE(seantang @ Sep 5 2011, 01:09 PM) If you're the sweaty type and you don't like it... go with taxi or car. The only exception is if there's a bus route that takes you door to door, and the bus stops are very, very near your flat and workplace. Even then, it could be a loooong trip. For instance the bus from my block in AMK to Heeren at Orchard Road fits the exception perfectly, but it's a 55 minute journey with 30 stops. So I take it very, very rarely... for eg. when I have some thinking to do and in a bus is as good a place as any. u should take taxi..But if you don't mind public transport, then simply buy a city map + bus guide, check which buses go to your workplace or nearest MRT (plus feeder bus) and then work your way out from there. I would choose a place that's along the required bus/mrt route (less than 20 minutes travel time - 10 bus stops or 10 MRT stations) and preferably with a nearby shopping center / supermarket / HDB hub (within 5 bus stops). This post has been edited by Materazzi: Sep 5 2011, 10:20 PM |
Sep 9 2011, 07:54 AM
Do they sell mooncakes at november? For 50 dollars a box how many pieces?
Sep 10 2011, 10:22 AM
^
why do you hate them? |
Sep 10 2011, 05:35 PM
for single it is sg. but when have kids and wife, sg is too expensive or u become seantang single forever alone ah..
if can choose wanna work in melbourne..very good ah 9-5 job.. |
Sep 10 2011, 07:25 PM
QUOTE(Mackiddo @ Sep 10 2011, 06:55 PM) for me i just kinda 'terminates every damn thing' . Sell my house in JB, sold my Msia car, move my kids to study in Sg. Wifey now taking care of kids full time. For now, I think that's the best option for me i would say. have u sold ur house at JB? wifey not working. wow ur salary must be high |
Sep 10 2011, 09:10 PM
QUOTE(kockroach @ Sep 10 2011, 08:02 PM) I guess if you have kids, the better option would be working here and raised them here. They may not be street smart compared to Malaysian kids, might be even end up growing up as a nerd, but still, I think it is better compared to Malaysian education system (public vs public). do you want your children end up complain and complaining?My reason coming here, or more accurately leaving Malaysia is I don't want my future kids end up going through what I went through in Malaysia, and I don't think there is any hope for Malaysia based on current socio-political environment. Perhaps it is in the blood, me as a Chinese, I will go wherever that offer better opportunity. Added on September 10, 2011, 9:13 pm QUOTE(Mackiddo @ Sep 10 2011, 09:09 PM) yeah sold it, doesn't really make sense to keep it if the rental is not enough to cover monthly loan repayment. Getting a HDB apartment make more sense since 70% of the installment is settle by CPF. I'm that kinda ppl who doesn't really trust a maid to look after my kids if have family (wife and 2 children), how much is sufficient? maybe I am planning to work there if it is enough.wife at home just nice if they wanna cook and do house chores, does ur wife do that? This post has been edited by Materazzi: Sep 10 2011, 09:13 PM |
Sep 11 2011, 07:05 PM
^
but I am not accepted at Pwc although I have someone there(s1) and the HR recruitment is from my univ. I am not accepted at KPMG although my cousin is working there. I am accepted by 1500 fortune MNC and work as project cost controller although I am a fresh grad and without knowing anyone there and they have to wait me for 2 months due to I was sending for project in other towns and need to serve 1 month notice.. dun believe what other says unless I am experiencing myself. |
Sep 14 2011, 10:40 PM
QUOTE(seanwc101 @ Sep 11 2011, 08:50 PM) Did they recommend you to the person doing the recruitment? Are they hold higher position/influential in the firm? even my friend has emailed my resume and forward it to the HR recruitment officer. HR recruiter has the power to call intervee to attend the interview. sucks even not managed the tests at Pwc.My brother in law work in MNC and involve in the recruitment of new employees for the firm. Friends/family that want to work there can get recommendation from him and they got accepted for the job. Another case is in my faculty where the Dean always bring in their relatives to become a lecturer. Of course they have the qualifications but not sure how good they are. Talking about nepotism...haha. This happen in where I live and I can't generalised it in other country such as SG. In your case, you're able to prove to the company that they need you for the job. Congrats! Added on September 11, 2011, 8:51 pm Why do you think so? Just need some clarification on this because I'm just about to find job and don't know much. At kpmg I failed the interview after I told I have cousin there. I think big 4 don't accept family working there. at the MNC now, until now I don't know who was the decision maker who hired me, I think my Finance Manager got the power> the HR manager. It's not about who you know, but how much they need you. sorry, it's forbes 1500 list since it is european MNC. |
Sep 15 2011, 09:00 PM
Sep 16 2011, 06:25 AM
QUOTE(deodorant @ Sep 15 2011, 10:07 PM) you've obviously never worked in a bank. it's damn easy to play monkey business. just question of how early (or how late) it's found out only. never heard commercial bank got unauthorized trading..only IB does that right?Added on September 16, 2011, 6:26 amAnyone here plan to work in OZ? Heard although tax is high there but quality of life is higher too.. can drive a car with cheapo price. This post has been edited by Materazzi: Sep 16 2011, 06:27 AM |
Sep 17 2011, 04:38 AM
QUOTE(Lester1987 @ Sep 16 2011, 10:08 PM) no nid luck, just need riding skill. one thing for sure, if you stay at JB, you are richer 2.4x than uswhy need more PA? u think so easy get accident?? it all depends on ur riding skills. u might see there is a lot bikes, but the Singapore kastam will close 1 car lane and open it for bikes to use. in the morning, the usual queue time is only around 10-20 mins (need to register for the Biometric thing, "BIKES"), I believe those that were on bus need to wait longer than us. going back also not that long. i left office around 6:15, will reach JB at 7 smth. and the queue starts on the BKE bridge. hehe, i do travel everyday... if u ask me whether to stay in SG or JB, i will 120% say stay in JB and commute everyday by bike. the freedom, the lifestyle, the way people look at you in JB is so much different from inside SG. if u are a WP holder, SG ppl or even Malaysian working in SG (Mercury) will treat u like rubbish. But if you are working in SG and staying in JB, JB folks will respect you coz u manage to get into SG and work there. so in other words, u are more high krass than them. Added on September 17, 2011, 4:42 amMercury8400 is rubbish since he cannot get a job in OZ? btw, I plan to buy car, do you think 1 month driving course be able to polish my skills on the road? This post has been edited by Materazzi: Sep 17 2011, 04:42 AM |
Sep 17 2011, 10:29 AM
QUOTE(ch_teo @ Sep 17 2011, 09:51 AM) nope. there are still a lot dealers out there. u can keep searching. but comes with a price. then how to cope with it and avoid the accidents if I have no experience in driving a car? somemore will go tuas often.Added on September 17, 2011, 9:54 am the answer is no. it is a about accumulating driving experience, judgment, defensive driving. not a 1 night anything can be done. no wonder there are many road hoggers on the road & accident on the bridge. mostly observe all this while at jb-sg is Sg car plate. Added on September 17, 2011, 9:57 am also the buses especially the yellow causeway link, sometimes road-hoggers. their summons can be "clean-up". |
| Change to: | 0.0452sec
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 02:42 PM |