125 Pages « < 9 10 11 12 13 > » Bottom

Working in Singapore v8, Tan vs Tan vs Tan vs Tan

crazy25kid
post Aug 24 2011, 11:05 PM

Jack of all trades, master of none...in short, a NUB !!
1,424 posts

QUOTE(rcv86 @ Aug 24 2011, 10:23 PM)
Anyone knows within how many days a person need to collect the EP card after it is issued by MOM?
You have 2 weeks (starting from after the 4 days you made your appointment which is the first day you can collect your card).
TSdarkages
post Aug 24 2011, 11:17 PM

Jam Bumi
4,206 posts

QUOTE(jungyu @ Aug 24 2011, 03:11 PM)
hmm....i checked. I can complain against agent but no use. the landlord is the one trying to cause the problem so that I will move out earlier then she untung.
anyways, i am ready to report to police if she ever touch my stuff. she has no right to ask me move out before mid sept.

Added on August 24, 2011, 3:19 pm
cobroke agent. my agent is from dennis-wee. name starting with J with a capital A in her name. Can easily see her in craigslist. She had given me wrong info and it was my fault to believe everything she provided. First time I engaged an agent and really bad experience. Somemore lost hundreds to her >:
the house is at marine terrace but i guess no one here will go there tongue.gif

anyways i just found an agent without agent fee....with reasonable rental in central. hope this time can stay longer but at least i have nothing to lose this time smile.gif
What do you want out from resolving the issue?
1) Continue to stay at your current place and landlord be an angel; or
2) Move out with compensation

I doubt the option 1 would be possible because clearly the landlord dislike you. I have experience worse during my previous stay with a landlord, which I subsequently lodge a police report and terminated the contract. Anyway, you should bring your agent into the picture by telling him that you have paid the agent fee and he has an obligation to deal on your behalf any matter with regards to the tenancy for the duration of the tenancy period. In the event that he refuse to take responsibility, tell him that you will lodge with Council of Estate Agencies whereby he may risk losing his license if found breaching CEA code of conduct.
deodorant
post Aug 25 2011, 09:53 AM

Surfing LYN instead of Working.
5,691 posts

QUOTE(jungyu @ Aug 24 2011, 04:21 PM)
i think 1 month commission from landlord. he said he only gets agent fee from landlord side not tenant.

If only one agent representing both landlord and tenant, landlord pays entire fee mah, no meh?

I thought this double fee thing is normally cos there are two agents, one representing tenant, one prepresenting landlord?
kinwing
post Aug 25 2011, 10:05 AM

559 posts

I received an email from the MOM last week and was requested to do a survey for EPEC holder. This email reminded me that I have applied an EPEC permit last year which still have another 11 month before expiry.

So I completed the survey and the last question was asking me to provide my full name, email contact and occupation. After filling those requested information, there was a message mentioned they will send me update on the job status in Singapore since I had selected one of the questions of the survey that I have intention to search job in Singapore before the expiry of my EPEC.

I don't know what kind of job status MOM would send to me, hope that could give me some guides of securing a job in Singapore. And damn, I need to serve 3-month notice for my current job if I tender my resignation...XD

This post has been edited by kinwing: Aug 25 2011, 10:06 AM
ivanswk
post Aug 25 2011, 10:11 AM

+J
2,110 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Aug 25 2011, 09:53 AM)
If only one agent representing both landlord and tenant, landlord pays entire fee mah, no meh?

I thought this double fee thing is normally cos there are two agents, one representing tenant, one prepresenting landlord?
half from tenant half from landlord
usually there are case, agent forgo either side to make the deal attractive
sometime landlord dun want to pay the agent, so agent collect from tenant
din go for co-broke case before so can't comment
actually having 2 agent, just have more profit margin inside , the agreement is standardize anyway
hmm.gif

Added on August 25, 2011, 10:14 am
QUOTE(kinwing @ Aug 25 2011, 10:05 AM)
I don't know what kind of job status MOM would send to me, hope that could give me some guides of securing a job in Singapore. And damn, I need to serve 3-month notice for my current job if I tender my resignation...XD
the job singaporean, indian and china dun want or whatever left by the PR nod.gif

the gap to wide either CEO or the waiter sweat.gif in between most of us whack already rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by ivanswk: Aug 25 2011, 10:14 AM
kinwing
post Aug 25 2011, 10:16 AM

559 posts

QUOTE(ivanswk @ Aug 25 2011, 10:11 AM)
half from tenant half from landlord
usually there are case, agent forgo either side to make the deal attractive
sometime landlord dun want to pay the agent, so agent collect from tenant
din go for co-broke case before so can't comment
actually having 2 agent, just have more profit margin inside , the agreement is standardize anyway
hmm.gif

Added on August 25, 2011, 10:14 am

the job singaporean, indian and china dun want or whatever left by the PR  nod.gif 

the gap to wide either CEO or the waiter  sweat.gif  in between most of us whack already  rolleyes.gif
Bad, I need job in between one tongue.gif
ivanswk
post Aug 25 2011, 10:20 AM

+J
2,110 posts

QUOTE(kinwing @ Aug 25 2011, 10:16 AM)
Bad, I need job in between one tongue.gif
your blog show u into investment and accounting stuff
so u in the banking & finance industry ? hmm.gif
i see the invasion of our china bro into this area lately

previously this been the singaporean and malaysian territory
sweat.gif aiseh they really whack high and low

kinwing
post Aug 25 2011, 10:28 AM

559 posts

QUOTE(ivanswk @ Aug 25 2011, 10:20 AM)
so u in the banking & finance industry ?  hmm.gif

sweat.gif  aiseh they really whack high and low
Me now work in an investment bank. Yah, agree that Malaysian will face a lot of competition with Chinese and Indian migrants in Sg for jobs. Have been trying to apply jobs in the first few months after received the EPEC, but I got a job offer from the bank in KL and later start to be very busy in work so I put aside my job search in Sg.

Then I received the reminding email from the MOM and sparked my interest to search job in Sg again, maybe this time I should have come and stay in Sg directly since I am permitted (with EPEC) to stay in Sg for 12 months.

This post has been edited by kinwing: Aug 25 2011, 10:29 AM
Tigerr
post Aug 25 2011, 10:31 AM

3,033 posts

Looks like no more chance left, have to start whacking either the CEO or end up being a waiter. tongue.gif
kinwing
post Aug 25 2011, 10:38 AM

559 posts

I got a friend who is a 'banana' (Chinese who does not know Mandarin or any chinese language at all) and he worked in DBS corporate finance. After 6-month he gave up and returned KL because he cannot 'tahan' DBS was too 'chinese-oriented' as his whole teammates except him (got a lot of teams in a corporate finance department) were from China and they spoke Mandarin in office. He felt being isolated so he left, he swore will never return to work with DBS tongue.gif sweat.gif
jungyu
post Aug 25 2011, 10:46 AM

252 posts

QUOTE(shoograd @ Aug 24 2011, 09:35 PM)
ivanswk is right. This is the first time that I've heard a landlord willingly pay the full agent commission. Either you are VERY lucky and found an extremely generous landlord or there something fishy going on.

If I were you I would read the contract very, very carefully and check the agent's credentials.
yea. at first i felt the same then just went and see first. the agent got asked the landlord to show their doc proves that they own the unit which my previous agent did not.
the family looks really friendly(but my landlord also acted nice when i view the room). will explore once i move in next month.
crazy25kid
post Aug 25 2011, 10:47 AM

Jack of all trades, master of none...in short, a NUB !!
1,424 posts

QUOTE(kinwing @ Aug 25 2011, 10:28 AM)
Me now work in an investment bank. Yah, agree that Malaysian will face a lot of competition with Chinese and Indian migrants in Sg for jobs. Have been trying to apply jobs in the first few months after received the EPEC, but I got a job offer from the bank in KL and later start to be very busy in work so I put aside my job search in Sg.

Then I received the reminding email from the MOM and sparked my interest to search job in Sg again, maybe this time I should have come and stay in Sg directly since I am permitted (with EPEC) to stay in Sg for 12 months.
You can't with the EPEC alone.
You need to apply for a long term visa which you need to pay.
Even the visa has single or multiple entries.
Tigerr
post Aug 25 2011, 10:50 AM

3,033 posts

QUOTE(kinwing @ Aug 25 2011, 10:38 AM)
I got a friend who is a 'banana' (Chinese who does not know Mandarin or any chinese language at all) and he worked in DBS corporate finance. After 6-month he gave up and returned KL because he cannot 'tahan' DBS was too 'chinese-oriented' as his whole teammates except him (got a lot of teams in a corporate finance department) were from China and they spoke Mandarin in office. He felt being isolated so he left, he swore will never return to work with DBS tongue.gif  sweat.gif
Whose fault at this??? While never learn up Chinese and not only DBS, China Banks and all those chinese companies and chinamen companies also he cannot work, if he cannot mix in with them.

You know how hard the Hongkies start to learn mandarin back in the 80-90s when China received back Hong Kong and the Hongkies start to venture into China and now many of them have become so successful. You can hear all sort of broken mandarin when those Hongkies speak mandarin with the chinese. Also, you see those Chinese when come to Hong Kong, how they start to learn Cantonese.

Same as many brothers that i know when they went to Thailand to work and they can pick up and now able to speak a fluent Thai language. Never let language be a barrier to your carrier and somemore if you are a chinese yourself. icon_idea.gif
xbeelkh
post Aug 25 2011, 10:54 AM

40 posts

Hard to find a common room in jurong east area, most of them are only for ladies....
Eventually I have to stay in sembawang temporary with my brother....
kinwing
post Aug 25 2011, 10:54 AM

559 posts

QUOTE(crazy25kid @ Aug 25 2011, 10:47 AM)
You can't with the EPEC alone.
You need to apply for a long term visa which you need to pay.
Even the visa has single or multiple entries.
Yah I know, I just shorten some of the procedure such as getting a sponsor to assist me for the long term visa application, but that shouldn't be any problem since I got relatives and friends who are either citizen or PR staying in Singapore and they agree to be my sponsor. Now the only thing that stop me is find a job in Sg loh, but I am kind of lazy of walking out from my comfortzone now, anyway will try to apply Sg jobs again this week from jobsdb, jobstreet and efinancier.
ivanswk
post Aug 25 2011, 10:56 AM

+J
2,110 posts

QUOTE(jungyu @ Aug 25 2011, 10:46 AM)
yea. at first i felt the same then just went and see first. the agent got asked the landlord to show their doc proves that they own the unit which my previous agent did not.
the family looks really friendly(but my landlord also acted nice when i view the room). will explore once i move in next month.
is ok learn from experiance laugh.gif so got kids or not ? anyway next round try to go for no landlord one
mercury8400
post Aug 25 2011, 10:59 AM

2,703 posts

QUOTE(kinwing @ Aug 25 2011, 10:28 AM)

IB in M'sia and IB in SG is a lot different. SG has more regional deals and more amazingly complex structures. If you want to gain exposure to true Investment Banking, SG is the place. All the big boys are in SG like Goldman Sachs, Merrill Lynch, Nomura, and other boutique fims. The money (or specifically bonuses) these IBankers in SG earns very, very much dwarfs the bonuses paid compared to CIMB. Even a mid ranking rainmakers could pull in millions of SGD in a good year. (and i read in CIMB annual report that Nazir salary + bonus is only something like RM 5 million a year, a pittance compared to what people in SG make). Hence, you can always see the Lambo, Ferrari, Porche, etc in Raffles Place. The motto i was told is "work hard, play harder" and once you are in their circle, confirm babe magnet. Just flash yr name card.

ivanswk
post Aug 25 2011, 11:00 AM

+J
2,110 posts

QUOTE(kinwing @ Aug 25 2011, 10:54 AM)
but I am kind of lazy of walking out from my comfortzone now, anyway will try to apply Sg jobs again this week from jobsdb, jobstreet and efinancier.
then think carefully, cause other than the currency, Sg dun have much to offer tongue.gif

kinwing
post Aug 25 2011, 11:02 AM

559 posts

QUOTE(Tigerr @ Aug 25 2011, 10:50 AM)
Whose fault at this??? While never learn up Chinese and not only DBS, China Banks and all those chinese companies and chinamen companies also he cannot work, if he cannot mix in with them.

You know how hard the Hongkies start to learn mandarin back in the 80-90s when China received back Hong Kong and the Hongkies start to venture into China and now many of them have become so successful. You can hear all sort of broken mandarin when those Hongkies speak mandarin with the chinese. Also, you see those Chinese when come to Hong Kong, how they start to learn Cantonese.

Same as many brothers that i know when they went to Thailand to work and they can pick up and now able to speak a fluent Thai language. Never let language be a barrier to your carrier and somemore if you are a chinese yourself.  icon_idea.gif
lol...My friend told me old dog cannot learn new tricks liao sweat.gif He totally has no basic in any chinese language including dialect, even he in KL also hardly see him he speaks Cantonese but he is still doing fine in KL, of course not in an environment that only speak chinese loh. Or put it this way, I just treat my friend as other race like Malay or Indian who don't speak chinese at all, can't blame him due to the way and environment he was bringing up.
Tigerr
post Aug 25 2011, 11:02 AM

3,033 posts

QUOTE(ivanswk @ Aug 25 2011, 11:00 AM)
then think carefully, cause other than the currency, Sg dun have much to offer  tongue.gif
Not really true, they have lots of money sucker babes...... tongue.gif

125 Pages « < 9 10 11 12 13 > » Top

0.0271sec    0.15    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 02:46 AM