Working in Singapore v8, Tan vs Tan vs Tan vs Tan

ivanswk
post Sep 23 2011, 08:53 AM

+J
2,110 posts

QUOTE(ch_teo @ Sep 23 2011, 08:00 AM)
or something else ... sweat.gif

Police found the bodies of a dead woman and a young boy floating in Bedok Reservoir this morning at around 7am. They are believed to be the mother and son who were reported missing since Tuesday (Sep 20).

This is the second incident of bodies found in Bedok Reservoir. Earlier this year, a PUB worker discovered the lower half of a Chinese national's body floating in the water.

The two bodies discovered today (Sep 22) are believed to be that of Tan Sze Sze, 32, and her three-year-old son Jerald Chin Le Hui, who were were last seen in Clementi Central on Tuesday morning.

According to a local news broadcaster, both were wearing red tops when their bodies were found in the Reservoir.

Police said they received a call at around 7am today. The pair were pronounced dead about 10 minutes later.

The case has been classified as unnatural death and police are investigating.

STOMPer Evan commented:

"I think there is a trend of dead bodies in Singapore, now after the Chinese man, there is another tragedy.

"I would like to urge Singaporeans to treasure their lives and be careful."

This is the ninth case of dead bodies found floating in waterways and reservoirs in Singapore this year.

http://singaporeseen.stomp.com.sg/stomp/sg...d_floating.html

Added on September 23, 2011, 8:55 amLowyatnet Ivan commented rolleyes.gif
"I would like to urge Malaysians to treasure their lives and be careful."

This post has been edited by ivanswk: Sep 23 2011, 08:55 AM
yinyum
post Sep 23 2011, 08:57 AM

357 posts

is "try to avoid" and is not "why cannot".  smile.gif
E.g. if you filter is supposed to remove bacteria and yet more bacteria is showing up in your filtered water (effluent), suspect that your filter is failing you.

Added on September 23, 2011, 8:02 am
hv been driving MY no plate nearing around 1.5 years with EP. my previous boss drove for 3 years plus with EP.
Hmmm, but if really wanna follow the law, is not supposed to right? sweat.gif

Everybody here, pls be my witness. Me and Lester saw Ferdinand in the office just now, 1st day reporting in... And he said he would buy us both lunch. tongue.gif
keelim
post Sep 23 2011, 09:00 AM

941 posts

A more comprehensive report is available in the news today. Apparently, the women is suffering from marital problems.

The adults always fail to see that children is the innocent subject in marital woes. It is very unfortunate that the mother irresponsibly decided to drag his son along.

This post has been edited by keelim: Sep 23 2011, 09:01 AM
wickedghost
post Sep 23 2011, 09:04 AM

359 posts

Anyone heard of dynamac engineering services before?doing FPSO and semisubs....any comment on this co.?

Appreciated if any commencts =)
Lester1987
post Sep 23 2011, 09:09 AM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(yinyum @ Sep 23 2011, 08:57 AM)
Hmmm, but if really wanna follow the law, is not supposed to right?  sweat.gif

Everybody here, pls be my witness. Me and Lester saw Ferdinand in the office just now, 1st day reporting in... And he said he would buy us both lunch. tongue.gif
i tak kenal her 1... ppl 1st day work here. she go "wat" ppl belanja lunch...

if follow the law, u are not suppose to. but Singapore TP never check Malaysian car. But legally, ur driving license is only valid for 1 year.
Mackiddo
post Sep 23 2011, 09:21 AM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

hv been driving MY no plate nearing around 1.5 years with EP. my previous boss drove for 3 years plus with EP.
good, if nothing happen rclxms.gif . it's a tricky situation if involve in accident and the insurance company refused to pay
crapp0
post Sep 23 2011, 09:22 AM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(yinyum @ Sep 22 2011, 06:46 PM)
Then me??? Low class also? shocking.gif

But I'm definitely one of the low income labor compare to you all here =(
What would you consider as "low" income?
Mackiddo
post Sep 23 2011, 09:23 AM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(yinyum @ Sep 23 2011, 08:57 AM)
well you know the drill, pix or ....

Added on September 23, 2011, 9:24 am
QUOTE(crapp0 @ Sep 23 2011, 09:22 AM)
What would you consider as "low" income?
most probably < SGD$4k per month ? her standard quite high one.

This post has been edited by Mackiddo: Sep 23 2011, 09:24 AM
r1v3r
post Sep 23 2011, 09:25 AM

1,305 posts

QUOTE(keelim @ Sep 22 2011, 06:30 PM)
Looks like Sgd is under 'attack.'
Hope it is short term and the rate recover by year end. Need to change some money.
yinyum
post Sep 23 2011, 09:25 AM

357 posts

QUOTE(Mackiddo @ Sep 23 2011, 09:23 AM)
well you know the drill, pix or ....

Added on September 23, 2011, 9:24 am
most probably < SGD$4k per month ? her standard quite high one.
Eh David?! How u know?! ya la preferably 3.5 or 4k above per month tongue.gif I'm staying in the comfort zone now, I think it's time to move out from it.

U want drill? LOL, I ask him check in on FB with me la tongue.gif
Mackiddo
post Sep 23 2011, 09:29 AM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(r1v3r @ Sep 23 2011, 09:25 AM)
Hope it is short term and the rate recover by year end. Need to change some money.
i've exchanged some and gonna burn it in KL this few days tongue.gif

Added on September 23, 2011, 9:32 am
QUOTE(yinyum @ Sep 23 2011, 09:25 AM)
Eh David?! How u know?! ya la preferably 3.5 or 4k above per month tongue.gif I'm staying in the comfort zone now, I think it's time to move out from it.

I am David.
You are absolutely right, one should not stay in the comfort zone for too long. I mean if there's limited opportunity to move up then it's time to move out !

This post has been edited by Mackiddo: Sep 23 2011, 09:32 AM
wengfreedom
post Sep 23 2011, 09:35 AM

33 posts

QUOTE(yinyum @ Sep 23 2011, 12:41 AM)
Silver value is dropping drastically! Quickly buy in if possible tongue.gif

Hey guys, wanna ask some questions. We cannot get International driving (car) license anymore? EP holder work here more than a year, cannot drive MY registered car in SG?
yeah, I agree to buy silver now. 36USD per ounce.

UOB is not selling physical silver but with passbook.

Anyone bought from SilverBullion at paya lebar?

Added on September 23, 2011, 9:40 amHello everyone, actually im still new to Singapore.

Anyone stay nearby Ang Mo kio? Trying to meet some new friends.

Let me introduce myself first. Call me Lucas, 23yrs old, working as peoject engineer in M&E field.

This post has been edited by wengfreedom: Sep 23 2011, 09:40 AM
ivanswk
post Sep 23 2011, 09:40 AM

+J
2,110 posts

QUOTE(Mackiddo @ Sep 23 2011, 09:29 AM)
one should not stay in the comfort zone for too long. I mean if there's limited opportunity to move up then it's time to move out !
agree thumbup.gif
some people hang to big co name and stability of the co,
end of the day fail to realize their own advancement
the co is good, but then there is noting for u sweat.gif

crapp0
post Sep 23 2011, 09:49 AM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(yinyum @ Sep 23 2011, 09:25 AM)

It also depends on the years of experience you have and relevant qualifications which gives you the position to ask for a much higher salary base.

If you want high salary and not so concerned about working outside. I met a young german woman who's working for kongsberg maritime doing maintenance and calibration on DPS systems on oil rigs.

L7Awesome
post Sep 23 2011, 10:24 AM

418 posts

is "try to avoid" and is not "why cannot".  smile.gif
E.g. if you filter is supposed to remove bacteria and yet more bacteria is showing up in your filtered water (effluent), suspect that your filter is failing you.

Added on September 23, 2011, 8:02 am
ch_teo,
Did you change ur license to SG or remain as MY during these time?

Added on September 23, 2011, 10:30 am
QUOTE(Mackiddo @ Sep 23 2011, 09:29 AM)
i've exchanged some and gonna burn it in KL this few days  tongue.gif

Added on September 23, 2011, 9:32 am

I am David.
You are absolutely right, one should not stay in the comfort zone for too long. I mean if there's limited opportunity to move up then it's time to move out !
Somehow when I exchange SGD to RM, it burnt up very fast... super fast. Somehow, things in KL are a lot more expensive nowadays... sigh...

This post has been edited by L7Awesome: Sep 23 2011, 10:30 AM
crapp0
post Sep 23 2011, 11:11 AM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(L7Awesome @ Sep 23 2011, 10:24 AM)
ch_teo,
  Did you change ur license to SG or remain as MY during these time?

Added on September 23, 2011, 10:30 am
Somehow when I exchange SGD to RM, it burnt up very fast... super fast.  Somehow, things in KL are a lot more expensive nowadays... sigh...
Thats coz you go yum cha and spend like crazy.
yinyum
post Sep 23 2011, 11:20 AM

357 posts

QUOTE(crapp0 @ Sep 23 2011, 09:49 AM)
It also depends on the years of experience you have and relevant qualifications which gives you the position to ask for a much higher salary base.

If you want high salary and not so concerned about working outside. I met a young german woman who's working for kongsberg maritime doing maintenance and calibration on DPS systems on oil rigs.
High salary? how high? But I do not have any skills on this sector sweat.gif
ch_teo
post Sep 23 2011, 12:52 PM

809 posts

LTA

"Any work pass holder, who is neither a Singapore Permanent Resident (SPR) nor a resident of Singapore, may drive a foreign-registered car and motorcycle in Singapore only if ALL these conditions are met:
a) he is the registered owner of the vehicle ;
b) he resides outside Singapore;
c) the vehicle is kept or used outside Singapore for a total period of 6 hours or more everyday ;
d) he has a valid insurance certificate and road tax for the use of the vehicle on Singapore roads ; and
e) the vehicle has an Autopass Card to validate its entry/exit at Woodlands and Tuas checkpoints and for payment of Vehicle Entry Permit/Toll charges.

Please note that a work pass holder who is also a SPR or resident of Singapore is not allowed to drive a foreign-registered vehicle in Singapore."

SG Mart

"You should convert your foreign driving licence to a local version within twelve months if you possess an Employment Pass / Student Pass / Dependent Pass / Work Permit and intend to remain and drive in Singapore for more than twelve months."

This post has been edited by ch_teo: Sep 23 2011, 01:03 PM
yinyum
post Sep 23 2011, 01:04 PM

357 posts

QUOTE(ch_teo @ Sep 23 2011, 12:52 PM)
LTA

"Any work pass holder, who is neither a Singapore Permanent Resident (SPR) nor a resident of Singapore, may drive a foreign-registered car and motorcycle in Singapore only if ALL these conditions are met:
a) he is the registered owner of the vehicle ;
b) he resides outside Singapore;
c) the vehicle is kept or used outside Singapore for a total period of 6 hours or more everyday ;
d) he has a valid insurance certificate and road tax for the use of the vehicle on Singapore roads ; and
e) the vehicle has an Autopass Card to validate its entry/exit at Woodlands and Tuas checkpoints and for payment of Vehicle Entry Permit/Toll charges.

Please note that a work pass holder who is also a SPR or resident of Singapore is not allowed to drive a foreign-registered vehicle in Singapore."

SG Mart

"You should convert your foreign driving licence to a local version within twelve months if you possess an Employment Pass / Student Pass / Dependent Pass / Work Permit and intend to remain and drive in Singapore for more than twelve months."
Thanks for you info!!! thumbup.gif
But I plan to drive in on Dec and January then I can drive back to KL for CNY rolleyes.gif
crapp0
post Sep 23 2011, 01:25 PM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(yinyum @ Sep 23 2011, 11:20 AM)
High salary? how high? But I do not have any skills on this sector  sweat.gif
Close to double what you stated in your previous post. But not many asian girls are willing to work in an outdoorsee field, or for that matter asian guys, too pampered and air-con dependent to function.

I usually tell myself that my work doubles up as a form of exercise to keep me in shape.

This post has been edited by crapp0: Sep 23 2011, 01:34 PM

125 Pages « < 51 52 53 54 55 > » Top

0.0263sec    0.38    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 11:33 PM