Working in Singapore v8, Tan vs Tan vs Tan vs Tan

yinyum
post Sep 20 2011, 02:57 PM

357 posts

Ya this morning when I was at Sengkang Station, I heard announcement that Circle line service is suspended due to power failure doh.gif
yinyum
post Sep 21 2011, 02:46 PM

357 posts

Hmmm, anyone here know the working life in Bloomberg SG?
yinyum
post Sep 22 2011, 12:29 AM

357 posts

At least some of you guys' office has coffee and some light snacks. But my office only hot water / pipe water & sibeh expensive cafe food (sucks till the max) every morning long Q, i see also sien.. Buy food from outside better... But soon there'll be new cafe area and heard that they will provide really good coffees, it's really good news for coffee drinker! biggrin.gif

QUOTE(Materazzi @ Sep 22 2011, 12:24 AM)
this is the policy of most company, they only give us increment of max 15%.
In my coy, all know if u want to have more salary then u have to provoke to resign.
My spv even tried to resign coz he got a position in oil coy but my FM asked him to stay by increase his salary
This trick still works nowadays??? How about American companies? They buy this trick? tongue.gif

This post has been edited by yinyum: Sep 22 2011, 12:32 AM
yinyum
post Sep 22 2011, 12:47 PM

357 posts

QUOTE(mercury8400 @ Sep 22 2011, 12:30 PM)
Unfortunately this trick cannot work if used by Foreigner. Coz employer know you are tied down by EP and all they need is to delay the cancellation of yr EP (or refuse to cancel) hence preventing the new company the new company to apply for you. So unless you get yr PR, yr current company can do a lot of monkey business behind you if you leave in a bad manner.
sad.gif sad.gif doh.gif doh.gif

But I don't plan to stay long in SG, so didn't think of applying PR. Hey mercury, you ever attended any LYN gatherings here?

Added on September 22, 2011, 12:50 pm
QUOTE(MsiaqweR @ Sep 22 2011, 09:44 AM)
Wah, why all discuss about pantry???

discuss about office toilet better loh... my toilet is as nice as kopitiam toilet. only washed once a week.
Because I was asking things about Bloomberg and all they mentioned is just the pantry. Pantry power there really superb!! rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by yinyum: Sep 22 2011, 12:50 PM
yinyum
post Sep 22 2011, 01:06 PM

357 posts

QUOTE(mercury8400 @ Sep 22 2011, 01:05 PM)
Why? I'll attend if you attend... wink.gif
blink.gif shocking.gif
I did attend last time! where were you? tongue.gif
yinyum
post Sep 22 2011, 01:50 PM

357 posts

QUOTE(siberfriend @ Sep 22 2011, 01:37 PM)
love their pantry a.k.a mini-convenient store... + awesome after-work party/event + cool colleague esp from sale team + pay is good + sick leave: no limit + etc...... smile.gif
Huh?! Sick leave no limit???!!!! This I have to ask my friend who is in HK Bloomberg, see is it really true.. But the pantry really superb!
yinyum
post Sep 22 2011, 02:06 PM

357 posts

QUOTE(Lester1987 @ Sep 22 2011, 02:04 PM)
if i get her to attend, u will attend?? i drag her from office to the gathering if u will attend smile.gif
everyone is so eager to meet u up. i believe that we can make it the biggest gathering ever smile.gif
Hmmm, want like this meh?? Even though I know u r 3 times bigger than me in size sweat.gif
yinyum
post Sep 22 2011, 04:16 PM

357 posts

QUOTE(wengfreedom @ Sep 22 2011, 03:13 PM)
Hi, anyone invest physical silver in SG. Any good dealer suggestion
My housemate bought and sold Silver last month (UOB), she earns $1k by buying $20k initially.
yinyum
post Sep 22 2011, 06:46 PM

357 posts

QUOTE(Lester1987 @ Sep 22 2011, 05:25 PM)
high class ppl like u should worry. low class WP worker like me got nothing to be afraid of.
Coz they can't dismiss ppl like us because they need us to run the business. but ppl that are highly paid. beware.
Then me??? Low class also? shocking.gif

But I'm definitely one of the low income labor compare to you all here =(
yinyum
post Sep 23 2011, 12:41 AM

357 posts

Silver value is dropping drastically! Quickly buy in if possible tongue.gif

Hey guys, wanna ask some questions. We cannot get International driving (car) license anymore? EP holder work here more than a year, cannot drive MY registered car in SG?
yinyum
post Sep 23 2011, 08:57 AM

357 posts

QUOTE(ch_teo @ Sep 23 2011, 08:00 AM)
is "try to avoid" and is not "why cannot".  smile.gif
E.g. if you filter is supposed to remove bacteria and yet more bacteria is showing up in your filtered water (effluent), suspect that your filter is failing you.

Added on September 23, 2011, 8:02 am
hv been driving MY no plate nearing around 1.5 years with EP. my previous boss drove for 3 years plus with EP.
Hmmm, but if really wanna follow the law, is not supposed to right? sweat.gif

Everybody here, pls be my witness. Me and Lester saw Ferdinand in the office just now, 1st day reporting in... And he said he would buy us both lunch. tongue.gif
yinyum
post Sep 23 2011, 09:25 AM

357 posts

QUOTE(Mackiddo @ Sep 23 2011, 09:23 AM)
well you know the drill, pix or ....

Added on September 23, 2011, 9:24 am
most probably < SGD$4k per month ? her standard quite high one.
Eh David?! How u know?! ya la preferably 3.5 or 4k above per month tongue.gif I'm staying in the comfort zone now, I think it's time to move out from it.

U want drill? LOL, I ask him check in on FB with me la tongue.gif
yinyum
post Sep 23 2011, 11:20 AM

357 posts

QUOTE(crapp0 @ Sep 23 2011, 09:49 AM)
It also depends on the years of experience you have and relevant qualifications which gives you the position to ask for a much higher salary base.

If you want high salary and not so concerned about working outside. I met a young german woman who's working for kongsberg maritime doing maintenance and calibration on DPS systems on oil rigs.
High salary? how high? But I do not have any skills on this sector sweat.gif
yinyum
post Sep 23 2011, 01:04 PM

357 posts

QUOTE(ch_teo @ Sep 23 2011, 12:52 PM)
LTA

"Any work pass holder, who is neither a Singapore Permanent Resident (SPR) nor a resident of Singapore, may drive a foreign-registered car and motorcycle in Singapore only if ALL these conditions are met:
a) he is the registered owner of the vehicle ;
b) he resides outside Singapore;
c) the vehicle is kept or used outside Singapore for a total period of 6 hours or more everyday ;
d) he has a valid insurance certificate and road tax for the use of the vehicle on Singapore roads ; and
e) the vehicle has an Autopass Card to validate its entry/exit at Woodlands and Tuas checkpoints and for payment of Vehicle Entry Permit/Toll charges.

Please note that a work pass holder who is also a SPR or resident of Singapore is not allowed to drive a foreign-registered vehicle in Singapore."

SG Mart

"You should convert your foreign driving licence to a local version within twelve months if you possess an Employment Pass / Student Pass / Dependent Pass / Work Permit and intend to remain and drive in Singapore for more than twelve months."
Thanks for you info!!! thumbup.gif
But I plan to drive in on Dec and January then I can drive back to KL for CNY rolleyes.gif
yinyum
post Sep 23 2011, 03:23 PM

357 posts

Hey guys!!!! Go gathering tomorrow??? tongue.gif

Added on September 23, 2011, 3:24 pmAiyak doh.gif Mackiddo going back KL this weekend doh.gif

This post has been edited by yinyum: Sep 23 2011, 03:24 PM
yinyum
post Sep 23 2011, 10:52 PM

357 posts

QUOTE(Materazzi @ Sep 23 2011, 09:39 PM)
girls' expectation is very high, see yinyum doesn't want a guy less than $4k..
I am working to get galz la..if not just can live at steady pace.
Har???? Wrong meh?! 4K is very little only.... sweat.gif Think about supporting family, some even need to support old parents as well. 4k really very man sui.. sweat.gif
yinyum
post Sep 23 2011, 11:23 PM

357 posts

QUOTE(Materazzi @ Sep 23 2011, 10:52 PM)
56 is ur retired age, or 62 in singapore, you cannot work forever, you want to accelearate ur career, better to start earlier.

Added on September 23, 2011, 10:57 pm

It's up to u girl. But my ideal type of gal look on my personality than money.
Btw, if u are pretty u can demand more, if u are not, then hope u can marry before u are on 30 yrs old.
And 4k SGD just enough for me to suppork family if wife is also working, average SG people earn 3k/month if u know. Don't look rich people, look many people are poor then u will be free..
doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif
I'm looking for both personality and money, ho mei? wink.gif

I just don't understand why you wanna compare to ppl who lower than u, if u compare to ppl earn lower than you, you feel happy and satisfy? Why don't compare to ppl who earn more than you and you should think how to achieve that? Why stay with what you having now and not trying to go further & achieve more? I only know that I shouldn't be contented while I'm still young. Stay hungry, stay foolish, this is what my 'BOSS' said tongue.gif
yinyum
post Sep 24 2011, 12:07 PM

357 posts

QUOTE(mercury8400 @ Sep 24 2011, 12:37 AM)
Generally i agree with you except for the bolded part. Otherwise you will end up used and abused......
Errr.... The term STAY FOOLISH simply means do not always think that you've learnt all and there's nothing more for you to learn. So by staying foolish, you're always willing to learn more and keep learning new things.
yinyum
post Sep 24 2011, 01:41 PM

357 posts

QUOTE(Materazzi @ Sep 24 2011, 12:09 PM)
can u elaborate what u have studied ?

Added on September 24, 2011, 12:12 pm
oh, c'mon girl, you just stayed foolish !! I would not stay in the coy if I stayed in the comfort zone, u have to move to another coy, can't u? it seems u work in stated owned coy
It seems? LOL... Did I know you in person? What made you judged me that way? Did I say something like I'm reluctant to move out from my comfort zone? I cannot brain this, pls enlighten me.
QUOTE(keelim @ Sep 24 2011, 12:16 PM)
When you're no longer a fresh grad, learning becomes a redundancy. You're expected to know it all or avert any awkward questions from clients like you know it all. I can't imagine saying "I dont know the answer to that." in front of clients. My boss will definitely be raging.
So before you reached the stage of knowing anything, you open yourself to any challenges and learn it along the way right? When you do not know, you ask or research by your own, this is what I meant stay foolish, don't tell me you know everything inside out even when you were just a fresh grad?
yinyum
post Sep 25 2011, 12:37 AM

357 posts

QUOTE(mercury8400 @ Sep 24 2011, 06:23 PM)
Then it should say STAY HUNGRY instead...
Stay foolish and stay hungry is a huge difference, you know..
So I assume you do not know the exact phrase? It's Stay Hungry, Stay Foolish

0.0241sec    1.00    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 01:39 AM