124 Pages « < 107 108 109 110 111 > » Bottom

Photography The Official Nikon Discussion thread V11, The Darth Vader troops !

fisherman10
post Sep 13 2011, 10:53 PM

1,372 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Sep 13 2011, 10:48 PM)
this is not the first time i'm hearing of a 18-200 dying.
so yea, best to bring it to nikon for a service.
Do you know anything about the pricing on sending "no more warranty" stuffs to nikon? like how much do they charge for checking, fixing n etc?
Everdying
post Sep 13 2011, 10:57 PM

Two is One and One is None.
30,735 posts

QUOTE(fisherman10 @ Sep 13 2011, 10:53 PM)
Do you know anything about the pricing on sending "no more warranty" stuffs to nikon? like how much do they charge for checking, fixing n etc?
expect somewhere between rm500-900+ for repairs.
checking i dunno, but i think there's a rm20 fee for a checkup before they quote a repair price.
fisherman10
post Sep 13 2011, 10:59 PM

1,372 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Sep 13 2011, 10:57 PM)
expect somewhere between rm500-900+ for repairs.
checking i dunno, but i think there's a rm20 fee for a checkup before they quote a repair price.
wow that expensive meh? I was expecting maybe just 100 to 200. cry.gif cry.gif
Everdying
post Sep 13 2011, 11:02 PM

Two is One and One is None.
30,735 posts

VR motor is not cheap.
but have u actually tried cleaning the lens contact points first?

fisherman10
post Sep 13 2011, 11:30 PM

1,372 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Sep 13 2011, 11:02 PM)
VR motor is not cheap.
but have u actually tried cleaning the lens contact points first?
1) I'll try cleaning it again later. The thing is, it's not the motor's not moving. it's like it doesnt stay float in the middle. i can see it moving up down up down when I hear the tak tak tak.

2) Does lens cleaning + servicing include regreasing the AF gears, motors?

gnome
post Sep 14 2011, 12:02 AM

- We game, do you? -
4,925 posts

QUOTE(fisherman10 @ Sep 13 2011, 10:59 PM)
wow that expensive meh? I was expecting maybe just 100 to 200.  cry.gif  cry.gif
lol RM100-200 can just cover the service charge...last time i send my 18105 lens for service also kena total RM535 and out of that amount RM135 is the service charge alone laugh.gif

This post has been edited by gnome: Sep 14 2011, 12:03 AM
gnome
post Sep 14 2011, 12:14 AM

- We game, do you? -
4,925 posts

QUOTE(KIEN18 @ Sep 13 2011, 09:06 PM)
Yesterday work... what you see?  brows.gif

IMO crop it like this looks better (but then wont see the custom bokeh la laugh.gif)

Did some edit to the contrast while at it too tongue.gif
fisherman10
post Sep 14 2011, 12:41 AM

1,372 posts

QUOTE(gnome @ Sep 14 2011, 12:02 AM)
lol RM100-200 can just cover the service charge...last time i send my 18105 lens for service also kena total RM535 and out of that amount RM135 is the service charge alone laugh.gif
service is just cleaning? anything else wrong with the lens?
gnome
post Sep 14 2011, 12:51 AM

- We game, do you? -
4,925 posts

QUOTE(fisherman10 @ Sep 14 2011, 12:41 AM)
service is just cleaning? anything else wrong with the lens?
Whoops should have stated earlier sorry. I sent my lens for zoom rubber ring replacement and ask them to check the focus and turns out one of the lens element inside the lens need to be changed so that's why cost RM535 tongue.gif
Isepunye
post Sep 14 2011, 01:36 AM

world famous isepunye
2,537 posts

kerja bulan lepas
Jeffbong 6 by IsePunye, on Flickr
FaezFarhan
post Sep 14 2011, 03:09 AM

United till I die!
3,435 posts

If buy the D700 now, is it good enough for another 2 years? Used the D90 for a year, I feel like I need an upgrade already sweat.gif
asrul
post Sep 14 2011, 06:49 AM

1,219 posts

QUOTE(asrul @ Sep 13 2011, 06:11 PM)
having a problem with my d80.
last time i checked my SC was about 30k.

few months after that, it was back to 700++ until now im using it, it was around 3k.

so basically total SC is about 33k- 34k.

anyone know whats the problem?
how much can i sell for the body only?
anyone?
a.ihsan
post Sep 14 2011, 08:30 AM

248 posts

QUOTE(FaezFarhan @ Sep 14 2011, 03:09 AM)
If buy the D700 now, is it good enough for another 2 years? Used the D90 for a year, I feel like I need an upgrade already sweat.gif
have you invested in some FX glass? if you haven't, I suggest you buy a couple of those first, then get the D700. it's a brilliant camera, no matter what the replacement can do. I feel like buying another one myself! it's just amazing, especially when coupled with some sweet, fast lenses. it should hold on its own provided you take good care of it. if you can't justify making a 'small' leap from a D90, save a lot more and get a D3s wink.gif

This post has been edited by a.ihsan: Sep 14 2011, 08:31 AM
celciuz
post Sep 14 2011, 08:56 AM

14,037 posts

D700 and D90 was a big leap for me at least. Its going from entry to semi pro. ;-)

Not only the sensor improved, the body handling and ergonomics is better too.
ifer
post Sep 14 2011, 09:36 AM

4,637 posts

eh i use quite a lot of live view when i am using the DSLR. it's mainly for manual focus with the camera attached on the tripod. autofocus has become not so accurate lately
TS0168257061
post Sep 14 2011, 10:27 AM

EimiFukada
14,242 posts

People can use 1dmark two for few years,more than d700 until now. Yet they still shoot good picture smile.gif
jchue73
post Sep 14 2011, 11:20 AM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(tplus1 @ Sep 13 2011, 09:05 PM)
i am on DX. so 50mm means around 80mm, while 85mm is 136mm right?

for half body portrait, 50mm lens should be better right?

guess i'll just search for a 50mm f1.4 for a try. thx
Just for info, bokeh on the 85mm f/1.4 is more beautiful and less harsh than compared to the 50mm f/1.4. Similar case too when comparing 24mm f/1.4 and 35mm f/1.4 bokeh which ironically the 24mm f/1.4 is more beautiful.

In my opinion, the most beautiful bokeh can be had from the 135mm f/2.0.

Bokeh aside, I think you should choose your lens focal length base on which is most comfortable to you. Pick them up and test them out. For studio work when bokeh is not important, the 50mm f/1.4 (or even the f/1.8G) should be fine as it's also the cheaper one.

QUOTE(0168257061 @ Sep 13 2011, 09:23 PM)
blink.gif  how come in so many intl sports even still so many canon wan ?
This is because of history. Canon was indeed ahead in the game before the D3 era with long lenses equipped with IS. Many photo agencies and newspapers already invested in a lot of Canon equipment. Changing to a new system is very costly.

QUOTE(a.ihsan @ Sep 14 2011, 08:30 AM)
have you invested in some FX glass? if you haven't, I suggest you buy a couple of those first, then get the D700. it's a brilliant camera, no matter what the replacement can do. I feel like buying another one myself! it's just amazing, especially when coupled with some sweet, fast lenses. it should hold on its own provided you take good care of it. if you can't justify making a 'small' leap from a D90, save a lot more and get a D3s wink.gif
Spot on. nod.gif

KIEN18
post Sep 14 2011, 11:24 AM

176 posts

QUOTE(tplus1 @ Sep 13 2011, 09:50 PM)
custom bokeh shots done on? my guess is 50mm f1.4?
yes, it is.. brows.gif

Added on September 14, 2011, 11:26 am
QUOTE(celciuz @ Sep 13 2011, 10:21 PM)
Busy background. If you want to do the love shape bokeh, try a night shoot with small lights behind smile.gif especially if it is colorful!
thanks for the comment...
will try it next time. = ) laugh.gif

This post has been edited by KIEN18: Sep 14 2011, 11:26 AM
freddy manson
post Sep 14 2011, 11:26 AM

ðñê hêll ð£ å gµ¥
4,858 posts

QUOTE(0168257061 @ Sep 14 2011, 10:27 AM)
People can use 1dmark two for few years,more than d700 until now. Yet they still shoot good picture  smile.gif
using d90 for a year u need upgrade;
after using d700 for 6 month sure u want to use d3s mah..
then after u ikat perut makan rumput, beli d3s then u still need upgrade?

upgrade the skills mah~
KIEN18
post Sep 14 2011, 11:27 AM

176 posts

QUOTE(gnome @ Sep 14 2011, 12:14 AM)
IMO crop it like this looks better (but then wont see the custom bokeh la laugh.gif)

Did some edit to the contrast while at it too tongue.gif
i want bokeh....
haha tongue.gif laugh.gif

124 Pages « < 107 108 109 110 111 > » Top

0.0270sec    0.39    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 02:50 PM