Photography The Official Nikon Discussion thread V11, The Darth Vader troops !

ifer
post Jul 19 2011, 08:43 AM

4,637 posts

QUOTE(kEazYc @ Jul 19 2011, 01:34 AM)
Pardon me but what's BG?  rclxub.gif
battery grip.
some will call it a vertical grip.
ifer
post Jul 19 2011, 12:14 PM

4,637 posts

the crop is not in the lens lerr babe
it's on the sensor

therefore, 35mm lens will always be a 35mm lens... but due to the smaller sensor size for DX sensor camera, the point of view is 'tighter/smaller'.

one can use the same 35mm lens for a micro 4/3 which has an even smaller sensor and the point of view is even tighter.

but it will still give you a view of 35mm
ifer
post Jul 19 2011, 01:41 PM

4,637 posts

you guys used/seen a projector before i assume.

the sensor is like the white screen on the wall.
the image of the projector is being created by the lens in the projector.

if you have a smaller white screen (DX sensor), what will happen?
if you have a bigger white screen (FX sensor), what will happen?

do bare in mind that the projector was projecting the same image using the same lens at the same focal length. hope this helps.
ifer
post Jul 20 2011, 04:36 PM

4,637 posts

QUOTE(KTCY @ Jul 20 2011, 02:57 PM)
Help me decide. 50mm or 35mm ?
Dining purpose use. laugh.gif
35mm lah.
or better still, 28mm.

on a side note: 35mm seems to be my normal lens now. based on FF.
35mm f1.4 i will get you end of this year (but which brand i dunno yet)
ifer
post Jul 20 2011, 11:34 PM

4,637 posts

QUOTE(jchue73 @ Jul 20 2011, 05:23 PM)
28mm f/2.8 or 28mm f/1.4?  shocking.gif That f/1.4 is almost non-existent now and besides, the new 24mm f/1.4 is much better at relatively cheaper prices.
Which brand? You're considering Samyang?

On a side note, I thought I saw some pics of you playing with the T/S lens. Is that correct?
eh, when? i mean the photo of me playing with a T/S lens.

as for the 35mm f1.4 it's either nikkor or canon or carl zeiss
it all depends on which next gen camera i am getting. but i really like the carl zeiss one. then it's a question of which mount.

i tried the 28 1.4 before. my friend's. but one of the glass element was cracked at the side. apparently it didnt affect image quality. it's a nice lens i guess but i don't know what's the hoohaa about it lol. maybe i was using it in a wrong way
ifer
post Jul 21 2011, 08:28 AM

4,637 posts

QUOTE(jchue73 @ Jul 21 2011, 01:35 AM)
Apparently digiloyd just posted a summary of his review of the new Zeiss lens with a D3X.

http://diglloyd.com/blog/2011/20110718_1-Z...4-examples.html
drool.gif

it's going to be my choice of lens for the canon and nikon as well. lol.
but i will have to test the nikon version first.
ifer
post Jul 22 2011, 11:16 AM

4,637 posts

i think comparing sharpness of the 24-70 and the 17-55 is like looking at angels dancing on a pin head. you will probably go blind.

ifer
post Jul 28 2011, 08:33 AM

4,637 posts

QUOTE(Agito666 @ Jul 26 2011, 11:36 PM)
hmm if the nikon EVIL cameara sensor is really small...hmmm

do you think they will make shoot it and direct upload to facebook? whistling.gif
because file size small mah... laugh.gif
my phone's camera can do that. don't have to get a new system.
ifer
post Aug 1 2011, 03:28 PM

4,637 posts

for those who are thinking of getting a D7000 + sb900, don't get it now.
nikon malaysia are giving them out for free.
3 units only though

nikon 10th anniversary

enjoy
ifer
post Aug 1 2011, 04:43 PM

4,637 posts

QUOTE(jchue73 @ Aug 1 2011, 04:33 PM)
I guess that is not a problem since it's advantageous if you know one of the judges.  biggrin.gif
*ahem*
ifer
post Aug 2 2011, 12:06 AM

4,637 posts

QUOTE(vearn27 @ Aug 1 2011, 05:34 PM)
ifer sifu, lai lets go yum cha biggrin.gif
i am not the judge this time round. i was one of them for the previous one (heartfelt moment)
there were 5 of us judges to ensure a balance sort of marks giving

but i can tell you that the images that i have seen on this forum, some of them at least, have potential leh
ifer
post Aug 4 2011, 03:26 PM

4,637 posts

QUOTE(Agito666 @ Aug 4 2011, 02:32 PM)
but then made in malaysia or japan will concern you that charge better or faster? unsure.gif
compatible then can charge liao lor XD. mixed up charger nothing big to afraid lor haha unless both voltage are not same like iphone and ipad wall charger.  whistling.gif

unless you mixed up with third party charger?  hmm.gif
i think made in malaysia charger will not fully charge your batteries whereas made in japan charger will fully charge your batteries tongue.gif
ifer
post Aug 4 2011, 03:37 PM

4,637 posts

QUOTE(Agito666 @ Aug 4 2011, 03:35 PM)
really got such things?  shocking.gif
hahaa
so sorry
i was just being sarcastic. it was meant to be a joke
ifer
post Aug 8 2011, 04:28 PM

4,637 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Aug 8 2011, 02:35 PM)
D3100 had to be released cos of pressure for movie mode.
D5100 had to be released cos the LCD swivel design sux.

i dont see how they going to upgrade the D7000 anytime soon tongue.gif
they haven't even replaced the d300s, d700 and d3s
and people here are expecting a replacement of the d7000?

internet age kids nowadays
ifer
post Aug 8 2011, 04:57 PM

4,637 posts

hahaa yeah
and if iphone 5 really was released in oct, come may people will ask when is iphone 6 coming out
ifer
post Aug 9 2011, 12:35 PM

4,637 posts

QUOTE(KIEN18 @ Aug 9 2011, 11:17 AM)
Actually how to do this?

she was david blaine's apprentice tongue.gif
ifer
post Aug 10 2011, 09:47 AM

4,637 posts

QUOTE(Andy214 @ Aug 10 2011, 09:34 AM)
Personally, what makes many people "wow" is the output what DSLR can produce at lowlight conditions; Let's say in an event, nowadays many people bring their expensive digital camera (let's forget about handphone); They took many photos; If your DSLR results output is more or less the same like theirs, but more clean and detail, it doesn't really make much difference; But if your DSLR output is like worlds apart difference, that's what makes people open their eyes.
i don't think there are any worlds apart difference between DSLR today, are there? well, it all depends on what media/medium you view the photographs from. if it's on your LCD screen, my phone camera is more than enough in producing good results. but then again, like what you have mentioned, it depends on the monitor and whether or not it's being calibrated or not.

if it's on print, there are even more things that one should consider.

all in all, if the photographs taken by one is as 'normal' as the 'relatives who take those photos also', then of course people will start to compare or nit pick on technical stuffs / noise level / white balance, etc.

nobody said iwan baan's architecture photographs are 'architecturally wrong' and the distortion is bad and stuffs like that. people only said that he is one of the better and more daring architecture photographers today
ifer
post Aug 10 2011, 10:23 AM

4,637 posts

what is WYSIWYG?
ifer
post Aug 10 2011, 10:28 AM

4,637 posts

QUOTE(razuryza @ Aug 10 2011, 10:25 AM)
what you see is what you get
ohh... then a photograph can never achieve the what you see is what you get effect
ifer
post Aug 10 2011, 11:37 AM

4,637 posts

for those who keep on seeing noise even at low iso setting

expose right

it's all about your exposure, behbey

0.0276sec    0.81    7 queries    GZIP Disabled