Working in Singapore v7

Jurlique
post Aug 14 2011, 12:23 AM

The Hajok
1,695 posts

QUOTE(jasonkwk @ Aug 13 2011, 11:05 PM)
thanks for the reply. my workplace is in clementi, i found 2 places one near jurong east , one near pioneer, pioneer one is cheaper $50 per month, PUB included, facilities almost the same, but transportation cost $16/m more if i stay in the one near pioneer.  is the time saving worth it based on your own experience.
How much is your rental then??
DaRKMiSt
post Aug 14 2011, 12:33 AM

216 posts

Guys, from your experience, do Singapore apply meritocracy during promotion? Or is it malaysians are doomed to be kuli for Singaporeans?
deodorant
post Aug 14 2011, 12:48 AM

Surfing LYN instead of Working.
5,691 posts

QUOTE(DaRKMiSt @ Aug 14 2011, 12:33 AM)
Guys, from your experience, do Singapore apply meritocracy during promotion? Or is it malaysians are doomed to be kuli for Singaporeans?

in my experience, india indian bosses will favoritism towards other india indians and equally discriminate against singaporeans and malaysians smile.gif
mercury8400
post Aug 14 2011, 12:49 AM

2,703 posts

QUOTE(Jurlique @ Aug 13 2011, 05:20 PM)
anyone buying SGX shares recently?
LOL! you missed the boat. It hit rock bottom on Thursday then staged a sharp rebound on Friday.
If there is no bad news over the weekends, i expect STI to move up to recoup some of the losses on Monday.
Even the DJI and NYSE index surged on Friday (night in SG). But of course, these days anything could happen....

Added on August 14, 2011, 12:50 am
QUOTE(RabbitS @ Aug 13 2011, 04:03 PM)
there's certainly somekind of justification for employers to pay them that much... smu only offers business degrees and singapore being more of a financial hub now which offers services that comes with higher profit margin, no doubt these people gets paid higher
I was "told" generally SMU students can present themselves better than say NTU Students or NUS students. I dunno though....it really depends on individual and not all position requires one to be able to present themselves...

Added on August 14, 2011, 12:59 am
QUOTE(deodorant @ Aug 12 2011, 01:10 PM)
neither. used to be in wholesale but moved to tech.
Great! My co is also going to shift to the black building in feb. Heard the food there is super duper expensive.
BTW i work in Chinatrust Commercial Bank in the Syndication team located currently in Raffles Place. haih...no more cheap food at market street foodcourt, etc....

This post has been edited by mercury8400: Aug 14 2011, 12:59 AM
seantang
post Aug 14 2011, 09:29 PM

With Adult Supervision Only
6,624 posts

Lee Hsien Loong's giving his English national day speech right now. The number of WPs and lower end EPs will be further restricted. Proportion of uni places for foreigners will progressively reduce.
RabbitS
post Aug 14 2011, 09:53 PM

204 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Aug 14 2011, 09:29 PM)
Lee Hsien Loong's giving his English national day speech right now. The number of WPs and lower end EPs will be further restricted. Proportion of uni places for foreigners will progressively reduce.
oh mai... bad news... i think pr chances will also be affected cry.gif good for those holding pr now
r1v3r
post Aug 14 2011, 09:55 PM

1,305 posts

Salary limit for wp will be raise again soon. ( so salary increment for you?)

Requirement for wp and PR raised

Uni places for Singaporean increase by 2k by 2015 while number of foreign student will be capped. Will be lower than the currently 18%.

New cpf rule will be announce soon. For the out patient coverage and maybe hdb purchase limit.
venicelim
post Aug 14 2011, 09:59 PM

330 posts

oh my...
Pray hard for my current TEP application..
cry.gif

Added on August 14, 2011, 10:02 pm
QUOTE(r1v3r @ Aug 14 2011, 09:55 PM)
Salary limit for wp will be raise again soon. ( so salary increment for you?)

Requirement for wp and PR raised

Uni places for Singaporean increase by 2k by 2015 while number of foreign student will be capped. Will be lower than the currently  18%.

New cpf rule will be announce soon. For the out patient coverage and maybe hdb purchase limit.
WP ard $2000, wana increase somemore?

http://www.reach.gov.sg/YourSay/Discussion...x?ssFormAction=[[ssBlogThread_VIEW]]&tid=[[3726]]#top
PM Lee shared that MOM will further tighten measures on the middle range of foreign workers, including raising the salary thresholds for Employment Passes and tightening the educational qualifications. The Ministry of Manpower (MOM) will work together with tripartite partners to develop guidelines for fair and responsible recruitment and employment practices. More details will be announced by MOM soon.

I think only EP is mentioned, right?

Looks like it's getting tougher and tougher now. doh.gif

This post has been edited by venicelim: Aug 14 2011, 10:10 PM
ThanatosSwiftfire
post Aug 14 2011, 10:43 PM

Irregular
2,787 posts

Looks like SG just put another obstacle on my jobhunt. *sigh*
r1v3r
post Aug 14 2011, 11:10 PM

1,305 posts

In his speech, he mentioned new measures are targeted to mid-lower salary range of FT. So expat no worry.
SUSkockroach
post Aug 14 2011, 11:12 PM

Certified Noob
3,256 posts

QUOTE(RabbitS @ Aug 14 2011, 08:53 PM)
oh mai... bad news... i think pr chances will also be affected  cry.gif  good for those holding pr now
If I am the government, when all eyes on WP/EP requirement, I will take this opportunity to increase the number of PR.

r1v3r
post Aug 14 2011, 11:15 PM

1,305 posts

Side note: yesterday paper adv. Aetos police hiring malaysian spm holder up to $2800 starting pay. Let's see will next week paper adv $3k for same post.
RabbitS
post Aug 15 2011, 12:14 AM

204 posts

QUOTE(r1v3r @ Aug 14 2011, 11:10 PM)
In his speech, he mentioned new measures are targeted to mid-lower salary range of FT. So expat no worry.
we are all within mid-lower cry.gif
QUOTE(kockroach @ Aug 14 2011, 11:12 PM)
If I am the government, when all eyes on WP/EP requirement, I will take this opportunity to increase the number of PR.
doubt they will be that way cry.gif every month we can monitor from the dept of statistics.. less and less since they hit 5 mill pop.. only hope now is for their birth rate to drop then they have no choice laugh.gif
QUOTE(r1v3r @ Aug 14 2011, 11:15 PM)
Side note: yesterday paper adv. Aetos police hiring malaysian spm holder up to $2800 starting pay.  Let's see will next week paper adv $3k for same post.
is that in sgd? shocking.gif

but i heard their working hours is usually 12 hours
washabushi
post Aug 15 2011, 05:09 AM

pandu cepat mati selamat
1,678 posts

QUOTE(tayhaithian @ Aug 13 2011, 07:34 AM)
Was a great dinner yesterday. Thanks to everyone who joined.  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif
Wait till next time I'm not working n I'm wearing my adidas shoe
Aloong
post Aug 15 2011, 09:50 AM

484 posts

QUOTE(RabbitS @ Aug 14 2011, 09:53 PM)
oh mai... bad news... i think pr chances will also be affected  cry.gif  good for those holding pr now
I agree with you a.bunny...opps sorry i meant RabbitS. Looks like the PR chances is "cooler than water".
Nid to pray more in the month of ghost.

Added on August 15, 2011, 9:55 am
QUOTE(washabushi @ Aug 15 2011, 05:09 AM)
Wait till next time I'm not working n I'm wearing my adidas shoe
or u can wear a skirt.. brows.gif discrimination to guys.. rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by Aloong: Aug 15 2011, 09:55 AM
Laine
post Aug 15 2011, 10:22 AM

325 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Aug 14 2011, 12:48 AM)
in my experience, india indian bosses will favoritism towards other india indians and equally discriminate against singaporeans and malaysians smile.gif
WOW! Can't agree more! As I am one of the victim... sad.gif
wseng
post Aug 15 2011, 11:52 AM

270 posts

QUOTE(r1v3r @ Aug 14 2011, 11:15 PM)
Side note: yesterday paper adv. Aetos police hiring malaysian spm holder up to $2800 starting pay.  Let's see will next week paper adv $3k for same post.
Just wanna check with those EP holders.. if previously u are employed with the $2500 basic, they raised to $2800 .. what will happen if your salary still in 2500 range with no increment. Will they do something with the EP when time comes for renewal ? or will be WP directly ?

Anyone with first hand experience?..
xyyz
post Aug 15 2011, 11:53 AM

70 posts

man!! my EP appeal is already submitted for 3 weeks but no news yet!! this is so killing me! does anyone know what are the chances for me to get the EP successfully?? This is taking much longer than I thought.

This post has been edited by xyyz: Aug 15 2011, 12:02 PM
maloa
post Aug 15 2011, 12:00 PM

218 posts

QUOTE(Aloong @ Aug 15 2011, 09:50 AM)
I agree with you a.bunny...opps sorry i meant RabbitS. Looks like the PR chances is "cooler than water".
Nid to pray more in the month of ghost.

Added on August 15, 2011, 9:55 am

or u can wear a skirt.. brows.gif  discrimination to guys.. rclxms.gif
bro...
LOL

lets ask for 4d drool.gif
Lester1987
post Aug 15 2011, 12:08 PM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(xyyz @ Aug 15 2011, 11:53 AM)
man!! my EP appeal is already submitted for 3 weeks but no news yet!! this is so killing me! does anyone know what are the chances for me to get the EP successfully?? This is taking much longer than I thought.
did u check in the website provided by another forumer? what is the status there?

126 Pages « < 106 107 108 109 110 > » Top

0.0290sec    0.29    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 09:03 PM