For those who is interested to go back KL this week, I am driving back on friday midnight (after our gathering) and come back on sunday after lunch. So can pm me if wanna share.
Working in Singapore v7
Jul 6 2011, 09:23 AM
2,017 posts Joined: Jan 2007 |
For those who is interested to go back KL this week, I am driving back on friday midnight (after our gathering) and come back on sunday after lunch. So can pm me if wanna share.
Jul 6 2011, 10:06 AM
QUOTE(danny_ptlm @ Jul 6 2011, 10:03 AM) Why this week ? haha, i also expect jam, if no ppl following my car, i will go back on my bike. Avoid traffic jam and save cost I go back next week..15 july night... Didnt go back this week because scared traffic jam caused by the Bersih... For sure a massive jam~ |
Jul 6 2011, 10:18 AM
QUOTE(MsiaqweR @ Jul 6 2011, 10:07 AM) nothing wrong with that, if i cruise 120kph on a bike, same with car speed ma. only thing is need to pump petrol when reach yong peng area.QUOTE(tayhaithian @ Jul 6 2011, 10:09 AM) got smth to do la, so have to go back.QUOTE(paranoid @ Jul 6 2011, 10:12 AM) dont choose this week if you're not going for rally, sure mega jam. not going for the rally, but i need to help my cousin carry her shirt back to SG.dont think the rally would be canceled la.. change venue d ma.. |
Jul 6 2011, 05:42 PM
QUOTE(danny_ptlm @ Jul 6 2011, 01:33 PM) sure, if i dun appear here anymore, then u all prepare more "white gold" to donate me ya..my bike only 178cc. Modenas Elegan 200 speed can go around 140-150kph la, but if wanna maintain below redline, then 110-120kph lo. |
Jul 6 2011, 06:00 PM
QUOTE(seantang @ Jul 6 2011, 05:52 PM) Generally, the problem is not whether your bike is in good condition or not. It's whether the car, bus or truck that flattens you was. nvm, i got colleague wanna go back as well. so i will be driving Anyway, ride safe. |
Jul 7 2011, 09:29 AM
We are going Melaka on the 16th (next saturday), who is on??
refer here http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1889740 would like to meet some new people also coz our gathering always see that few faces. |
Jul 7 2011, 10:47 AM
QUOTE(keelim @ Jul 7 2011, 10:22 AM) Guys, 1. Anyone been to JPJ (JB) at the following address?Need some help with regards to JPJ (JB). I am required to drive in NZ and need a driving license in English. I have 2 options with me at the moment. (i) Get a Singapore driving license. This option is a bit challenging given that I need to travel in Aug, and the soonest available slot for Basic Theory Test is in Sept. I may get lucky if someone decided to postpone his test date. (ii) Alternatively, I can travel to JPJ (JB) and get an International Driving Permit (IDP). http://portal.jpj.gov.my/index.php?option=...emid=41〈=en My questions are:- 1. Anyone been to JPJ (JB) at the following address? Jabatan Pengangkutan Jalan Negeri Johor Kompleks JPJ , Taman Daya 80990Johor Bahru 2. Any access via public transport? 3. Seeking for confirmation that they are closed on Saturday. 4. As I am having multiple Malaysia driving licenses (1 expired, 2 renewals from post office), I wished to combine them into a single card. Hence, I need to take driving license photo in Sg/JB, preferably Sg. This is understood to be different from our Msia passport photo dimensions. Which photography shop offers such services? 5. Any "hidden" cost from combining my driving license / IDP? Thanks. Jabatan Pengangkutan Jalan Negeri Johor Kompleks JPJ , Taman Daya 80990Johor Bahru Me 2. Any access via public transport? No, mayb there are bus but JB bus are hopeless, take a cab, should be around RM15-RM20. 3. Seeking for confirmation that they are closed on Saturday. call them and ask 07-3606060 4. As I am having multiple Malaysia driving licenses (1 expired, 2 renewals from post office), I wished to combine them into a single card. Hence, I need to take driving license photo in Sg/JB, preferably Sg. This is understood to be different from our Msia passport photo dimensions. Which photography shop offers such services? They dun accept SG passport photo. in Malaysia, its called IC photo, not passport photo and the background must be blue. take it in JB is better 5. Any "hidden" cost from combining my driving license / IDP? not really sure |
Jul 8 2011, 11:41 AM
QUOTE(WyjSwmW @ Jul 8 2011, 11:02 AM) It's not an easy decision despite we earn 2.4 times more. Some maybe broke-up with her gf bcos he leave for SGYou need to give-up alot of things. Some maybe broke-up with her gf bcos he leave for SG Some maybe need to forgone the opportunity costs of his car in Msia while working in SG Some maybe cannot enjoy our lovely nasi lemak + teh tarik while in Msia Some maybe lost alot of friends and start all over again in SG Some maybe feel homesick Some maybe need to stay away with his/her parents and his/her lovely pet dog. On the other hand, you will be compensated with a 2.4 times more salaries than your friends working in Malaysia. While you back in Malaysia, for instance (I just quoting an example) you will be eating a loaf of bread bought from Delifrance while your friend could just be eating a loaf of bread bought from Gardenia. Or you can afford a brand new Samsung Galaxy S II while your friend is still using just a Vivaz (and it's 2nd hand oso). So, can you afford to exchange those intangible factors mentioned above to a more monetary asset? No Gf in KL, so not a problem, trying to fish JB mm Some maybe need to forgone the opportunity costs of his car in Msia while working in SG Used to, but i moved to JB, can enjoy my car and also drive it into SG when needed Some maybe cannot enjoy our lovely nasi lemak + teh tarik while in Msia Stay in JB, their Malay food is superb, even better than those in KL. but chinese food just slightly better than SG Some maybe lost alot of friends and start all over again in SG Nope, i still keep in touch with them, go back KL once a month since got car. its just 3 hours away. Some maybe feel homesick Not really, nothing much to be sick about, can go back if u feel sien Some maybe need to stay away with his/her parents and his/her lovely pet dog. Dun see my mom is better than see, see her only she will start nag nag nag nag, dam sien. Basically all those can be compensated if u stay in JB and work in SG. just need to sacrifice on your travel time. |
Jul 8 2011, 04:08 PM
QUOTE(advocado @ Jul 8 2011, 03:57 PM) JB got nice MM meh? Compared to SG & KL... JB girls are less materialistic compare to KL&SG. Even they don't look that good, but for me, its the heart that counts. JB got nice Malay Food meh? Give recommendation pls... Meldrum road there not bad ar. near my house (Johor Jaya) the Satay also not bad. You are one of those people who enjoy government subsidies while not contributing a single cent to the country! Worst than those legal indon workers who pay tax. I pay RoadTax for my car and Bike, I pay Gov Service Tax when i eat Mc.D, I pay the RM50 CC tax (i have 4 cards, its RM200) that Najib impose. I pay all the tax that gov impose, only thing is i dun pay income tax. How many Malaysian that work in Malaysia at my age actually pay income tax?. |
Jul 8 2011, 05:10 PM
QUOTE(danny_ptlm @ Jul 8 2011, 04:49 PM) after the maintenance last Thursday..officially har?? they enforce it already? my company was applying an upgrade for me from S pass to EP coz my increment just ngam ngam hit the EP range.S-Pass salary from $1800 , to $2000 E Pass salary from $2500 to $ 2800 Feel free to ask increment from your company.. Haha means now no nid hope the EP will approve d? |
Jul 13 2011, 08:52 AM
QUOTE(vincent3 @ Jul 12 2011, 11:36 PM) Hi every bodies, My friend fresh grad from NUS only gets 2.6k basic working in 1 of the big 4. If u are from a Malaysia uni, I think sg employers will choose those that grad from sg uni over u.i just graduate from U and majoring in mechanical. My result is 3.6 out of 4. through jobstreet and jobsdb i had send out many resume unfortunately din get any replies from the company i applied. What is my problem? expected salary that i put is 2.6k. the salary i put is too high??? any one can help?? |
Jul 13 2011, 11:22 PM
Just to clarify u guys though on cars and driving license.
Driving license. A work pass holder can drive their Malaysian car in with their Malaysian license no matter how long u have worked here. But you can only drive a SG registered car with ur Malaysian license for the 1st year. Bringing in ur foreign vehicle. You can bring in a foreign vehicle into SG but the car must leave the country 6 hours a day. that is the written rule. the unwritten rule is your car can stay in SG for 1 week. after 1 week must leave and enter again. This unwritten rule is like the cigarette thing, so not much ppl know about this. I asked the LTA officer at Woodlands checkpoint before. so i know. |
Jul 14 2011, 12:10 AM
QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ Jul 13 2011, 11:40 PM) my residential address in MOM record shows that I am staying in Bishan (my aunty house), but i am riding my bike in and out daily for 8-9 months d.LTA definitely have my records, so if they wanna catch, I am in deep shyt d. that's why i say. there are unwritten rules there. u can say that when bring it to court, u will lose, but that the norm practice that they do at the check point. I have a colleague that drive his Malaysia car in once in a while also. because he go back Melaka every week, so there was once that he bring his car into SG for the whole week, no problem as well. PS : most importantly, you were not guilty unless you are caught. |
Jul 14 2011, 09:16 AM
QUOTE(deodorant @ Jul 14 2011, 09:08 AM) I torrent 1 whole year when i was staying in SG previously, on average, 1 month i DL about 60-70GB. but i DL TVB dramas and also some blueray quality movies la.They say the authority will catch music and anime DL very strict. others they are a but lenient. |
Jul 14 2011, 11:11 AM
QUOTE(Mackiddo @ Jul 14 2011, 10:41 AM) It all boils down to where is your work place and where you going to stay in JB. If your work place in Jurong and you stay in places like Tmn Pelangi in JB, it's actually nearer that traveling to Sengkang or Punggol. Another factor is the traveling time, shift work timing unlikely to encounter jam at checkpoint but office work might. traffic for bikes is getting from bad to worst now at woodlands during office hours. really hope my dept will start a shift job asap so i can volunteer to do shift. |
Jul 19 2011, 12:41 PM
QUOTE(Mackiddo @ Jul 19 2011, 12:11 PM) you could but i heard bike insurance are pretty expensive here, around SGD1K+/year, almost same like low cc car. » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « Bike insurance actually depends on the number of riding experience u had. to lower down the insurance cost, convert ur license early. I got a colleague, riding a 650cc bike. he got 7 years riding experience. his insurance only around $400. road tax around $300+ |
Jul 20 2011, 03:35 PM
Jul 21 2011, 03:49 PM
come on la Tigerr. u are just lucky that the JPJ officer din cut your license. Some officer won't cut it. but they will blacklist ur license and u can't renew it.
I went to JB JPJ and asked b4 la. if u want to keep your Malaysia license without kena blacklist, Please pay RM200 kopi money. true story. bcoz i have no $$ that time. so i din take the letter until now. |
Jul 22 2011, 10:03 AM
QUOTE(MPIK @ Jul 22 2011, 09:55 AM) I wonder how many of you intend to:- can i add in option (E)?(A) stay and work in SG short term for 3 to 5 years or PR wins the next GE and will be announce the new federal government. (B) stay and work in SG mid-term for 5 to 10 years regardless what will happen unless SG got an earthquake. © stay and work in SG long-term for 10 years & above or as long as RM2.40 = $1.00 (D) stay, start a family, raise ur children and work in SG till retirement... I only falls into category (A) bcos too much commitment back at my hometown. stay in JB and work in SG for long term 10years & above. start a family and raise my children until retirement. |
Jul 23 2011, 09:20 AM
QUOTE(wseng @ Jul 23 2011, 01:59 AM) Anyone here driving SG car and selling ? or you know of any friends selling ? Looking for some car in the range of 650-750 SGD per month. Prefers japanese make. u can try to ask kockcoach, he is driving a Mazda 3 and he is leaving for Vietnam. He did told us that he wants to sell it coz he won't be using it. |
| Change to: | 0.0208sec
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 01:22 AM |