Working in Singapore v7

seantang
post Jul 6 2011, 10:31 AM

With Adult Supervision Only
6,624 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Jul 6 2011, 10:02 AM)
@yiivei: i think my tax consultant told me that it's 183 working days, not 180 working days + 25 living-in-singapore-on-tourist-visa days.
It's the number of days you're physically in Singapore according to your immigration entry and exit dates. And you can combine the days from different trips in/out of Singapore.

seantang
post Jul 6 2011, 05:50 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(WyjSwmW @ Jul 6 2011, 04:29 PM)
I got an offer at the SPH as an financial analyst. They offer me $K, should I accept it?
Without revealing how much $K, you ask if you should accept? What kind of answers are you expecting?

seantang
post Jul 6 2011, 05:52 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(Lester1987 @ Jul 6 2011, 05:42 PM)
my bike only 178cc. Modenas Elegan 200 smile.gif, quite new bike la, and i service it regularly. tip top condition, should be no prob.
speed can go around 140-150kph la, but if wanna maintain below redline, then 110-120kph lo.
Generally, the problem is not whether your bike is in good condition or not. It's whether the car, bus or truck that flattens you was.

Anyway, ride safe.

seantang
post Jul 6 2011, 09:23 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(mea05key @ Jul 6 2011, 09:09 PM)
I am planning to organise a blind date session ^^. Cause its terribly difficult to meet up with the other sex with my sort of work schedule. Therefore, I hope to be able to organise something for the singles out there including me. So who is with me?
Good idea. No shortage of batangs usually. Where are the ladies going to be sourced from?

seantang
post Jul 8 2011, 10:49 AM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Jul 8 2011, 10:21 AM)
Guys > SG to JB, I remember last time somewhere around Bugis my friend take me sit taxi $7. Still valid? Planning to go to JB tonight after work to pick up gf's car to household shopping over the weekend.
S$7 bucks per head, should be. Not S$7 for the whole car.

I used to take Sg's comfortdelgro taxis from JB Kotaraya II bus/taxi stand back to Bishan, and it always cost S$25-30. No metered, fully negotiated.
seantang
post Jul 8 2011, 04:27 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(darkages @ Jul 8 2011, 04:13 PM)
How did you do that? I was told by the drivers that their position is always monitored.

Just flag down any cab and ask if they want to earn extra cash? $25-30 is quite reasonable.
There are a bunch of SG taxis that are allowed to bring passengers from SG to JB (alight at Kotaraya II). Then those drivers will wait there for people who want to come back from JB to SG. I used to take the JB-Ipoh Airasia flight. So I'd take the shuttle bus from Senai to Kotaraya II, and then taxi from Kotaraya II to SG.

seantang
post Jul 8 2011, 04:31 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(advocado @ Jul 8 2011, 03:57 PM)
You are one of those people who enjoy government subsidies while not contributing a single cent to the country! Worst than those legal indon workers who pay tax.
What's your opinion of bumiputra benefits... from licences to ASB to house discounts to scholarships to 30% compulsory share allocations etc? Lots of the beneficiaries don't pay a cent of tax, more like parasites than citizens.
seantang
post Jul 9 2011, 10:17 PM

6,624 posts

Took the plunge and got the Galaxy S II from Samsung in Ipoh. RM2099 RRP... which is about S$850 (@2.45) compared to S$998 from Samsung outlets and S$890 from online websites like Whymobile and Mobilesquare etc.
seantang
post Jul 9 2011, 10:41 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(LYR @ Jul 9 2011, 10:34 PM)
but generally, you have to compromise for the warranty if you buy in MY right? unless you go to JB should you need the warranty later.
The Samsung service center in Ipoh is a quick 5 minute drive from my house in Ipoh. Bringing my phone to the service center is therefore a much simpler affair than SG. In any case, warranty is only 1 year... 99% of phones won't fail within a year.

Added on July 9, 2011, 10:47 pm
QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ Jul 9 2011, 10:38 PM)
rclxms.gif  and the old pon?  hmm.gif
Just give away to my family lor. Gave my old Sony Ericsson K800i to my cousin this morning, and will give away either a Nokia E63 or E72 to my brother when I've fully migrated all my stuff to the S2. Then he'll give his HTC Touch which is also one of my old phones to his kids.

This post has been edited by seantang: Jul 9 2011, 10:49 PM
seantang
post Jul 12 2011, 07:37 AM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(Mackiddo @ Jul 12 2011, 02:54 AM)
what good is a Corporate card when the liability is with employee ? At least mine is not.
I agree. I wouldn't use my own money (or carry the liability) for business related expenditure.

We get a visa card from the company with 'technically' no limit except for cash advances. Each transaction is automatically reviewed by the bank's system however, and transactions which are not compliant with the travel & expenditure policies are flagged and the details emailed to the supervisor.

seantang
post Jul 12 2011, 10:33 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(ashland @ Jul 12 2011, 04:51 PM)
I have two friends 28yrs old working in marine industry (office based with comfortable air cond somemore  thumbup.gif ) earn basic salary SGD5k per month + fixed allowance SGD4k per month..bonus ranging 1.5-2months every year.
What's the nature fixed allowance? When you say "office based", is that office on site, or in town?

For instance, we used to have accountants based in Kertih (working in the nice, very comfy onsite office... with practically no need at all to actually leave the 'admin' area of the site). We have to pay the Kertih guys hardship allowances which are 150% of the salaries of their peers in KL just to persuade them to stay there.

seantang
post Jul 12 2011, 11:15 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(I-Kurosaki @ Jul 12 2011, 11:00 PM)
1) any decent place recommended for rent with respect to the working location? what are the rentals are we looking?
Stay nearby lor. Jurong West..?

QUOTE(I-Kurosaki)
2) looking forward to drive to work. Is that feasible or I should just stick to MRT/buses?
It really depends on your preference, how much you need a car and how much you value comfort. It costs $1-2K per month to run a car in SG. I know people who earn much less than you drive because they have to, and people who earn much more refuse to pay $80K for a Kelisa.

QUOTE(I-Kurosaki)
1) just married, probably expecting our first child next year. this will be my biggest headache. Not entirely sure if my wife tag along or she should just stay where she is. Thought of flying back to KL every fortnight. If she were to follow, is $6k enough for both of us? Am i looking at bigger area of rented rooms/unit? How much will they be?
$6K is plenty for a single, but if you want a car and support a wife who doesn't work and a kid in SG... it's going to be quite tight on $6K if you want a yuppie lifestyle.

Flying in and out... should be cheaper but you have to decide if leaving a new wife alone for 2 weeks at a time is the best thing to do.

QUOTE(I-Kurosaki)
2) 5 yrs exp, current work involves structural designs in oil, gas & petrochemical industries. Is $6k sufficient? I have no idea what are the market salary atm in sg. Offered job demands offshore line of work (based in office).
Do you have any other offers? If you do and they are higher, then $6K is insufficient. If you have no other offers, $6K is more than sufficient.

seantang
post Jul 13 2011, 11:27 AM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(ashland @ Jul 13 2011, 11:13 AM)
Well I would say becoz they are d#mn lucky chap. LOL

Office is in town. Once in a while to go to site but very seldom.
You're absolutely right that he's damn lucky. Damn lucky that his company doesn't mind or doesn't realise. If I were making decisions at your friend's company, I'd reduce his salary to market or hire someone else.

seantang
post Jul 14 2011, 09:18 AM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Jul 14 2011, 09:08 AM)
potential illegal talk, don't judge me!
They definitely can track your activity if they wanted to. But they generally don't act without a complaint from the copyright owner. Download porn lah. Zero chance that the porn company will make a report and even if they do, the mda won't act.
seantang
post Jul 14 2011, 10:48 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Jul 14 2011, 10:28 PM)
So ... porn is legal? I think not.
Yeah, porn is illegal. Watching it is technically isn't, but possessing and trafficking it definitely is.

Then again, homosexuality and anal sex with either gender (technically "carnal intercourse against the order of nature") are also equally illegal, but the authorities don't knock down people's doors to arrest you for it.

The word for Singapore's attitude towards these 'vices'... is pragmatic. As long as you keep it quiet, keep it to yourself and don't let it spill out in public... you're okay. So watch your porn at home, but don't use a XXX DVD to test that HDTV at Courts. Screw your boyfriend's bum in the privacy of your bedroom but don't do it in the public toilet at KFC. Keep terabytes of downloaded porn in your HDD at home, but don't bring that HDD across customs checkpoints lest you get caught by a random contrabrand check and don't burn copies to keep in your car's glove box so that it won't be discovered if your car is impounded in an accident or if you get caught driving while intoxicated.

This post has been edited by seantang: Jul 14 2011, 10:48 PM
seantang
post Jul 15 2011, 05:41 PM

6,624 posts

Is the issue in the picture that he was wearing his underwear on the outside like Superman?
seantang
post Jul 17 2011, 06:36 PM

6,624 posts

ATM cards usually free with savings or current accounts.
seantang
post Jul 17 2011, 07:27 PM

6,624 posts

DBS acquired POSB yonks ago. As far as retail banking goes, you can conduct any transaction for accounts with either bank at branches & ATMs of either bank. POSB account holders use DBS' internet banking website. Most people have a POSB account because they had lots of heartland branches and ATMs during the Post Office Bank era. I use POSB for my salary because the ATMs are everywhere. What I don't use I bank into CIMB as their savings account interest ratw is the highest.
seantang
post Jul 17 2011, 10:19 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ Jul 17 2011, 10:04 PM)
UOB u have to spend a certain minimum amount or they will charge u SGD18
How do you spend a minimum amount using an ATM card? Or do you mean withdraw a minimum amount of cash from the ATM?
seantang
post Jul 18 2011, 09:16 AM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(francisbacon7 @ Jul 18 2011, 09:08 AM)
anywhere good to stay if i work in Bugis,beach road?
budgeted SGD600-700....
There are some HDB blocks directly opposite Golden Mile. Price I don't know but damn convenient if you're working around there.

6 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0478sec    0.31    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 06:23 PM