Working in Singapore v7

Aloong
post Jul 26 2011, 11:03 PM

484 posts

QUOTE(Mackiddo @ Jul 26 2011, 11:15 AM)
$8k per month for 16hrs days and weekend work is not too high actually. What surprised me is the 16hrs work, which is not allow under MOM, max allowable is only 12 hrs per day.
Maybe because once you reach/ breach a salary level that MOM rule doesn't apply?
Just like its normal for employee to work during public holiday, but they dun get double/triple. ANyway, from my experience, wen i work during public holidays, I dun get any overtime, dun talk about double or triple.
deodorant
post Jul 26 2011, 11:25 PM

Surfing LYN instead of Working.
5,691 posts

I'm off to Perth tomorrow! A while ago I got 3rd place in this travel blogging contest by MAS/Yahoo! ... prize is a trip to perth and tokyo.

overall website for the winners is here ... http://my.custom.yahoo.com/imastravel/ ... and my personal posts are here ... http://my.custom.yahoo.com/imastravel/travellers-tantiming ... nothing yet though cos the #1 and #2 peeps already travelled but my first trip is tomorrow.

Signed up for SingTel unlimited data roaming ... $56 for 5 days which is reasonable imo.
Argiope
post Jul 26 2011, 11:37 PM

300 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Jul 26 2011, 11:25 PM)
I'm off to Perth tomorrow! A while ago I got 3rd place in this travel blogging contest by MAS/Yahoo! ... prize is a trip to perth and tokyo.

overall website for the winners is here ... http://my.custom.yahoo.com/imastravel/ ... and my personal posts are here ... http://my.custom.yahoo.com/imastravel/travellers-tantiming ... nothing yet though cos the #1 and #2 peeps already travelled but my first trip is tomorrow.

Signed up for SingTel unlimited data roaming ... $56 for 5 days which is reasonable imo.
Wow 1Malaysia winners. Enjoy your trip~
Economics Crisis
post Jul 26 2011, 11:43 PM

587 posts

good luck
Jurlique
post Jul 27 2011, 12:17 AM

The Hajok
1,695 posts

QUOTE(Economics Crisis @ Jul 26 2011, 11:43 PM)
good luck
Good luck on???

SUSalaskanbunny
post Jul 27 2011, 12:25 AM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Jul 26 2011, 11:25 PM)

congrats.... lucky ass... free holis... do post some pics here ^^ rclxm9.gif thumbup.gif
QUOTE(Jurlique @ Jul 27 2011, 12:17 AM)
Good luck on???
hahaha, kena bait doh.gif

neway guys... i thought of climbing bukit timah hill this sunday, anyone up for it? up the hill then down to dairy farm bridge then back up then lunch ^^
john_makaay
post Jul 27 2011, 12:28 AM

216 posts

QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ Jul 26 2011, 10:28 PM)
work permit?  hmm.gif  1 week usually... have you done your medical yet?
take 1/2 day leave and cabut early  thumbup.gif

lol.... no other solutions beside taking bus from singapore? i haven go for medical yet... The HR manager said i have to get work permit 1st then onli go for medical

This post has been edited by john_makaay: Jul 27 2011, 12:29 AM
ianlti
post Jul 27 2011, 03:22 AM

203 posts

anyone going back to KL on this friday night?
Compelica
post Jul 27 2011, 03:23 AM

dozing off. zzz.
1,463 posts

Hi guys, I'm an IT graduate just fresh out of the woodwork and I'm planning to work in Singapore for the next few years of my life if things work out. I'll be going there around there next week to scout for a suitable position, so I would highly appreciate if anyone could give some pointers on what to do there.

Also, I've noticed the recent 1st July changes regarding the criteria required to fulfill to qualify for an EP, which mentions that a professional has to have a base pay of at least 2.8K SGD. Does this mean that in the event that an employer decides to hire a foreigner, they MUST pay him/her this amount, by minimum? In my view, I don't think any company is in the right mind to pay a freshie this much. hmm.gif

If I manage to find an employer, but I fail to get an EP or S pass from MOM, does this mean that the outcome will be the same even if another employer is willing to hire me?

Anyone has good and useful tips, please do. Next TT is on me if I get a job there thumbup.gif

tailtwist
post Jul 27 2011, 05:43 AM

1,564 posts

QUOTE(john_makaay @ Jul 27 2011, 12:28 AM)
lol.... no other solutions beside taking bus from singapore? i haven go for medical yet... The HR manager said i have to get work permit 1st then onli go for medical
If u wanna save money...u can take SBS bus no 170 to Larkin Johor bus terminal...from there u can take a bus to KL....but in terms of travelling time...its still longer.......

Added on July 27, 2011, 5:46 am
QUOTE(colinwong89 @ Jul 27 2011, 03:23 AM)
Hi guys, I'm an IT graduate just fresh out of the woodwork and I'm planning to work in Singapore for the next few years of my life if things work out. I'll be going there around there next week to scout for a suitable position, so I would highly appreciate if anyone could give some pointers on what to do there.

Also, I've noticed the recent 1st July changes regarding the criteria required to fulfill to qualify for an EP, which mentions that a professional has to have a base pay of at least 2.8K SGD. Does this mean that in the event that an employer decides to hire a foreigner, they MUST pay him/her this amount, by minimum? In my view, I don't think any company is in the right mind to pay a freshie this much.  hmm.gif

If I manage to find an employer, but I fail to get an EP or S pass from MOM, does this mean that the outcome will be the same even if another employer is willing to hire me?

Anyone has good and useful tips, please do. Next TT is on me if I get a job there  thumbup.gif
In terms of passes....Employment Pass there's no monthly levy that the hiring company needs to pay...while for S Pass there's a monthly levy that has to be paid...
the approval of the Work Permit(EP or S) maybe different from the different hiring company.

Depends on your qualification...even thought u might qualify for EP...but MOM might not give u an EP but gives u a S Pass instead, due to some other unknown/known factors/reasoning....

This post has been edited by tailtwist: Jul 27 2011, 05:46 AM
kurt99909
post Jul 27 2011, 06:39 AM

709 posts

Also, I've noticed the recent 1st July changes regarding the criteria required to fulfill to qualify for an EP, which mentions that a professional has to have a base pay of at least 2.8K SGD. Does this mean that in the event that an employer decides to hire a foreigner, they MUST pay him/her this amount, by minimum? In my view, I don't think any company is in the right mind to pay a freshie this much.  hmm.gif

Anyone has good and useful tips, please do. Next TT is on me if I get a job there  thumbup.gif
s-pass and EP depend on the relationship between company and MOM i guess coz im earning 2.6k but still get an EP....i applied my EP in july...just from my understanding...hehe
Aloong
post Jul 27 2011, 06:52 AM

484 posts

QUOTE(Argiope @ Jul 26 2011, 11:37 PM)
Wow 1Malaysia winners. Enjoy your trip~
all three malaysia lar. anyway its from yahoo malaysia.
enjoy the trip deodorant!!
btw nice pose.

This post has been edited by Aloong: Jul 27 2011, 06:54 AM
tayhaithian
post Jul 27 2011, 07:59 AM

460 posts

QUOTE(venicelim @ Jul 26 2011, 07:24 PM)
even the owner is so willingly to pay the 50%,
but then I thought through agent, u need to follow a contract like somewhat need to rent for 1 year right?
I heard there is 1 year lease contract.
Correct me if i am wrong.
Venice, you got your pass ad?
Anyway getting rent house through agent is wise choice. It is hard to find rooms for rent these day. Those agent has wide community to contact all over the place, just drop them the needs that you likely to biggrin.gif

In IT there is no freshie just how much you know in your technical field(This does inclusive with your programming skill). I know somebody out there might speak Singapore IT market is now all covered up by India because they are good in these field. I'm certainly not agree since the job demand in this field is damn high in the recruiting site. I advice to find a job through online than coming here directly to scout around.
As for your pass, I couldn't assure the requirement because I got my housemate at 2k SGD per month but still getting an Epass. So I guess most of the company are trying to avoid the levy pay. In another-hand, failing for the pass application might not lead to an end. Just keep trying for 2nd and 3rd time or appeal it according to the mistake that you had made previously.
Once again Good Luck.

This post has been edited by tayhaithian: Jul 27 2011, 08:08 AM
venicelim
post Jul 27 2011, 08:21 AM

330 posts

QUOTE(tayhaithian @ Jul 27 2011, 07:59 AM)
Venice, you got your pass ad?
Anyway getting rent house through agent is wise choice. It is hard to find rooms for rent these day. Those agent has wide community to contact all over the place, just drop them the needs that you likely to biggrin.gif
In IT there is no freshie just how much you know in your technical field(This does inclusive with your programming skill). I know somebody out there might speak Singapore IT market is now all covered up by India because they are good in these field. I'm certainly not agree since the job demand in this field is damn high in the recruiting site. I advice to find a job through online than coming here directly to scout around.
As for your pass, I couldn't assure the requirement because I got my housemate at 2k SGD per month but still getting an Epass. So I guess most of the company are trying to avoid the levy pay. In another-hand, failing for the pass application might not lead to an end. Just keep trying for 2nd and 3rd time or appeal it according to the mistake that you had made previously.
Once again Good Luck.
not yet getting the approval. cry.gif
BTW, now I am trying to look for room to rent too.
But feel tat paying to agent is not worth and somemore there is 1 year contract.
What if you move in then only you found that you dont like this or you dont like that?
Then u cant do nothing but to stay for up to 1 year.

hey, so how's ur situation in SG?
Started work ard? Done medical checkup? Got ur IPA letter ard?
Where you stay btw? and how much room rental? mind to share?
tayhaithian
post Jul 27 2011, 08:33 AM

460 posts

QUOTE(venicelim @ Jul 27 2011, 08:21 AM)
not yet getting the approval.  cry.gif
BTW, now I am trying to look for room to rent too.
But feel tat paying to agent is not worth and somemore there is 1 year contract.
What if you move in then only you found that you dont like this or you dont like that?
Then u cant do nothing but to stay for up to 1 year.

hey, so how's ur situation in SG?
Started work ard? Done medical checkup? Got ur IPA letter ard?
Where you stay btw? and how much room rental? mind to share?
I'm good in Singapore everything looks smooth for the moment. Anyway my work starting on the 1st August and this far I only done up to medical checkup and my HR will issue me the EP appointment once I submit my medical report. Currently I'm staying in commonwealth which I paid for 350per month(without AC) sharing with another roommate whose my hometown neighbor. The only benefit is 5-10minutes walk away from MRT station. Well we gone through agent as well since we couldn't find any best fit the needs tho.
danny_ptlm
post Jul 27 2011, 10:29 AM

!@#$%^&*()_+
161 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Jul 26 2011, 09:25 AM)

Hi bro,

For the visa matters.. i done my visa at RM 20.00 just from the travel agency, instead of AUD20.00

By the way, miss Perth so badly... wish to go again next year..

Enjoy your trip... icon_rolleyes.gif icon_rolleyes.gif icon_rolleyes.gif
ashland
post Jul 27 2011, 11:42 AM

40 posts

Hi Guys,

After long waited I finally will joining u guys in Spore somewhere mid of Sep rclxm9.gif

Got few clarification appreciate if u guys could help me out.
The HR personnel asked me to open POSB account and to have Spore mobile number before my reporting day.

POSB - So I wonder if I can open saving account with POSB now only with my passport/IC & $500 as obviously I still not holding EP card yet? I asked the HR personnel she said can. But iinm somebody mentioned require EP card in order to open an account. Can anyone confirm this?

Spore mobile number – since I still not holding EP card believed I only eligible for prepaid. How much does it cost for starter pack and how is the charges alike? Any recommended telco service? Seems I have to live with prepaid first and change to postpaid later on (maybe until Iphone 5 is avail brows.gif )

Transportation – I plan to stay at gelang patah together with my fren. Can anybody share how long usually does it take to travel by bike thru second link from gelang patah to gul road area? Say I need to arrive office at somewhere 0700-0715hrs what time should I leave home approximately?
And do I need to have the device for paying some kind of “toll” in Spore (totally couldn’t recall the name of the thing LOL)?

Thanks in advance notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by ashland: Jul 27 2011, 11:52 AM
tayhaithian
post Jul 27 2011, 11:49 AM

460 posts

Anyone know where can I find furniture house that inclusive shipping cost? (IKEA was like RM50 shipping and 6% setup fees from product price which is too much..) Thanks in advance.
Lester1987
post Jul 27 2011, 12:17 PM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(ashland @ Jul 27 2011, 11:42 AM)
Hi Guys,

After long waited I finally will joining u guys in Spore somewhere mid of Sep  rclxm9.gif

Got few clarification appreciate if u guys could help me out.
The HR personnel asked me to open POSB account and to have Spore mobile number before my reporting day.

POSB - So I wonder if I can open saving account with POSB now only with my passport/IC & $500 as obviously I still not holding EP card yet? I asked the HR personnel she said can. But iinm somebody mentioned require EP card in order to open an account. Can anyone confirm this?

Spore mobile number – since I still not holding EP card believed I only eligible for prepaid. How much does it cost for starter pack and how is the charges alike? Any recommended telco service? Seems I have to live with prepaid first and change to postpaid later on (maybe until Iphone 5 is avail  brows.gif )

Transportation – I plan to stay at gelang patah together with my fren. Can anybody share how long usually does it take to travel by bike thru second link from gelang patah to gul road area? Say I need to arrive office at somewhere 0700-0715hrs what time should I leave home approximately?
And do I need to have the device for paying some kind of “toll” in Spore (totally couldn’t recall the name of the thing LOL)?

Thanks in advance  notworthy.gif
Question 1.

You can open a savings account only if you got the in-principle approval letter from MOM (mine is DBS anyway, not sure if POSB is same)

Question 2.

Singapore prepaid package is around $15 (i bought Singtel last time). but bare in mind u cannot use the same number when u want to convert to postpaid (stupid sysyem).

Question 3

2nd link I am not too sure. But for Causeway, I usually leave house at 7:30am. sometimes will reach office at 8:30am, sometimes reach at 8:45am.
The queue on the Kastam takes around 10-30mins. I believe 2nd link should be the same. i see that ur office and house is very near to 2nd link. I think 1 hour should be enough.
also need to see what is the average speed u ride la. if u ride 60-80kph, then better leave 2 hour early.
xyyz
post Jul 27 2011, 12:18 PM

70 posts

QUOTE(kurt99909 @ Jul 27 2011, 06:39 AM)
s-pass and EP depend on the relationship between company and MOM i guess coz im earning 2.6k but still get an EP....i applied my EP in july...just from my understanding...hehe
Really?? Now I'm really worry. My hiring company is a china company who is a giant in telcomuunication field, in malaysia they always import in their engineer from china and asking them to work under visitor pass before applying actual working pass, so i'm scare that the same thing happened in singapore and causing bad reputation sad.gif

126 Pages « < 65 66 67 68 69 > » Top

0.0311sec    0.73    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 02:14 AM