Working in Singapore v7

ashland
post Jul 12 2011, 04:51 PM

40 posts

QUOTE(WyjSwmW @ Jul 12 2011, 03:12 PM)
Hi guys,

Just curious la, anyone here earning at least $5,000 a month (basic salary only, excluding allowances, bonus and AWS)?

May I know wat's your profession and industry is if you don't mind to share?
I have two friends 28yrs old working in marine industry (office based with comfortable air cond somemore thumbup.gif ) earn basic salary SGD5k per month + fixed allowance SGD4k per month..bonus ranging 1.5-2months every year..
Envy them on every 23rd of the month (salary day) icon_idea.gif

This post has been edited by ashland: Jul 12 2011, 04:55 PM
ashland
post Jul 13 2011, 11:13 AM

40 posts

QUOTE(WyjSwmW @ Jul 12 2011, 06:07 PM)
Why do they have so much fixed allowance?
Well I would say becoz they are d#mn lucky chap. LOL

QUOTE(wseng @ Jul 12 2011, 08:38 PM)
mind to share what kind of position they are ? comfortable office job ..  drool.gif
Ship management.

QUOTE(seantang @ Jul 12 2011, 10:33 PM)
What's the nature fixed allowance? When you say "office based", is that office on site, or in town?

For instance, we used to have accountants based in Kertih (working in the nice, very comfy onsite office... with practically no need at all to actually leave the 'admin' area of the site). We have to pay the Kertih guys hardship allowances which are 150% of the salaries of their peers in KL just to persuade them to stay there.
Office is in town. Once in a while require to go to site but very seldom.

This post has been edited by ashland: Jul 13 2011, 11:30 AM
ashland
post Jul 13 2011, 02:12 PM

40 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Jul 13 2011, 11:27 AM)
You're absolutely right that he's damn lucky. Damn lucky that his company doesn't mind or doesn't realise. If I were making decisions at your friend's company, I'd reduce his salary to market or hire someone else.
Indeed. nod.gif
But I believed the company doesn't mind i/o doesn't realise wink.gif

This post has been edited by ashland: Jul 13 2011, 02:13 PM
ashland
post Jul 27 2011, 11:42 AM

40 posts

Hi Guys,

After long waited I finally will joining u guys in Spore somewhere mid of Sep rclxm9.gif

Got few clarification appreciate if u guys could help me out.
The HR personnel asked me to open POSB account and to have Spore mobile number before my reporting day.

POSB - So I wonder if I can open saving account with POSB now only with my passport/IC & $500 as obviously I still not holding EP card yet? I asked the HR personnel she said can. But iinm somebody mentioned require EP card in order to open an account. Can anyone confirm this?

Spore mobile number – since I still not holding EP card believed I only eligible for prepaid. How much does it cost for starter pack and how is the charges alike? Any recommended telco service? Seems I have to live with prepaid first and change to postpaid later on (maybe until Iphone 5 is avail brows.gif )

Transportation – I plan to stay at gelang patah together with my fren. Can anybody share how long usually does it take to travel by bike thru second link from gelang patah to gul road area? Say I need to arrive office at somewhere 0700-0715hrs what time should I leave home approximately?
And do I need to have the device for paying some kind of “toll” in Spore (totally couldn’t recall the name of the thing LOL)?

Thanks in advance notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by ashland: Jul 27 2011, 11:52 AM
ashland
post Jul 27 2011, 12:36 PM

40 posts

QUOTE(Lester1987 @ Jul 27 2011, 12:17 PM)
Question 1.

You can open a savings account only if you got the in-principle approval letter from MOM (mine is DBS anyway, not sure if POSB is same)

Question 2.

Singapore prepaid package is around $15 (i bought Singtel last time). but bare in mind u cannot use the same number when u want to convert to postpaid (stupid sysyem).

Question 3

2nd link I am not too sure. But for Causeway, I usually leave house at 7:30am. sometimes will reach office at 8:30am, sometimes reach at 8:45am.
The queue on the Kastam takes around 10-30mins. I believe 2nd link should be the same. i see that ur office and house is very near to 2nd link. I think 1 hour should be enough.
also need to see what is the average speed u ride la. if u ride 60-80kph, then better leave 2 hour early.
1. Then I believed I should request the in-principle approval letter from my HR. Scan copy is acceptable right?

2. I shall put Singtel in my consideration then. Need to study further what are their charges n so. Noted same number couldn't be used. Then this will be little bit hassle on my changing period then. Can't use the in-principle approval letter as well for this case? brows.gif

3. I only ride kapcai, top I could go is 100-110kph oni..then i think i should leave 2 hours before for 1st few days to ensure i'm not late and from there adjusting accordingly. That mean i need to wake up ard 430am shocking.gif sweat.gif

Urm then another question pop out. how should i enter by my bike on my 1st working day since i'm still consider as visitor at that time? means i need to get the autopass card from imigresen issit? erm i need to google out more info about this.
Btw how many days should it takes to get my EP card? 1 day will do?

This post has been edited by ashland: Jul 27 2011, 12:47 PM
ashland
post Jul 27 2011, 02:40 PM

40 posts

QUOTE(Lester1987 @ Jul 27 2011, 01:04 PM)
u start work at 7am?? no nid so early wake up la. I work at 9, i also wake up at 7am. 30 mins is more than enough for a guy to change and bath.
somemore my house to my office, the distance is 38KM. its freaking far. if i were u, i just leave house 1 hour early will do.  I also ride a scooter only.
doing average 120kph on highway, but because i use causeway, so most of the time stuck between cars and move at 70-80kph.

regarding your question, you need to enter Singapore with the white card on the 1st day. Then after they submit the inprincipal approval letter with the white , they will give u a new letter.
You can enter JB-SG with that letter, that letter serve as a temporary EP for you. you should be able to collect the physical card 3-4days later.
If you are riding a Malaysian bike, just cross the immigration normally, then go and do a Autopass. I see that your office is very near to 2nd link, i dun think you will need to install the IU.
And also AYE got no ERP near Tuas section. you will need the IU if u want to go town because if u cross 1 ERP without the IU, its $70.
I start work at 730am. Maybe for 1st few days I'll go out at 6am coz still not familiar with the procedure and total time required.

This autopass is a lifetime card/pass or need to get/do everyday? I've googled around and read inside land transport autority website but couldn't find any clear details on this.

This post has been edited by ashland: Jul 27 2011, 02:42 PM
ashland
post Jul 27 2011, 03:05 PM

40 posts

I read this in LTA website;

**There will be an administrative fee of S$10 imposed if you pay your VEP fees and/or toll charges in cash at any Singapore Checkpoint.

So how should we pay for this VEP instead to avoid this admin fee?

From the website I note that payment for motorcycle is $4 per day. And it also mentioned about toll which is $0.50. So total per day I need to pay is $4.50, am I correct?

Sorry for asking lots of questions but I'm lil bit confused here rclxub.gif

ashland
post Jul 27 2011, 03:07 PM

40 posts

QUOTE(l3iTi @ Jul 27 2011, 03:02 PM)
need someone to verify on this.i went to POSB branch in mid june with the in principal approval letter to open account, but was rejected. The customer service said they just changed rules, n only can open new account after u get the EP card...
So u finally open ur account after getting the EP card?

Added on July 27, 2011, 3:11 pm
QUOTE(Lester1987 @ Jul 27 2011, 03:07 PM)
Autopass is works as a cash card for your foreign vehicle. it stores you car/bike details on it so LTA will know when this car enter and exit Singapore.
Autopass have a lifespan of 5 years. it cost you $10 to purchase the card with $4 pre-loaded on the card it self (means its $6 for the card).
you can top up your autopass at any DBS/POSB ATM machine to pay the VEP and toll charges.
Autopass also stores your Malaysian roadtax details on it. When your roadtax expires, you need to bring the new roadtax and the autopass to LTA office to update (can be done at check point).
In other words, Autopass is like the passport for your foreign car in SG. When the 5 years is up, you need to purchase a new autopass (same $10 with $4 preloaded).
You would also need to purchase a new autopass if u forgot to bring or lost the autopass card. Because of that, my bike now has 2 autopass.
So above answered my question regarding to admin fee just now. Splendid.
TQ notworthy.gif notworthy.gif

No other places to top up the autopass besides DBS/POSB atm machine? If I could not open my account before obtaining the EP card then I can't top up at POSB atm machine then.

This post has been edited by ashland: Jul 27 2011, 03:17 PM
ashland
post Jul 27 2011, 03:21 PM

40 posts

QUOTE(l3iTi @ Jul 27 2011, 03:17 PM)
me, yup.
but HR told me, it shouldn't be like that...
btw, when u open account, tell them u wanna activate online banking as well. so that u dun need go to branch again next time.

Added on July 27, 2011, 3:19 pmi do see some shops in woodland checkpoint there, got offer auto pass top up services...
dunno how much the charges lar
Noted. Thanks for the tips!
ashland
post Jul 27 2011, 03:38 PM

40 posts

QUOTE(Lester1987 @ Jul 27 2011, 03:25 PM)
sorry, i din read your question completely, lets me clarify this because u are using 2nd link.

Admin Fees

On admin fees, this will be charge to your card directly. Admin fees will incur if you din do what u should do when u enter and exit the checkpoint.
let me give you a scenario to explain this further.

FYI, everytime u enter and exit Singapore, u need to slot your autopass in to pay the toll. lets say u forgot to slot the card when u enter. then when u exit, when u slot it in, error will occur and you need to go to the LTA office. When LTA office find out you din punch in in the morning, that's when they charge u $10 admin fees to help u key in the details manually.
Toll Charges

For motorbike, you need to pay $0.50 toll charges upon enter and also exit Singapore. So you are paying $1 daily. This is for the Singapore side, Malaysia side, you need to prepare a Touch N Go card coz you need to pay Rm1.20 upon arriving and departing. so total cost for 1 day will be $4 VEP + $0.50 + $0.50 + Rm1.20 + RM1.20.

At Causeway (Woodlands), no toll will be charge to Motorcycles. So I am only Paying $4 VEP daily.

Scenarios:

Lets say u enter from Causeway and departing at Tuas, You will need to pay $4 VEP + $0.50 +Rm1.20. Because when u enter, you are not paying the Malaysian toll and also Singapore toll. Only charged you when u depart. If you got any Doubts, can always ask me. smile.gif
Well understood. thumbup.gif
ashland
post Jul 27 2011, 07:36 PM

40 posts

QUOTE(crazy25kid @ Jul 27 2011, 06:43 PM)
For account opening, most POSB/DBS requires the card, or at least an appointment.
However, there are some that allows just with IPA, can't remember which one.
Pls be so kind to let me know if u remember which POSB branch that allows with just IPA ya icon_rolleyes.gif laugh.gif

This post has been edited by ashland: Jul 27 2011, 07:37 PM
ashland
post Jul 27 2011, 08:44 PM

40 posts

QUOTE(reign226 @ Jul 27 2011, 08:19 PM)
I managed to open an account with IPA and Passport at their Jurong West branch
TQ TQ notworthy.gif
ashland
post Jul 29 2011, 12:28 PM

40 posts

QUOTE(ivanswk @ Jul 29 2011, 11:49 AM)
try not to rent from a single old lady, my own research stats show this will cause problem and sleepless nite
Care to share what is/are the finding(s) of ur research? brows.gif
ashland
post Jul 30 2011, 12:52 AM

40 posts

QUOTE(ivanswk @ Jul 29 2011, 01:40 PM)
long ago, as career progress decided i have the mean to rent a small hdb on my own, so i call agent i saw in the internet which advert a location nearby where i am staying in boon lay, the place is 2 bedroom, where landlord lock one room up, so i get the whole hdb on my own, i went and view it, omg i was like, the place look so nice, and renovated look like a ikea show room with alarm fitted. the agent told me, the landlady, single stay with his boyfriend.  smile.gif

i saw the old lady she look nice and quiet, and she mention she come back once in awhile cause she still have some stuff in her lock room, i pay the rental with deposit and agent commision fee and sign the dotted line

the horror begin. sad.gif

after i move in then few day, i found out the landlady actually staying in the house exactly opposite, that the boyfren place, feeling like being watch, then i look carefully, i think she watching with a binocular from the opposite side, then as i felt that got people touch my stuff when i went back malaysia, i did a test i purposely  put my cloth according to certain arrangment, indeed when i come back i saw somethign is move, so she is ransacking my stuff and this is only the first month ,  then it get worse the landlady starting to accuse we temper with the door lock, and we over using the electronic good like the washing machine, i was like  rclxub.gif we got the key to the door why ..we want to temper the door lock

then it get worse she call my office and checking on me, asking my snr, how my work performance, lucky my snr is close with me , she came back very often in the middle of nite to her room to take stuff, banging the door, waking me up.

finally i decided, although the contract is for a year, we mutually agree to revoke and i left, i stay for two month i think , i thought i was unlucky only

after thing back to normal.. i look back

i can say the whole thing is a conspiracy .. do u see IT  vmad.gif
the agent is in IT  shakehead.gif (case 1)
Waa she is a stalker. Very terrible experience man.

QUOTE(crazy25kid @ Jul 29 2011, 01:57 PM)
Not to be sexist...but there is a very simple explanation.
There is a reason why she is single.
Understand that and you understand why it is bad.
Wasn't 'she' + 'single' supposed to be a great combination meh? laugh.gif

This post has been edited by ashland: Jul 30 2011, 12:54 AM
ashland
post Aug 3 2011, 09:01 AM

40 posts

QUOTE(tailtwist @ Aug 2 2011, 11:02 PM)
yes.......the other criteria would be your income in that particular year doesnt hit around SG20k-21k, then you're not required to pay tax....to be precise its not working for more than a year.....its stayed/worked in Singapore for 183 days in a 365 days of a calendar year....else its a flat 15% tax rate
For somebody who worked less than 183 days and income for that particular year doesn't hit SGD 20k, did he still required to submit/filling his tax to IRAS?

Or it is automatically exempted?

This post has been edited by ashland: Aug 3 2011, 03:29 PM
ashland
post Aug 3 2011, 12:29 PM

40 posts

QUOTE(tailtwist @ Aug 3 2011, 12:05 PM)
I would still do a filling....same as my income tax in Malaysia.....i would file it as 0 income.....better to be safe than sorry
File the income as 0? Not the actual income during the period i.e 19k? Meaning it does not automatically exempted in the system am I correct?
Finger crossed that mine would not exceed 20k this time. 15% is quite hefty amount sweat.gif

Btw is OT insclusive as taxed income?
Never got OT in my past employment thus not sure bout this.

This post has been edited by ashland: Aug 3 2011, 12:36 PM
ashland
post Aug 3 2011, 02:30 PM

40 posts

QUOTE(tailtwist @ Aug 3 2011, 01:05 PM)
I mean for the Malaysia side of the income tax lor.....I file as 0 income..because i'm working in singapore mah
OT yes...because it goes into your salary.....same as allowances...unless its reimbursement for company expenses then its not....if your hit around 20-22k maybe u dont even need to file one.
Ok I thought u r referring to Spore side just now.
I believed there must be clear guide on this whether submission is compulsory regardless of the amount or not. And certainly as well for exact amount exempted (20k? 22k?). But I might be wrong tho. Need to dig further on this for details.
ashland
post Aug 3 2011, 03:55 PM

40 posts

QUOTE(tailtwist @ Aug 3 2011, 03:04 PM)
I do my submission for BOTH sides..regardless of the amount....better to be safe than sorry....
Yup, understood on that.
The reason I'm asking is becoz I tried filling the Form M (non-resident), even if I put 19k, it still calculated there that I need to pay tax 15% of that total amount. Which means the relief of below 20k is not automatically done by the system. Therefore in order to get the relief meaning I need to declare as 0 income for that particular year in the form then only it calculate 0 tax to be paid. So is this the correct way? Becoz as I recall when I'm doing e-filling for Msia last time eventhough I'm still not eligible for paying tax at that time, I just put actual figure I earned that year then it will automatically shown in the system that I do not required to pay any tax amount. Different system I guess? But how can Spore system less advance than Msia, made me curious. Sorry laugh.gif

Furthermore I couldn't find any details in IRAS website as well regarding relief of tax for income less than 20k except for appended below. (My sincere apology if I had missed on that somewhere)

If You are Here for 61 Days to 182 Days in a Year
You will be regarded as a non-resident. The number of days in Singapore include weekends and public holidays.

As a non-resident:

You will only be taxed on all income earned in Singapore.
You will not be entitled to tax reliefs.
Your employment income will be taxed at a flat rate of 15% or the progressive resident rates depending on which results in a higher tax.
Director's fees and other income such as rent earned in or derived from Singapore will be taxed at the prevailing rate of 20%.
You are required to fill in Form M (Income Tax Return for Non-Residents)
Unquote

This post has been edited by ashland: Aug 3 2011, 04:07 PM
ashland
post Aug 3 2011, 04:15 PM

40 posts

QUOTE(crazy25kid @ Aug 3 2011, 04:04 PM)
^ Or it means you will be taxed no matter how little you earn if you are here for less than 183 days?
That's what I want to confirm becoz I've read few post before mentioning that we do not require to pay tax if we work less than 183 days + total income for that period <SGD20K, which I do hope so laugh.gif
ashland
post Aug 3 2011, 07:08 PM

40 posts

QUOTE(kockroach @ Aug 3 2011, 05:36 PM)
Later can get refund if subsequent year still working in singapore.
Seriously? How many % and when?

0.0299sec    0.29    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 09:44 AM