HiMedia Media Player, All about HiMedia

AVFAN
post May 15 2017, 02:05 PM

24,449 posts

QUOTE(Hou_JaI @ May 15 2017, 12:36 PM)
stupid question, just started using q10 pro yesterday with kodi and media player on USB. 1 only problem is the output of sound through my samsung ks7000. i need to set it to like volume 50 which is still quite soft...

was thinking whether should i get  sound bar. can q10 pro connect to sound bar using bluetooth or wireless? dont want all wires coming out from my cabinet ... also can recommend me any good to start sound bar?  anything that helps in watching movies and dramas. dont need to be super dts what not, just need some omh, rumbling for action movies. thank you.
q10pro can send wireless video and audio to another device that has such capability, e.g. q10pro upstairs, play and send wireless to another q10pro-hdmi-tv downstairs.

what u r looking for is to split video hdmi to tv and audio to soundbar wirelessly. i doubt q10pro can split video and audio output like that.

best to keep it simple - either tv arc to soundbar or q10pro optical to soundbar - either way with one cable/wire. the optical toslink cable is a small one.

This post has been edited by AVFAN: May 15 2017, 02:09 PM
Hou_JaI
post May 15 2017, 03:48 PM

1,129 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ May 15 2017, 02:05 PM)
q10pro can send wireless video and audio to another device that has such capability, e.g. q10pro upstairs, play and send wireless to another q10pro-hdmi-tv downstairs.

what u r looking for is to split video hdmi to tv and audio to soundbar wirelessly. i doubt q10pro can split video and audio output like that.

best to keep it simple - either tv arc to soundbar or q10pro optical to soundbar - either way with one cable/wire. the optical toslink cable is a small one.
right, meaning 2 cables sticking out from my cabinet, power and optical, need to find a way to hidde them ...

any recommendations for sound bar for movies and dramas.

budget is rm 500 to 1k only...
AVFAN
post May 15 2017, 03:55 PM

24,449 posts

QUOTE(Hou_JaI @ May 15 2017, 03:48 PM)
right, meaning 2 cables sticking out from my cabinet, power and optical, need to find a way to hidde them ...

any recommendations for sound bar for movies and dramas.

budget is rm 500 to 1k only...
That, cant help... i hv never used a soundbar.

Can check the soundbar thread.
plumberly
post May 15 2017, 06:54 PM

4,761 posts

QUOTE(Hou_JaI @ May 15 2017, 01:33 PM)
yupe, but is the connection via bluetooth?
Come to think of it, try increasing the vol via the remote vol button and see.

Otherwise how does the avr know what vol level to take?

Good luck! Ha.

splinter
post May 15 2017, 11:39 PM

New Kid In Town
2,120 posts

Wanna ask can I do this?

1)HDMI connect to avr for playing BD and high definition video.
2)video and digital coaxial to TV for playing drama as it might play long hours.

If I have both connection connected can I switching between?

AVFAN
post May 15 2017, 11:46 PM

24,449 posts

QUOTE(splinter @ May 15 2017, 11:39 PM)
Wanna ask can I do this?

1)HDMI connect to avr for playing BD and high definition video.
2)video and digital coaxial to TV for playing drama as it might play long hours.

If I have both connection connected can I switching between?
u can but... for 2, it is not ideal for video, will get SD grade video.
becos HD/4k video can only be carried with HDMI cable.
there is only 1 hdmi output from the box.
splinter
post May 16 2017, 10:13 PM

New Kid In Town
2,120 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ May 15 2017, 11:46 PM)
u can but... for 2, it is not ideal for video, will get SD grade video.
becos HD/4k video can only be carried with HDMI cable.
there is only 1 hdmi output from the box.
What the best solution then? Any good HDMI splinter can process?

Guess it hard to get to support hdmi 2.0 splitter
AVFAN
post May 16 2017, 10:38 PM

24,449 posts

QUOTE(splinter @ May 16 2017, 10:13 PM)
What the best solution then? Any good HDMI splinter can process? 

Guess it hard to get to support hdmi 2.0 splitter
just have to pick one of the two.

my solution... 2 boxes. laugh.gif
splinter
post May 16 2017, 11:31 PM

New Kid In Town
2,120 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ May 16 2017, 10:38 PM)
just have to pick one of the two.

my solution... 2 boxes. laugh.gif
Now giving me headache as Netflix from this box don't support 1080 / 4K or even HDR or Dolby vision.
AVFAN
post May 16 2017, 11:36 PM

24,449 posts

QUOTE(splinter @ May 16 2017, 11:31 PM)
Now giving me headache as Netflix from this box don't support 1080 / 4K or even HDR or Dolby vision.
as explained, only a few approved boxes on planet earth support netflix hd/4k/hdr/dv.

nothing u can do about it except buy a nvidia shield rm1.6k.

really, just use the netflix of the tv, for audio, just arc or toslink to avr, all is good.

everybody does that!
splinter
post May 17 2017, 12:00 AM

New Kid In Town
2,120 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ May 16 2017, 11:36 PM)
as explained, only a few approved boxes on planet earth support netflix hd/4k/hdr/dv.

nothing u can do about it except buy a nvidia shield rm1.6k.

really, just use the netflix of the tv, for audio, just arc or toslink to avr, all is good.

everybody does that!
Can all connect all to my AVR and hdmi to TV ARC? So when enjoy AVR I can hav high res picture quality and when Netflix I use the same hdmi as arc back AVR?

If can then I won't need to waste 1 hdmi port. But HDMI arc act the same like the other 2 HDMI port?

AVFAN
post May 17 2017, 12:17 AM

24,449 posts

QUOTE(splinter @ May 17 2017, 12:00 AM)
Can all connect all to my AVR and hdmi to TV ARC? So when enjoy AVR I can hav high res picture quality and when Netflix I use the same hdmi as arc back AVR?

If can then I won't need to waste 1 hdmi port. But HDMI arc act the same like the other 2 HDMI port?
it depends on your tv, read the tv manual, ask the seller.

usually, there is only 1 hdmi that can do arc to avr, u hv to set it.

if u do not want to "waste" the hdmi, use the toslink.

netflix audio is dd5.1, so u dun lose anything with toslink.

u paid for the features and netflix in the tv, use it!

AVFAN
post May 17 2017, 10:00 AM

24,449 posts

QUOTE(capoi @ May 17 2017, 08:01 AM)
Thank you. Yes for me the native player is more stable. I have himedia q5 and use their basic app to play my file. Sometimes it gave me an error it stop working. User interface with air mouse also not my thingy. I don't whether it was my bad luck with android box. My android cant activate WiFi, forced to swith back old play store app. If I upgrade to New, the play store stop working and it will effect other apps too especially YouTube.

Now the box felt more slower. I don't think it because I not clean the unnecessary file because I did not download and install much..I also still using my phone jelly bean android without any problem. Im assuming now the android box that I use have a bad firmware.

From you all experience, which brand of box have a good support from developer and stable firmware?
himedia q5 is >5 years old, older than q5ii - obsolete.

check yr firmware version, best to have the last one.

this model, it was before himedia went int'l starting with q16 3 yrs ago.

so, the original firmware does not have google stuff - playstore, youtube, chrome...

for these od modles, if u change a working firmware, u need to install the google patch file too to get all google back.

it is not too late - u just need to find the right firmware and google patch file.

i have done that many times on my old q5ii.

still rocking, can playback bdmv, dtshdma, can stream all popular apps... but yes, old things are slower!

for u, i would think the current q5/q10pro will be good.

take cheaper but smaller storage q5pro if just for playback and not so much online streaming.

take q10pro if u plan to do more online apps streaming and like the internal HDD compartment - u can just take out the HDD in acryan, put it inside q10pro, will work auto, no need to do anything else.

capoi
post May 17 2017, 11:38 AM

473 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ May 17 2017, 10:00 AM)
himedia q5 is >5 years old, older than q5ii - obsolete.

check yr firmware version, best to have the last one.

this model, it was before himedia went int'l starting with q16 3 yrs ago.

so, the original firmware does not have google stuff - playstore, youtube, chrome...

for these od modles, if u change a working firmware, u need to install the google patch file too to get all google back.
it is not too late - u just need to find the right firmware and google patch file.

i have done that many times on my old q5ii.

still rocking, can playback bdmv, dtshdma, can stream all popular apps... but yes, old things are slower!
for u, i would think the current q5/q10pro will be good.

take cheaper but smaller storage q5pro if just for playback and not so much online streaming.

take q10pro if u plan to do more online apps streaming and like the internal HDD compartment - u can just take out the HDD in acryan, put it inside q10pro, will work auto, no need to do anything else.
Thank you. I really appreciate your feedbacks. I will check again the firmware version. From my previous Google, it seem like the latest firmware also not really solve the problem. I read a lots of user bad experiences for this model. I will try to check new android box spec and user review.
AVFAN
post May 17 2017, 02:01 PM

24,449 posts

QUOTE(capoi @ May 17 2017, 11:38 AM)
Thank you. I really appreciate your feedbacks. I will check again the firmware version. From my previous Google, it seem like the latest firmware also not really solve the problem. I read a lots of user bad experiences for this model. I will try to check new android box spec and user review.
somewhere in this thread is a link to all himedia models latest/last firmwares... i can't remember which page.

u need latest firmware+google patch to get all the google stuff.

yr box is old, all old things need to retire... biggrin.gif

i have retired acryan pohd, acryan mini - both excellent players with superior video output but can't do online streaming, can't play certain files, subtitles.

i am about to retire my oldest q5ii becos it can't do 4k, hevc, 10 bit, ddtruehd.

still have one more q5ii, q16, q10pro in service.

as tech moves along, new formats becoming mainstream, have to keep up.

when u buy yr next box, take note the specs alone won't say it all.

best if u take yr files and demo test them.

or at least confirm with other users it is good for what u want.

boxes are never created the same, price considered.

there can be marked differences in certain things, e.g. firmware updates for 2-3 yrs, video and audio playback output quality.

and if u r used to the picture quality of ac ryan pohd, u will know when u next watch one of yr files on another box.

This post has been edited by AVFAN: May 17 2017, 02:06 PM
dwRK
post May 17 2017, 06:23 PM

the consummate chartist
6,225 posts

Sometimes the apps you install / uninstall can cause instabilities...

Try full reset...check before you start populating it again

So of the China firmware have the google already...just need to check properly...

Here you go...
http://bbs.himedia.cn/forum-12-1.html
voncrane
post May 17 2017, 11:18 PM

Noir et fier!
7,118 posts

If a factory reset doesn't solve the various issues.. To save yourself a lot of headaches, better just get a newer and much better device.
capoi
post May 18 2017, 08:16 AM

473 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ May 17 2017, 02:01 PM)
somewhere in this thread is a link to all himedia models latest/last firmwares... i can't remember which page.

u need latest firmware+google patch to get all the google stuff.

yr box is old, all old things need to retire... biggrin.gif

i have retired acryan pohd, acryan mini - both excellent players with superior video output but can't do online streaming, can't play certain files, subtitles.

i am about to retire my oldest q5ii becos it can't do 4k, hevc, 10 bit, ddtruehd.

still have one more q5ii, q16, q10pro in service.

as tech moves along, new formats becoming mainstream, have to keep up.

when u buy yr next box, take note the specs alone won't say it all.

best if u take yr files and demo test them.

or at least confirm with other users it is good for what u want.

boxes are never created the same, price considered.

there can be marked differences in certain things, e.g. firmware updates for 2-3 yrs, video and audio playback output quality.

and if u r used to the picture quality of ac ryan pohd, u will know when u next watch one of yr files on another box.
Your ac Ryan still good? Mine still good. My android actually younger compared to my ac Ryan. If your ac Ryan still good, want to sell it? I still use ac Ryan. My android box only serve me during my time at my parent house.

QUOTE(dwRK @ May 17 2017, 06:23 PM)
Sometimes the apps you install / uninstall can cause instabilities...

Try full reset...check before you start populating it again

So of the China firmware have the google already...just need to check properly...

Here you go...
http://bbs.himedia.cn/forum-12-1.html
Thank you. I will try it again. I did reset 2 time already and it actually solve the problem but not permanently. This time maybe the signal for to replace it with the New one.

QUOTE(voncrane @ May 17 2017, 11:18 PM)
If a factory reset doesn't solve the various issues.. To save yourself a lot of headaches, better just get a newer and much better device.
Thank you. That the final option. Appreciate your feedback.
AVFAN
post May 18 2017, 09:28 AM

24,449 posts

QUOTE(capoi @ May 18 2017, 08:16 AM)
Your ac Ryan still good? Mine still good. My android actually younger compared to my ac Ryan. If your ac Ryan still good, want to sell it? I still use ac Ryan. My android box only serve me during my time at my parent house.
i hv a pohd and a pohd mini.

both retired in boxes now, complete sets.

both in working condition.

been using them until a few months ago.

if interested, pm me! biggrin.gif
capoi
post May 18 2017, 11:41 PM

473 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ May 18 2017, 09:28 AM)
i hv a pohd and a pohd mini.

both retired in boxes now, complete sets.

both in working condition.

been using them until a few months ago.
if interested, pm me! biggrin.gif
I will once confirm my android box can't be safe or fix the problem.

176 Pages « < 123 124 125 126 127 > » Top

0.0292sec    0.56    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 08:16 PM