126 Pages « < 50 51 52 53 54 > » Bottom

Streamyx The Official Streamyx 4Mbps Users Club V4, Streamyx 4 Mbps Discussion Thread Q&A

pigduck
post Sep 10 2011, 05:41 PM

422 posts

the TM guys and my wiring people came and spent roughly the whole day in my house -

TM downgraded my data rate from 5mbps to 4096 and my SNR is now at 12+. It was at 8 before then dropped to 6 to 3 to -3.9. However, they said there was something wrong with my internal wiring because when they used their own wire they could get an SNR of 20.

So yes, I do believe my internal wiring may not be able to support data very well.

TM said I should downgrade my package from 4mbps to 2mbps and change my wiring.

I did some speed tests and am now getting 3.5mbps on my line. This morning for the first time, I got 4.85mbps. But of course, the SNR margin was so erratic that it made it very unstable. We will see now by decreasing the data rate whether it will have any effect on my line. This is probably the best solution for now.

I don't think I will change my wiring either - it will need to be exposed and it looks ugly. Plus I'm going to wait for high speed broadband in my area then upgrade to fibre optics. I don't think it's worth changing my telephone cables now when I do eventually intend to change to fibre optics.

Added on September 10, 2011, 5:42 pmAnother sad thing - ip that starts with 175 don't work well for me. 218 is better and I never get 60. Why is this so?

This post has been edited by pigduck: Sep 10 2011, 05:42 PM
Shunz
post Sep 10 2011, 08:15 PM

217 posts

QUOTE(kelvin_hata @ Sep 10 2011, 12:20 PM)
The engineer giv me up to 5mb, i request for 6mb he told me to obvious... so...Zzzzz

SNR margin and line attenuation

IP is 60.50.1/2/3/4/5.xxx
Just for information, You only can get maximum of 5.119 Megabit per second blush.gif
The 7MB and 6MB is inaccurate, that's just the speed of burst biggrin.gif
andy0212
post Sep 10 2011, 09:34 PM

132 posts

Does anybody from JB got problem with high ping to anywhere right now?

2nd time happen to me this week

T__T

Edit : aaaa okay back to normal just now... zzzzzzzzz

This post has been edited by andy0212: Sep 10 2011, 09:42 PM
kelvin_hata
post Sep 10 2011, 11:27 PM

V.S.O.P
2,696 posts

QUOTE(pigduck @ Sep 10 2011, 05:41 PM)
the TM guys and my wiring people came and spent roughly the whole day in my house -

TM downgraded my data rate from 5mbps to 4096 and my SNR is now at 12+. It was at 8 before then dropped to 6 to 3 to -3.9. However, they said there was something wrong with my internal wiring because when they used their own wire they could get an SNR of 20.

So yes, I do believe my internal wiring may not be able to support data very well.

TM said I should downgrade my package from 4mbps to 2mbps and change my wiring.

I did some speed tests and am now getting 3.5mbps on my line. This morning for the first time, I got 4.85mbps. But of course, the SNR margin was so erratic that it made it very unstable. We will see now by decreasing the data rate whether it will have any effect on my line. This is probably the best solution for now.

I don't think I will change my wiring either - it will need to be exposed and it looks ugly. Plus I'm going to wait for high speed broadband in my area then upgrade to fibre optics. I don't think it's worth changing my telephone cables now when I do eventually intend to change to fibre optics.

Added on September 10, 2011, 5:42 pmAnother sad thing - ip that starts with 175 don't work well for me. 218 is better and I never get 60. Why is this so?
after few reboot... i not able to get ip start from 60 ... 218 is the better for now. 175 getting time out when ping to dns

QUOTE(Shunz @ Sep 10 2011, 08:15 PM)
Just for information, You only can get maximum of 5.119 Megabit per second blush.gif
The 7MB and 6MB is inaccurate, that's just the speed of burst  biggrin.gif
wat so ever... as long as dun dc n slow speed den ok for me. biggrin.gif
pigduck
post Sep 11 2011, 12:22 AM

422 posts

those TM guys keep saying there's nothing wrong with 175 and saying it's a premium IP. what rubbish.

Added on September 11, 2011, 12:25 amIn fact, after their tampering today, i've been getting terrible speeds at 1-2mbps only.

This post has been edited by pigduck: Sep 11 2011, 12:25 AM
blu3d3vil
post Sep 11 2011, 01:13 AM

28 posts

Anyone experiencing high ping for these few days? I'm having 780ms ping but 3.2mb speed in pj area
Ijustaguy
post Sep 11 2011, 02:13 AM

Dunno y many ppl think that 218 is premium ip, what i hv tested many times that my download speed with 175 is more faster n stable then 218 ip, maybe too many ppl is using 218 ip now

Attached image(s)
cape
post Sep 11 2011, 02:21 AM

Hello guys,

If I am upgrading my streamyx line from 1mbps to 4mbps BB package, am I entitled for free cordless phone or modem?

AjkR06
post Sep 11 2011, 05:17 AM

that's me
1,548 posts

hopefully one day tm will increase the upload speed from 512kbps tp something much more faster like 640kbps or 768kbps maybe.. That's more than enough for me since i think 512kbps is just to slow...

Added on September 11, 2011, 5:22 am
QUOTE(cape @ Sep 11 2011, 02:21 AM)
Hello guys,

If I am upgrading my streamyx line from 1mbps to 4mbps BB package, am I entitled for free cordless phone or modem?
if you already got the free dect phone from the previous 1mbps package, then you're definitely not entitle for the other one. For the wireless modem, depending on the technician who will come to your house to setup your 4mbps, some will not so 'straight' where they will just hand out the new modem without any hesisation.... Unfortunately, i got the 'straight' technician where he said i already got the wireless modem and tm will not hand out the new modem if the customer already owned it. Haish....

This post has been edited by AjkR06: Sep 11 2011, 05:22 AM
Shunz
post Sep 11 2011, 01:15 PM

217 posts

QUOTE(pigduck @ Sep 11 2011, 12:22 AM)
those TM guys keep saying there's nothing wrong with 175 and saying it's a premium IP. what rubbish.

Added on September 11, 2011, 12:25 amIn fact, after their tampering today, i've been getting terrible speeds at 1-2mbps only.
There's nothing known as premium ip range except 218
You need to test each range, some range have good routing to US, some have good routing to china

Added on September 11, 2011, 1:16 pm
QUOTE(Ijustaguy @ Sep 11 2011, 02:13 AM)
Dunno y many ppl think that 218 is premium ip, what i hv tested many times that my download speed with 175 is more faster n stable then 218 ip, maybe too many ppl is using 218 ip now
Its location dependent

This post has been edited by Shunz: Sep 11 2011, 01:16 PM
donhealyou
post Sep 11 2011, 02:04 PM

94 posts

QUOTE(kelvin_hata @ Sep 10 2011, 10:36 AM)
the engineer is coming for doin upgrade... but my line still at 1mb, he told me hav to wait til monday for the tm server to sync me to 4mb line?? izzit true??

[attachmentid=2428271]

Added on September 10, 2011, 10:40 amuser posted image

my speed still sleep.gif

Added on September 10, 2011, 10:48 am
bro... may i know ur phone line quality? i means the tone... vy noise or not?? if yes... ask the engineer to check ur cable. i facing this when i stay at kampung type house... was complain few times and manage to get the engineer to replace the telekom line from the house til telekom db. it about 500m ++
and i get 2mb line speed.  biggrin.gif  without disconnect issue lo..  nod.gif  icon_rolleyes.gif

Added on September 10, 2011, 11:17 amAfter some call in to 100... here the result.

user posted image <--- how come  sad.gif
hey i checked the phone line quality, downstairs the tone very clear but i check upstairs the tone got a little bit noisy sound... so any idea is it cable problem or other problem?
kelvin_hata
post Sep 12 2011, 12:32 AM

V.S.O.P
2,696 posts

QUOTE(donhealyou @ Sep 11 2011, 02:04 PM)
hey i checked the phone line quality, downstairs the tone very clear but i check upstairs the tone got a little bit noisy sound... so any idea is it cable problem or other problem?
hmm... lik this no idea... last time i facing is my phone tone background with lot of sparking sound.

Added on September 12, 2011, 12:33 am
QUOTE(AjkR06 @ Sep 11 2011, 05:17 AM)
if you already got the free dect phone from the previous 1mbps package, then you're definitely not entitle for the other one. For the wireless modem, depending on the technician who will come to your house to setup your 4mbps, some will not so 'straight' where they will just hand out the new modem without any hesisation.... Unfortunately, i got the 'straight' technician where he said i already got the wireless modem and tm will not hand out the new modem if the customer already owned it. Haish....
i got 2 dlink wifi modem now smile.gif laugh.gif

This post has been edited by kelvin_hata: Sep 12 2011, 12:33 AM
AjkR06
post Sep 12 2011, 05:20 AM

that's me
1,548 posts

QUOTE(donhealyou @ Sep 11 2011, 02:04 PM)
Since your phone line are split into several ports at your house, the for any additional ports available in your house, you need to install an ADSL splitter in order to filtered out the DSL Noise... DSL Signal actually runs out to every phone jack at your house, and you need to filter it by using that thingy... that's why you're experiencing a noisy sound when trying to make a calls as well as receiving the call... You can buy it from any IT and sometime, hardware shop also sell it...

DSL Splitter usually looked like this ;

This post has been edited by AjkR06: Sep 12 2011, 05:23 AM
availyboy
post Sep 12 2011, 05:28 AM

So Prettay!
786 posts

How much does it cost for the wiring to be changed?
I am using 4mbps package right now,but i am capped at 5120.
It seems that my SNR margin is really low which whoops around 8 to 10db.

Kinda unstable sometimes,but no disconnections so far.
Is it possible to request for a wiring change?
Haha thanks guys!
AjkR06
post Sep 12 2011, 06:18 AM

that's me
1,548 posts

QUOTE(availyboy @ Sep 12 2011, 05:28 AM)

Haha thanks guys!
yea, it's possible.. just call 100 and asked them that you wanted to change the wiring for your phone line...
Usually they will give you the contact number for the contractor around your area, then you need to deal directly with the contractor to change the wiring. The cost for change the wiring is various, it will start from RM50 for the first 5 meters while additional meter will be charged RM5/meter. Just rewquest to replace the wiring at my house about 3 months ago, and they charged me RM70 for the new wiring...
pigduck
post Sep 12 2011, 10:53 AM

422 posts

QUOTE(availyboy @ Sep 12 2011, 05:28 AM)

Haha thanks guys!
U and me same. I called the TM guys to check what's up and they suggested I change the internal wiring of my house but since they reduced my data rate to 4096 on my existing wiring, I have gotten a worse connection.
pitywoman
post Sep 12 2011, 01:29 PM

484 posts

what will be u all normal dl speed? 300kb/s? or 400kb/s or 500kb/s?
donhealyou
post Sep 12 2011, 02:22 PM

94 posts

QUOTE(AjkR06 @ Sep 12 2011, 05:20 AM)
Since your phone line are split into several ports at your house, the for any additional ports available in your house, you need to install an ADSL splitter in order to filtered out the DSL Noise... DSL Signal actually runs out to every phone jack at your house, and you need to filter it by using that thingy... that's why you're experiencing a noisy sound when trying to make a calls as well as receiving the call... You can buy it from any IT and sometime, hardware shop also sell it...

DSL Splitter usually looked like this ;

so all my phone in the house need to put this dsl splitter?

AjkR06
post Sep 12 2011, 03:34 PM

that's me
1,548 posts

QUOTE(donhealyou @ Sep 12 2011, 02:22 PM)
so all my phone in the house need to put this dsl splitter?
yea, splitter is needed for every additional phone socket available at your house which share the same physical main line...
glamour
post Sep 12 2011, 03:41 PM

Under Cover Police
425 posts

i'm using 4MB Download 512k Upload
rm 88 per month with free netbook laptop..
i'm just wondering.. how can i request for higher upload speed..
example 1MB or 2MB..
and my ping is 42ms..
izzit normal or slow?

126 Pages « < 50 51 52 53 54 > » Top

0.0306sec    0.36    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 07:36 PM