QUOTE(BlueBean @ Apr 29 2012, 05:15 PM)
so how was your interview?hope you get in...
this year they are accepting about 40 people
So you're interested in ARCHITECTURE? Version 3, A guide to becoming an Architect
Apr 29 2012, 08:30 PM
359 posts Joined: Jun 2007 |
Apr 29 2012, 08:43 PM
197 posts Joined: Mar 2010 |
the interview is just as what i heard from here, relaxing and friendly.
all is good, thanks for your concern! still have one more interview to go, next week utm. |
Apr 30 2012, 02:13 PM
1 posts Joined: May 2011 |
hi Mr. Azarimy! i got the offer from UTM for the architecture interview on this thursday. The offer letter mentioned that :
Saudara/i juga dikehendaki membawa alat tulis seperti pencil 2B, pensil warna, pastel, marker dan getah pemadam untuk ujian melukis. Calon juga dimohon untuk membawa potfolio hasil kretiviti peribadi seperti berikut : a) Satu contoh lukisan bebas berwarna dan tidak berwarna. b) Kraftangan(ukiran,anyaman,tampalan dan lain-lain). c) Rekaan grafik. d) Fotografi. Does that mean that my portfolio must consist of 1 uncolored drawing,1 colored drawing, any handicrafts, graphic designs as well as photograph? |
Apr 30 2012, 05:10 PM
10,672 posts Joined: Jul 2005 From: shah alam - skudai - shah alam |
actually u may bring whatever u have. those are the minimum guide, should u dont know what to bring. it's okay NOT to have either one of those.
Apr 30 2012, 08:38 PM
30 posts Joined: Apr 2012 |
So means i dun need take art? even if i go private college to study architecture?
Added on April 30, 2012, 8:47 pm QUOTE(azarimy @ Apr 29 2012, 11:12 AM) Btw to enroll into architecture i also need to draw right ? (shit i nver draw anything hi-detail before cuz spm i din take arts ) OMG!This post has been edited by k.e-y1994: Apr 30 2012, 08:47 PM |
May 1 2012, 09:50 AM
4 posts Joined: Jul 2010 |
QUOTE(tehtmc @ Apr 19 2011, 11:03 AM) My advice is that going through the IPTS is not the recommended route. Hi there. Once again thank you Mr. Azarimy for taking your time out to reply every single question posted here. I admire your patience and dedication. I would like to humbly ask for your opinion regarding the following questions:-I know a parent whose son finished his diploma at Taylors. He went on to continue his studies in the UK. He got his B.Sc after studying there for 2 years and he told his parent that he had finished his degree in Architecture and he would be doing his post-graduate degree( Masters) for another 2 years. The fact is that, the 'M. Arch' that he will be getting is not even equivalent to LAM Part II since it is not accredited and he would need to take the LAM exams again upon returning to Malaysia in 2 years' time. 1. I'm a Taylor's Diploma grad and soon after graduation I went for a 2-years further studies in the UK and thereupon had obtained my RIBA PART I last year. I'm currently working in Singapore and have plans to do my Part II here in Singapore too, most probably next year as my brother is here working as well. However I do have firm decisions to go back to Sabah and practice as an architect as that's my tanah tumpah darahku and that's where my old folks are. But after stumbling upon the LAM accreditation list ( http://www.lam.gov.my/accreditationlist.html ) I'm very surprised to see that both the prestigious NUS and NTU of Singapore are not accredited in Malaysia. My situation is, Singapore has to be my last stop before my return to Sabah as I couldnt afford to make any major shifts again. My question is, do I still need to do my LAM Part II exam if I hold a NUS/NTU PART II? Correct me if I'm wrong, but last time I checked ( 5 years ago before entering Taylors) I remember the schools in Singapore and Hong Kong were accredited. Is the LAM PART II exams tedious and it is advisable for me to do so? I appreciate your kind advises. 2. Will my work experiences in Singapore be valid enough to be judged and evaluated upon my return to Sabah, when the time has come and I need to take my LAM exams? 3. Another question. May I know if sufficient years of working experiences in the field( in Malaysia or Singapore, or a combination of both), say 8-10 years, can actually substitute a Part II Masters? Thanks for your kind attention Sir. I wish you a happy Labour Day. Regards, Elaine This post has been edited by lacecraze: May 1 2012, 10:25 AM |
May 2 2012, 10:26 AM
183 posts Joined: May 2011 |
May 2 2012, 10:42 AM
QUOTE(lacecraze @ May 1 2012, 01:50 AM) Hi there. Once again thank you Mr. Azarimy for taking your time out to reply every single question posted here. I admire your patience and dedication. I would like to humbly ask for your opinion regarding the following questions:- the thing about accreditation is that, the school must allow the governing body access to their curriculum, syllabus and so on in order to be evaluated. since u've worked there for a while, i'm sure u know how they are when it comes to opening up to their neighbours. so there u have it: NUS and NTU not being accredited NOT bcoz we dont recognize them, but we dont have access to their schools.1. I'm a Taylor's Diploma grad and soon after graduation I went for a 2-years further studies in the UK and thereupon had obtained my RIBA PART I last year. I'm currently working in Singapore and have plans to do my Part II here in Singapore too, most probably next year as my brother is here working as well. However I do have firm decisions to go back to Sabah and practice as an architect as that's my tanah tumpah darahku and that's where my old folks are. But after stumbling upon the LAM accreditation list ( http://www.lam.gov.my/accreditationlist.html ) I'm very surprised to see that both the prestigious NUS and NTU of Singapore are not accredited in Malaysia. My situation is, Singapore has to be my last stop before my return to Sabah as I couldnt afford to make any major shifts again. My question is, do I still need to do my LAM Part II exam if I hold a NUS/NTU PART II? Correct me if I'm wrong, but last time I checked ( 5 years ago before entering Taylors) I remember the schools in Singapore and Hong Kong were accredited. Is the LAM PART II exams tedious and it is advisable for me to do so? I appreciate your kind advises. 2. Will my work experiences in Singapore be valid enough to be judged and evaluated upon my return to Sabah, when the time has come and I need to take my LAM exams? 3. Another question. May I know if sufficient years of working experiences in the field( in Malaysia or Singapore, or a combination of both), say 8-10 years, can actually substitute a Part II Masters? Thanks for your kind attention Sir. I wish you a happy Labour Day. Regards, Elaine and u can see the repercussion working to their advantage. malaysians studying there will want to stay there bcoz their degrees arent recognized automatically in malaysia. interesting, isnt it? but no worries. u ARE recognized for both RIBA parts 1 and 2, right? all u need is to bring a statement along saying so (from RIBA), and u should be able to sit and fly through the LAM part 1 and 2 exams. the exam isnt hard. it's basically a portfolio review (of all ur works) and an interview. if ur works can stand on its own, and u not screwing up the interview, it should be a walk in the park. no need to mess ur head about experience, subtituting part 2 and all that. QUOTE(gm0023 @ May 2 2012, 02:26 AM) they cant. so they will evaluate based on the sketch that u will do early in the morning. and im sure u know how hard it is to sketch under pressure, right? |
May 2 2012, 11:15 AM
4,864 posts Joined: Nov 2008 |
QUOTE(azarimy @ Apr 27 2012, 09:46 PM) actually, USM as well. ok. noted and thanks.yes. not being accepted is different from rejecting. it means that they didnt offer u at all, which allows u to reapply again, and again and again. rejection means they offer something to u, but u decline. actually most IPTs dont really mind if u reject them, as long as u have a good reason (family, budget, timing and so on). but some do keep a record (and a grudge!), so it's safer to NOT reject any offer! so bottom line is, so long as u're not rejecting any offers, u can keep on applying until u're bored or until they actually offer u a place. |
May 2 2012, 03:34 PM
Validating
1,333 posts Joined: Apr 2009 |
QUOTE the thing about accreditation is that, the school must allow the governing body access to their curriculum, syllabus and so on in order to be evaluated. since u've worked there for a while, i'm sure u know how they are when it comes to opening up to their neighbours. so there u have it: NUS and NTU not being accredited NOT bcoz we dont recognize them, but we dont have access to their schools. Are you sure that the NUS has been denying access to LAM for the purpose of accreditation? I don't think it is to do with access. The other degrees from NUS - medical/dentistry/engineering/law etc have been recognized in Malaysia all along. And the architecture schools in the US, Canada & other non-accredited schools have also been denying access to LAM? |
May 2 2012, 04:13 PM
QUOTE(tehtmc @ May 2 2012, 07:34 AM) Are you sure that the NUS has been denying access to LAM for the purpose of accreditation? lets just say we dont have access to their system like we used to anymore. this time around, to be accredited, a school should be assessed. the ministry suggested to no longer automatically accredit schools that have been accredited by a 3rd party, but rather go straight and assess them ourselves (meaning LAM). I don't think it is to do with access. The other degrees from NUS - medical/dentistry/engineering/law etc have been recognized in Malaysia all along. And the architecture schools in the US, Canada & other non-accredited schools have also been denying access to LAM? any schools wish to be accredited will have to apply to LAM, and LAM will send a panel to assess them. just like if we want accreditation from RIBA. but of course, those people in LAM might have spiced it up a bit. it could be that LAM havent had the time to visit their schools. or NUS themselves arent interested to apply for LAM accreditation Added on May 2, 2012, 4:14 pm QUOTE(wildc18 @ May 2 2012, 08:10 AM) Hi....I am a college student now and took the course of drafting technology and if i Graduate i have a plan to proceed as an architecture someday, but i had this problem just this past few weeks. (To make this message shorter) Is it difficult to take the course of architecture? Does it gives you a headache? and is drafting and architecture has similarities??....GOd bless... i. yes, it's difficult to most people.ii. yes. migraines too. iii. drafting is a small subset in architecture. This post has been edited by azarimy: May 2 2012, 04:14 PM |
May 2 2012, 04:25 PM
Validating
1,333 posts Joined: Apr 2009 |
[quote=azarimy,May 2 2012, 04:13 PM]
lets just say we dont have access to their system like we used to anymore. this time around, to be accredited, a school should be assessed. the ministry suggested to no longer automatically accredit schools that have been accredited by a 3rd party, but rather go straight and assess them ourselves (meaning LAM). any schools wish to be accredited will have to apply to LAM, and LAM will send a panel to assess them. just like if we want accreditation from RIBA. but of course, those people in LAM might have spiced it up a bit. it could be that LAM havent had the time to visit their schools. or NUS themselves arent interested to apply for LAM accreditation Added on May 2, 2012, 4:14 pm Yeah, that's more like it. It's typical of Malaysia gomen service (not directed at you though, aza Now, why would NUS want to apply to LAM to be accredited?? For that matter, why would Harvard U want to apply to LAM to be accredited? This post has been edited by tehtmc: May 2 2012, 04:27 PM |
May 2 2012, 10:54 PM
[quote=tehtmc,May 2 2012, 04:25 PM]
[quote=azarimy,May 2 2012, 04:13 PM] lets just say we dont have access to their system like we used to anymore. this time around, to be accredited, a school should be assessed. the ministry suggested to no longer automatically accredit schools that have been accredited by a 3rd party, but rather go straight and assess them ourselves (meaning LAM). any schools wish to be accredited will have to apply to LAM, and LAM will send a panel to assess them. just like if we want accreditation from RIBA. but of course, those people in LAM might have spiced it up a bit. it could be that LAM havent had the time to visit their schools. or NUS themselves arent interested to apply for LAM accreditation Added on May 2, 2012, 4:14 pm Yeah, that's more like it. It's typical of Malaysia gomen service (not directed at you though, aza Now, why would NUS want to apply to LAM to be accredited?? For that matter, why would Harvard U want to apply to LAM to be accredited? [/quote] Based on last year's 2011 ranking (see www.tanggam.com), UTM was ranked 6th in Asia for Architectural Studies. NUS wasnt on the Top 10 list. Read below: 1. Tokyo Institute of Technology 2. Chinese University of Hong Kong 3. University of Tokyo 4. American University of Sharjah, UAE 5. Kyoto University 6. Universiti Teknologi Malaysia 7. The School of Planning and Architecture, Delhi 8. University of Tehran 9. Kyugn Hee University, Seoul 10. Technion University, Tel Aviv I wonder how UTM is ranked this year. Mr azarimy, do you know? |
May 4 2012, 10:26 PM
183 posts Joined: May 2011 |
Hahaha, great to saw you today My Azarimy in UTM KL.
May 5 2012, 08:55 PM
354 posts Joined: Apr 2012 |
When is the utm diploma in architecture interview result will be out?????
And how? |
May 5 2012, 11:30 PM
QUOTE(gm0023 @ May 4 2012, 02:26 PM) heheh.QUOTE(AnAngel65 @ May 5 2012, 12:55 PM) should be around 3rd week of may.Added on May 6, 2012, 4:48 pmafter all the interviews done, i'd have to say this batch in general isnt as impressive as last year's, despite the higher number of applicants. however, it does mean it's easier to separate the really good ones and the not so good ones. of all that i personally interviewed, i can say i'm 100% confident with only 5 candidates. why? bcoz most of them did not have a complete portfolio. heck, they dont even have a folder to compile the drawings. just 2-3 A4s in separate pieces. one of them had the idea to staple them together. i facepalm all the way. the same with ceevees and resume. put everything in a proper file. get ur ceevee ready and up to date. then only bring the original documents! who the F would wanna see a copy of ur certificates in an interview? nak makan penyepak? i was annoyed with most of the candidate that i lectured them on how to sit for an interview properly. nasib laaa. This post has been edited by azarimy: May 6 2012, 04:48 PM |
May 7 2012, 02:04 AM
55 posts Joined: May 2012 |
Mr.Aza, let's say if I didn't get any chances for IPTA,
between UCSI, IUCTT, LUCT, KLIUC & Taylors, which one is good for bachelor science of architecture part 1? and why? |
May 7 2012, 09:52 AM
Today is the day UiTM releases the result for the degree intake...
May 7 2012, 11:08 AM
May 7 2012, 12:33 PM
116 posts Joined: Dec 2009 From: Malaysia |
Yes, I got the offer to UiTM for architecture.
TAHNIAH! Anda telah berjaya ditawarkan program pengajian seperti berikut: KOD PROGRAM : E2300 NAMA PROGRAM PENGAJIAN : SARJANA MUDA SAINS (SENIBINA)# : UiTM - UNIVERSITI TEKNOLOGI MARA (UiTM) |
| Change to: | 0.0283sec
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 01:03 AM |