115 Pages « < 51 52 53 54 55 > » Bottom

Unifi Official TM UniFi High Speed Broadbrand Thread V9, save RM200 from 16 February - 31 March !

VerM
post Mar 13 2011, 01:00 AM

117 posts

QUOTE(hazairi @ Mar 12 2011, 10:56 PM)
if there's a maintenance or something like that, u guys can apply for compensation right?
Not with TM...(or any other local telcos...)

QUOTE(dimenxion @ Mar 12 2011, 11:01 PM)
if due to their own fault, most probably yes. but you need to know what is your SLA first. as a home user the SLA is pretty much lower compare to corporate, also depends on service u are using.

but if it's caused by natural disaster, then NO.
Both consumer & corporate customer dont have SLA (or SLG) for broadband services (streamyx & unifi)...

If the internet is slow due their fault then we can't do anything about it other than complain to the hotline...

Megatoots
post Mar 13 2011, 08:46 AM

QUOTE(naz9802 @ Mar 12 2011, 10:50 PM)
Apparently the earthquake at Japan gave impact to the underwater cable network. TM already put the announcement at their website.

ANNOUNCEMENT

INTERNET SERVICES DISRUPTION

Telekom Malaysia Berhad ™ wishes to inform our customers that TM and its consortium members have identified that the earthquake occurred in Japan earlier today has affected Japan – US Cable Network (JUCN) and Asia Pacific Cable Network 2 (APCN2) cable networks linking Malaysia to The United States of America (USA) and Hong Kong (HK).

Customers using Internet services nationwide may experience some degree of service degradation such as slow browsing and high latency while accessing international websites hosted in the USA, Europe and North Asia. Customers using Virtual Private Network (VPN) and other critical business applications linked to USA, Europe and North Asia may also experience some level of service degradation. Meanwhile, to alleviate the problem, the traffic has been diverted and managed effectively to ease the situation.

We will make further announcements on the progress of the restoration works and TM apologizes for any inconvenience caused by the disruption. We would like to assure our customers that all necessary measures is being taken to restore the services as soon as possible. 

We wish to thank our customers for their understanding and patience during the affected period. Should you require any further assistance, please do not hesitate to email us at help@tm.com.my for TM fixed line and Streamyx customers and unifi@tm.com.my for UniFi customers.

Thank you.
I've been having problems since the last week of February. Speed more or less the same after the quake. shakehead.gif
hackwire
post Mar 13 2011, 09:17 AM

4,256 posts

QUOTE(VerM @ Mar 12 2011, 11:49 AM)
i terminated my streamyx 1 month before i even register for unifi... (i can survive without internet at home)...

actually there is a bit of confusion i notice regarding unifi registeration for many people...

a) Unifi and streamyx is not related and not dependent on each other. In other words if our area is unifi serviceable then we can have both unifi and streamyx or we can terminate the streamyx. Termination is not necessarily after unifi installation. It can be anytime... perhaps the reason many received suggestion to terminate streamyx after unifi installation is because in case the unifi installation have problem we still have internet at home with streamyx

b) As part of the package (VIP), we are entitled to have 1 (one) VOIP number. We can not use existing landline number for unifi registration. It runs on two separate system. However, we may choose to keep the old number and end up with two numbers. Both have two separate billing. Again, termination of the existing number/line can be done anytime either before, during or after unifi installation...

c) Current promotion period ends 31 March. As long we register during the period we are entitled to whatever discount they give irrespective of installation date.

d) Advanced user may refer to http://unifi.athena.my as the site have detail information about improving our unifi experience..

as for the unifi billing, i received mine yesterday... and pro-rate begin from the date i started using the service (the installalation date) + stamp duty + 6% tax.
hope this helps!
thanks for the clarification. i guess i just wait for unifi installation first before i terminate the old one.
end of the month.
rattan
post Mar 13 2011, 09:28 AM

Droid
Trade Dispute
3,379 posts

QUOTE(koochy_rat @ Mar 12 2011, 09:37 AM)
Try turn off the 'auto channel selection' and choose a wifi channel manually. Works for me. The 20 hz setting didnt make a difference.
Just changed the setting. Hope it works. Will keep updating on progress.

Thx
dimenxion
post Mar 13 2011, 09:53 AM

289 posts

QUOTE(VerM @ Mar 13 2011, 01:00 AM)
Not with TM...(or any other local telcos...)
Both consumer & corporate customer dont have SLA (or SLG) for broadband services (streamyx & unifi)...

If the internet is slow due their fault then we can't do anything about it other than complain to the hotline...
yeah.. i know about the SLA. but most here dont. so we should educate them biggrin.gif
KKW
post Mar 13 2011, 10:06 AM

2,954 posts

I register behalf of my aunty by calling them..
Finally the day has come, the installer will come my aunty house on this sat..
I just wondering is TP-Link TL-WR841N the best router on unifi?

This post has been edited by KKW: Mar 13 2011, 10:06 AM
blindbox
post Mar 13 2011, 10:20 AM

Meh
1,705 posts

QUOTE(KKW @ Mar 13 2011, 10:06 AM)
I register behalf of my aunty by calling them..
Finally the day has come, the installer will come my aunty house on this sat..
I just wondering is TP-Link TL-WR841N the best router on unifi?
Any of your favourite router is good actually, as long as you use the D-Link as the vlan bridge and not use its wifi. If you don't like aving two routers right next to each other, then yeah, the tp-link routers which supports unifi officially are good.
KKW
post Mar 13 2011, 11:13 AM

2,954 posts

QUOTE(blindbox @ Mar 13 2011, 10:20 AM)
Any of your favourite router is good actually, as long as you use the D-Link as the vlan bridge and not use its wifi. If you don't like aving two routers right next to each other, then yeah, the tp-link routers which supports unifi officially are good.
Oh ok.. Thanks for the information.
How much is this router cost?
yewfatt
post Mar 13 2011, 11:15 AM

1,468 posts

is this tp-link modem compatible with unifi?

TL-WR940N

This post has been edited by yewfatt: Mar 13 2011, 11:30 AM
thankyou
post Mar 13 2011, 11:29 AM

1,941 posts

http://newenterprise.allthingsd.com/201103...e-going-strong/

Most of the undersea cables are fine... but is this the one that slow us down?

"That’s not to say there hasn’t been damage. There have been breaks in two segments of Pacnet’s EAC cable system. And the Pacific Crossing system has also gone down since the earthquake. This is the cable once featured in a Wired photo essay “Tracing the Journey of a Single Bit.” The Pacific Crossing site currently displays a message that reads: “The Japanese cable landing station in Ajigaura has been evacuated due to the tsunami on the east coast of Japan and currently information on restoration activities and timing is unavailable. Further updates will be posted as additional information becomes available.”"
Jalopy
post Mar 13 2011, 12:02 PM

I'm from USJ2 area and have been experiencing slow connection for last two weeks especially in the evenings from 7pm till next morning. Am on VIP10 but d/l & ul can go down to as low as 0.8 to 1.5 MBps. I've lodged complaints and was asked to submit daily speedtests screenshots as proof. Finally UniFi acknowledge the problem and this is the reply I got:-

Guys, looks like have to live with problem until 24April 2011. Great!

Dear Mr. K,

We apologize for the delay in response with regards to your report status. Your complaint (CTT#: 1-8444xxxx) to our centre made on (Created Date: 07/03/2011) has been forwarded to the respective Network / Technical Department for rectification activity. Please be informed that whenever there is a degradation detected in UniFi network, a Network Trouble Ticket (NTT#1-78934xxxx) would be created to rectify the issue. Currently we detect congestion at ERXKLJ22 slot 2/0. Capture from IV, congestion detected at 3PM-5PM and 10PM-1AM.Customer will facing slow browsing/slow Throughput at the time mention. Migration plan will be started on 20 April .

TMUC should able to keep you updated on the latest update and progress regularly till the restoration completed. Please call our centre at 1300 88 1221 or kindly drop us a line at unifi@tm.com.my for further assistance and advice.

Best Regards,

Alternate Contact Group (ACG) Technical

TM UniFi Centre
(Sales) : 1 300 88 1222 Mon-Fri (9am – 9pm) , Sat (10am-6pm)
(Customer Support) : 1 300 88 1221 (24x7)
E-Mail: UniFi@tm.com.my

hazairi
post Mar 13 2011, 12:12 PM

2,694 posts

Hi guys, my installation will be on 15th March. I'm living in an apartment. I've read that in apartment, it'll use VDSL2. Does that mean they will use the current telephone line that is already in my apartment? Or they will replace the wire with a new one from the MDF/SDF room?

This post has been edited by hazairi: Mar 13 2011, 12:14 PM
BlueHeng
post Mar 13 2011, 01:24 PM

1,604 posts

QUOTE(hazairi @ Mar 13 2011, 12:12 PM)
Hi guys, my installation will be on 15th March. I'm living in an apartment. I've read that in apartment, it'll use VDSL2. Does that mean they will use the current telephone line that is already in my apartment? Or they will replace the wire with a new one from the MDF/SDF room?
VDSL2+ means copper wiring if I'm not mistaken. They'll just use your apartment's existing wiring. It won't be as fast as FTTH.
stan001
post Mar 13 2011, 01:27 PM

623 posts

QUOTE(hazairi @ Mar 13 2011, 12:12 PM)
Yes, existing tel line, my case, they pull out the streamyx service and jumper in the Unifi.. so I immediately lose Streamyx service ..

Added on March 13, 2011, 1:32 pmMy neighbor condo unit just installed Unifi ( saw the Unifi technicial left their unit ) and suddenly my Unifi service is DOWN.. WTF..

I called up Unifi to report a service down and after a few hours, they told me the EARLIEST date they can send a technician over is ONE WEEK later..

WTF!!!!!

Luckily I'm on Maxis HSBB 3 months trial. so still have backup Internet.. or else, how can we live without Internet for ONE WEEK!!!!

New users, pls beware of this !!!! There are no SLA (Service Level Agreement) to get your service up for home users..

This post has been edited by stan001: Mar 13 2011, 01:32 PM
dudey
post Mar 13 2011, 02:05 PM

111 posts

Just got my 20mb unifi line installed today.

When the technician was here, i checked my connection speed on www.speedtest.net and was getting 20mb to a server in Malaysia

However, after 2 hours, i checked speedtest.net again, im getting only 3mb out of the 20mb i subscribed for.

Must i restart my router to get a different IP address just like streamyx to get a better speed?
BlueHeng
post Mar 13 2011, 02:08 PM

1,604 posts

QUOTE(dudey @ Mar 13 2011, 02:05 PM)
Just got my 20mb unifi line installed today.

When the technician was here, i checked my connection speed on www.speedtest.net and was getting 20mb to a server in Malaysia

However, after 2 hours, i checked speedtest.net again, im getting only 3mb out of the 20mb i subscribed for.

Must i restart my router to get a different IP address just like streamyx to get a better speed?
Speedtesting sites aren't always accurate. The most accurate way is to look for a reliable server (to download a file) and max out your download speed. Anyways try clearing your browser's cache, history and other data.
dudey
post Mar 13 2011, 02:12 PM

111 posts

QUOTE(BlueHeng @ Mar 13 2011, 02:08 PM)
Speedtesting sites aren't always accurate. The most accurate way is to look for a reliable server (to download a file) and max out your download speed. Anyways try clearing your browser's cache, history and other data.
Thanks alot for the advice, is there any site that would let me download at full speed.

Thank you.
stasio
post Mar 13 2011, 02:52 PM

18,503 posts

Speed in PJ still maintain stable.

cannavaro
post Mar 13 2011, 02:59 PM

CATTENACIO
3,008 posts

QUOTE(stan001 @ Mar 13 2011, 01:27 PM)
Yes, existing tel line, my case, they pull out the streamyx service and jumper in the Unifi.. so I immediately lose Streamyx service ..

Added on March 13, 2011, 1:32 pmMy neighbor  condo unit just installed Unifi ( saw the Unifi technicial left their unit ) and suddenly my Unifi service is DOWN.. WTF..

I called up Unifi to report a service down and after a few hours, they told me the EARLIEST date they can send a technician over is ONE WEEK later..

WTF!!!!!

Luckily I'm on Maxis HSBB 3 months trial. so still have backup Internet.. or else, how can we live without Internet for ONE WEEK!!!!

New users, pls beware of this !!!! There are no SLA (Service Level Agreement) to get your service up for home users..
Don't forget to request for a rebate.
Neptern
post Mar 13 2011, 03:34 PM

518 posts

Oh ok.. Thanks for the information.
How much is this router cost?

I saw at Digital IT mall in PJ selling for rm89.Just make sure you download the beta firmware and get the right model.

This post has been edited by Neptern: Mar 13 2011, 03:49 PM

115 Pages « < 51 52 53 54 55 > » Top

0.0479sec    0.42    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 05:46 AM