9 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 > » Bottom

Nokia and Microsoft enter strategic alliance !, Symbian will be phased out, Meego stays

41LY45
post Feb 13 2011, 04:28 PM

Flipping out..
1,500 posts

QUOTE(gogo2 @ Feb 13 2011, 04:06 PM)
How can you compare HTC a handphone maker to alliance of Nokia and Microsoft?  doh.gif that's so wrong.

U see such announcement between HTC and Microsoft when they come out with WP7? No. Because its just normal deal between software and hardware maker.

This is alliance between Nokia and Microsoft. This is gang up. This is SPPARRTAAAAAAA!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Added on February 13, 2011, 4:12 pm
What to do? After going with Symbian so long and not making an inroad, Nokia need to do something
drastic. You go around ask people what they think of Symbian. Bad impression. N8 symbian might be
good. But unfortunately, it is a dead OS as far as market is concern.

The promise to Symbian developer is during when market still good for Symbian (although both iOS and
Android around). But end of last year until now, the Android gain so much market share that Nokia
need to jump off the burning platform like MeeGo and Symbian.

This is because WP7 is proven OS. Its good OS. Some said better than iOS and defintely better than
Android.

Sometimes, you have to break some promise if you're in dire state. When you're dying, you don't cling
to dying platform. You have to jump. You have to so something drastic.
We'll see how that goes. tongue.gif

MeeGo ain't a buring platform mang!!! Symbian is!!! whistling.gif

It's just "slow" as Elop said.

This post has been edited by 41LY45: Feb 13 2011, 04:29 PM
DJFoo000
post Feb 13 2011, 04:30 PM

Really? That's the best reply you can come up with?
3,000 posts

@gogo2, lol everything they do now is justifiable to you. Like literally, every action. Even what you call 'androidfags' also got tons of dissatisfaction towards Android and Google, but obviously reasonable ones.

This post has been edited by DJFoo000: Feb 13 2011, 04:30 PM
nicholasbeh
post Feb 13 2011, 04:33 PM

4,518 posts

proven microfag.tongue.gif
RUN!
41LY45
post Feb 13 2011, 04:37 PM

Flipping out..
1,500 posts

QUOTE(DJFoo000 @ Feb 13 2011, 04:30 PM)
@gogo2,  lol everything they do now is justifiable to you. Like literally, every action. Even what you call 'androidfags' also got tons of dissatisfaction towards Android and Google, but obviously reasonable ones.
QUOTE(nicholasbeh @ Feb 13 2011, 04:33 PM)
RUN!
ph34r.gif

*ninja out*
SUSgogo2
post Feb 13 2011, 04:45 PM

gogo2
18,672 posts

QUOTE(41LY45 @ Feb 13 2011, 04:28 PM)
We'll see how that goes.  tongue.gif

MeeGo ain't a buring platform mang!!! Symbian is!!!  whistling.gif

It's just "slow" as Elop said.
MeeGo haven't come out yet... and iOS and Android keep on grabbing shares... surely MeeGo is part of burning platform...
slow means burning liao...

QUOTE(DJFoo000 @ Feb 13 2011, 04:30 PM)
@gogo2,  lol everything they do now is justifiable to you. Like literally, every action. Even what you call 'androidfags' also got tons of dissatisfaction towards Android and Google, but obviously reasonable ones.
Of course its justifiable. Its all based on market and timing bro. If Nokia keep on with what they are doing, can die man. Can die.

QUOTE(nicholasbeh @ Feb 13 2011, 04:33 PM)
RUN!
Dun run la. I won't eat u all.

QUOTE(41LY45 @ Feb 13 2011, 04:37 PM)
ph34r.gif

*ninja out*
cop out... =.=||
Leo the Lion
post Feb 13 2011, 06:39 PM

6,358 posts

rest in peace symbian sad.gif
zurggie
post Feb 13 2011, 07:36 PM

299 posts

Although I hate microsoft, maybe its best for the dying Nokia. Most handphone user here in Malaysia didn't know about WP7, android, or iOS. But they do know which is Nokia, Samsung, SE, iPhone or HTC. Nokia still leading in handphone manufacturer, so this is a win for Microsoft to expend their Mobile OS user.

On the other hand... I don't think Google lost anything in this race. Google mission is to get more people connected to the internet and use their service like Search, Youtube, Gmail, Docs, and many more. Nokia+Microsoft help them doing it. So its a big win for Google.

This post has been edited by zurggie: Feb 13 2011, 07:36 PM
WhatMan
post Feb 13 2011, 08:44 PM

1,623 posts

QUOTE(gogo2 @ Feb 13 2011, 03:35 PM)
You're wrong. Nokia is actually owning half of WP7. And WP7 will include Ovi and Symbian port. So means Nokia can change
anything they want with WP7.

I don't understand why you guys don't understand how big changes WP7 will be made by Nokia. I find it weird.
Got proof, bos?

iipohbee
post Feb 13 2011, 09:48 PM

603 posts

Meego is kind of good. I've tried it on my netbook before.

It lacked apps though. So few you can count them with your fingers.Other than that if it picks up with speed, fluidity and had more apps on the same level as Android/iOS it could be a good challenger.

Since when Nokia is owning half of WP7?
It was only Nokia's exclusivity to Symbian with very few other brands using Symbian that made them distinctive.
Going with WP7 doesn't make them this way. LG, HTC, Acer, Dell compete directly with them. In fact there are some other brands such as HTC which makes phone with higher built quality than Nokia when it comes to speaker phone quality, screens & etc.
BBXiong
post Feb 13 2011, 09:53 PM

CFX
6,317 posts

QUOTE(nicholasbeh @ Feb 13 2011, 02:19 PM)
i dont think microsoft will allow nokia modify their os so much to be nokia alike phone..since microsoft so strict to wp7.
WP 7 is strictly metro UI only, they don allow ANY customized UI from manufacturers... why u think HTC's WP7 doesnt have Sens UI in it?
mfitri77
post Feb 13 2011, 10:31 PM

1,167 posts

Not in the case of Nokia apparently, as Elop has confirmed that the agreement between the two isn't your standard OEM agreement, with technologies going both ways. To be honest too, Microsoft don't really care of Nokia be given leeway to customize the OS, mainly because Nokia has clearly stated that Wp7 is the primary OS, and they won't be dabbling with Android.

From my reading of the releases a few days, Nokia did talk to Google, but there were several things Nokia didn't like.

1. Giving up control - Google allows you to customize everything, but as many have noticed, they want control over the more important bits, like location services (Google Maps, Location Sensing).

2. Opposition from telco companies - right now, it's either android or iOS. They would really like Wp7 to be an alternative (or more of a hammer to make sure Google and Apple understand that they have alternatives and can't be pushed around)

3. Differentiation - Heck, become another faceless android os phone?
DJFoo000
post Feb 13 2011, 11:11 PM

3,000 posts

Wait. I don't get it. Everyone says variation is a problem in Android. For all I know Android offers the most variation possible to a phone manufacturer. It is WP7 that is faceless. Not one WP7 phone out there is significantly different from the other.

Seriously, someone explain that to me. I genuinely ask for someone to explain how Android is bland and monotonous versus how WP7 is offering more variation possibilities to manufacturers.

Please no fanboy replies. Sensible, reasonable, technical replies are most welcomed.

For all I know, make one good Android and you'll hit gold. Galaxy S selling 10 million units worldwide is a pretty huge statement.

This post has been edited by DJFoo000: Feb 13 2011, 11:13 PM
ViRaViRa
post Feb 14 2011, 12:00 AM

Think GOOD. Live WELL. Be HAPPY.
4,625 posts

QUOTE(DJFoo000 @ Feb 13 2011, 11:11 PM)
Wait. I don't get it. Everyone says variation is a problem in Android. For all I know Android offers the most variation possible to a phone manufacturer. It is WP7 that is faceless. Not one WP7 phone out there is significantly different from the other.

Seriously, someone explain that to me. I genuinely ask for someone to explain how Android is bland and monotonous versus how WP7 is offering more variation possibilities to manufacturers.

Please no fanboy replies. Sensible, reasonable, technical replies are most welcomed.

For all I know, make one good Android and you'll hit gold. Galaxy S selling 10 million units worldwide is a pretty huge statement.
Everyone? You sure? Probably you have forgotten the word 'some'....or let's take it as 'most' (to satisfy you). By saying 'everyone' it is obviously a generalisation.

FOR NOW, there is no significant difference between one WP7 phone and another, but HOW MANY WP7 phones are out there for you to compare and conclude?

There is a difference, but it is not significant. I agree, but if you are comparing 15 WP7 phones in total (and mostly from the same maker), you can't expect a significant difference YET. It is still early.

If we take a sample of 15 high end Android phones e.g. from HTC, they too don't have any significant difference (unless you root it, or launcherpro etc). Hardware wise, the difference is NOT SIGNIFICANT.

I genuinely ask for someone to explain how Android is bland and monotonous versus how WP7 is offering more variation possibilities to manufacturers.

I never said anything about it, so I don't have comments. Android is definitely not a dull and monotonous (at least for me).
mfitri77
post Feb 14 2011, 12:06 AM

1,167 posts

QUOTE(DJFoo000 @ Feb 13 2011, 11:11 PM)

I don't think anyone here is saying Android is bland in monotonous. Well, unless if too much exposure (heck, CSL also now producing android phones) is making a brand monotonous.

Android is a problem because everyone is using it. And differentiation is very important if everyone is using a common platform, you could be lost in a sea of competitors and you could very well end up losing customers, because they have no particular urge to buy your phone, because it is so similar to each other. Motoblur, Timescape, Sense UI? These are the UI customization by Motorola, SE and HTC. They needed to be different to make sure their product stood out.

In the case of WP7, their problem is two fold, mainly because HTC, Samsung and LG, the three comitted to WP7 seems to be producing very boring phone, almost refusing to innovate more that the baseline hardware that Microsoft has specified. In the case of HTC, they shoved WP7 into HD2 and called them HD7, all the while drowning the Wp7 portfolio with successions of Android phones.

And the fact also remains that these three manufacturers were quiet happy to sell the hardware without worrying too much about the software. It's free some more. But the scary part is as long as you use an Android phone, whatever you do with it is being tracked by Google so they can know where, what, who you are. In light of that, free means having your habits go to the internet.

What happens now is because Google said android is free, it gets shoved into every device imaginable, and customized sometimes to its detriment. You now have tons of devices that works using a common platform with all the advantages, and here it is, disadvantages.

Android keeps being a work in progress. Releases after releases that offer incremental updates and improvement. Because of that, compatibility goes out the window, and you have unfortunate ones that are stuck with stale food (aka old versions) that cannot update. If you cannot update, then the marketplace is useless, since now you have to go by platform. This apps works on 1.6, this one 2.1 only. This app works on this device and not that device. Don't believe me? Ask Rovio, the Angry Birds developer who basically admitted that they won't be able to get it working on all android version.

Why do you have so many software developer happy working with Iphone? It's the same as why console games experience is consistent and well executed - the developers know what the capabilities of the target device are, and codes appropriately. Microsoft tried following a mashup of Android and Iphone philosophy by specifying a baseline (a target for all developers to develop apps for) making it easier to develop and test for. That's why, if one were to ask any developers, they would readily admit that the easiest platform to develop for is Wp7.

Why isn't Wp7 gaining traction then? Barring Nokia, no one is actually actively promoting Wp7, or even are promoting it at the same level as their other offering. HTC only has three models, Samsung has what? One? Where's LG?

So, in short..

1. WP7 needed a champion, a company that would only promote Wp7, instead of having affair (or madu) with Android, Bada, etc etc. They got that with Nokia.

2. Android is fragmenting - Simply put, there are too many variations of software and hardware out there that Android Marketplace will never be able to duplicate Apple's App store or Windows Marketplace ability to buy apps and know it definitely will work on your device.

3. That also means you'd have to actually target your coding to spesific device, instead of platform.

nicholasbeh
post Feb 14 2011, 04:31 AM

4,518 posts

ok.apart of apps,standardized hardware,software providing better,easier environment for developer,im very much concern about features.compare side by side between WP7,Android and symbian.obviously,wp7,shakehead.gif
practically,i need video call,plug and play OTG(sync with zune,itunes,samsung kies etc is troublesome),gps(obviously symbian owned the crowd,android is not bad)...
wp7 seems like doesnt suit me but it doesnt mean it not suit for the others who concern more in other area.smile.gif

Add on,transfer file via bluetooth is another point which is very important for me.

This post has been edited by nicholasbeh: Feb 14 2011, 04:34 AM
41LY45
post Feb 14 2011, 05:35 AM

Flipping out..
1,500 posts

QUOTE(nicholasbeh @ Feb 14 2011, 04:31 AM)
ok.apart of apps,standardized hardware,software providing better,easier environment for developer,im very much concern about features.compare side by side between WP7,Android and symbian.obviously,wp7,shakehead.gif
practically,i need video call,plug and play OTG(sync with zune,itunes,samsung kies etc is troublesome),gps(obviously symbian owned the crowd,android is not bad)...
wp7 seems like doesnt suit me but it doesnt mean it not suit for the others who concern more in other area.smile.gif

Add on,transfer file via bluetooth is another point which is very important for me.
True that, as a former symbian user, I find that Android cater it's users with the same former functionalities as a Symbian phone does. nod.gif nod.gif
DJFoo000
post Feb 14 2011, 08:55 AM

3,000 posts

QUOTE(ViRaViRa @ Feb 14 2011, 12:00 AM)
Everyone? You sure? Probably you have forgotten the word 'some'....or let's take it as 'most' (to satisfy you). By saying 'everyone' it is obviously a generalisation.

FOR NOW, there is no significant difference between one WP7 phone and another, but HOW MANY WP7 phones are out there for you to compare and conclude?

There is a difference, but it is not significant. I agree, but if you are comparing 15 WP7 phones in total (and mostly from the same maker), you can't expect a significant difference YET. It is still early.

If we take a sample of 15 high end Android phones e.g. from HTC, they too don't have any significant difference (unless you root it, or launcherpro etc). Hardware wise, the difference is NOT SIGNIFICANT.
I never said anything about it, so I don't have comments. Android is definitely not a dull and monotonous (at least for me).
Regarding your reply. Well there's your problem. While all WP7 phones are considered 'high end' with regards to specs, not all Android phones are 'high end'. My variation meant that a manufacturer can use the same platform for many market segments, and evidently WP7 fails in this department while Android soars. Notice how you only compared 'high end android'? You forgot about lower end.

It's like Lamborghini. They sell only supercars. They are successful coz their product is good. Anyway you do know Lambo by itself cannot survive, right? They are under Audi, and Audi makes what? Yes, cars for different market segments.

Lotus might be a better analogy here, since they were bought by company that only makes non-sports cars.

QUOTE(mfitri77 @ Feb 14 2011, 12:06 AM)
I don't think anyone here is saying Android is bland in monotonous. Well, unless if too much exposure (heck, CSL also now producing android phones) is making a brand monotonous.

Android is a problem because everyone is using it. And differentiation is very important if everyone is using a common platform, you could be lost in a sea of competitors and you could very well end up losing customers, because they have no particular urge to buy your phone, because it is so similar to each other. Motoblur, Timescape, Sense UI? These are the UI customization by Motorola, SE and HTC. They needed to be different to make sure their product stood out.

In the case of WP7, their problem is two fold, mainly because HTC, Samsung and LG, the three comitted to WP7 seems to be producing very boring phone, almost refusing to innovate more that the baseline hardware that Microsoft has specified. In the case of HTC, they shoved WP7 into HD2 and called them HD7, all the while drowning the Wp7 portfolio with successions of Android phones.

And the fact also remains that these three manufacturers were quiet happy to sell the hardware without worrying too much about the software. It's free some more. But the scary part is as long as you use an Android phone, whatever you do with it is being tracked by Google so they can know where, what, who you are. In light of that, free means having your habits go to the internet.

What happens now is because Google said android is free, it gets shoved into every device imaginable, and customized sometimes to its detriment. You now have tons of devices that works using a common platform with all the advantages, and here it is, disadvantages.

Android keeps being a work in progress. Releases after releases that offer incremental updates and improvement. Because of that, compatibility goes out the window, and you have unfortunate ones that are stuck with stale food (aka old versions) that cannot update. If you cannot update, then the marketplace is useless, since now you have to go by platform. This apps works on 1.6, this one 2.1 only. This app works on this device and not that device. Don't believe me? Ask Rovio, the Angry Birds developer who basically admitted that they won't be able to get it working on all android version.

Why do you have so many software developer happy working with Iphone? It's the same as why console games experience is consistent and well executed - the developers know what the capabilities of the target device are, and codes appropriately. Microsoft tried following a mashup of Android and Iphone philosophy by specifying a baseline (a target for all developers to develop apps for) making it easier to develop and test for. That's why, if one were to ask any developers, they would readily admit that the easiest platform to develop for is Wp7.

Why isn't Wp7 gaining traction then? Barring Nokia, no one is actually actively promoting Wp7, or even are promoting it at the same level as their other offering. HTC only has three models, Samsung has what? One? Where's LG?

So, in short..

1. WP7 needed a champion, a company that would only promote Wp7, instead of having affair (or madu) with Android, Bada, etc etc. They got that with Nokia.

2. Android is fragmenting - Simply put, there are too many variations of software and hardware out there that Android Marketplace will never be able to duplicate Apple's App store or Windows Marketplace ability to buy apps and know it definitely will work on your device.

3. That also means you'd have to actually target your coding to spesific device, instead of platform.
lol seriously long replies weih. To make myself clear, 'variation' by you two means 'the maximum amount of variation of android devices possible has been achieved, so it'll be harder to innovate', am I right?

State your definition of 'faceless' please.

So, all of a sudden having different custom UIs is not 'variable' enough?

Before this, somebody said manufacturers slow down production of Android to make WP7, so it's gonna be awesome. Now another person is saying these manufacturers are not committed enough, so it's gonna take time. What?

You do realise HTC HD7 was available on the market (ours at least) loong before the Desire HD? What's up with nobody actively promoting WP7?

And you can choose to sync your data with Google or not in Androids. LOLLLLL got use the phone before?

Sry all I'm rushing for class. I apologise if my replies sound half-baked, coz they are. Hope I made my point.
SUSMatrix
post Feb 14 2011, 09:33 AM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(mfitri77 @ Feb 13 2011, 10:31 PM)
Not in the case of Nokia apparently, as Elop has confirmed that the agreement between the two isn't your standard OEM agreement, with technologies going both ways. To be honest too, Microsoft don't really care of Nokia be given leeway to customize the OS, mainly because Nokia has clearly stated that Wp7 is the primary OS, and they won't be dabbling with Android.

From my reading of the releases a few days, Nokia did talk to Google, but there were several things Nokia didn't like.

1. Giving up control - Google allows you to customize everything, but as many have noticed, they want control over the more important bits, like location services (Google Maps, Location Sensing).

2. Opposition from telco companies - right now, it's either android or iOS. They would really like Wp7 to be an alternative (or more of a hammer to make sure Google and Apple understand that they have alternatives and can't be pushed around)

3. Differentiation - Heck, become another faceless android os phone?
doh.gif You know what you are talking or not? Android is totally customizable....it is the WP7 that looks like clone coming out from the same Shenzen factories!!! But i can understand why Nokia don't want to go with Android....Google has control of whole eco system....they control browser, maps service, location service, satellite service, and everything else you can think of.....in short they control the internet.

MS on the other hand does not have a dominating ecosystem like Google, they only control the OS....their search engine and other services is not up to mark yet and Nokia already have invested lots in a pretty mature OVI maps.

Added on February 14, 2011, 9:41 am
QUOTE(DJFoo000 @ Feb 14 2011, 08:55 AM)
Regarding your reply. Well there's your problem. While all WP7 phones are considered 'high end' with regards to specs, not all Android phones are 'high end'. My variation meant that a manufacturer can use the same platform for many market segments, and evidently WP7 fails in this department while Android soars. Notice how you only compared 'high end android'? You forgot about lower end.

It's like Lamborghini. They sell only supercars. They are successful coz their product is good. Anyway you do know Lambo by itself cannot survive, right? They are under Audi, and Audi makes what? Yes, cars for different market segments.

Yep, another point which why Android will dominate the market. Do not look down on the low-end market...it is the low-end market that makes Nokia still the No. 1 handphone seller in the world today...while their high-end and mid-end have all been busted by Apple and Android....their emerging market in third world countries that continues to give them the cash. But soon, this will change coz China and India are coming out with cheap hp for these markets...no way Nokia can be cheaper than them.

There are many evidence Android is already do respectively in the mid-end market....and companies in India making cheap Android phones (like the CSL rebadged models). Soon, even the lowest end of the cheap phones will be running on Android with a huge market place with tons of FREE apps, which will attract the low-end market even more. Who cares if half of these apps are crap. As long as it's free, it'll be a strong attractions for emerging markets.

This post has been edited by Matrix: Feb 14 2011, 09:41 AM
nicholasbeh
post Feb 14 2011, 10:14 AM

4,518 posts

@Matrix
Nokia is top sales in low and mid end segment.
SUSMatrix
post Feb 14 2011, 10:27 AM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(nicholasbeh @ Feb 14 2011, 10:14 AM)
@Matrix
Nokia is top sales in low and mid end segment.
Yes, that what i said isn't it? But not for long. Even their CEO has already admit that in the burning platform internal memo. China/India will grab this market from them very soon.

This post has been edited by Matrix: Feb 14 2011, 10:29 AM

9 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 > » Top

0.0273sec    0.39    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 01:56 AM