Nokia and Microsoft enter strategic alliance !, Symbian will be phased out, Meego stays

DJFoo000
post Feb 11 2011, 06:47 PM

Really? That's the best reply you can come up with?
3,000 posts

lol i can't believe Elop cited Android's "differentiation on that platform would have been very difficult for Nokia." Fragmentation eh?

And "The Microsoft option represented to us the best opportunity to build and join and fight within a new ecosystem."

http://www.engadget.com/2011/02/11/live-fr...dest&refresh=60

WP7 looks stagnant to me. At least there's nothing interesting in it to me.

This post has been edited by DJFoo000: Feb 11 2011, 06:49 PM
DJFoo000
post Feb 11 2011, 09:07 PM

3,000 posts

Wouldn't making a WP7 make Nokia even more of an 'another hardware maker'? WP7 offers no variation in terms of specs with its strict tech requirements. Look at all the WP7 phones out there. I can't tell the difference, other than one with AMOLED, one with physical keyboard. That's about it.

So in choosing WP7, it's more of choosing brand than choosing specs. You like a HTC WP7? Get the HD7! (Yeah I know mozart and the other one. Frankly I don't see the significant difference). Want a Samsung? Get the Omnia 7! Want an LG? Get the Optimus 7! What's the main difference between all these WP7 phones? You get the point.

There's no 'in between' in WP7. There is one WP7. It's sorta like making iPhones, but by many manufacturers. Same experience, everytime, in every one.
DJFoo000
post Feb 11 2011, 09:25 PM

3,000 posts

If Microsoft really did allowed that (coz Elop backtracked saying they won't tinker too much, probably coz he probably said it without consulting Balmer first), HTC and other manufacturers will be looking for similar privileges too, or else WP7 on these brands will be a one-off, and WP7 will be left to one brand. And depends on how it develops, will either be a Nokia-Symbian kind of domination in the 2005 era, or WP7 will fizzle out and make MS decide to close down it's mobile OS division.
DJFoo000
post Feb 11 2011, 09:39 PM

3,000 posts

HTC once said they're allowed to customise WP7 too. Rumors were flying about how they're going to implement Sense on WP7. In the end all they had was a HTC Hub. Yay?

MS won't let WP7 die, but WP7 will die on it's own if this trend of not-interesting-ness of WP7 continues.

Wouldn't talk about XBOX coz I'm a non-gamer. But AFAIK XBOX was a success, but only because of Halo.

This post has been edited by DJFoo000: Feb 11 2011, 09:40 PM
DJFoo000
post Feb 11 2011, 09:47 PM

3,000 posts

QUOTE(gogo2 @ Feb 11 2011, 09:41 PM)
not really bro. XBox success because the multiplayer experience is great.

Not interestingness because got WP7 get bad treatment from manufacturer of phone such as HTC.
HTC allowed to customise but cannot use their sense UI. HTC Hub was added as differentiation product.
Not sure what's the "yay" for though.
What I'm saying is the HTC Hub is the most HTC can 'customise' their version of WP7. You also said HTC was apparently allowed to 'customise' and all they get to do was add HTC Hub. The 'yay' was an awkward celebration for the existence of an apparent ability to customise WP7 by manufacturers.

In case my overuse of the word "apparent" confused you, apparent means "something that does not exist". Apparently means "thought to be so but wasn't".

This post has been edited by DJFoo000: Feb 11 2011, 09:50 PM
DJFoo000
post Feb 11 2011, 09:55 PM

3,000 posts

Read the bolded part. You said it yourself.

QUOTE(gogo2 @ Feb 11 2011, 09:41 PM)
not really bro. XBox success because the multiplayer experience is great.

Not interestingness because got WP7 get bad treatment from manufacturer of phone such as HTC.
HTC allowed to customise but cannot use their sense UI. HTC Hub was added as differentiation product.
Not sure what's the "yay" for though.
In July 2010 HTC said the same about them being given the green light to 'customise'. HTC Hub was all they can do.

http://www.biggtech.com/mobile/htc-will-cu...sense_2308.html

What link are you talking about?

This post has been edited by DJFoo000: Feb 11 2011, 09:57 PM
DJFoo000
post Feb 11 2011, 10:10 PM

3,000 posts

Google made so much money from else where they can buy companies and put their products up for free, and in the process make even more money.

What my previous post was saying is Nokia probably made the same slip of tongue about customisability. And in what article did you read that Microsoft hated the other WP7 manufacturers? Do you know what consequence that would lead to in terms of partnership opportunity? Or you just made that up?
DJFoo000
post Feb 11 2011, 10:26 PM

3,000 posts

lol you're putting your hopes too much in the future, while the a lot of us are looking at the track record. I have presented what I came to present. Have fun hoping for that copy and paste feature on the Nokia WP7.
DJFoo000
post Feb 12 2011, 06:28 PM

3,000 posts

'by end of 2011'. When that time comes, I doubt if Nokia's shares are still worth any money. And Android phones will be breathing fire by that time.

Fragmentation will not be a problem for WP7 (lol I dun remember anyone saying WP7 has that issue). The problem with WP7 is VARIETY. Making one device is not what Nokia needed to bounce back. Nokia will lose it's budget range smartphone sector.

Seeing as how Nokia failed to enter the netbook market with its Booklet 3G (remember this guy?), Nokia cannot afford another failed venture.
DJFoo000
post Feb 12 2011, 08:52 PM

3,000 posts

@randytsx, no point entertaining him. You've done your best to present your points. Better save your energy for better cause. gogo2 is an obvious fanboy who doesn't understand the severity of a failed venture to Nokia at this moment. When he sees the light he will understand.
DJFoo000
post Feb 12 2011, 09:37 PM

3,000 posts

gogo2, I said the 'severity of a failed venture'. I did not say that the venture is a failed one.

Most of us who voiced our disappointment over Nokia choosing WP7 is because we see the adoption level of WP7 by USERS, which is disappointing to say the least. If this trend continues, the venture will fail to yield, which means Nokia going down.

Yes I butthurt coz Nokia did not choose android, or else Android will have good hardware. But even without Nokia, Android as a whole has been creeping up Nokia's @$$.

We're talking about brand survival here, and Android obviously offers a much better expansion and survival package. HTC will survive w/o WP7, so does Samsung, LG or Dell, because they all have Android.

But Nokia WILL, since they are all into this venture (like gamble 'Sai Lang'. Go watch God of Gamble if you dunno wat it means). If it fails, Nokia will be off the smartphone world. I don't even know what the other possibility is because the chances of Nokia going #1 with WP7 is very very bleak. Stock prices don't stay there constant to wait for the release of Nokia WP7.

This post has been edited by DJFoo000: Feb 12 2011, 09:41 PM
DJFoo000
post Feb 12 2011, 09:43 PM

3,000 posts

^WTH? You only started to read after I posted that? Or I did not make my point about 'brand survival' much more clearer in my previous posts?

I've been talking about brand survival since the start of the discussion. I would appreciate it more if you have understood everything me and randy said in earlier posts.

This post has been edited by DJFoo000: Feb 12 2011, 09:45 PM
DJFoo000
post Feb 13 2011, 11:28 AM

3,000 posts

@ViRaViRa, you forgot to factor in one condition: you're in desperate need to regain market dominance, and your store has shareholders. You have invested too much in sushi (analog for symbian). While you're still formulating the 'perfect' pizza, your investors are not earning any money (you tell them you will stop selling sushi, and WILL BE SELLING pizza, means you in R&D now, not earning any money).

You tell them your pizza will work, but other stores that sell both burger and pizza give feedback that pizzas are not selling well. Shareholders lari. Left you and the pizza distributor. Pizza distributor might be distributing other products too, so they can survive. But you can't, coz your stall is ALL IN in the pizza business.
DJFoo000
post Feb 13 2011, 04:30 PM

3,000 posts

@gogo2, lol everything they do now is justifiable to you. Like literally, every action. Even what you call 'androidfags' also got tons of dissatisfaction towards Android and Google, but obviously reasonable ones.

This post has been edited by DJFoo000: Feb 13 2011, 04:30 PM
DJFoo000
post Feb 13 2011, 11:11 PM

3,000 posts

Wait. I don't get it. Everyone says variation is a problem in Android. For all I know Android offers the most variation possible to a phone manufacturer. It is WP7 that is faceless. Not one WP7 phone out there is significantly different from the other.

Seriously, someone explain that to me. I genuinely ask for someone to explain how Android is bland and monotonous versus how WP7 is offering more variation possibilities to manufacturers.

Please no fanboy replies. Sensible, reasonable, technical replies are most welcomed.

For all I know, make one good Android and you'll hit gold. Galaxy S selling 10 million units worldwide is a pretty huge statement.

This post has been edited by DJFoo000: Feb 13 2011, 11:13 PM
DJFoo000
post Feb 14 2011, 08:55 AM

3,000 posts

QUOTE(ViRaViRa @ Feb 14 2011, 12:00 AM)
Everyone? You sure? Probably you have forgotten the word 'some'....or let's take it as 'most' (to satisfy you). By saying 'everyone' it is obviously a generalisation.

FOR NOW, there is no significant difference between one WP7 phone and another, but HOW MANY WP7 phones are out there for you to compare and conclude?

There is a difference, but it is not significant. I agree, but if you are comparing 15 WP7 phones in total (and mostly from the same maker), you can't expect a significant difference YET. It is still early.

If we take a sample of 15 high end Android phones e.g. from HTC, they too don't have any significant difference (unless you root it, or launcherpro etc). Hardware wise, the difference is NOT SIGNIFICANT.
I never said anything about it, so I don't have comments. Android is definitely not a dull and monotonous (at least for me).
Regarding your reply. Well there's your problem. While all WP7 phones are considered 'high end' with regards to specs, not all Android phones are 'high end'. My variation meant that a manufacturer can use the same platform for many market segments, and evidently WP7 fails in this department while Android soars. Notice how you only compared 'high end android'? You forgot about lower end.

It's like Lamborghini. They sell only supercars. They are successful coz their product is good. Anyway you do know Lambo by itself cannot survive, right? They are under Audi, and Audi makes what? Yes, cars for different market segments.

Lotus might be a better analogy here, since they were bought by company that only makes non-sports cars.

QUOTE(mfitri77 @ Feb 14 2011, 12:06 AM)
I don't think anyone here is saying Android is bland in monotonous. Well, unless if too much exposure (heck, CSL also now producing android phones) is making a brand monotonous.

Android is a problem because everyone is using it. And differentiation is very important if everyone is using a common platform, you could be lost in a sea of competitors and you could very well end up losing customers, because they have no particular urge to buy your phone, because it is so similar to each other. Motoblur, Timescape, Sense UI? These are the UI customization by Motorola, SE and HTC. They needed to be different to make sure their product stood out.

In the case of WP7, their problem is two fold, mainly because HTC, Samsung and LG, the three comitted to WP7 seems to be producing very boring phone, almost refusing to innovate more that the baseline hardware that Microsoft has specified. In the case of HTC, they shoved WP7 into HD2 and called them HD7, all the while drowning the Wp7 portfolio with successions of Android phones.

And the fact also remains that these three manufacturers were quiet happy to sell the hardware without worrying too much about the software. It's free some more. But the scary part is as long as you use an Android phone, whatever you do with it is being tracked by Google so they can know where, what, who you are. In light of that, free means having your habits go to the internet.

What happens now is because Google said android is free, it gets shoved into every device imaginable, and customized sometimes to its detriment. You now have tons of devices that works using a common platform with all the advantages, and here it is, disadvantages.

Android keeps being a work in progress. Releases after releases that offer incremental updates and improvement. Because of that, compatibility goes out the window, and you have unfortunate ones that are stuck with stale food (aka old versions) that cannot update. If you cannot update, then the marketplace is useless, since now you have to go by platform. This apps works on 1.6, this one 2.1 only. This app works on this device and not that device. Don't believe me? Ask Rovio, the Angry Birds developer who basically admitted that they won't be able to get it working on all android version.

Why do you have so many software developer happy working with Iphone? It's the same as why console games experience is consistent and well executed - the developers know what the capabilities of the target device are, and codes appropriately. Microsoft tried following a mashup of Android and Iphone philosophy by specifying a baseline (a target for all developers to develop apps for) making it easier to develop and test for. That's why, if one were to ask any developers, they would readily admit that the easiest platform to develop for is Wp7.

Why isn't Wp7 gaining traction then? Barring Nokia, no one is actually actively promoting Wp7, or even are promoting it at the same level as their other offering. HTC only has three models, Samsung has what? One? Where's LG?

So, in short..

1. WP7 needed a champion, a company that would only promote Wp7, instead of having affair (or madu) with Android, Bada, etc etc. They got that with Nokia.

2. Android is fragmenting - Simply put, there are too many variations of software and hardware out there that Android Marketplace will never be able to duplicate Apple's App store or Windows Marketplace ability to buy apps and know it definitely will work on your device.

3. That also means you'd have to actually target your coding to spesific device, instead of platform.
lol seriously long replies weih. To make myself clear, 'variation' by you two means 'the maximum amount of variation of android devices possible has been achieved, so it'll be harder to innovate', am I right?

State your definition of 'faceless' please.

So, all of a sudden having different custom UIs is not 'variable' enough?

Before this, somebody said manufacturers slow down production of Android to make WP7, so it's gonna be awesome. Now another person is saying these manufacturers are not committed enough, so it's gonna take time. What?

You do realise HTC HD7 was available on the market (ours at least) loong before the Desire HD? What's up with nobody actively promoting WP7?

And you can choose to sync your data with Google or not in Androids. LOLLLLL got use the phone before?

Sry all I'm rushing for class. I apologise if my replies sound half-baked, coz they are. Hope I made my point.
DJFoo000
post Feb 14 2011, 12:56 PM

3,000 posts

^that's the point. Because more promo was done for HD7. Now someone said HTC was to be faulted for the lack of promotion of WP7. Isn't that contradictory?

And since when ppl started expecting awesomeness from low end phones? You pay what you get (dun talk about 2nd hand and old models). You pay kancil price, you get kancil. You pay Gallardo price, you get Gallardo. But the point made by Android is variation. They can make both Kancil and Gallardo.

WP7, in terms of specs can only make Gallardo. Now someone said Nokia leads in the Kancil segment. Adopting a platform that will limit resources to your lead selling sector, isn't that, for the lack of another word, stupid?

And to reiterate a point, not everyone wants a Gallardo, though however attractive that idea might be.
DJFoo000
post Feb 14 2011, 01:56 PM

3,000 posts

^lol it's as if you've seen a working Nokia WP7. You and your high hopes on this 'awesome' Nokia WP7 amuses me.

Wouldn't it be shameful if a ShenZhen small company can make more money from Android fake phone than Nokia can from ori WP7 phones?

Oh yeah, I forgot. You know nothing about neither Android nor WP7.
DJFoo000
post Feb 14 2011, 10:21 PM

3,000 posts

A big serious WHAT THE HELL to you. Do you even read the things that you quoted me in the context that I wrote? You left out a lot of bits in the thing that you quoted me. Seriously. Please read back what you quoted me in THE ORIGINAL post that I wrote it in.

The HD7 thing, the ENTIRE sentence was:

You do realise HTC HD7 was available on the market (ours at least) loong before the Desire HD? What's up with nobody actively promoting WP7?

DO you even know what I said? What I meant? What is the context?

Please no UMNO style rephrasing words here. You want to quote then quote properly.

Shit you Microkia fags should really learn to read, like every word (i respectfully leave out those who do read every word).

Gosh why is it so hard for ppl to just read and reply in an orderly manner? First you ppl came up with contradictory statements, then you misquoted me and said I'm the one who's contradictory. You know in online forums you can't debate without learning how to read.

To answer your part containing kancil and bicycle. Developing S20 and S40 has always been a Nokia proprietary thing. We're talking about smartphones here. S40 and S20 are not smartphone platforms.

And I quote nicholasbeh regarding Nokia being leading seller in low segment phones.

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1750092/+120#

OK maybe I shouldn't bring that quote in in the first place because obviously Nokia's best sellers in that segment are not smartphones in the first place.

I lazy talk to you until you re-read everything I said and fully understand them in the context they are being said in.

This post has been edited by DJFoo000: Feb 14 2011, 10:40 PM
DJFoo000
post Feb 14 2011, 11:44 PM

3,000 posts

FINE. I explain will explain this:

In the English language, this method of presenting a statement is meant to question one's awareness of a situation, which is 'HD7 was available on the market before Desire HD'.

The follow up statement was meant to question one's awareness that WP7 was being actively promoted, by mentioning that 'HD7 was available on the market before Desire HD', implying to one that HD7 was being actively promoted.

At post #133, you said

Time frame from the launch of Desire HD and HTC HD7 was less than a month. Was that way toooooo long for you? And I don't see anyone actively promoting HTC Desire HD either.
Of which I said

^that's the point. Because more promo was done for HD7. Now someone said HTC was to be faulted for the lack of promotion of WP7. Isn't that contradictory?

In post #124, you wrote

There is a difference, but it is not significant. I agree, but if you are comparing 15 WP7 phones in total (and mostly from the same maker), you can't expect a significant difference YET. It is still early

You whining about 'it is still early' implies that you think WP7 was not promoted enough.

Please tell me, at which point did I contradict myself? It is you who twisted my statements.

Gosh I really need to bring myself down to your level to make statements eh?

Anyway, go read gogo2's posts. I might be refering to his posts when I was making my point.

This post has been edited by DJFoo000: Feb 14 2011, 11:49 PM

0.1247sec    0.40    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 01:48 PM