meego android dual boot?haha.
Nokia and Microsoft enter strategic alliance !, Symbian will be phased out, Meego stays
Feb 11 2011, 06:13 PM
4,518 posts Joined: Aug 2009 |
meego android dual boot?haha.
Feb 13 2011, 09:41 AM
» Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « plan A:nokia+android plan B:nokia+microsoft what about plan C or even plan D? plan A is definitely not a smart move coz there are plenty of player in the market.plan B,yeah,nokia probably will dominant the pizza(WP7) market but look at 10 devices launched at past few months ago,total 2million sales.its even lower than a single phone powered by symbian 3,N8. y not plan C?since symbian is very mature OS,why not continue their investment by modifying it to be more user friendly,fix some bugs and it just need a little bit improvement.symbian major problem is UI.their UI is very not user friendly compared to android,iOS and WP7.second problem,default browser,nokia/symbian have noticed the problem of browser and they promise will launch an update on the future for new browser. look at symbian pros and cons compared to the other OS.(i point out the major factor only) Pros 1.bluetooth is easiest to use 2.Ovi Maps and Garmin support which is the best gps software 3.plug and play,connect to pc,laptop,other electronic device is easy,fast and no need any software to sync(i feel annoying when i use sgs,iphone) Cons 1.lousy UI which is not suitable for finger use.very not user friendly 2.internet browser is problematic,old,not user friendly as well.browser crash always happen 3.a lot of bugs waiting to fix.. so now they are adopting WP7 and abandoning symbian 3?such a giant like Nokia never keep their word?updates?besides that,i don't understand y they burning so much money in investing symbian,meego,qt in the past and now they just abandoned it by switching to another platform.it doesn't make sense. This post has been edited by nicholasbeh: Feb 13 2011, 09:45 AM |
Feb 13 2011, 11:52 AM
QUOTE(gogo2 @ Feb 13 2011, 10:04 AM) The symbian pro will be adopted in WP7. I guess you never read much eh? in fact,u never read much.they promise update for all symbian 3 devices including N8,C7,C6-01,E7...now are they keep their words?where is the update?there is no R&D budget for symbian this year,is it possible the update still coming?they keep promise this and that but their promise never come true u know?they promise developer C++,qt platform will be Nokia major ecosystem and it will last for long but now they are switching to Wp7 which is not supporting qt,C++..Rovio Mobile also get angry of Nokia move to WP7 and tons of developer angry as well.They realise they are wrong to burn money. Now they are going to Microsoft and no need to pay for WP7 and they get engineering support for free. WP7 and Nokia will be a great phone. It's gonna be a great combination since Iphone. |
Feb 13 2011, 02:19 PM
i dont think microsoft will allow nokia modify their os so much to be nokia alike phone..since microsoft so strict to wp7.
Feb 13 2011, 02:49 PM
yes AMD as well.but its too early to conclude everything.lets see tomorrow MWC2011 at Barcelona.
Feb 13 2011, 04:04 PM
QUOTE(gogo2 @ Feb 13 2011, 03:35 PM) You're wrong. Nokia is actually owning half of WP7. And WP7 will include Ovi and Symbian port. So means Nokia can change ok.final product not yet release and we have no point to argue bout it.anything they want with WP7. I don't understand why you guys don't understand how big changes WP7 will be made by Nokia. I find it weird. what about their promises to symbian user?such a giant company keep cheating their customer and their promise never come true. |
Feb 13 2011, 04:33 PM
proven microfag.
RUN! |
Feb 14 2011, 04:31 AM
ok.apart of apps,standardized hardware,software providing better,easier environment for developer,im very much concern about features.compare side by side between WP7,Android and symbian.obviously,wp7,
practically,i need video call,plug and play OTG(sync with zune,itunes,samsung kies etc is troublesome),gps(obviously symbian owned the crowd,android is not bad)... wp7 seems like doesnt suit me but it doesnt mean it not suit for the others who concern more in other area. Add on,transfer file via bluetooth is another point which is very important for me. This post has been edited by nicholasbeh: Feb 14 2011, 04:34 AM |
Feb 14 2011, 10:14 AM
@Matrix
Nokia is top sales in low and mid end segment. |
Feb 14 2011, 06:18 PM
QUOTE(hypermount @ Feb 14 2011, 01:56 PM) This really sums up what I think. im totally agree from the bottom of my heart.Nokia needs plastic surgery not a brain transplant A real leader would seek to fix the problems. Symbian isn't a bad operating system, it just needs a makeover. Definitely the user interface is dated, but the performance is there. The core is solid. Nokia's software and Ovi services platforms do desperately need cosmetic surgery. Instead, Elop proposes a brain transplant, by swapping out Symbian (and Meego) and Ovi for Windows Phone and Live services (except for maps). A brain transplant will kill the patient. http://www.betanews.com/joewilcox/article/...lant/1297657921 |
Feb 15 2011, 02:23 AM
nokia is top seller in low and mid end segment.in both smartphone and non smartphone.its proven by 38% symbian market share in smartphone.nokia doesnt have any high end smartphone to compete in the high end segment in year 2010.
PS:N8 is mid range only... btw,discuss peacefully This post has been edited by nicholasbeh: Feb 15 2011, 02:24 AM |
Feb 15 2011, 11:58 AM
peace.stop flaming.
Feb 15 2011, 07:27 PM
wait and see...nokia didnt ship any wp7 phone yet..dun make any assumption.although wp7 currently STILL lack of many functions which is critical for smartphone user..but updates is coming soon.just wait and see.
| Change to: | 0.0295sec
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 08:59 PM |