144 Pages « < 72 73 74 75 76 > » Bottom

Oil & Gas Career v2, Job Oppurtunities & Technical Sharing

sungami
post Oct 11 2011, 10:50 PM

25 posts

Preakzz,

I would strongly advise you not to join the japanese semicon factory. Keep on looking for the big OnG MNCs. 5 years bond for a pitiful 8 months in japan is like daylight robbery and especially if it is a japanese company. Working in the OnG industry is way better in terms of money and job satisfaction than in a monotonous factory environment.

In big OnG MNCs be it from the operator side or the consultant/EPCC side, you'll get a lot of opportunities to work at different places around the world and most of the time (99%), there'll be no bond.

Oh yeah, and the good thing about working in a big MNC is that you can fight, talk back or even screw your omputeh bosses (in a "proper" way of course) and they are perfectly OK with it. Try doing that in a japanese company and you'll see that your days will be numbered.

Heck, I'll even suggest an efficiently ran local company than a japanese company. Sorry for the biasness but that's my lasting impression from my brief working days with them.

lovebattery
post Oct 11 2011, 10:57 PM

208 posts

job opportunity @ labuan shipyard:

http://savvycareers.blogspot.com/2011/10/c...n-shipyard.html

contact details provided on the blog...
mhyug
post Oct 12 2011, 01:13 AM

1,553 posts

aiseh man its a open interview session.....plus at johor...cant make it there currently wonder if they will do a kl round of open interview sessions.
backspace66
post Oct 12 2011, 09:25 AM

2,139 posts

@myhug

If you think it is worth it then maybe you can give it a try or write in to them and ask whether they will do a session over here in KL
positive energy
post Oct 12 2011, 09:35 AM

212 posts

QUOTE(mhyug @ Oct 12 2011, 01:13 AM)
aiseh man its a open interview session.....plus at johor...cant make it there currently wonder if they will do a kl round of open interview sessions.
hi mhyug,

If u wanna join shipyard, y not consider shipyard in SG? shipyard industry in SG are reigned by mostly malaysians, definitely u can secure a job there, plus u get 2.5x in currency and high bonus (some say 10 months) also... just wanna give another better options.
boxsystem
post Oct 12 2011, 10:08 AM

Legend
1,573 posts

6 months into O&G, not that I want to jump to a bigger company, but is it really a good time to jump?

I am content with my work(you can discount the office politics) but I can't see my position beyond 3 years. Planned to stay, minimum 5 years in the company, is it worth it?

BTW, I'm in pigging. As of now, I'm one of the Maintenance Eng, and there's an opening in Offshore dept(not that my dept has no chance going offshore, but not as frequent). I do enjoy my work and still learning a lot of things which is very very interesting to me. One of the downside is, there's no on-site mentoring. I have to do my own work and study about work myself. I am not complaining but at times I do think mentoring would do me good. Not hoping for 'class' type mentoring but a session of Q&A would help a lot.

The company is about to send me overseas for training. Every position have tiers/levels of specialty. Back to the Offshore dept, I would love to join them as I do think that I'll gain a lot experience on working at site as well as good money(this is secondary to me). Do you guys think that it'll be good for me to apply for that vacant spot in Offshore dept or just stay as what I am now?

This post has been edited by boxsystem: Oct 12 2011, 10:14 AM
azraeil
post Oct 12 2011, 12:20 PM

Prince of Ravens
4,286 posts

Operational experience is always an advantage and you get to know the issues associated with theories such as the logistics etc etc. Go for it if you can.
ben3003
post Oct 12 2011, 02:05 PM

10,859 posts

Any chances for a 2nd class lower to join any OnG company? Anyone from Miri that does know any local or MNC is looking for recruitment? I am Materials and Manufacturing Engineer, fresh graduate smile.gif Last time i heard somebody said about Operators would take in MCI, but normally what is the position named? Mostly i saw is process engineer..

This post has been edited by ben3003: Oct 12 2011, 02:14 PM
pheryphery
post Oct 12 2011, 03:46 PM

15 posts

Hi guys...I got 1 question here. How about for those who experienced but with manufacturing background. Think to change career field to O&G. Would it be possible and easy to enter while outside there also got a lot contestant smile.gif
Is anyone face this situation and now with O&G?share ur info ya...
tkhoo
post Oct 12 2011, 05:08 PM

700 posts

Hi, anyone work or hear about Compressor Controls Coporation? Is this O&G company? Good company to join? Thanks.
ivanau88
post Oct 12 2011, 09:36 PM

3,777 posts

QUOTE(boxsystem @ Oct 12 2011, 10:08 AM)
6 months into O&G, not that I want to jump to a bigger company, but is it really a good time to jump?

I am content with my work(you can discount the office politics) but I can't see my position beyond 3 years. Planned to stay, minimum 5 years in the company, is it worth it?

BTW, I'm in pigging. As of now, I'm one of the Maintenance Eng, and there's an opening in Offshore dept(not that my dept has no chance going offshore, but not as frequent). I do enjoy my work and still learning a lot of things which is very very interesting to me. One of the downside is, there's no on-site mentoring. I have to do my own work and study about work myself. I am not complaining but at times I do think mentoring would do me good. Not hoping for 'class' type mentoring but a session of Q&A would help a lot.

The company is about to send me overseas for training. Every position have tiers/levels of specialty. Back to the Offshore dept, I would love to join them as I do think that I'll gain a lot experience on working at site as well as good money(this is secondary to me). Do you guys think that it'll be good for me to apply for that vacant spot in Offshore dept or just stay as what I am now?
Do whatever things you think is right for you bro. Everything else is secondary smile.gif
yeahs4.1
post Oct 12 2011, 11:27 PM

Audio Freako
2,491 posts

QUOTE(pheryphery @ Oct 12 2011, 03:46 PM)
Hi guys...I got 1 question here. How about for those who experienced but with manufacturing background. Think to change career field to O&G. Would it be possible and easy to enter while outside there also got a lot contestant smile.gif
Is anyone face this situation and now with O&G?share ur info ya...
I just did that, switched from semiconductor manufacturing to oil and gas vendors. I join them as a junior position so it's kinda like I start all over again.

Honestly, technical experience in manufacturing doesn't really help in securing the place. I'd say soft skills, project management skills, multi-tasking capabilities would be at least useful. I leveraged on those points and the rest is history.

Know and understand your strengths. Good luck.
Kodek
post Oct 12 2011, 11:57 PM

13 posts

QUOTE(yeahs4.1 @ Oct 12 2011, 11:27 PM)
I just did that, switched from semiconductor manufacturing to oil and gas vendors. I join them as a junior position so it's kinda like I start all over again.

Honestly, technical experience in manufacturing doesn't really help in securing the place. I'd say soft skills, project management skills, multi-tasking capabilities would be at least useful. I leveraged on those points and the rest is history.

Sound interesting.how old are you now?i have been offer for position in oil and gas but not sure if i should join, as it is a start over..
yeahs4.1
post Oct 13 2011, 12:33 AM

Audio Freako
2,491 posts

QUOTE(Kodek @ Oct 12 2011, 11:57 PM)
Sound interesting.how old are you now?i have been offer for position in oil and gas but not sure if i should join, as it is a start over..
Almost 24. Graduated at 21, travelled in the states for almost half a year, worked in manufacturing for almost 2 years and, now under 3 months training for design engineer for subsea division. I hope I'd be absorbed into project management team or after market team, so I'd have more on-site experience. See how it goes from here then..

Anyway, if you're with commitments such as family, kids, housing loans, then starting over could be very risky. It's not impossible with careful planning of cash flow but future career progression could be a disturbing issue.

What's your background and what are holding you back, if you don't mind?
Kodek
post Oct 13 2011, 12:54 AM

13 posts

Well, at 31 its quite late for a start over especially in management team..i guess
mhyug
post Oct 13 2011, 01:32 AM

1,553 posts

QUOTE(positive energy @ Oct 12 2011, 09:35 AM)
hi mhyug,

If u wanna join shipyard, y not consider shipyard in SG? shipyard industry in SG are reigned by mostly malaysians, definitely u can secure a job there, plus u get 2.5x in currency and high bonus (some say 10 months) also... just wanna give another better options.
interesting indeed.any particular openings or companies you know of that i can email my resume? smile.gif
backspace66
post Oct 13 2011, 06:13 AM

2,139 posts

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_oilfi...rvice_companies

Maybe this can help.
pheryphery
post Oct 13 2011, 07:51 AM

15 posts

QUOTE(yeahs4.1 @ Oct 12 2011, 11:27 PM)

QUOTE(yeahs4.1 @ Oct 13 2011, 12:33 AM)
Almost 24. Graduated at 21, travelled in the states for almost half a year, worked in manufacturing for almost 2 years and, now under 3 months training for  design engineer for subsea division. I hope I'd be absorbed into project management team or after market team, so I'd have more on-site experience. See how it goes from here then..

Anyway, if you're with commitments such as family, kids, housing loans, then starting over could be very risky. It's not impossible with careful planning of cash flow but future career progression could be a disturbing issue.

What's your background and what are holding you back, if you don't mind?
@yeahs4.1, that's very great explanation. More into details actually what I'm currently doing is not directly dealing with production line in manufacturing, but I am sitting in design team which more related to developing new hardware and equipment for supporting our line. Designing with 3D modeling CAD tools and such thing is my routine and I would think this skills also may apply into O&G industry perhaps, based on your story. For me, doesn't matter to start all over again, as long the returns very well worth in future (because I am not in the category u mentioned b4..he he he)
ch_teo
post Oct 13 2011, 08:14 AM

809 posts

a services comp running with their operations haywire when they set up a new plant and was pioneered with experience people from factory manufacturing background or without tech engineering background sweat.gif doh.gif . downtime was there and machines keep depreciating values though brand new & high-tech machines. But without o&g experience. bcos in this line, operations are mostly "plant-made" (custom-made) not like in semi-con/factory that run mass production always "same". it is totally different. the tech specs are also totally different. always start from zero or with accumulated experience from one stage to another.

Added on October 13, 2011, 8:23 am
QUOTE(pheryphery @ Oct 13 2011, 07:51 AM)
@yeahs4.1, that's very great explanation. More into details actually what I'm currently doing is not directly dealing with production line in manufacturing, but I am sitting in design team which more related to developing new hardware and equipment for supporting our line. Designing with 3D modeling CAD tools and such thing is my routine and I would think this skills also may apply into O&G industry perhaps, based on your story. For me, doesn't matter to start all over again, as long the returns very well worth in future (because I am not in the category u mentioned b4..he he he)
product/oiltools design. but mostly is designed by US/Europe if it is a MNC ang moh comp. then just "plug & play" into local. reading the tech specs, one can realise certain resources (raw materials, equipments, etc) CAN'T be sourced locally & worst is not practically suit for joint connections at well during drilling. sweat.gif doh.gif
no vetting of tech specs is done or vetted by inexperience guys.

This post has been edited by ch_teo: Oct 13 2011, 08:26 AM
kapoks
post Oct 13 2011, 10:57 AM

74 posts

QUOTE(Randylee1388 @ Oct 11 2011, 06:44 PM)
All sifus..i rejected the position as assistant planning engineer to accept other job in palm oil infustry due to the job scope. But then i receive an offer from my x supervisor( intern) as production engineer(full time) in kencana hl. Im really undecided now. Hope any senior here can help
Try ur luck in kencana hl, this is a good start for fresh grad as u can face a lot of knowledge and experience from there as well as environment. The ppl there are very friendly and team cooperated. Once u stay there for 2 yrs, u try 2 jump to oil field companies but u may go back to 0 experience and also office's desas desus. Dont discuss about salary when u joining the kencana hl and ur 1st oil field company. 2nd oil field u can bargain higher salary bcuz of ur work expertise. I just confirmed in oilfield company and work here for 5 yrs. my past is in kencana hl for intern and work 1 yr in O&G low end contractor as project engineer. good luck bro...

This post has been edited by kapoks: Oct 13 2011, 11:02 AM

144 Pages « < 72 73 74 75 76 > » Top

0.0369sec    0.38    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 11:47 PM