126 Pages « < 44 45 46 47 48 > » Bottom

Working Life in Singapore V5

benedictee1981
post Jan 21 2011, 06:17 PM

21 posts

QUOTE(Lester1987 @ Jan 21 2011, 05:36 PM)
i wanted to know about this also. but too bad nobody here stay in JB except me. all rich fags~ tongue.gif i do see a lot PR crossing the causeway everyday. but i don't know they got the PR before the leave SG or they got it when they are working.
Hi, im staying at JB as well but working at Tuas. One of my friend who is travel to and fro everyday got her PR but that one was on 2008 but now no idea.
twentyfour24
post Jan 21 2011, 06:21 PM

162 posts

QUOTE(L7Awesome @ Jan 21 2011, 06:14 PM)
I think you will have to renew your passport back in Malaysia before it expires. You can do it in JB if you want to.

Added on January 21, 2011, 6:17 pm

Nope, you are not the only one :-).  Also, just curious, if on EP but wanna to change job, would staying in JB has any impact on the chances of getting a new EP?
Planning renew after CNY but scare cannot pass Malaysia custom due to passport less than 6 month. Any experience this situation before? Thanks!
Argiope
post Jan 21 2011, 06:42 PM

300 posts

QUOTE(twentyfour24 @ Jan 21 2011, 06:21 PM)
Planning renew after CNY but scare cannot pass Malaysia custom due to passport less than 6 month. Any experience this situation before? Thanks!
Why don't you renew in Malaysia Embassy first before you leave SG?

zhan
post Jan 21 2011, 07:46 PM

106 posts

People, how's the management trainee program in Singapore? Any renowned companies that take management trainee?

And, I would also like to inquire how often do Singapore companies (be it local or MNC) to take a fresh graduate in & then provide him to further his/her education of the company expenses (of course with bond!)? Is it common? And, what do you guys think the requirements of it?

Thanks! smile.gif
Supreme Allied Commander
post Jan 21 2011, 07:58 PM

336 posts

QUOTE(Lester1987 @ Jan 21 2011, 06:36 PM)
i wanted to know about this also. but too bad nobody here stay in JB except me. all rich fags~ tongue.gif i do see a lot PR crossing the causeway everyday. but i don't know they got the PR before the leave SG or they got it when they are working.
I believe it would be best if u have an address in SG. It only make sense to grant PR to a person that wants to live in the country long enough with the intention of getting the citizenship next. With the current situation and election coming, the government is seen to be doing something just to please the people. So the best is not to give them any chance to reject you outright. I dunno about now , but back last year, it used to take about 3months to get approved and bout 1 month if you are rejected.

Anyway, anybody interested in having a drink tonight ? teh tarik or real drinks. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by Supreme Allied Commander: Jan 21 2011, 08:02 PM
crapp0
post Jan 21 2011, 08:08 PM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ Jan 21 2011, 12:59 PM)
just handed in my pr application today... they mentioned it will take 6 months to process.... is that true for you guys? care to share how long they take to revert usually?
Yup, usually six months.
ba5tard
post Jan 21 2011, 08:18 PM

211 posts

QUOTE(Supreme Allied Commander @ Jan 21 2011, 07:58 PM)

Anyway, anybody interested in having a drink tonight ? teh tarik or real drinks.  tongue.gif
where got teh tarik drink??
crapp0
post Jan 21 2011, 08:50 PM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(ba5tard @ Jan 21 2011, 08:18 PM)
where got teh tarik drink??
There are, the prata place has it.
Lester1987
post Jan 21 2011, 08:58 PM

2,017 posts

Malaysia custom u don't have to worry 1 la. Especially when u are taking a bike. they don't even bother to check ur passport and u can simply ride through. if u are a Singaporean, worst thing u need to knock their mirror so that they will chop ur passport for you (no joking, my Singaporean colleague complaint this to me). As for Driving, you just need to lift up ur passport to show that u are holding Malaysia passport, they don't bother to check the expiry date 1. Not even looking at your passport. That day i was driving in, i am digging bag for my passport when i cross the Malaysian custom and that guy just ask, "Malaysian ar?? go go". But take bus and flight is different story la.

This post has been edited by Lester1987: Jan 21 2011, 08:59 PM
wseng
post Jan 21 2011, 09:33 PM

270 posts

QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ Jan 21 2011, 05:49 PM)
care to share how long ago was that? they are really limiting pr approvals... but i hope the low birth rate news will loosen the requirements  biggrin.gif
do you mind sharing some info on yourself ?
I'm planning to apply too .. but I'm only here for 15 months. many said that I should wait at least 2 years..
I'm in marine line, service engineer. wonder what are my chances also .
bellion
post Jan 21 2011, 09:57 PM

3,168 posts

QUOTE(r1v3r @ Jan 21 2011, 04:54 PM)
No, there is restriction. PR buying landed house and condo/apartment below 4~5 floor (can't remember) need special approval, negative by default.

[

As per my earlier post, there is no restriction for foreigners buying condominiums and apartments. Restrictions exist only for HDB flats and landed properties.
elie3173
post Jan 21 2011, 10:51 PM

40 posts

QUOTE(bellion @ Jan 21 2011, 09:57 PM)
As per my earlier post, there is no restriction for foreigners buying condominiums and apartments.  Restrictions exist only for HDB flats and landed properties.
i read from this website..it is stated that condo is for citizen only.... unsure.gif

http://www.hdb.gov.sg/fi10/fi10321p.nsf/w/...EC?OpenDocument
charhorfun
post Jan 21 2011, 11:35 PM

Guys, wanted to ask about this.

I have been trying to find out non-HDB property prices from SG property websites, but it seems all non-HDB property prices are "POA - price on ask" only. Can't get a feel on the price range.

Can you guys share with the price range of the most affordable non-HDB property?

I am planning to work in SG. I am hoping not to rent a place due to the expensive rental (I have a family). I would prefer to buy a property, any decent / not too old / 3-4 rooms flat near MRT will meet my needs. But since I am not a PR, I can't get HDB. And applying PR for myself and my family will take a long time, and I don't want my money to go into rental.

If you guys know of any property website that list the price of non-HDB property please do share with me. Thank you!
morgana_jara
post Jan 21 2011, 11:58 PM

186 posts

You can look at singaporeexpats.com for places to rent/buy or just google singapore condo smile.gif
SUSalaskanbunny
post Jan 22 2011, 01:05 AM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(wseng @ Jan 21 2011, 09:33 PM)
do you mind sharing some info on yourself ?
I'm planning to apply too .. but I'm only here for 15 months. many said that I should wait at least 2 years..
I'm in marine line, service engineer. wonder what are my chances also .
err.... eng. by edu but doing something else.. studying mpm for now... underpaid overworked semi peon... 25

try lor, no harm right... if fail i think i will try aus or canada

QUOTE(bellion @ Jan 21 2011, 09:57 PM)
As per my earlier post, there is no restriction for foreigners buying condominiums and apartments.  Restrictions exist only for HDB flats and landed properties.
i believe there's... the foreigner must have at least valid working pass... unless it is at sentosa cove

QUOTE(charhorfun @ Jan 21 2011, 11:35 PM)
Guys, wanted to ask about this.

I have been trying to find out non-HDB property prices from SG property websites, but it seems all non-HDB property prices are "POA - price on ask" only. Can't get a feel on the price range.

Can you guys share with the price range of the most affordable non-HDB property?

I am planning to work in SG. I am hoping not to rent a place due to the expensive rental (I have a family). I would prefer to buy a property, any decent / not too old / 3-4 rooms flat near MRT will meet my needs. But since I am not a PR, I can't get HDB. And applying PR for myself and my family will take a long time, and I don't want my money to go into rental.

If you guys know of any property website that list the price of non-HDB property please do share with me. Thank you!
flats are mostly hdb... you can buy one unless you are a pr.. service flats are around sgd 1 mill... condos can be purchased around sgd 700 for cheaper ones... they wont quote you unless you view the place... sounds reasonable...
Supreme Allied Commander
post Jan 22 2011, 02:32 AM

336 posts

QUOTE(elie3173 @ Jan 21 2011, 11:51 PM)
i read from this website..it is stated that condo is for citizen only.... unsure.gif

http://www.hdb.gov.sg/fi10/fi10321p.nsf/w/...EC?OpenDocument
U r talking about Executive Condo (EC) projects such as PRIEVE and Austville Residences which is build by the government. There are other private condos around not many though but the price is super expensive. Some one said to me once its good to get those old condos which is bout 20 years + with the hope that the government will en bloc it for like 1 miliion . Sounds like a good idea, but even those old condos cost like 500k SGD at least.
Shinichi
post Jan 22 2011, 02:42 AM

◆【 真一 】◆
4,051 posts

Hi all, I'll be joining you guys soon starting mid of March. I would need some pointer on following questions so I could search for more information online:

1. I'll work at Alexandra Road, need advice on best possible location to stay with budget around $500-550 monthly and shortest possible travel via MRT/Bus
2. What is the best cash rebate debit card or credit card (if my annual salary is less than $40k)?
3. I don't call/sms much, but broadband is a must for me. Should I go for postpaid or prepaid? Then between combined voice+data plan or separate voice and data plan, which is worthier for my case?

seantang
post Jan 22 2011, 10:26 AM

With Adult Supervision Only
6,624 posts

QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ Jan 22 2011, 01:05 AM)
i believe there's... the foreigner must have at least valid working pass... unless it is at sentosa cove
For private, non-landed property, it's a free for all. Lots of Chinese and Indons simply get off a plane with chequebook in hand and buy. If you go to those higher end condo launches, you'll see them. Singapore's private property is like a convenient Swiss vault for Chinese and Indons who want to park money in assets outside their country.

Aloong
post Jan 22 2011, 11:39 AM

484 posts

Im assuming ur a Malaysian. Yes u can go back, but cannot go out if within 6 months.
I beliv the idea for the 6mths is to avoid ppl staying outside Msia over their actual passport expiry period.

Added on January 22, 2011, 11:41 am
QUOTE(Argiope @ Jan 21 2011, 06:42 PM)
Why don't you renew in Malaysia Embassy first before you leave SG?
Can renew passport at the Msia embassy??
din know that.
How do u renew it? Does it costthe same and is the procedure and timing the same?

This post has been edited by Aloong: Jan 22 2011, 11:41 AM
SUSalaskanbunny
post Jan 22 2011, 12:12 PM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Jan 22 2011, 10:26 AM)
For private, non-landed property, it's a free for all. Lots of Chinese and Indons simply get off a plane with chequebook in hand and buy. If you go to those higher end condo launches, you'll see them. Singapore's private property is like a convenient Swiss vault for Chinese and Indons who want to park money in assets outside their country.
i stand corrected then... if they can buy properties here, then how? they drop by often on tourist visa to look at their properties?

126 Pages « < 44 45 46 47 48 > » Top

0.0288sec    0.57    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 02:04 AM